Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    William Edginton

    Bosnia and beyond

    This was an enjoyable and illuminating trip, very efficiently run. Almost all places visited were worthwhile, with the possible exception of Budva. A mixture of lovely scenery (especially the Montenegro mountains), comfortable travelling and towns/cities attractive in themselves but with an extra layer of history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo - walking its streets, visiting its museums and mosques, taking views from its hills and remembering what they were used for, sampling its food and its vibrancy. But there were other highlights such as the view over Kotor Bay, the pleasure of seeing Mostar's restored old bridge from various angles including the top of a minaret and the traversing of a spectacular mountain road only just made passable through snowdrifts.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can only echo the plaudits given to Sabina in other reviews. She just makes you happy to be in her country/region.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The group hotel in Dubrovnik is on the outskirts of the new town and a bus (approximately hourly) is needed to get to the old town. Don't know about taxis but reception seemed to want several hours notice for a taxi to the airport. The old town is small and almost overwhelmed by visitors. Seasoned walkers may find the walks undemanding (can't speak for the walk outside Sarajevo - truncated because of the weather)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just for clarity, because of poor weather I chose to stay in Sarajevo rather than go with the group to Lukomir and so saw more of the city but none of the countryside. An extra day based in Sarajevo is the solution.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Chris Bridges

    Bosnia and beyond

    A great trip, scenically a good mix of coastal and mountain scenery, local culture well explained & a great introduction to this part of the Balkans.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Sarajevo & learning of the history. Seeing the spectacular mountain scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina was wonderful, her passion for her country & for tourism & conservation came through very strongly. She was well organised & a lot of fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please do this trip & learn about Bosnia & see the spectacular scenery.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Pamela Moore

    Fantastic Trip

    If you love glorious mountain scenery on every day of your journey then this is the trip for you. Every place we went looked like it could be an airbrushed postcard, yet the beauty was very real. The walks were lovely and not too difficult, although I do recommend bringing walking poles. I was fortunate enough to be in a group with Sabina as our guide. While I've never had a bad guide with Exodus, Sabina stands out as the best. She did a wonderful job of looking out for everyone in the group and making sure everyone felt included. Her love and knowledge of the Balkans really came through. Our driver was very skilled and he kept us safe on some narrow, winding roads.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In addition to the scenery of the Balkans, the history of this part of the world is fascinating. The scars of the war are still very visible on many of the buildings, especially in Sarajevo. I still don't understand what started the war or why the rest of the world looked the other way, but I think it's important to learn from situations like this. One of the dozens of buildings that was destroyed in the war was the City Hall of Sarajevo. I took a picture of the plaque on the outside of the new building and the last line reads, "Do not forget, remember and warn!" I shall never forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina was an outstanding guide. She did a great job of organizing the trip and everything went very smoothly. On one of our days when we were supposed to walk in the mountains, the weather did not co-operate. That's OK, Sabina made a new plan and we still had a very fun day. If I am fortunate enough to return to this part of the world I would love to be in her group again. I especially loved hearing of her personal experiences during the war.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I'm sure the Balkans are great at any time of the year but I'm very glad I went in May. The days were warm but not too hot, nights were cool and wildflowers were blooming.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Tony Hill

    Bosnia visited

    I was hoping to understand more about the recent war in Bosnia. I didn't learn much except that this is an extraordinarily complicated place the crossroads of Europe geographically and historically, that nationalism is toxic, and that efforts by internationalbodies such as the UN were incapable of preventing war and even genocide if one of the combatants decide on a course of action.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sarajevo, the resilience and friendliness of its people when important issues are still unresolved. It is a living, fascinating city. Montenegro and especially Kotor. An intact, walled old city on a harbour surrounded by steep mountains and with a fiercely independent history. The high mountains and deep river valley's of the countryside with remote villages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina was excellent. She was knowledgeable, friendly, helpful and shared the remarkable history of her family to help us with understanding the rich cultural environment. Her warmth and humour helped bind the group together. Our driver Damen was very professional and soon gained our confidence with his driving on the steep, tortuous, narrow mountain roads.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Old men be warned, there are very few public toilets and stairs and steps are steep and rarely have handrails. The roads are unremittingly winding so bring a remedy if prone to car sickness. Read up on some history before going, it will enrich the experience.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared to be amazed by the richness of the history and geography of this fascinating region and its people, and if your guide is half as good as Sabina you will have a lot of fun.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Margaret Smith

