Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

37 Reviews

  • Reviewed February 2018
    Susan Jackson

    Antarctica, Falklands and South Georgia

    18 day trip with Quark Expeditions on the Ocean Diamond from Uschuaia to the Falklands, South Georgia and the Antarctic Peninsula with landings by Zodiac in remote bays where we experienced close encounters with the wildlife, especially penguins and seals and whales swimming alongside the boats. The scenery was stunning especially sailing close to the icebergs. We were superbly looked after on the ship and the cabins and public areas were warm and welcoming and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. The food was excellent and plentiful and they catered well for my gluten free requirements as I am Coeliac. The expedition staff were knowledgeable as we had experts on penguins, ornithology, geology, whales, history, microbiology and photography. Praise goes to the captain as a mega storm was forecast as we were in the Falklands and we had to alter the itinerary to avoid it and though we hit some rough seas we missed the hurricane in the Falklands where the next 3 ships after us were stuck in the harbour there for 3 days. Ecology was a big concern and we had to have our clothing, rucksacks examined before each trip ashore to check there were no seeds and have them vacuumed, and boots and trousers were hosed down after each trip ashore then we walked through disinfectant.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many, landing on a beach to be welcomed by King Penguins and 55 thousand more up the hillside as far as you could see and then they approach you without fear, Minke whales coming under and beside the Zodiacs, Humbacks spouting and fluking and the glorious colours and shapes of the icebergs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, very knowledgeable and concerned for our health safety at all times, though it was mostly a combined effort of the expedition team working together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take some sea sickness pills, though the doctor on board always came to the public areas and gave them out if anyone wanted them and I was not aware of anyone suffering with sea sickness as a result. The cabins were rather creaky and noisy at times, so light sleepers might consider ear plugs.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic trip, expensive, but worth every penny and everyone we spoke to was full of praise for all aspects of the trip.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Nancy West

    Trip of a lifetime!

    An amazing experience: history in the Falklands; huge penguin colonies in South Georgia and beautiful ice and whales in Antarctica. I had high expectations before the trip but they were exceeded in every area. An unforgettable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Close encounters with whales; the sound of ice calving from glaciers and ice bergs popping; BBQ on deck surrounded by the beauty of Antarctica.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's warm on the ship - take some t-shirts and cooler clothes and maybe something a little dressier for dinner on the last night.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Janet Osbourne

    Antarctica, Falklands & South Georgia

    It was the most wonderful experience and I wouldn't have missed it for the world. Sheer excitement.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There was more than one inspirational moment and I couldn't choose between standing amongst thousands and thousands of penguins and/or seals, or the sheer beauty of the Antarctica's ice bergs floating by.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The expedition leader of this cruise - as well as his crew - was absolutely fantastic, knowledgeable, helpful, and I couldn't imagine having a better leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just relax and enjoy and see a part of the world you have never seen before.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was the most unique experience of all my travels. Simply unforgettable and worth every single penny. A trip of a lifetime.
  • Reviewed February 2014
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTIC EXPLORER

    Great boat, fantastic experiences, good mix of people

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whales at Wilhelmina Bay.  We set off in our Zodiac boat and went for a cruise.  Within minutes we were encircled by Humpback and Minke Whales!  For around 3 hours we were treated to whales fluting, spyhoping and bubble feeding, within meters of the bow of our boat.  The most amazing wildlife experience of my life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

