Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Janet Peckam

    Hidden Treasures of Jordan

    It was a great trip and I enjoyed every minute of it. However, Jordan was going through a heat wave during the time, which made it very uncomfortable to walk outdoors. Additionally, it was the Ramadan and all cafes, bakeries and many other places were shut during the day. Apart from that everyday of the trip was different and offered us a wide range of amazing experiences.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and Jerash were the most inspirational moments of the trip. It has been on my list to visit Petra for a long time and seeing the Treasury for the first time was sensational. Two full days in Petra was great and gave us enough time to cover a lot of that vast area. Also spending enough time in the Petra museum is a must. Jerash was a great surprise as I did not know anything about it. There is so much to see in Jerash and the time we spent there was well worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal was an excellent guide with extensive knowledge of Jordan and a passion for his country. He was also a very friendly, polite caring person who tirelessly looked after everyone in the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Jordan is a peaceful country surrounded by turmoil. I was struck by its closeness in proximity to Israel, Palestine, Syria and Iraq. It is a wonder that Jordan has managed to stay out of wars and retained its sovereignty. Jordanians are very friendly, polite and helpful. We felt very safe in Jordan. Do not travel to Jordan during Ramadan as most places are closed.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Group members including myself, thought that the itinerary will be much improved by dropping the dessert loop trip altogether on the second day and instead adding Amman sightseeing on that day and ending the trip in Aqaba. Coming back to Amman on the 11th day and continuing with sightseeing seemed somewhat disjointed. In addition very little time was given to Amman. It would also be great to add the Jordan Museum to the itinerary as most of us wanted to visit it and had no time left. Especially not being able to see the Dead Sea scroll was very upsetting. It would have also been great if a nature reserve such as Wadi al Mujib had been added to the itinerary. That would have made a wonderful change to the dessert landscape that accompanied us during most of the trip. We were not able to see much of the flora and fauna of Jordan unfortunately. It would be better if we had a trailer for the luggage as the mini bus did not have enough space. Also, on some days we could have started earlier, which would have given us more time in some sites.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Patricia Burritt

    A ‘must do’ trip for anyone who I loves archaeology, history and amazing geography!

    I have wanted to visit Jordan for at least 40 years and finally I made it! The Exodus trip was fantastic and the experience met up to every expectation. I took over 2,000 photos! The journey was so well organised, informative, action packed - we didn’t seem to miss any detail of the ‘treasures’ of this amazing country try!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at Petra - the site is incredible and so vast and the Exodus itinerary with 2 full days there is perfect!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Nidal Alateaq, was excellent. He was so well organised, conscientious and informed. Nidal managed every aspect of the trip so smoothly and efficiently. As a tour guide on sites and en route he always gave us a thorough explanation of the culture, history and geography of Jordan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready to undertake a very full itinerary and long days each with an interesting agenda. I visited during Ramadan - which can mean that there is a need to work around closure of some facilities and sites.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel accommodation and meals were of a high standard. Thank you Exodus for another wonderful trip!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Joanne White

    Great week packed with fabulous experiences

    All the highlights of Jordan in one week - it is a very busy week with full days and relatively early starts but it is worth the effort. Not a dull moment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the 2 days hiking in Petra, there is so much to see. However, we felt that Wadi Rum was perhaps more inspirational ....if only the dust clouds had behaved and allowed us to have a sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable and really understood how to manage a diverse group without being heavy-handed in any way at all. He struck the right balance of being informative without overloading us with facts. He is a real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The climb to St Catherine's monastery is pretty daunting at 800 steps in hot weather but don't allow this to put you off the trek on day 2 at Petra, which is easier and spectacular.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is a lot squeezed into this trip and you feel ready for some R&R at the end of the week. It was quite a long drive to get to Aqaba and felt a lot of effort for just a couple of hours on the beach. I would not have been disappointed if Aqaba was not in the itinerary.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Malcolm Mahony

    Fascinating and beautiful country

    The desert landscape and Petra are stunning. The scrambling is exciting. The archaeology is outstanding. The culture is fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See above.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah worked hard to make the trip successful and enjoyable. He was totally unflappable!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should be aware that the trekking area is heavily used by 4-wheel drive vehicles taking tourists on day trips. This compromises the wilderness feel. Unfortunately they also leave behind a lot of plastic litter.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was very impressed by the generally tolerant and supportive attitude of Jordanians towards the 3 million plus refugees who live there. What a contrast to most other countries! Excellent service by Exodus staff.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Elspeth Bull

    See all of Jordan, whatever the weather.

    This itinerary gave the group the opportunity to see the highlights of Jordan at an easy pace.The cold, wet weather in the north was not anticipated and meant that we did not see some of the sights in their best light. However, the later section of the trip to the Dead Sea Petra and Wadi Rum were up to expectation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk to Petra with the anticipation of seeing the Treasury at the end of the siq.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was the weakest part of the trip and the reason for the lower rating. He was inexperienced and did not always communicate clearly what was happening or give much information about what we were seeing. This was not up to the usual standard we have experienced from guides in the past.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The tour flights arrive late in the evening in Amman. This means you do not get much sleep before starting the tour. If you are able to, I would suggest arriving a day or two earlier and seeing Amman in your own time rather than in a rush on the last day. Be prepared for all weather conditions.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    sarah strachan

    fine

    Excellent week. Really well organised interesting sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was exceptional as a guide. Really friendly, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He worked really hard to make our trip run really smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for Ibrahim as a group leader

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was such a good mix of ages in the group everyone got on really well. Thank you
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Mattison

    A wonder of the world, sun, sea and sand - this trip has it all!

