Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

 

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Martin Hodgkinson

    South Africa: Walking, Landscapes and Wildlife

    This trip is a great way to See South Africa across a variety of landscapes, mainly through National Parks and game reserves. There is a range of environments from the Drakensberg mountains to the Indian Ocean beaches at St Lucia with spectacular walks. There are long drives, over 3000km in total, in a reasonably comfortable 14 passenger minibus. Travelling in May, the weather was dry, sunny and warm, except at night and the highest walks. The accommodation varied between basic and very comfortable, but always clean.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Most of the scenery was striking but the Drakenberg mountains was probably the most spectacular, especially at sunrise. The walk from the historic battlefield at Isandlwana to Rorke's Drift was very atmospheric and fording Buffalo River was an certainly an experience in waist deep water (take a dry bag for valuables just in case). Although I have experienced better safari drives elsewhere in Africa, the night safari in the Kruger was memorable after seeing a pride of 8 lions on the move.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sku and Morrison looked after us well with good knowledge of the areas and wildlife. They set a good pace on the walks for the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are practised and fit for hill walking with a backpack as some walks are steep and most of the terrain is rocky, not prepared, paths. Good knees and ankles are essential! Walking poles can be helpful on some walks. The chain ladders on the final walk are not demanding unless you suffer from vertigo. There were laundry facilities at St Lucia. In May there were no or few insects although covering in the evening is still advisable, also for the cooler temperatures. Periodic stops at good supermarkets allowed replenishment of snacks or anything else. Food and drink at restaurants is very good and excellent value.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our group was a good range of ages from 29 to retirees which made the mix more enjoyable. South Africa is a spectacular country and, for any who has not yet been to Africa, this trip is great way to start. Be prepared for the inevitable tips. ATMs are available in towns and most places are happy to take card payments.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kathleen Ramsey

    An exciting three-week trip

    This was a wonderful introduction to Southern Africa. Although there were some long days travelling, the constantly changing scenery in Namibia was a delight, and we gained an appreciation of the vastness and emptiness of the country. The bus was noisy but not uncomfortable, and with eleven members of the party, there was plenty of room for us to move around. We had a brief introduction to the Cape Town area, then travelled north firstly through farmland in South Africa, and then through the wonderful Namibian desert scenery before spending a few days observing the wild animals in Etosha (Namibia) and then in Chobe (Botswana). Victoria Falls made a spectacular end to our trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My main reason for choosing this trip was to see the desert landscape in Namibia and visit Victoria Falls, both of which exceeded my expectations. The scenery in Sossusvlei and Deadvlei was spectacular. However, I was bowled over by the variety of wildlife we saw on game drives in Etosha, and very much enjoyed observing the interactions between animals at the waterholes.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jonathan (our leader) and Molifi (our driver) made a good team. They were well-organised and despite being on duty virtually all the time, they were both unfailingly cheerful and helpful. They prepared some excellent lunches and suppers for us, and did their best to make sure that we got the most out of our African experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Unemployment is very high in Zimbabwe and most people are very poor; we left all our partly-used toiletries, dressings, basic medicines and even some clothing to be distributed by a local charity. Had we realised how short most people are of basic necessities, we would have made sure we had more with us to leave there. Zimbabwe is expensive and cash is not available from ATMs. The border crossing into Zimbabwe was frustrating, and we had to queue for well over two hours in the hot sun. Make sure you are adequately prepared for the wait (sunscreen, hats, drinks).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The optional visit to a village settlement in northern Namibia was sobering but worth experiencing. On our free day in Swakopmund, we booked on the morning Living Desert tour, which was worth doing, despite the early start. We chose to go over into Zambia on our free day in Victoria Falls, to see the cascades from the other side. It was well worth the effort, as you can get closer to the falls and can climb down to the river side at Boiling Pot, as well as visit the top of the falls. Taking or hiring a waterproof can limit the extent of the inevitable soaking.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Elaine Willett

    This trip was awesome. One of the best cycling holidays I've done. The contrast in the scenery that you cycle through is amazing; mountains, passes, vineyards, the coast fabulous. Wine tasting at the end of a ride. Oh and the penguins!

    Great cycling, quite hilly but stunning, very varied. Great accommodation and very varied. Loved the penguins.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The penguins waddling down the street holding wings!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was amazing

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are quite a few hills so I would advise getting a few of these in before you go.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go go go
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Liz Broadhurst

    The amazing Justin Barr - Cool Beans

    We chose the trip, our first with Exodus, as we required a sedate pace with not too much walking. The trip was perfect on both counts. The balance of the day excursions was a perfect combination to enable the group to see the country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to see the wildlife in its natural environment Seeing Cape Town from the top of table mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We were lucky enough to be guided by the inspirational and passionate Justin Barr. His knowledge of the flora and fauna of his native country was first class. This over spilled into the history of the country, it’s political turmoil and his future aspirations for what he showed us as such a beautiful country. His commentary and his driving experience only added to the trip. Certainly “cool beans” and a 10/10 for Justin He really did make the trip a trip of a life time

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it! You won’t be disappointed.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Martin Stanford