      Jonathan Chester......well lets start with his redeeming features.  He appeared to be very familiar with Antarctica and had encyclopaedic knowledge of the area, a sound Antarctic pedigree and good working knowledge of maritime travel.  Unfortunately, I did not find him passenger focused, personable, caring, interested or inspiring.  He seemed to be preoccupied with the Jonathan show, constant reminders of the films he's assisted with, 15 books he'd written and who he knows. I expected the tour leader to lead by example and to show an interest in passenger satisfaction.  On one occasion (following a request to submit photos for a slide show) I informed him that one of the ship PCs had a virus.  He corrected me stating that there was only 1 PC.  I advised him that my memory stick had been corrupted and that I had lost photos.  I also advised him that another passenger had lost work and photos.  Our glorious leader's response?  "Go tell Dana" (another member of staff) thereafter turning his back and sauntering off.  No apology, offer of help or solution, he couldn't even be bothered to pass the message on to the relevant person. On the last evening there was a photographic slide show.  Jonathan gave an overview and thereafter introduce the photo slideshow.  Following this me and another passenger created slideshows with video footage.  The other passenger asked if we could show them as they only lasted 3/4 minutes and some of the footage was pretty good.  Yet again, our glorious leader was as much help and a chocolate teapot.  He declined and stated that there wasn't enough time.  Following the show there was happy hour within the bar.  Me and the other passenger then sowed our videos in the bar area, a resounding success, people were asking for copies of our shows and buying us drinks.  Thanks for the encouragement. At one point he told a passenger that was in his 20's, that he was part of "generation X" and wouldn't amount to much.  That's really appropriate.All in all I was underwhelmed by Jonathan Chester and will be avoiding any future trips that he will be leading. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get a Gopro Camera with a pole attachment.  There's so much to see and do and this will help you capture every moment.As much as it looks crazy, bring a ski mask.  An absolute must when out on a cruise in the Zodiac.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found the expedition staff to be fantastic!  All had their own specific interest and all were incredibly knowledgeable.  I thought the staff covered too many jobs and maybe could have been doing with a little more help as it was the same faces getting up at the crack of dawn getting to bed late.Derek (whale guy) and Katie (historian) were particular stand outs.  Katie managed to give different angles on the traditional history of the great white wilderness and at points had me captivated with her story telling.  She always had smile on her face and her love for Antarctic history beamed through.Derek was outstanding!  He managed to find us the best spots for wildlife, had great knowledge of all Antarctic wildlife, had the best stories and was generally a great person to be around on the trip. The Vavilov is a great ship.  Cabins are well thought out and practice.  Drinks are reasonably priced and food was pretty good.  The BBQ was a particular highlight, having BBQ on a ship in the middle of Antarctica on a sunny day, unbeatable.
  • Reviewed February 2014
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTIC EXPLORER