    Bosnia and Beyond

    I have just completed this Exodus tour of the Balkans, and I rate it amongst the best well rounded tours I have experienced. The itinerary was excellent. The bus and accommodations were very good. There was a very good balance of road time through breathtaking countryside, to walks, hiking and group meals experiencing local foods, to free time. Our driver was safety conscious. I would sign up for an Exodus tour again without hesitation.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing the multicultural flavor of Montenegro, Bosnia and Croatia. Observing first hand how peoples of different faiths with a common history and language can work together for a better present and future.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Sabina Sirco, made these countries come alive for us. She has a great personal understanding of the history, the social, cultural and environmental issues of the Balkan countries. Her passion and her depth of knowledge was inspiring, and her enthusiasm spoke to all the tour participants. There was a good balance of hiking the beautiful countryside, experiencing culture and historical sites, trying out local and ethnic foods, and laughing over shared meals. Sabina was always safety conscious. We felt privileged that she shared her own personal experience as a young girl living in downtown Sarajevo during the war. She earned the admiration and respect of the whole group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring good hiking shoes and a rainproof jacket.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus. You hit this tour out of the ball park.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kathy Chellew

    Come Rain or Come Shine

    Great way to see such a beautiful part of the world; the scenery in Montenegro was breathtaking and we got to see it for long hours during the extended climbs. We were really unlucky with the weather - it only stopped raining for one day and was very cold for May - but our cheery guides and group kept our spirits up, particularly with Rakija, the fire water of the Balkans!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We all loved the long cycle along the coast to Kotor Bay, especially because the sun finally broke through the rain clouds, and the epic scenery. The 26-switchback mountain day gave us all a great sense of achievement, with stunning views all the way up, and because the weather was so cold, we made it to the top in record time! And the boat trip on Lake Skadar was a great chance to unwind, with wine, sun and swimming.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sabina was superb. Always had a sunny disposition despite the cold and rain. And Sacha her able assistant was an amazing mechanic who kept the bikes in top condition.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Add some time on at the start or finish to see more of Croatia/Dubrovnik. It seemed a shame that Sarajevo was not part of the itinerary, so it would have been good to allow time to see that city too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Bring ear plugs for Kotor - the hotel is in the old town and I imagine in high summer it will be very noisy all night long. I think a hotel outside the old town with a chance to swim in the sea might be an improvement.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    James Bennett

    Cycling in the bltkans

    Thoroughly enjoyed the trip despite the poor weather. Very engaging and professional crew

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of that very very very steep climb above kotor

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - however, not recommended for the occasional cyclist
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Cris Bonomy

    Review

    It did what it said on the tin.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bosnian Cusine and coffee. I had no idea of the extent of the legacy of the Ottoman Period and was favourably impressed. The 2 night stay in Umoljani. The closest to the 'real' Bosnia that was being promoted.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware of what you might be letting yourself in for.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Spend more time in villages such as Umoljani and less in Sarajevo Miss out the ski centre village of Babin Do. The state of the buildings was something of an embarrassment although the interior of the hotel and service was fine.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Claire Willis

    Brilliant Trip

    A fantastic trip. What a joy for a non-skier to be so high up in snow covered mountains. I loved Sarajevo and the Bosnian people. A great activity trip with the opportunity to find out more about the tragic history of Sarajevo.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved being at one with the varied snowy landscapes. Most days we barely saw anybody else on the mountains. The walk in the fir forests of Igman mountain was pretty special, aided by great weather & soft snow.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Samer was an excellent guide, ably aided by Benjamin. They could not have been more supportive or better.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No experience needed. Expect to fall over, but in soft snow!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Jutta Linke

    Bosnia Snow shoe hiking

    Highly recommend. Leaders experienced and nothing was too much trouble. Accomodation, food, hikes all very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The challenge and achievement.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Best leaders ever.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The scenery was amazing, interaction and supporting the locals and knowledge gained invaluable.
Call us on 074 340 4587