    Spectacular varied & educational experience travelling thro the Cape

    This trip lived up to all expectations and beyond. The amazing places visited, the friendliness of the people interacted with in each location (plus my fellow travellers on the bus), quality of the accommodation / food / transport / scheduled & additional trips, awe inspiring landscapes, wow moments up close with the varied wildlife. These were all fantastic and every experience was raised even higher by Justin's organisation, knowledge, humour, friendliness plus his openness and passion for showing off everything his country has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting within the Townships and interacting with the local people there was both eye opening and inspiring. It gave a great insight into how South Africa's people are determined to help themselves advance and how they are able to find happiness in simple things that the majority of us easily dismiss or incorrectly feel pity for. Personally - after recovering from a serious ankle injury last year - one of my trip highlights was the day we explored and clambered over parts of the awesome Table Mountain and the Cape Point National Park. With a trip to Boulders beach in between - where three penguins practically tripped over my feet moving from the Ocean to the shade of some nearby trees - it was my wow moment of an amazing trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin's organisation, knowledge, humour, friendliness plus his openness and passion for showing off everything his country has to offer was incredible. His driving and advance scouting skills were pretty impressive too!!! :-)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Say yes to each trip and opportunity. None of these disappointed and really enhanced our experiences. Don't be put off my South Africa's reputation for being unsafe. In our experience, this 'international' rep is definitely undeserved within the Cape region where the usual common sense you should adopt in your own towns and cities, or across any location holidaying in Europe should suffice! Consider travelling our a day early to Port Elizabeth to sit on the beach and recover from the flight, or stay a few extra days in Cape Town - there's so much life to experience there, Some places have European or UK plug points but the majority require the bespoke South African adaptor. Either buy off somewhere like Amazon or Ebay beforehand or purchase at Joburg or Port Elizabeth airports - it keeps you charged up for all those photo opportunities at a small cost!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks again to Justin and my fellow travellers for being great!
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Nicholas Walsh

    Cape Town and the Garden Route

    We had a wonderful trip from Port Elizabeth to Cape Town along the garden route. We started with fantastic wildlife in Addo, on to the beautiful beaches in Tsitsikamma, through the center of the garden route visiting the amazing Cango caves, Mosel Bay and Hermanus before arriving in Cape Town for two day exploring.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The animals in Addo and Schotia The wild beauty of Tsitsikamma The wonderful City of Cape Town and surrounds

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, great guy with exceptional knowledge of South Africa. The was never a problem, he got everyone one in the group working together, we had a great time with great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Enjoy your trip
  • Reviewed April 2019
    lyn Morrow

    cycling the cape and wine regions

    It was great trip thoroughly enjoyed it. The scenery along the coast was stunning. Accommodation was wonderful the bus and bikes in very good condition.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to the top of the passes without stopping along the way. Also the group support and that of the our leader Warren

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Warren was exceptional. He was passionate knowledgeable easy to approach for a chat and of course very conscious of our safety at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy the moment holidays don't last forever.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Kenneth Turner

    Interesting and Relaxing Tour

    This was an interesting, relaxing and varied trip. There wasn't too much driving - just one day that was a bit longer. The tour took in a good variety of destinations and was accommodated in a variety of good quality locations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We liked Tsitsikamma as a location - nice setting, walks and log cabins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was great - informative, informed, helpful, enthusiastic, amusing, passionate about everything.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you're looking for a varied and relaxing trip then this would be a good choice.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    David Barker

    Wonderful Country, Wonderful Ride

    A challenging ride, for a rating of 3, through the beautiful countryside and coastline of this small part of Africa. Stopping for a few tastings of wonderful wines and visiting many iconic landmarks along the way. Add to this the natural enthusiasm and deep knowledge from the guide and a lovely group of people to share - this really was the most memorable and amazing trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ride from Simonstown to Cape Town on the last day. The climb through Chapman's Peak, the crystal clear Ocean, the lovely beaches with waves breaking were all amazing - then to finish by cycling past the 12 apostles and ending at the hotel was both inspirational and emotional.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Warren was very knowledgeable, has a deep love of the country and clearly is a very accomplished rider. He went out of his way to accommodate the little things that such a tour inevitably brings (a late request for optional trips, additional sections to ride, additional wine tastings etc) and did this with his full enthusiasm. Thank you for making this a truly memorable holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is relatively hard ride for a rating of 3. This should not put people off as there is full vehicle support, but ensure the training has been done and be prepared to hop on the vehicle at certain times.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just enjoy this lovely country.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    shaun bowler

    Excllent leader but disappointing trip

    A beautiful part of Africa. The trip would have been so much better of some proper road bikes. Town hybrid bikes make the cycling up and down never ending hills very hard work. The accommodation and food was extremely average. The rand is so weak, it was cost so very little more to eat in some nice places and stay in some really nice guest houses we passed. It felt that we were on a budget! The food in SA is exceptional and we never got to experience it. The saving grace was our guides who also were good cooks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    the Views in the Drakensberg's, especially when going down hills.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    they were both excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take some nice food with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    please review the accommodation, food and bikes

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Shaun for his review. We were pleased that he found this part of Africa to be beautiful and the tour leaders to be excellent, but we are sorry that he was disappointed with the bikes, accommodation and food. We are very confident that the bikes we use are the most suitable for this tour, as they are robust enough for some of the rugged conditions. The route offers spectacular roads and we select the best available accommodation along these routes for groups of this size. The feedback we usually receive about the accommodation and food on this trip, which visits rural parts of South Africa, is usually very positive, as are the reviews for this trip overall, but we nonetheless regret Shaun’s disappointment. John Penge – Product Manager

Call us on 074 340 4587