Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Karen Reed

    Engadin Ski Marathon!

    I've just returned from my 4th Engadin, and had a fabulous time. The atmosphere and support from skiers and spectators was amazing! I love a ski week with a challenge at the end, and a 42km race is definitely a challenge!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Receiving a hug from Eric at the finish line! I had skied the race of my life and was 2 hours faster than my first time. That improvement is down to Eric!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was inspirational as always. His instruction and guidance means that over the week we all improve and have the best opportunity of completing the marathon on the last day. If he no longer leads the trip he will be sorely missed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I enjoy dressing up for the race as I like to see the spectators response. The people are so friendly and appreciate anyone making the effort. A group of spectators we met on the train on the way to the start spotted me skiing through Mattress Alley and cheered me on! To spot me among 14000 skiers was amazing!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Engadin Marathon is suitable for classic or skate style skiing. I prefer skating and hope Eric might do just one or two more years so I can continue with my progress!
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Mary Wilson

    Amazingly Rewarding Skiing Adventure

    The trip to Switzerland to do the Engadin Ski Marathon was one of the best trips I have taken. The trip itself was fun great fun, the skiing was hard work but a real adventure and a great sense of accomplishment at the end of the week! Incredibly well organised and great value for money.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was crossing the line of the Engadin Ski Marathon having only learnt to skate ski that week. It was brilliant to achieve something I didn't think would be possible at the start of the week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric the trip leader was great in organising all the travel and equipment, providing really great coaching during our lessons and did a great job of giving us tips for the actual course of the marathon. Eric also did a really great job of bringing the group together and creating a friendly atmosphere.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although fun and rewarding the days can be quite long with all travel, skiing and waxing skis in the evening, so don't expect lots of free time during the day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who enjoys keeping fit, being outside and completing a challenge. Although experience definitely helps, it is not an impossible task to anyone who has done limited cross country or roller skiing. Many of the people on the trip had been on this trip before, which I believe is testament to how great the trip is. I would definitely go on it again.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Valerie Dawson

    A wonderful week

    This was my third Engadin Marathon with Exodus. Why do I keep coming back? The skiing is fantastic, the scenery is wonderful and the hotel and food is out of this world. Add in to the mix skiing with a great group of like minded people and the leadership skills of Eric Woolley (who makes everything fun) and there you have it - my ideal holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finishing the marathon for the third time, beating my previous times.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric is unique - I've learned so much from him and my skiing continues to get better. He works hard to encourage everybody, to make sure they have the best chance of skiing the marathon.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take time to train to ensure you are reasonably fit - you need stamina and strength to complete the marathon.
  • Reviewed April 2016
    Jennifer Hill

    Fantastic Time

    We skied, we ate, we laughed, we raced.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finishing the flipping marathon!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric is fab as always, and Lynn is the best right hand woman. They make you feel totally part of the group and give you self belief to finish the race.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it! Don't worry about the logistics of the race, Eric will talk you through the whole thing, and give you a hug at the end of it all.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Val Dawson

    Engadin Ski Marathon

    If you like fresh air, beautiful scenery, great company, delicious food AND the challenge of skiing 42 Km in one of Switzerland's most beautiful valleys with 13,000 other people, then this is the holiday for you!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing our leaders Eric and Lynne waiting to give me a big hug as I crossed the finish line! Completing the marathon gave me such a sense of achievement and I'm definitely going to do it again in 2017.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric and Lynne are just great. They both worked really hard to make sure everyone had a great time and that we all had the best possible chance of finishing the race.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    While it's definitely easier than running a marathon, it's a serious undertaking to ski 42 Km at quite a high altitude. You don't need to train obsessively, but you do need to be relatively fit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel Crusch Alba is superb. It's comfortable, warm and the food is out of this world. When you're training for a marathon you need to eat well and sleep well. The hotel ticks all the boxes for me!
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Hilary Lodge

    Engadine Ski Marathon

    Great holiday - good cross country ski-ing, good company, the sense of achievement in completing the race. The hotel provided very good buffet breakfasts and three course dinners with regional dishes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing the finishing line at the end of 42km in a good time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both leaders, Eric and Lynne were excellent - lots of very helpful tuition and good organisation. They made sure that everyone doing this ski race for the first time was aware of what to expect.
  • Reviewed March 2016

    Engadin Ski Marathon

    Picture the London marathon with blue sky, in snow and beautiful countryside and you're on your way to imaging the Engadin Ski Marathon. The scenery is amazing and the spectators supportive, but it's still a marathon and so not for the faint hearted.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was my second time doing the marathon but I still found the start quite emotional, skiing with about 13000 people through the valley with mountains all around was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric and Lynn are a great double act! The whole week is run very efficiently, starting with getting used to hire equipment and playing games through to the serious stuff of improving technique and becoming familiar with the route prior to race day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I chose to wear fancy dress to distract from my poor ski technique and the spectators loved it. I was dressed as a butterfly and people shouted out to me and waved their arms suggesting I should fly up the hills. Others skiers encouraged me and I was even interviewed twice! However, it's a marathon so fitness and ski ability must come first and a then lot of thought about costume choice is crucial - nothing too big, too restrictive, too hot or too heavy etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a challenging trip requiring reasonable fitness and a very positive mental attitude, but I loved it so much I hope to do it again next year.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    ENGADIN SKI MARATHON

    What an amazing even to take part in! It was a great week of excellent tuition culminating in an awesome day at the ski marathon.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The excited masses at the start line, in the sunshine, in a lovely valley, set to dramatic music, about to do something that most people back in the UK think is a bit mental. And they didn't even see the skiers with trailers of beer.... Being cheered on by spectators calling out your name (it's on your race number).The warm congratulations from Eric at the finish line!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant - as usual. Eric is really patient and relaxed with the group and has a good knack of getting the technique through to people. I've seen a real improvement in my skiing with his assistance.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - it is so much fun! But don't forget your suncream...

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be put off by the fact that it is a marathon - there are all sorts of shapes, sizes, skiing abilities and fancy dress outfits taking part. It's worth it.
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    ENGADIN SKI MARATHON

    A fantastic experience!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Waiting on the starting line surrounded by 13,000 competitors and bright blue skies - awesome!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric Woolley was fantastic - excellent instruction meant that all the group completed the race in really good times. He made sure the week ran smoothly and everyone had a great holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are looking for a challenge with a difference then this is the trip for you!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel in Zernez is great. The food served is more like you would find in a four or five star hotel and the bircher museli served and breakfast was amazing!
  • Reviewed March 2013
    Anonymous

    ENGADIN SKI MARATHON

    First timer - but possibly not the last...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I'd never entered a marathon distance of any sport, let alone cross-country skiing (I'd previously done an intro week wth Exodus at Seefeld, Austria) - so the elation of finishing AND well under my expected time was a bit overwhelming and many thousands of people saw me cry like a baby (with joy!) at the finish line.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric is a one-off - his leaderships skills, knowledge of the sport and keeness to help others reach their best is inspiring - and the fact it's all rolled up in a package of good fun is a bonus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be put off by the daunting word 'marathon' - I know it sounds scary BUT the lead-up days of prep and the group camaraderie takes the stress out of it, and, with the festival atmosphere of the day coupled with the adrenaline, you'll get through it. I'm not saying it's not a challenge - you will need to be fit and you will need grit determination but without the rest of the group I wouldn't have enjoyed it half as much.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take travel wash with you - because this is a week of sweat (but no tears!)
Call us on 074 340 4587