Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2016
    Robert Hubbard

    Cycling in Greece

    This is the Review of Amanda Hubbard. I think this holiday was the 20th trip I have taken with Exodus and most have been extremely good. This trip ranks as excellent, together with recent cycling holidays in Croatia and Romania. Not only did Helios, the Greek God of the Sun, smile on us and give us October days of sun, blue skies and gentle breezes, but we were also blessed with a friendly group of fellow travellers and 2 excellent guides, Yannis and Constantinos (Costos) and their boss, Yiorgos (George) from Head Office in Athens. It was amazing how much activity we crammed into each day and this was not just cycling, but visits to archaeological sites and museums and even a tour of a Nemea Winery. And we also had time to eat the most delicious food, which included picnics prepared by Costos and sumptuous meals at well chosen restaurants. I would recommend this holiday for those, who enjoy not only cycling but also soaking up sun and Greek culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visits to three archaeological sites. Firstly the ancient Theatre at Epidaurus, with such good acoustics that someone at the top of the theatre can hear a coin drop. Secondly Nemea, which was visually very beautiful and where the Hellenic athletic games were held every 2 years. And lastly and surprisingly thanks to our inspirational guide, the Acropolis in Athens, which included the Erechtheion, the Parthenonand the Temple of Athena Nike. All the sites were in well kept grounds and those members of the European Union over 65 pay a reduced rate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 group leaders, Yannis and Constantinos (Cosmos). Yannis was the Group Leader on the bike and for giving us our daily briefings. He was well organised, warning us of all dangers and conscientious and solicitous of our needs. He arranged for return of items left at every hotel - we moved every day and usually left at 9am. I don't know how he managed the puntuality of 16 of us. And his knowledge of Greek Mythology and churches was excellent, but I still remain muddled! And Cosmos, the Gentle Giant, brought up the rear in the van and arranged the transfer of our luggage, gave rides to those who could not bear another hill and produced Greek salads in the middle of nowhere.. Truly both guides socialised with us and looked after us professionly and patiently, as did George from Head Office , who was charming companion on this holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The usual advice, don't think you are going to lose weight on this trip despite all the walking and cycling uphill. Bring well soled shoes for the trip to the Acropolis - the marble is slippery. And Greece is a hilly country, so the route is more than undulating.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just experience this holiday and the ancient wonders of the Peloponnese together with some Greek hills!
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Robert Snow

    A wonderful holiday

    Cycling in Greece provided a wonderful balance between absorbing the architecture and culture of Greece, both ancient and modern, and enjoying the beautiful landscapes and seascapes on two wheels. The organisation of the whole trip was excellent so that everything went very smoothly but without feeling over – organised. The route was hillier than I had first anticipated (although I should have known as the vertical ascent figure was provided for each day’s ride) but with the distances covered and the relaxed pace, it made for extremely pleasant riding. Add to this the warmth of the Greek people, the delicious Greek food and perhaps most importantly the calibre of our tour leaders and the warm companionship of our fellow cyclists and it truly was a wonderful holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to list!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both Yannis and Kostas were excellent. Yannis led the group on his bike and he clearly had a passion for all things Greek and an extensive knowledge of the history, politics, geography, geology ------- of Greece. Kostas drove the bus, sorted out any mechanical problems, provided delicious lunches and was a great back-up for Yannis. They were both warm, friendly and encouraging as well as being very efficient in the way they operated. A great team.
  • Reviewed June 2016
    Frances Furnivall

    Amazing trip

    I hadn't been on an Exodus cycling trip before but after this week I would definitely go again! Between the stunning scenery, delicious food and incredibly knowledgeable group leaders it was an amazing week that I would certainly recommend to anyone even if they have been to Greece before. We spent 5 days cycling, visiting some of Greece's most famous ancient sites and ending up in a small picturesque town on the coast every night other than at the end of Day 5 where we stayed in a lovely hotel up in the hills near Mycenae. We had a great group and all ate together in the evenings where our group leaders usually selected some typical Greek food for us to try which was delicious. All in all a really amazing trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Visiting Epidavros and cycling around the coast near Napflio

