Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

59 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019

    Fabulous - Exceeded Expectations

    The trip was amazing. The organization could not have been better. The hotels were all great and if this is Grade 3, I'll travel at that level all the time. All of the places we stopped were excellent and the lead guide always provided us with background on the places we stopped. The ride along the old iron curtain was truly eye opening. Overall, this trip exceeded my expectations and set the standard for future trips. I would even like to do it again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Budapest blew my mind. I could never have imagined such a historic city and its culture. Everywhere I turned I was in awe. I want to go back.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The guides were outstanding. All trip support was outstanding. The leader, Juan, kept everything moving, resolved any problems quickly and provided lots of relevant information along the way. He was always upbeat, ready to listen and provide whatever was needed. What an excellent representative for Exodus. Andy, who rode the back line, provided excellent support, encouragement, and humor. He was very good in keeping me encouraged. Juan and Andy - thank for all the support and encouragement you provided.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really look at your fitness level. I did not pay enough attention to the trip notes, specifically the hills, and did not have the required fitness for the trip. I "made it" with only a few short trips on the bus but I would have enjoyed the journey so much more if I did not struggle as I did. So, before you do this trip, practice your hills and make sure you can stay in the saddle for consecutive days. And make sure you have the right gear.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was travelling alone and while I have done so before, it always brings some level of worry. I never felt alone on this trip. It was a great group and there was comraderie and support from other riders throughout. I could not have had a better group and will miss that.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    J Allen

    Good but with issues

    The trip achieves its aim of visiting the 4 countries and their capitals with a moderate amount of cycling. but the bikes were absolutley terrible.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not sure there was one

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good - he lead the rides well, he communicated well. His local knowledge was excellent and was very informative. He helped the group gel. He worked very well with the second leader who was also excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling is not that great - the best is in the Czech Republic but a large amount of it is on the banks of the Danube - so dead flat, dead straight and, frankly, dead boring. Also a lot of the ride is not on road - but on very well maintained gravel paths, a very small amount might be classified as trail. The places that the trip visits are pretty spectacular and our group gelled very well. So the trip, as a whole, is a trade off if you like doing more challenging cycling than this trip offers.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The bikes were poorly maintained - my head set was loose, the brake calipers were poorly adjusted and two of the group were plagued with chains that kept coming off, part of which was caused by extreme wear and tear on the chain rings. Also the choice of bikes - with swept back handle bars, so you were in a sit up and beg position - is really strange given the distance that one was doing on some days.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Clifford Kienlen

    Prague to Budapest

    Exceeded expectations. Great guides, driver and fellow cyclists. Tour is an interesting combination of rural and great cities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our last meal as a group. Good companions

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent combination of cycling know how and narrative about the history of what we were seeing which included his experience of living under communism. I think he should make sure group is engaged before giving a briefing. Saying “ Gather around the map. I want you all to know where we are going.” once or twice would make all the difference. As well, if possible face people on the bus when relating some interesting history or giving some crucial information. Otherwise some miss key parts of what is being said.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Kick back and enjoy.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Phil Goyen

    Prague to Budapest ride

    Great ride through the rolling hills of Czech of republic and on through to Austria, Slovakia and Hungary. Many interesting stops along the way. Glad I did some training before the ride as we had some windy days.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding along the old Iron curtain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter and Dana were great. I required my brakes to be switched to accommodate my hands and even though I had some bike problems and switched three different bikes, Peter gladly switched for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do some training, will make the trip much more enjoyable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thought everything was well organized but personally would have had shorter stops along the day and arrived at the towns earlier to enjoy more of the towns.
  • Reviewed October 2018

    Cycling in four wonderful countries

    This was my second Exodus trip and it was great as the first one. Dana was delightful, always willing to assist you with any request. She was assisted by Lubos. A very good driver and mechanic, always with a smile in his face. We started the trip in the busy city of Prague , after a few days in the city I was so happy to get away. We got to the lovely town of Cesky Krumlov, it was a very relaxing day. After the first day the cycling got more challenging, we cycle through the hilly countryside. It was beautiful but really hilly. I’m not that good at hills since I lived in “FLAT” Florida. All the cities we stop in the Czech Republic were memorable; Trebon, Telc, Mikulov. I will love to visit them again. The tour of the winery in Mikulov, so much fun. The Czech Republic beer and ice cream unforgettable. The cycling tour of the city of Vienna is a most. And in the afternoon go and jump in the Danube. The ride from Vienna to Bratislava was beautiful, a very long relaxing ride.Then we’re in Hungary, time go so fast. Finally the magnificent city of Budapest. Just AMAZING!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On day six on our way from Telc to Mikulov (a very hot day) we stop in a small river and Dana and some of us jumped in the water. It was so hot that we didn’t care. It was fun...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana was excellent. Since she was the only leader in our group she was always making sure that everybody was accounted for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just enjoy your trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Almost all the riders had issues with the bikes, chains coming out. Maybe the Company should consider new bikes.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Liam Curran

    4 capital cities and 3 currencies in just 10 days.