    Having just returned from Jordan and reflecting back on my week away, I feel it has been one of the best trips of my life so far. The tour has been created to have a very varied, yet well balanced itinerary consisting of the capital, Petra - a new wonder of the world, the desert, the Red Sea and the Dead Sea. It cannot be argued that this is a relaxing holiday, there is a lot of travelling and a couple of long bus days (though nothing too overbearing and always well broken up with plenty of stops and sites along the way) and the number of included activities means you will fill like you've seen the whole country in a week! But it's brilliant fun, and the opportunity to see all the main sites and the stunning scenery will mean you'll be happy to rest once you get home! Jordan is a fabulously and I feel underrated country. Despite being situated in an area of the world which has had some problems, Jordan is forunate to be a safe and easy to travel country. As a solo female traveller I didn't have a single moment of my trip where I felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The people were welcoming, the weather was perfect (not too hot but sunny every day) and the sights far surpassed my expectations. If you are considering visiting Jordan, you can't beat this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two days to explore and hike Petra. It's such a fantastic and fascinating site, and far, far larger than I expected. I'm glad the itinerary permitted two full days here as one day would have felt rushed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a brilliant leader. Clearly very experienced, he was enthusiastic, knowledgable and most importantly looked after us and made us feel very comfortable. I've done many similar group tours over the years, but never with Exodus before, and I think he was one of the best leaders I've had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a solo female traveller some of my friends and family were surprised when I told them of my decision to visit Jordan. But I couldn't have felt more comfortable. Exodus take care of you right from the moment you step off the plane, and the people I met and travelled with couldn't have been lovelier. I was in a group of 20, a mix of ages, both couples and single travellers and we are got along brilliantly, having group dinners every night and staying in touch post trip. Ibrahim, our leader, was fantastic and took brilliant care of us. I can honestly say I have no issues and the trip couldn't have gone better.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Suzanne Kane

    title is good and reflects the event

    I very much enjoyed this trip, the desert, scrambling, company and guide. As expected the tent accommodation was basic but fine. The food was adequate but the ingredients a bit repetitive but I suppose that this is what one should expect in the desert. The main problem I had was the fact that the desert is a very popular day outing for tourists in open trucks, of which there were many. The high number of trucks etc mitigated against the feeling of being in the desert/wilderness. We had to jump off the track many times and at one point had a couple of open vans careering down a steep slope towards us. A bit disconcerting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The fact of being in a desert, which I had not experienced before, and the scramble up the hill which I very much enjoyed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdulla was an exceptionally good guide. Knowledgeable, honest especially when he did not know something, humorous, and very diplomatic when required. Attentive and fun.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I enjoyed being in a very nice group who all got on well.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rhina Batra

    Amazing Jordan !!

    Jordan was everything that I'd hoped it would be and more. The trip had a great mixture of learning the history of Jordan and adventure. Our guide was very helpful and knowledgeable, the local people we met were warm and friendly and the food was very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and walking down the Siq to discover the "rose-red city" was the most inspirational moment of our trip. The Treasury and Monastery were amazing! Walking to some of the high places was both exhilarating and beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nidal Alateaq was a great leader. He was very knowledgeable and wanted very much to show us his beautiful country. He was friendly and approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I am glad that we did the 12 day trip as opposed to the 7 day because we had three nights and three days in Petra. This was definitely required if one wants to visit Petra properly. We went from April 12th to 23rd and the weather was just right-not too hot but not too cold either. I would recommend taking a light jacket for this time of the year as it did cool down in the evenings. The coach/bus we travelled in was compact so don't take excess luggage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would strongly recommend reasonable walking shoes if you wish to do some of the walks in the higher areas in Petra. The hotels were of a reasonable standard but the best one was the Holiday Inn in the Dead Sea. It was only the standard of hotels that stops me giving this an excellent rating.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Katherine Lucarotti

    A marvellous trip crammed into a week

    A wonderful trip with a fabulous guide and great travel companions. I wasn't sure about doing a tour as I usually travel independently. This time, I didn't have time to plan logistics, learn Arabic (though most do speak some English), or manage/research all the destinations, and I only had a week of time off, so I decided to try a pre-organised trip with Exodus to a place I've always wanted to visit. So glad I did. I learnt about Roman cities by walking amongst the pillars, I marvelled at mosaics away from the distractions of the 9-5, I climbed up rocky out-crops formed of incredible reds and oranges, I learned about the Nabateans and the Mamlucs and the Bedouin and the history or a tumultous region steeped in history for thousands of years. Not only do you get to explore Petra and Wadi Rum, float in the Dead Sea, snorkel in the Red Sea, admire Jerash and Madaba and Karak Castle and the flowers in the desert (in April) (thanks to our guide for hunting out the end of season black irises), but you get to taste local food (delicious Shawarma and Falafel) sip delicious mint concoctions, and hear about day-to-day life in world full of refugees, intense politics, history and conflict on all sides. Things come to life when you are in the landscape. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on a sand dune in the desert of Wadi Rum watching the light change.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous group leader - highly recommend Jihad.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really look at the weather forecast before you go. It can be cold and wet in Jordan (North and Middle) in Spring, even though it will also be hot in Aqaba, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Recommended for people who want to cover a lot of ground in a short time. It is quite an intense itinerary so not the right trip if you just need to relax or potter about. It's great for people interested in civilisations, nature and the Middle East. Even if you don't know a lot about history, this place brings it to life. It is spectacular.
Call us on 074 340 4587