Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Mike Reaveley

    A Wonderful Week with a Great Guide

    A brilliant trip from mountains to sea. The route is along immaculate cycle paths and quiet country roads. The cycling is rewarding and challenging for short periods and the scenery is spectacular.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This really is a superb trip. There is plenty of cycling with some challenging climbs. Every day was full with so much to see and do. The scenery during the rides was varied and very beautiful. The towns we visited were all full of history whether it was Trento, Lake Garda, Verona, Vicenza, Padova or Venice. The highlight of the trip was the first two days in the mountains and the ferry ride across Lake Garda. A situation developed halfway across Lake Garda when certain items in the on-board bar reached a critically low level. Fortunately, an Italian Naval re-supply vessel was in the area and came along side and the white wine was soon replenished !! We were lucky the weather - clear blue skies with temperatures in the late twenties.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mario is an excellent leader. The group's safety was always his top priority and he spent quite a bit of time moving within the group whilst on the move checking everyone was ok. There was never any doubt about what we had to do and when we had to do it, without being overbearing. He is warm, friendly and has a fantastic sense of humour (well you'd need one, dragging us lot around!) He was a great host in the evenings and took us to some good restaurants. On the last evening he booked a restaurant in the open right next to a canal, a wonderful location. He was knowledgeable about the countryside through which we were travelling. Overall, a great guy - hope I get him on the next trip. Cuido was our support vehicle driver. Obviously we didn't spend as much time with him but similar characteristics to Mario - friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable on cycling. Together, a great team !

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The more training you do the less gasping you'll do at the top of the hills

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you like cycling and culture this is the perfect trip for you.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Karen Ratcliffe

    Great mix of cycling, fabulous views and towns

    This was a lovely trip with lots to see in each of the stunning towns. We only passed through Soave (on the bikes of course) but we had a good extended break there for exploring! Lunch stops and coffee breaks were fabulous. Plenty of time for a decent lunch and a cheeky drink... or two. The cycling is a great mix of hills and cycle track, with a couple of decent climbs followed by some nice downhill switchbacks (views at speed) to reward your efforts!! Obviously it was everyone to their own pace. No pressure to ride fast or slow. There was plenty of opportunity to explore each of the beautiful towns, before and after dinner. Our guide was always happy to offer a much needed post dinner walking tour. The restaurants were all great so there was plenty to walk off! I’d happily go back to any of the towns to spend more time. The ferry crossing from the North shore of Garda to Desenzano is busy and lengthy. There’s no bar or cafe, and no outside deck options so go prepared with drinks, snacks, entertainment... it’s a long one!! You lose the bikes and catch the train from Padua to Venice. This made a nice change.. I’d been to Venice previously but only briefly so I appreciated the extra time to explore, and I super appreciated arriving without my sweaty kit on! :) It was a great way to spend the last full day. I highly recommend this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It’s hard to say, as I enjoyed this trip from start to finish. I especially enjoyed the views cycling down to Garda.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was fabulous. Enthusiastic, energetic and passionate about his home town and country. Very knowledgable and full of stories.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only the tip about being prepared for the ferry crossing, as mentioned in my summary notes. Take drinks, snacks and something to read or play ... there’s nothing on there!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book it!! :)
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Rebecca Horsley

    Volcano to Venice

    Cycling straight forward. Some wonderful places. Interesting hotels. Weather was not great though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Some of the culture art and churches.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    NA

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather unpredictable. Have an extra day at end for Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    More time needed for visiting art and culture. Check all notes each day or you may miss something. Eg. Vouchers for places. Ensure you check where to get off the boat on lake Cards as not clear for all hotels.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    j allen

    DIdn't hit the high notes

    This was a curate’s egg of a trip, definitely not the best Exodus trip we have taken. It is rather a tour that is done on bicycles rather than a ride proper and yet it fails as a tour. The riding was not challenging enough for me and a bit challenging for my wife – so probably the right level for us as a couple. That said, far too much of the riding was done on endlessly boring cycling paths with unchanging views. There are a few climbs of decent length and steepness, hence the challenge for some of the group including my wife. Only two descents were memorable and I dislike being told to go slowly on them – go carefully yes, but not to go slowly for the hairpins that did not exist. And ultimately, very sad that you cannot ride from Padova (Padua) into Venice – due to lack of suitable routes - obviously beyond Exodus’ control. As a tour you visit some fascinating places, Verona, Vincenza, Padova and Venice to name the main ones, though only in Venice do you have time to explore. Vincenza has 23 buildings by the architect Andrea Palladio and Padova is home to a great university. Venice is one to see if you have never been before. That the visit to a family vineyard is considered to be the highlight of the trip for many – superb buffet lunch and most agreeable tasting – underscores that this is not an epic ride. The “support” van was a disappointment compared to our previous trips. For mechanicals, not an issue, but to support human endeavour distinctly lacking: only water was provided. No coffee, tea energy drinks; no biscuits, chocolate covered raisins or other energy giving eats; no picnic lunches magicked up in remote and beautiful places, no fresh fruit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sadly lacking one