    First few days of cycling are quite difficult as there are a lot of hills. For the rest of the trip the cycling is mostly very easy and flat. You will visit 4 countries and have to get used to managing 3 currencies. Food is fresh and portions are big. Bratislava is by far the smallest capital on the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling from the hotel in Vienna directly to the hotel in Bratislava in a day. Not difficult but very statisfying.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Prague go a few days early, as there is not really anytime to sight see on the trip. There are a lot of hills on the first few days. Even though you will say in 3 and 4 start hotels they tend not to have any soap or shampoo in the rooms.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Keith Lumley

    Excellent First Trip

    This was my first Exodus trip and wasn’t sure what to expect. From the first day of arrival the Exodus team Peter and Danke were exceptional in every aspect of the planning, logistics and guidance through the trip. The equipment (cycles) and were high quality and fit for a dual on and off road experience. I’m so impressed by the trip and the support that I have plans for two further in the next 18 months. A truly inspiring experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cohesiveness of the guides and our group on tough days where the weather was poor and the terrain challenging. We all stayed together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was exceptional in terms of his support, knowledge of all locations and accessibility for all group members for the slightest thing. He really showed exceptional professionalism and commitment throughout the tour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Feel free to take your own seats and pedals as that’s where you spend most of your time riding! Comfort is critical so use what you are used to. Also check the temperature ranges to ensure you have suitable clothing to accommodate those changes.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I have no hesitation in recommending Exodus and would be happy to receive queries from clients regarding this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Carolyn Jacobson

    Best Holiday For a Long Time

    First time in Europe and first Exodus trip. Fantastic!!! We loved the itinerary and where it took us. The backroads through farmland, orchards, vines and forests were just sensational, so picturesque. Had to keep pinching myself that this was real. Dana and Peter, our guides were awesome, and the bikes were great. The few times they let us down Peter was able to get them going again or swap it out for a spare bike on the trailer. The accommodation varied from basic to very well-appointed, but the beds in every one were as comfortable as ours at home. All in all we learned a lot of history, enjoyed sensational company with our 11 fellow bike riders and relished in our first taste of Europe

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to finish each day of the ride, unscathed (not one bingle for any of our group) and without getting on the bus whilst the others finished the days ride.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana is a legend! She is a fantastic cyclist and guide. Her depth of knowledge around the history of each of the towns and cities and countries we visited was tremendous, She is well suited to this work.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it!!! You don't have to be a Le Tour experienced rider, just average and you will be fine. The knowledge that if it does get that little to difficult the bus will meet throughout the day to pick anyone up. It was apparently unusually hot for June, however as northern Australians, our heat tolerance is reasonably high. Some of the others struggled though, being prepared with a hydration backpak would be a very good addition to your outfit.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We really couldn't fault anything that we did. We loved the local restaurants that Dana chose for us, the extra riding tours in the larger cities took us to places we would not have found otherwise in the short time we had in each. There was one thing that we would suggest Exodus changes; that is the hotel in Budapest, not for the rooms or location, but for the breakfast hall. It was like a feeding frenzy with the amount of tourist buses that came and went whilst we were staying, very difficult to get a table and as hard as the staff tried to keep up, it was a bit of a nightmare.
  • Reviewed September 2018

    A great cycling holiday

    This is a wonderful trip through beautiful and historic villages, town and the cities of Vienna, Bratislava and Budapest. And a beautiful countryside between vineyard, sunflower fields and a peacefull forrest. Our guides Dana and Peter was excellent. Great humor, knowledgeable, friendly and a rock on the bike.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the wine cave. A very fun evening with tasted of many good wines.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dana, Peter and our driver was very good and professional.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip if you have any interest in central/eastern Europe. The countries have undergone a fantastic development after the cold war and the fall of communism.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Jim Callahan

    A terrific cycling holiday

    This is clearly a carefully chosen itinerary made up of backroads through picturesque country side, forests, along rivers, across plains, through sleepy country towns and into the big cities of Vienna and Budapest. There are plenty of opportunities to sample local produce and learn about the history of this part of central Europe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the night in the wine cave sampling local wines with the vigneron himself, a jolly old fellow. Vienna was gorgeous, as was Bratislava and the southern part of Czech Republic, including Cesky Kromlov and Telch were superb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guides Dana and Peter were informed, friendly and professional, but the atmosphere was casual and relaxed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The days are generally light-moderate cycling for someone who cycles reasonable regularly and has moderate aerobic fitness and strength. The longest day approx 70km of rolling hills was a solid workout. Recommend this trip without hesitation.