Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    John Proudlock

    Great fun

    A fantastic skill to learn, with a great group of people, in a beautiful part of the work, whilst staying in a comfortable hotel. What's not to like?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going from being a novice at skate skiing to taking part in my first (friendly) biathlon.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was a fantastic group leader. He was great at managing the group which had varying levels of expertise and fitness, he was also a great tutor and really advanced my skiing. He's friendly and easy to talk to with a load of mountain leader experience that he was happy to share as the week went on.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The fitter you are before you go, the more you'll get out of this trip.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Margaret Owen

    A brilliant introduction to skate skiing

    A great place to learn to skate ski with plenty of easy tracks (even though some were closed because there had been too much snow!) Alex is a great teacher: very encouraging and great fun but never pushy. I had never skate ski-ed before and it was tricky to start with but by the end of the week I had got the hang (at least of the basics) and was really enjoying it. The company was good and the group worked well even though there was quite a spread of skill levels. I would definitely like to go on another dedicated skate week (it’s what all the cool cx-skiers are doing in Europe!) but there aren’t that many options on Exodus. How about a skate week in Dobbaccio or one of the Norwegian places Exodus?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Realising (on day 2) that I could actually do it without falling over

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alex was brilliant and great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! A bit of basic fitness and stamina will make a big difference to your enjoyment

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I’d like to see more skating weeks offered on Exodus in different resorts. Achenkirch is great for level one but any more advanced than that and I think the guide would be a bit limited in planning suitable excursions. Dobaccio or one of the Norwegian areas would be brilliant.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Michael T

    Austrian Tyrol Skate & Classic Week

    This holiday was for beginners Skate & intermediate Classic cross country skiing. Achenkirch is a great area with a good variety of loipen from easy to challenging which are well maintained. Snow conditions during the week were excellent for skiing (not icy) & we were fortunate in having Eric Woolley as our leader. He is an excellent instructor & gives plenty of encouragement whilst ensuring that everyone enjoys themselves & has fun. We were made to feel welcome at the Hotel Fischerwirt which was very comfortable & provided us with a good selection of Austrian Cuisine. I have been on many cross country skiing holidays & this one has been the best yet!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skiing down from Steinberg to Achenkirch

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to get fit before going on this type of holiday.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Paula Gould

    Sunshine, strudel and lots of snow - perfect conditions for a skating novice

    This was my second 'Learn to Skate' holiday with Exodus. Having enjoyed the beginners' holiday so much in 2017, I decided to make the most of Eric's excellent tuition and build my skating confidence and competence before taking the next step to intermediate level. As last year, several other people in the group had skated once or twice before - others were completely new to skating (but not to XC or downhill skiing). But that wasn't a problem. Eric ran the holiday as described and thanks to his near-exhaustive (!) list of drills and exercises, combined with limitless patience and good humour, it was practically impossible NOT to improve your skating technique over the course - whatever level you had started at. Snow conditions were good all week and we enjoyed some excellent days out, as well as skiing from the door of the hotel and exploring the various loipe around Achenkirch. We also managed to visit numerous cafes whilst out and about (essential refuelling!) In summary - a perfect choice of holiday if you want to have a proper go at skating in beautiful surroundings, whilst also having fun and eating cake.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Skating around the loipe at Achenkirch on the last day and thinking - I'm doing this, I have really learned to skate!! Skating around Pertisau on squeaky snow in brilliant sunshine and admiring the mountain views (without falling over or looking like a complete tourist).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric's patience, good humour and unerring ability to spot exactly how everyone's technique could be improved (whether it's a big change or a tiny tweak) makes him the perfect coach. He also managed to notice that I was struggling with cold hands on day 1 (though I was trying not to show it) and loaned me his own three-finger gloves for the remainder of the holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't book this holiday if you don't actually want to spend 5 days on skating skis. Sounds obvious, but this holiday is more about tuition than daily mileage. Do come with a good appetite - the food is fantastic!
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Allister Bell

    Tyrol Skate Week

    Achenkirch is an excellent location with well prepared tracks across the road from the hotel and excellent bus connections to other locations in the valley. We were very lucky to have superb snow conditions. The hotel is warm, comfortable and very friendly. Food is excellent and good vegetarian options. The skiing is a mixture of flat, fast areas for training, small climbs in woods, and bigger climbs at Pertisau. Ski hire equipment is of a good quality and hired locally, so you can change kit as needed.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The ski trip back from Steinberg is magical. So good, I did it again the next day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric is both a superb Coach and group leader. He is able to manage a group of mixed abilities, ensure everyone is both challenged and supported, and makes sure everyone is having a great time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The intermediate trip is quite demanding. Arrive fit and rested and you will get the most out of it.
  • Reviewed February 2017
    Hilary Lodge

    Austrian Tyrol Skate Week

    A very enjoyable holiday, good snow and good ski-ing The Hotel Fischerwirt was very comfortable and the food was very good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Beautiful hoar frost glinting in the sunlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. No matter what level of ski-ing experience you have, Eric's tuition will always lead to improvements in your ski-ing technique.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Depending on the level of your fitness, the ski-ing can be quite tough
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Elizabeth Mansbridge

    Austrian Tyrol Skate Week L2

    Good snow, great hotel and food, good skiing area and a fantastic leader in Eric but misleading grading. Having done the beginners skating course and some roller skiing, I didn't expect the intermediate course to be mainly people who had skied at least one and in most cases several ski marathons of up to 50km. It also didn’t help that I wasn't fit enough. I did improve thanks to Eric but I struggled! I understand it was an exceptionally tough group so some of the other dates may have been better for less experienced intermediates like me but I guess you just take your luck.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole area is fantastic for skiing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric is very, very good.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Nicholas Farnell

    Achensee ski skating holiday 2016. level 2

    Just returned from one of my best skiing holidays ever and i have been skiing for over 45 years. Can't get the memories out of my mind . Eric Woolley was a great leader and has a great sense of humour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    mastering the skating technique

    What did you think of your group leader?

    highly recommended. Many good tips for racing. Inspired to race one of the famous marathon ski races .

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want a change from downhill skiing and are of reasonable fitness, ski skating makes for a great holiday. It is energetic but relaxing and there are none of those ski queues and crowded slopes so often found in downhill skiing

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A level 3 ski skate course would be of interest
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Michael Hoath

    Great success

    New to the brochure - or rather a return to Achensee after a few years, and a new hotel. I chose this holiday because I wanted to see what the area looks like in proper winter conditions, having been here many years ago in winter (no snow) and summer (yes, snow). The hotel was a real find.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That skating technique is not just a theoretical possibility but actually might be practical, given a few more years.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    First rate, vastly experienced and able to teach.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a specific holiday for experienced classic skiers who want to improve their skills and begin to learn skating technique. Make sure that's what you want.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Achenkirch would be good to use as a base for summer walking once again, since I see there are now only a few Austrian holidays in the summer brochure. I love the location, and I remember the sheer decadent pleasure of the walks when they ended with a boat trip on the lake.
  • Reviewed March 2016
    Colin Wood

    Achenkirch classic and skate skiing

    I came home tired but exhilarated. It was a great way to refresh and improve my classic skiing. The introduction to skate skiing was a bonus and great fun too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Actually getting the hang of skate skiing for a few moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eric was wonderful. His expertise, patience and good humour was the perfect blend to form a cohesive and friendly group. Everybody learned a lot and had fun doing it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Exercise before you go. Triceps and sartorial muscles need a good workout.
Call us on 074 340 4587