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I understand that this was our group leader's first as leader. He was a little over-protective to start with but mellowed during the course of the week. Informative and helpful but lacking the obvious enthusiasm that we have had from leader's on other trips

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    With no sustenance on the support van, all coffee, tea and lunch stops are at cafes, pizzeria's, or other establishments requiring payment.... this adds noticeably to the overall cost of the holiday. If you wish to enter St Mark’s basilica In Venice – do not join the queue, instead take your day pack directly to the baggage drop (you are not allowed to take into the basilica) which is on a small side street to the left of the basilica and go directly to the front of the queue waving you baggage ticket (it’s free) – you will be allowed straight in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We suffered from a distinct lack of fresh fruit and vegetables. The salads on the menus were not great.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Ed Jackson

    What a trip................

    This really is a great trip - with a good amount of cycling with some challenging climbs to get the heart and legs working. I love the fact that every day was busy with so much to see and do. The scenery during the rides was varied and very beautiful. The towns we visited were all full of history and culture whether it was Trento, Lake Garda, Verona, Vicenza, Padova or Venice.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was very inspirational, but visiting Vicenza was definitely a highlight. You could feel the love and passion that Michele has for his home town and briefly meeting his family was very touching.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Michele was and is the best group leader I have had on any Exodus trip - he was my group leader when I went to Sardinia and I booked this trip for the pure reason that I knew he was the group leader. His energy is incredible and he is 100% focussed in making sure that everyone has a great time.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have reasonable fitness just so you can get the most out of the holiday. You want to enjoy the rides as mush as you can and there are sections that are quite challenging , so a reasonable level of fitness is a huge benefit. And "throw yourself" into your holiday - your fellow travellers are a big part of your holiday, so join in with everything and you'll get so much more from the experience. I've certainly come back home with a new set of friends.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate to book this trip - a great combination of cycling and culture.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Gabrielle Barfield

    Fabulous

    This trip was an easy downhill cycle from Bolzano to Venice. Starting in the Dolomites with the amazing mountains surrounding us we were cycling mainly on beautiful cycle paths through the valley and along the Adige River. With 16 like minded people we were able to explore all the gorgeous villages on the way. With our guide Martino giving us full descriptions of the history of the areas we visited. The hotels were mostly average, all providing a hearty breakfast before riding. Lunch was had on the way and dinner was enjoyed with the group, usually Martino"s pick. all mostly good Italian food. I loved everything about this trip, the people, both locals and on the tour, the scenery, the cycling, the towns we visited, the culture, the history, the food. If you're wondering whether to do this trip, just do it. You won't regret it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting a group of different people from different countries with a common interest of being fit, having fun, and seeing a different part of the world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martino was excellent in giving instructions of what to expect on the way etc. He was a wealth of knowledge on all things Italian, delivered with a sense of humour and patience. Roberta, our driver was also fabulous, friendly and so helpful.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Thomson

    Dolomites, Lake Garda & Venice Ride - #118937

    A great trip with a good cycle each day through stunning country side.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Nothing in particular

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martino was a good knowledgeable leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Nope.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Nicola Kent

    Amazing

    This was our first Exodus trip after being recommended by a couple of friends - what an amazing trip!! Absolutely loved it - our guide Martino made the holiday - highlights were Lake Garda, Venice, winery at Pegoaro, views and safe cycle paths, the food and wine of course! Can't wait for the next adventure

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Riding down into Lake Garda

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastico

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    be prepared for all weathers - not so much daytime casual clothes as we went from off the bike, shower and out for dinner - couple of insect bikes - keep a diary and you pack so much in!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Excited to do it all again!!!
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Paul Ellen

    Fantastic Ride Through Towns and Countryside

    The ride was at a good pace, not too fast and not too slow. We passed through beautiful towns and countryside and there was ample opportunities to take photographs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The icing on the cake for this ride was how much I enjoyed the company of the other riders on this trip. I think I was just as sore from laughing so much as my legs were from riding.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Martino Falsini took good care of us, keeping the ride at a good pace so we weren't too far spaced out, stopping frequently to regroup and to refill our water bottles. He provided us with commentary on many of the towns we passed through.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    David Thomson

    From the mountains to the sea - a thouroughly enjoyable trip

    This was our first time doing any sort of cycling holiday and I chose Exodus based on the reviews of other people and it didn't disappoint.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery was amazing, from the Mountains and Lakes in the north, down to the canals of Venice. Also it was great to see the camaraderie grow within the group, from total strangers at the beginning of the trip to good friends at the end.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Martino, was excellent. He has a huge knowledge of the region and always gave us an extra little tour around any of our destinations. He also offered the chance to do some extra miles with a couple of early morning rides before breakfast. They were certainly worth doing as you saw things that were not on the normal itinerary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip was rated as moderate and I would agree with this. Just be prepared for some days to be both moderately easy and moderately hard in places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would certainly book with Exodus again for a cycling holiday - they have a good selection of routes in many countries.
Call us on 074 340 4587