    A magical adventure amongst the whales, penguins and spectacular ice formations. I would have given this 5 stars but I get terminally seasick and loathe boats so 4 was the best possible really!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting watching penguin colonies for hours. They had chicks who were very high maintenance indeed, constantly pestering their parents for food. They are compelling birds and it is impossible not to fall in love with them.Wilhelmina Bay was easily the trip highlight for me. Owing to certain currents, vast quantities of krill are forced into quite a restricted area which creates whale foodie heaven and therefore paradise for mere mortals like me who love watching wildlife. Blue skies and calm seas with deftly carved icebergs, the scene punctuated by whale tails wherever I looked. The humpback whales were bubble net feeding inches from the zodiac - reminded me of a certain overused quote from Jaws.....It really was moving to be so close to these gentle leviathans. I can't understand how any country can justify their scandalous slaughter. Our zodiac guide couldn't contain his whoops of excitement, what a job!As an added treat we got to bivvy camp on a small snowy island in a sheltered cove. This involved digging a shallow hole (grave?) then sleeping in a bivvy bag. I was toastie warm and it was fun trying to sleep listening to nearby glaciers moaning and groaning all night. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The expedition I was part of was on the Akademik Sergey Vavlilov which is operated by One Ocean. The leader was Jonathan Chester. Putting it diplomatically, I have found other trip leaders to be more inspiring and charismatic and he didn't seem especially fussed with customer service.The stand out staff members for me were Derek who was a biologist and Zodiac driver. He was obviously genuinely interested in the wildlife we were interacting with and very sensitive to avoiding wildlife harassment at all costs. Katie the historian was knowledgeable, personable and made everything she talked about interesting with offbeat quirky facts.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Aerolineas Argentinas are a law unto themselves regarding scheduling changes, don't rely on them for time critical connections and make sure to arrive in Ushuaia the day before the trip. I'd recommend the Hotel Albatros which is across the road from the pick up point to get on the boat. Luggage can be collected by boat crew directly from here. Don't book flights prior to 12pm on disembarkation day in case of delays.Antarctica is obviously prone to extreme weather and you should come prepared but remember it is summer there and I've been colder at home in Scotland to be honest!  A balaclava is handy for Zodiac excursions as the wind really nips your cheeks. High factor sunscreen is essential. Get seasickness meds before going as the ship has limited supply. I found promethazine the best ( unfortunately I have had occasion to try lots of others.........) . You can buy this over the counter marketed as Sominex - sold as a sleep aid but the same drug. The Vavilov is a lovely ship. It was quiet and very stable. The lounge/bar area is fantastic. It is on deck 6 and has panoramic views and a viewing deck out the back. For someone like me who gets seasick on a duck pond and especially when shut into windowless rooms, the lounge was a godsend. Bear this in mind when booking as the sister ship the Ioffe does not have this facility apparently.Take up the offer of wet weather gear, penguin crap is stinky and better on hire gear than your own!There were a sizeable party of travellers from China on this trip. I think partly owing to it being Chinese New Year and also owing to increasing interest in travel from the expanding middle class. Unfortunately, I found this group to be probably the worst behaved I have had the misfortune to encounter. Everyone on the ship has to go to a compulsory briefing on how to behave around the wildlife and on the Zodiacs which is provided in different languages if necessary. Despite this, I witnessed members of this group tramping directly through the middle of penguin colonies, disregarding the 5 metre rule, repeatedly failing to follow instructions to safely behave in a Zodiac and generally behaving in a rude, noisy and selfish manner. If I have the good fortune to repeat a trip such as this in the future I will be enquiring as to the make up of the passenger complement and would seek to avoid repeating having to put up with foul behaviour.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very very lucky to win this trip as part of the 'Feel More Alive' promotion from 2013. A thousand thanks to Exodus for giving me the opportunity to visit this magical part of the world, it was much appreciated. Make sure to enter competitions if you see them as someone has to win and it might as well be you!
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTICA, FALKLANDS & SOUTH GEORGIA

    This was a trip that I had wanted to do for many years, especially visiting the Falkland Islands as that is the first piece of history I can really remember growing up.  Several of my friends had also visited the area and said "it was an absolute must!".  For me it is also a "once in a life time" trip although I would consider returning to the Falkland Islands as I would like to see the battle fields and more of the Islands.......but we shall see!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were three really great moments on the trip for me.  The first was on the Falkland Islands, when we were at Port Stanley and we had done a brief guided walk around the town before being given free time - it was suggested by the Expedition Leader that the Globe Pub was a great place to visit as they serve good beer and fresh fish and chips!  Unfortunately the chef was not working so there was no food available but as far as I was concerned we did better than that - there was a Falklands War veteran there, from 3 Paras who spent nearly 45 mins chatting with 3 of us.  He was very emotional and he showed us on the map on the wall how they had done their manovers during the war.Secondly was visiting Sailsbury Plain on South Georgia where there were 250,000 King penguins, fluffy brown chicks and adults as well as many fur seals.  It is very difficult to re describe seeing so many en-mass and with the noise and smell they produce!  It was great and if you stood or sat still they would come very close and did not appear to be at all bothered by lots of people walking around in red clothing!Thirdly was our last zodiac ride in Fournier Bay on the Antartic Peninsular - the sea was flat calm for most of our time around the Peninsular (thankfully!) but as we sailed in to the circular Fournier bay, the sun was shining, the sky was blue, the glaciers and mountains were bright white and we had great reflections in the water. We dropped anchor before getting in the zodiacs. It was so calm and we had a bit of a speedy ride (for fun) before looking for wildlife on the icebergs.  We were not disappointed and to me it was just how I had imagned Antarctica to be like. We found 3 penguins sitting on top of an iceberg which made for great photos, seals lazing in the sun on the icebergs and then about 24 penguins waiting to dive in to the water which they duely did!  It was then ended by a celebratory champagne farewell on the boat as we set sail and even the whales did a "swim by!"

