Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2018
    Anwar Bhutta

    Brilliant trip and holiday

    Amazing country and very, very friendly people. Incredible history and historical monuments. The Uzbek government is doing great work in restoring these incredible archeological gems. Full praise to them. A very varied and inspirational holiday plus brought back some indelible memories. Our guide Dilshod was very informative, caring and sensitive to the needs of a diverse group. He is a brilliant guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visit to see the Othmani Qur'an in Tashkent was a great privilege. This Qur'an written in about 646 CE was awe inspiring. Ragistan Square in Samarquand is incredible. The jaw-dropping moment came when we entered the the mosque in the Tilla-Kari Madressa. I could not take my eyes away from the amazing decorations of the ceiling. The ceiling is flat (so they say) but the the master craftsmen have done such an amazing work that it actually appears to be dome shaped. My highlight of the the whole trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Dilshod was very informative, caring and sensitive to the needs of a diverse group. He is a brilliant guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Please go as soon as you can. strongly recommend this trip and holiday
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Daphne Partridge

    Amazing people and architecture

    This holiday gives a great overview of the country and it's history visiting cities along the Great Silk Road, each with their own amazing buildings and stories

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We had been to many squares, mosques and madrassas but Registan Square in Samarkand topped them all and one of the final highlights of the trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilshod was excellent - friendly, extremely helpful and incredibly knowledgeable of his country and it's history and also adaptable to our requests.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Everything was incredibly cheap and we struggled to spend $200 on food and drink and trinkets in the twelve days! Take dollars which can easily be exchanged for Som. Women travellers wear sleeved tops and crop trousers/trousers or skirts., and have a scarf handy for the couple of mosques. Don't worry about the night in the yurt - very pleasant with proper framed beds and and an electric light! To avoid disappointment, if you see something you like then buy it.... some items are only local to that city and you won't see them again. The food was good with salads, soups and meat dishes, some almost European style, but also plenty of local cuisine to try.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared for quite a lot of long journeys - the tour bus was fairly basic and the roads bumpy (1600 km travelled in total). Tourists are still quite a novelty in Uzbekistan and everywhere we went people wanted to have their photos taken with you or to talk to you and practise their English. Everyone was so friendly and we were treated like VIPs.
  • Reviewed October 2017
    Lesley Prosser

    Very well-run tour of a great destination

    This was a fascinating insight into a country I knew little about. The pace was good, and both the sites and the sights were interesting and varied. With one exception, the accomodation was better than my expectations. We were 15 people in a full-size coach, a real luxury for the several long drives. It was great to be able to swap sides to see a better view, or join others for a chat. The group were a pleasant assortment of people who got on well with each other and were enjoyable company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What can one say? The Registan at Samarkand. Just when we thought we were all mosqued out, there it was...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I generally prefer solo travel, as I like to go my own way, but Dilshod had made a convert of me. He is a brilliant leader. His long experience shows in the effortless ease with which he performs this very demanding job, but nonetheless, he injects his presentations and information sessions with a freshness and enthusiasm that never, ever sounds like he is just playing a tape recording in his head. He is an immensely likeable person, and a pleasure to chat with out of hours. He is the first leader I have come across who was willing to spend dinner with his group every night to make the ordering and paying a painless process in restaurants where English was rare.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While standards of hygiene are generally good, some public toilets really require you to have a supply of tissues and sanitiser. Oddly, if you wanted to buy a roll of toilet paper, it would be easily found in any little local shop. Kleenex, on the other hand, is hard to come by - you really need to find a pharmacy to buy that. So take plenty of Kleenex.
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Hayley Mooney

