Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Robert Strudwick

    Discovering the Baltic Countries

    Well organised, our guide Migle was excellent with good knowledge and well motivated. Quite a busy schedule, some of the hotels were a bit quirky but that added to the appeal for me. Loads of architecture to take in, and heaps of cultural things to learn about, being completely new to these countries I was fascinated by the history, and the differences between these three countries

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cold war missile bunker and the KGB museum were a lesson about how much effect the Soviet occupation had on these countries, and listening to the guide (and a guide who joined our group to learn the ropes) tell about life under the Soviets as they both grew up in that period.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, to be recommended

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Its quite a busy trip and covers lot of ground - make sure you have insect repellant, although not bothered much the walks in the parks are where you are most likely to be bitten.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Deborah Terry

    Excellenttrip

    This was a well-organised trip which gave a good overview of the three Baltic states. It was enhanced by nonstop hot sunny weather and a large but lovely group of mainly very experienced Exodus travellers. The cities were all very different, and the countryside and coastal visits all interesting.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This is an odd question, but what made the trip interesting was the contrast between the cities, countryside and coast. It was good when we found places to eat serving something other than the ubiquitous pork and potatoes. Wonderful soft fruit was available everywhere, and in all three cities the local markets are highly recommended. It was good to have plenty of free time to explore.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Migle was simply excellent - humorous and very well-organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I booked my own flights and added an extra day in Tallin at the start and two in Helsinki at the end. In practice Helsinki would work better at the start as one could then get the ferry across to Tallin. Oh, and take a universal basin plug!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    At 19, this was the largest Exodus group I’d ever travelled with. Fortunately it worked out ok as everyone was lovely, good at being on time etc, but it meant that outside the group stuff we all tended to do things on our own. This suited me but others might not have liked it. All the hotels were fine, but the Europa City was c.35 mins walk into the centre of Vilnius which was really too far.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    David Stafford

    Discover the Baltics

    This was a holiday with a good range of different experiences and a chance to visit three countries of which I did not have any prior knowledge . The history and architecture of the countries was of particular interest.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to the cold war missile base and the Curonian spit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Migle was great fun and very knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for any weather conditions.
  • Reviewed June 2019

    A thoroughly enjoyaqble trip

    A memorable holiday with a group of compatible people who were all keen to enjoy the experience and learn about the region

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Perhaps not inspirational in the normal sense, but the ride on the first day around the northerly peninsula to Vinistu and Peripea brought home how oppressive the Soviet occupation had been. Subsequently we were able to appreciate just how much all three states valued the fact that they had been able to re-establish their independence and re-assert their own cultures.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our Group leader, Lina, was extremely knowledgeable about the geography, history, culture and cuisine of the three Baltic states and she shared that knowledge in a most engaging manner. She coped admirably with a group of cyclists with widely different levels of experience, four, and sometimes five of whom were using e-bikes. She chose meal stops where we enjoyed lovely local food during the rides and very good restaurants for our evening meals. Her organisational skills were excellent and she was unfailingly good humoured throughout the trip

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a plug for the washbasins - the hotels don't provide them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The weakest aspect of the holiday was the hotel accommodation, which varied between being good and being pretty poor in terms of room size and quality.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Anne Mathas

    Wonderful experience

    This tour gave an overall look at the history, cities, castles and country areas of the 3 countries of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many highlights it is hard to pick just one. However, the tour of the Cold War Museum is memorable. Memorable not inspirational, as that was such a frightening time in recent history and frightening to think we have not learnt from it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader had an excellent knowledge and love of the history and culture of the Baltics. Vaida was very well organised, friendly, helpful and nothing was too much trouble for her

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The free time to explore further in different cities after having done a walking tour with the group is very valuable as each of us has different interests

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Vaida, our guide, is young and enthusiastic and encourages group members to enjoy all opportunities
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Liz halpin

    Baltic by bike

    Three different countries starting a little chilly but warming up nicely. Three different capitals with lots of different foods to try. Generally flat cycling with good maps on bikes which were adequate but probably heavier than most people were used to. Hotels variable but always well positioned.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Constitution posted for all to see in every language.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andreas was very knowledgeable about the history of all the countries visited. He was willing to answer questions. On longer bus journeys he found ways to keep us amused. Andreas treated all the group members with respect and ensured that the cycling was accessible to all. He took us to some zany places to eat and explained all about the foods etc.. In all he was great!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have clothes for all weathers! Be prepared to try different foods. Always laugh at Andreas jokes!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hope you like castles.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Alison Fuller

    Cycling the Baltics

    Interesting countries that I’d not visited before. Good guide. Lovely food. Interesting cities. Easy riding but heavy bikes making the trip harder and more demanding. Pretty unspoiled countryside and lovely views across the Baltic Sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved the fish lunch at the Fisherman’s museum. Just gorgeous! Loved hearing about the history and what it was like living in a communist country Loved the hill of crosses. So weird! Loved visiting the capital cities. All very different.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius worked really hard to make our trip enjoyable. He had some lovely surprises for us like a glass of Prosecco overlooking the lake and was always so excited for us to see the upcoming highlights! He loved us trying the local food but was mortified to discover a traditional Lithuanian kybyn was in fact a Cornish pasty! He was really interesting talking about the countries and their history. It was tricky for him as half the group were pushing the average pace up but he managed to support the slower riders whilst allowing the faster ones to go on or do a little extra. A really nice guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This isn’t a tough trip in that it’s fairly flat or gently undulating, but the bikes were very heavy which made it harder. Also on some of the more exposed roads you can get headwinds. So it’s not always as leisurely as you’d imagine. I do think lighter hybrid bikes would be better.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Lorain McCann

    Cycle the Baltics

    Excellent trip with wonderful guide. Andrius was extremely interesting, focussed and engaging. We thoroughly enjoyed the itinerary and the add-ons he introduced. Cycle tour of Vilnius was terrific.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sun dial on the Curonian Spit

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Andrius was extremely interesting, focussed and engaging. We thoroughly enjoyed the itinerary and the add-ons he introduced.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would be happy to recommend this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed June 2019
    yvonne sharp

    Cycling through the Baltics

    The trip was well organised and the leader was excellent. The bikes were disappointing. The bikes were new and in excellent condition but they were very heavy and had only 8 gears and were not to the standard I have experienced in previous exodus cycling tours. In addition neither the guide nor the driver were experienced mechanics which resulted in one of the experienced cyclists on the tour helping out.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The places we visited could only have been found through local knowledge. The smoked salmon lunch was excellent and every member of the tour party commented on this lunch for days afterwards. The tour around Vilnius was also excellent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good and knowledgeable on the history of all 3 countries visited. He was enthusiastic and helpful throughout the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Lily Surgeon

    Our Baltic Cycle Was The Best!

    There were only seven of us on our trip but we all felt this was a perfect number. Our guide Minda was wonderful. He was patient, flexible, had a great sense of humour and was full of information. He answered all our questions and had so much knowledge about the history of the Baltics. We rode in May and it was cool when we started in Estonia but warmed us as we went south. The added bonus was we were doing it before the season really started so we didn’t have the crowds. We all enjoyed the varied itinerary and have learned so much from our experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many wonderful moments. It is difficult to pinpoint one!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Minda was wonderful and is an enthusiastic and knowledgeable tour leader.
Call us on 074 340 4587