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Boris Wise was our main Expedition leader - helped by a further 18 members of staff and about 45 crew.  Every one was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for any of them.  The whole trip was run in a very professional and slick way and a time schedule but nothing ever felt rushed.Safety was paramount at all times from getting on and off the zodiacs to being advised not to go out side as the decks were covered in ice.  All the staff had radios so if for example you needed the doctor any one would just call for him.We also had an American professional photographer on board who gave talks and helped people with any camera issues, 2 excellent bird and wildlife spotters, 2 people who had worked / been involved with Antarctica and South Georgia for many years, a British professional wildlife artist as well as 2 kayak guides, zodiac drivers who all have good knowledge, massage and yoga professionals and excellent "hotel managers"Exodus as such does not provide a specific leader for their own clients on this trip (which is not a problem) as there are all the staff members as above. The boat was filled with various groups from places throughout the world and one of the larger groups did bring a fairly vocal agent with them!  You just have to learn to turn a deaf ear to them!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it....it may be costly but it is worth it!I also did the option of going to the Iguassu falls (I believe Patigonia extensions are also available which is worth visiting too) which I did for 3 days before the start of the trip which I found to be very good as it meant I had caught up with any time changes. It also meant that I was also in Argentina and closer to Ushuaia - Areolinas Argentina sometimes delay and cancel flights at very short notice. Make sure you get to Ushuaia at least one day before leaving with the ship - there is plenty to do there and it is better to be early than miss the boat.We had very changable weather and discovered fairly early on that the wet skin tousers were not completely water proof - easy solution was just to wear a thin pair of water proofs under neath which also gave an extra layer of warmth (so pack your own just to be on the safe side).Take plenty of layers as you will definately need them - as the guide said on several occassions "put on all the clothes you have!"   On a couple of times I had 8 layers on my top and 5 on my bottom half and I was very glad I did. If you think you may be going to feel sea sick, book a cabin on deck 3 as it is the most stable area of the boat in rough seas..........None of the cabin doors lock - this is for health and safety reasons (if some one was ill / had an accident it would be very difficult to gain access).  However this was not a problem and infact many of the staff members left their doors wide open with all their belongings on show.  There was a safe available on request.The power supply was 2 round pin plugs but worth taking a double adapter or multi plug so you can do lots of charging at the same time as the cold weather uses up your batteries and you will also take lots of photos / videos.The Shackleton walk is worth getting up at 530am for - it is medium to hard but walking poles are provided.  Steep ascent to start and end but worth it for the views.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Sergy Vavilov ship was excellent - the bar / social area on deck 6 has 3 sides of really big windows, open access to the deck and stairs up to deck 7 as well nearby.  It is kept warm, the seats are very comfortable, there is free tea, coffee, hot chocolate and home made biscuits readily available!Food throughout the whole trip was superb - lots to choose from at breakfast and 3 - 4 courses at lunch and supper including freshly made bread and soup (providing it did not get spilt in the rough seas).  There were 2-3 choices for a main plus a pudding as wellPlenty of hot water readily available for showers with containers of shampoo, conditioner and shower gel all provided along with towels and dressing gowns.Despite taking anti-sea sick tablets etc at times I did not feel particularily well - the staff made a point on checking cabins to make sure people were OK etc or if they needed any thing.  The days at sea are filled as a number of talks are given in the presentation room (deck 1) or in the bar (deck 6).  Unfortunately due to not feeling 100% I did not go to many of the talks as they were in the most rocky / unstable part of the boat - we had particularily rough days with force 10 gales and 60' waves! Open access to the Bridge and watching the Captain and the Officers work was really interesting, especially watching them turn the boat in tight circles just so we could all watch whales for longer!The satellite phone worked well and not expensive - US$30 for 60 minutes of talking when ever you wanted to. Don't spend the whole time behind your camera - sit and enjoy watching the penguins etc.  They are great characters.  Take a few videos as unfortunately no photos are going to do the areas justice and the shear scale of numbers and sizes of things.Be prepared for all weather conditions - 4 seasons in one day and don't be disappointed if you can not get landings.  We had very rough seas but we got 2 out of 3 for the Falklands,  4 out of 6 for South Georgia and 9 on the Peninsular.  If you don't get off the boat it is for a good reason and safety comes first as the ship needs to drop anchor and we have to walk down a metal staircase on to the zodiac boats and this can not be done if there is a big swell in the sea.  Thankfully the Drakes Passage and Cape Horn were virtually flat calm (which I was very relieved about)Have fun and just take it all in..............
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTIC EXPLORER