    Unbelievable Uzbekistan

    Definitely book this trip, Uzbekistan is beautiful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The yurt camp. Sitting under the milky way listening to the guy singing is something I'll never forget, even the 6k walk through the desert the following day was fun. Of the historical sites, the necropolis in Samarkand was my favourite, and Samarkand was my favourite city. It's easy to get around and the people are lovely, although that can be said for every town and city in Uzbekistan.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilshod was incredible, his passion and knowledge of Uzbekistan is awesome. He must be the best guide in the whole of Uzbekistan. He's also just a really fun and lovely guy. Valentin is a fantastic driver. Even though most of the roads are in good condition it did get a bit bumpy at times, but I always felt safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Uzbekistan airways is great, you get plenty of leg room and the food really isn't as bad as everyone says. A lot of the historic sites have been reconstructed in the past 10-15 years, so much so that it kind of became a running joke, it doesn't detract from the trip though. The food is delicious. Plov is the best! The kebabs taste amazing, but can be a bit greasy. The bread is delicious, and there's plenty of salad options for vegetarians.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Forget any preconceptions you have about Uzbekistan, chances are it's nothing like you're imagining.
  • Reviewed May 2017
    steve adams

    the delights of uzbekistan

    The people of uzbekistan are so open and friendly. The cities and the monuments within them live up to all expectations and there is so much to see. The Yurts are comfortable and spacious, toilet facilities at the camp are good, much better than expected. Camel ride and walk through the desert was a great experience and finishing up with a swim and a picnic beside the lake was a great rounding off of the camp experience. There are long bus journeys on this trip between the towns and some of the roads are quite rough but we felt safe in the hands of our driver. Food is much better than expected and there is more variety than the trip notes seem to indicate. Nobody appeared to get any serious stomach bugs on the trip which is unusual when the weather was so hot. I think this was because our guide advised on good eating places and kept us right. The currency issues are not as difficult as hinted at and are easily managed. Security, including arrival and departure at the airport was robust but not a problem

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to say as there were many. For me the Registan and other monuments in Samarkand were probably the most inspirational thing but the night in a yurt camp with camel ride was amazing as were the desert forts. Or maybe the most inspirational thing was the openess and friendliness of the uzbek people. A trip of many highlights

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilshod was patient, understanding, organised and extremely knowledgable on history and local customs. He had a good sense of humour, gelled well with the group and shared many personal experiences of his life in uzbekistan. He made the trip easier for us all and kept us going when the heat of the day made us wilt. I think his guidence and attention in terms of directing us to eating places also helped to keep us healthy

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel as light as possible, have a torch for the Yurt camp and make sure you drink lots and lots of water. Take money in US dollars and slap on the sun cream before you go out.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a wonderful trip that fully lives up to expectations
  • Reviewed May 2017
    Erica Whitfield

    Uzbekistan uncovered

    This was a well structured trip , and took in most of the spectacular sights of Uzbekistan. It is busy with little free time (in the right places ) and we didn't get to go on the train , which would have been a relief from the tour bus ,as it covers a lot of distance. Uzbekistan is a fabulous place to visit , has many awesome buildings , and you cannot walk more than 50 metres without a local wanting a photo with you, which meant lovely conversations and interactions. It was great to have a camel ride to the lake , as this meant chilling time and a much needed refreshing swim.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Poi Kalyon was fabulous , and seeing the Koran in Tashkent (which we would have missed if we had not insisted on going )

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilshod was very good , a calm and knowledgeable guide who would try to accommodate our wishes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The vegetarian food is nowhere near as bad as suggested , try to avoid the set meals though , they are not worth it for Veggies. Do not accept a ground floor room by reception in Bukhara Hotel Aist, it is very noisy ,dark (no window) and cramped.(which the other rooms are not )

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels are not always in the best location , Tashkent hotel was miles from anywhere in a residential suburb, so having a free morning there was pretty pointless.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Elizabeth Robertson

    UZBEKISTAN UNCOVERED

    Surpassed all expectations. This was an 11 day escorted tour across Uzbekistan, following the silk road.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The historical monuments were stunning. The sheer scale and colour was breathtaking. There was a nice mix of seeing the old alongside the new.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can't speak highly enough of our tour leader Dilshod. Nothing was too much trouble. His knowledge of Uzbekistan history was incredible. He was helpful, informative and a real pleasure to have with us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a raincoat as we had a couple of cooler wet days. Tea is the national drink, taken without milk. If you enjoy coffee or milk take your own. The sun can be quite strong so take sun cream. All the hotels had wifi, although it could be very intermittent. Alcohol was widely available and very cheap, even in restaurants.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Dulcie Wrinch