    An amazing introduction to a stunning continent. A real once-in-a-lifetime trip to somewhere that has to be experienced to be believed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Where to start?! The excitement of jumping in a sea kayak for the first time, paddling through the beautiful clear blue sea marvelling at gigantic icebergs. Sitting on a gorgeously clear day in amongst a colony of gentoo penguins for about 2 hours, just admiring their behaviour and their inquisitiveness. The moment that the whole dining room put down their knives and forks and ran out onto deck to see the family of orcas that had just surfaced in the distance. Or camping overnight on the ice, digging my own bed and setting down for the night as the penguins and snowy sheathbills called nearby.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Aaron and his whole team were absolutely fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the One Ocean staff and they seemed to be on duty 24 hours a day to search the horizon for wildlife and excite the passengers with numerous presentations and stories. We had a wealth of knowledge and experience on board, some of the most inspirational people I have met! I was lucky enough to be part of the kayaking group and can't rate the guides highly enough. The crew on board were also brilliant, beautifully clean rooms, delicious food (so much of it!!) and again - nothing too much trouble. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I never really thought that a piece of equipment like an iPad or similar would be too useful until I looked on enviably as others displayed their photos at the end of the day! However the Ioffe has a well stocked multimedia room and many helpful members of staff so those without need not despair! However take plenty of memory card space, and extra batteries for your camera - you will need it!! Obviously lots of layers are very important - the rental kit provided by One Ocean was top notch and the majority of those on board made full use of it.  Take spare gloves and hats - I took more than I needed but was thankful for extra layers when the weather turned. I got a lot of use out of my buff - great for pulling over your face if the wind gets a bit nippy! High sun factor is very important, and a good lip balm!  Sea sickness pills are very useful, we were lucky with the crosings and didn't encounter the dreaded Drake Shake (!) but many of the passengers took advantage of the patches that were available from the on board doctor.  If possible break the journey in Buenos Aires for a couple of days - a fantastic city worth exploring. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it! There is really nothing like this place and it is well worth the long journey to get there - in fact it makes it even more special. The problem is once you've been bitten - that's it!!
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTIC EXPLORER

    An unforgetable trip, can't begin to really describe the Antarctic, it has to be seen to be believed. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Minke whale who decided to investigate 3 of the 5 Zodiacs a few times, swimming right underneath them all and then surfacing really close to us on two occasions to inspect what was happening above sea level!  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chellie was incredible.  Funny, knowledgeable, obviously well respected and well loved by her team and the Captain and his crew. She ensured everything ran smoothly and safely. A star!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go - Buenos Aires is probably worth a couple of days at least if you have the time. The trip was seamless: we went on the Sea Spirit which is a really lovely ship. Make sure you stay on deck as long as you can, take loads of photos, take loads of travel sickness pills - you will very probably need them!  We did, and apparently we had a calm crossing on both occasions!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Holiday experience of a lifetime.
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTICA, FALKLANDS & SOUTH GEORGIA

    A real trip of a lifetime, although it was booked as such, I would love to be able to go again one day perhaps at a different time of the season. It far exceeded our expectations on every level.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having seen spectacular scenery and amazing encounters with wildlife, the last zodiac cruise we did in Fournier bay was completely surreal. Blue skies, flat calm and glass like sea, with icebergs and bergy bits all around, seals, penguins and other birds, and humpbacks to finish off with. It was like being on another planet, which in a way it is.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    All of the staff, especially the on-board experts were excellent and for the whole trip there was never any doubt that they were doing their utmost to make sure we had the best experience possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do ensure you get to Ushuaia at least a day (24hrs) before the ship departs. Peferably longer if possible. It will avoid the stress of relying on unpredicable airline schedules and adverse weather, making sure you get to the ship in good time for embarkation.Good thermal layers are essential. Pay heed to all the advice given about clothing. Practical, warm and waterproof.Waterproof bags are essential for any camera equipment. Dry bags are OK as long as the camera is padded inside it, as bags tend to get wet and bumped around in the zodiacs.All the showers on board have shower gel, moisturiser, shampoo, and conditioner dispensers. So save weight and leave your own stuff at home.There is a limited library on board (mostly reference books), so we were glad we took electronic readers (Kindle) as they save a lot of space and weight if you are an avid reader, especially on 'sea days'.Sunglasses (UV and polaroid), sunscreen and lip salve protection are essential. The ozone layer is at it's thinnest in this part of the planet.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try and find out who the on-board experts are likely to be. These people made the trip so much more informative and interesting with the talks and presentations they did.There was a world renowned photographer, an Antarctic scientist with years of experience, a bird expert, an Antarctic naturalist with politcal experience and a published wildlife artist. Great people to listen to and fun to be with.The One Ocean staff members were also expert in their own filelds which included kayaking, zodiac driving, massage, yoga, as well as their own extensive knowledge of the wildlife and Antarctic conditions.The Russian crew were very professional and when not too busy, the bridge officers explained all the ship's functions and navigation. Having an 'open bridge' (except when distractions would not be welcome) made the long sea passages interesting and a good place to spot wildlife from.Safety of passengers was always paramount. Great lengths were taken to ensure everyone got ashore and back with no mishaps.The galley staff did an amazing job of providing a varied menu. Even in storm force winds there was a 3 course lunch/dinner available, with only the soup course not being practical to serve! Fresh 'home' baked pastries for afternoon tea every day too, so don't expect to lose any weight.
  • Reviewed December 2013
    Anonymous

    ANTARCTIC EXPLORER

    I cannot remember a time when the Antarctic was not at the top of my wish list. This trip not only met all my expectations, it far exceeded them! It is difficult for any review to do both the location and the expedition team justice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is almost impossible to identify any one moment but I have always longed to see the huge icebergs and the first sighting of these was simply awe inspiring.The whole trip was inspirational - the peninsula has a stunning wild beauty that is like no other region. The penguins are such fun to watch and the variety of birds, especially the albatross, is amazing. Zodiac cruising amongst the sea ice is so peaceful and the beauty and colours of the ice formations takes your breath away. To see abandoned buildings gives a tiny insight into just how difficult life must have been. Life tends to take on a new perspective.The experience, understanding and inspiration provided by the trip was enhanced by some of the best lectures you could hope to attend. The expedition team gave us an amazing selection of background information delivered in an interesting and fun style. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Alex. He was excellent and managed to make all his hard work look effortless! I cannot think of anything that did not go well and his enthusiasm and commitment to providing us with the best possible experience ensured we had just that. He was flexible and always looking for additional landings or cruises for us to experience - when we couldn't land due to the amount of ice, he immediately planned an alternative.Alex is enthusiastic, friendly and highly professional and I am sure this influences all his team. I cannot praise all of the team highly enough, they were all friendly, efficient, informative and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advise anyone thinking of doing the trip to go if they can. Everyone with a reasonable level of fitness can enjoy this trip so long as you can negotiate the zodiac landings and smaller slops - not everyone takes part in the more difficult hikes.Even the shortest trip provides an amazing experience. Treat the journey as a part of the experience and take advantage of the lectures as they are superb. Spend some time on deck enjoying the surroundings and the amazing bird life.Waterproof gloves are needed for Zodiacs but not helpful for photography so I bought some thin but good quality lining gloves which were ideal.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was the trip I had always dreamed of but doubted I would do. I am so glad I got the chance to go, I feel both lucky and privileged to have visited this beautiful, amazing place.