    Uzbekistan Uncovered

    A well balanced comprehensive trip in that we had time to see all the sights and look around in general before moving on to the next destination. Trips out to the desert fortresses and the night staying a yurt followed by a hike with camel ride to Aidarkul Lake were a welcome break from seeing the historical and other not so old blue tiled mosques and madrassas etc. The long drives were made more bearable in the fact we had a full sized coach and only 16 people so were able to spread ourselves out, the rest stops were regular and unhurried. The food was variable and rather greasy and mostly edible. The local people were friendly (apart from some taxi drivers)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is difficult to say what was the most inspirational moment as the sights overall were all awesome and in particular when lit up at night. I think the most fabulous moment was when I was on a camel and saw Aidarkul Lake ahead of me. The other people in the group were a lovely bunch and it made things even better. I came home feeling well satisfied with it all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dilshod....He was wonderful, so kind and good humoured. Also very helpful to any needs of our group. His spoken English was excellent, the best of any guides that I have met on Exodus trips to date. He was so organised when it came to ordering meals and drinks and managing the finances of it all. Didn't want to say goodbye.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not waste time going and leaving Tashkent outside the trip itself, the flights to and fro from London are only twice a week so more time spent there is not worth it. It was difficult to explore as tourism virtually unknown and taxi drivers say they can take you to requested place but haven't a clue where they are going. The hotel used in Tashkent is not widely known or central. The customs forms about permitted medication were non-existent, going through customs was trouble-free unlike what blogs say. A good torch for the night at the yurt advisable unless you like fumbling around in the dark, but we all fell asleep very quickly. Bring lots of of immodium and andrex loo paper, also air freshener as bathrooms have no ventilation!! Maybe download some maps prior to trip because they are non-existent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Highly recommend this trip....go now and enjoy.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Michael Allen

    Glad I went but glad it's over

    This was a bit of disappointment because I was hoping to see lots of exquisite Islamic art and architecture. There is some toward the end of trip in Samarkand but the mosques and madrasas in Khiva and Bukhora weren't very attractive. There was too much shopping time for my taste. I am vegetarian which limited food selections. The salads are very good but there isn't much choice beyond that and I don't think even the non-veggies enjoyed the food much. Sometimes a vegetarian dish was just a regular dish with the meat removed e.g. we were told chick peas were vegetarian but they came with some bits of meat which they had overlooked. The local beer, however is excellent. An interesting part of the trip was learning about the Russian influence, good and not-so-good, and the changes that have occurred since the Soviet Union imploded and Uzbekistan became independent. I also enjoyed learning a about current life in Uzbekistan but am aware that we as tourists we may be presented with a somewhat sanitized view of things.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most enjoyable (not inspirational!) parts of the trip were the yurt stay/camel ride and in Samarkand learning about Ulugh Beg, the brilliant ruler and astronomer, and touring his museum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was excellent - extremely conscientious, good humoured, punctual, reliable and helpful. He never tired of answering our questions and knew a lot about the history of Uzbekistan. He took very good care of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be offline for several days. The internet service is very poor and was not working in some hotels. This seemed to be more of a problem for Macs and iPads than Android devices. In Bukhara I went to an internet cafe to check email and even there the connection was very slow.
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Philip Stoate

    Uzbekistan uncovered

    Well planned and executed trip. A wide range of sights visited. Hotels were reasonable some were good and some were very good. Particularly the room in the madrassa was unusual. Generally the standard was better than expected.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The night in the yurt - definitely better appointed than I expected. Followed by the camel ride and swim in the lake

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very accomplished and caring. Ensured that our salads were safe to eat and toilets were clean. Checked on anyone who became sick.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be ill with a stomach upset at some stage. In spite of care taken everyone became ill at some stage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus -Add a universal plug to your universal packing list. None of the hotels had basin plugs
Call us on 074 340 4587