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yannis and Constantinos were as good as we could have hoped as group leaders. Yannis had a huge amount of knowledge about all of the ancient sites we visited as well as excellent general knowledge on a number of other topics including politics, philosophy, art and geology so he was excellent company and could answer every question we threw at him. Constantinos drove the van behind us and prepared amazing lunches that were waiting for us every day as well as providing constant snacks and water when we stopped for breaks. He dealt with any bike issues that arose quickly and with great humour and was a real asset to the trip.
  • Reviewed May 2016
    George Lambert

    An excellent all-round trip

    This was my first Exodus cycling trip and I was thoroughly impressed from start-to-finish. The trip involved five 50-70km days and a 6th day which involved a morning of rest in Loutraki and an afternoon/evening of sightseeing in Athens. We were on the road from 9am -5/6pm each day; stints of cycling along beautiful coastal or mountain roads were split up with fantastic lunches, visits to cultural sites including the theatre at Epidavros and the citadel at Mycenae, and a trip to a winery. We ate as a group in excellent restaurants each evening, and the hotels were all comfortable. There were two nights in Athens (one at the start, one at the end), four in coastal resorts (good for swimming) and one in Mycenae, where the hotel had a pool.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the coastal path at Nafplio!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yannis and Kwstas did an excellent job all week. Yannis lead the group on his bike and provided plenty of insight into both ancient and modern Greek history. Kwstas followed the group in the van and proved an excellent mechanic and chef, and was v.fun to be around!
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Simon Tonks

    Cycling in Greece

    A wonderful way to see Greece beyond just the beaches and the Acropolis - though you get those as well. Mostly it was small towns , back roads through orange & olive groves, and historical sites in the countryside. Hotels were, Athens aside, beautifully located and near-empty. Going for a swim in the sea to cool down after the day's cycling was a regular event. It was my first cycling holiday but I needn't have worried. I'm someone who cycles for an average 2-3 hours per week and the pace was fine with regular stops for water and snacks. Some steep hills but they were fairly short and the bikes had 24 gears so everyone just went up them slowly. One particularly long but not steep climb on the way from Galatas to Epidavros was the worst bit.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The cycle path cut into the rocky cliff along the coast from Nafplio, ending with a paddle and lunch at a shelter (from the sun!) at the far end of a sandy bay

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yiannis the group leader was great - he was a fount of knowledge about all things Greek both ancient and modern. He also led the group at just the right pace. Kostas was the mechanic, support van driver, and lunch chef. Very friendly, he and Yiannis worked well together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Padded shorts or a padded saddle cover!
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Nigel Broda

    Cycling in Greece

    A great trip with a mix to keep everyone happy. The support team were excellent and there was never a dull moment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Taking a plunge in the sea following a day of riding and just before dinner..... heaven on earth.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Think about adding a few days to explore Athens as there is lots to see.
  • Reviewed September 2015
    Mike Hanrahan

    Wonderful Greek Experience

    A truly wonderful trip. Just the right combination of cycling, great swim opportunities and culture.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The many coastal routes where blue sky met azure seas providing the perfect inspiration to pedal. Wonderful warm blue seas to swim in at the end of most days. Seeing the Acropolis at sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yannis did a really great job. He is passionate and extremely knowledgeable about Greece, has a great sense of humour and loves cycling too. He was ably assisted by Dimitris and Costas. They made a great team and looked after us well, nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The inclines are many but gradual which made the uphill sections seem quite manageable with plenty of snack stops along the way.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I recommend any reasonably fit person to go for this trip, you won't be disappointed!
  • Reviewed June 2015
    Mary Holden

    Cycling in Greece

    This was a brilliant holiday. I've been on a number of Exodus trips before but this was my first cycling trip with Exodus. It won't be my last! We enjoyed good company, good weather and good cycling, with plenty of stops at interesting places, and we were very well looked after by Yiannis and Angelos.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the coastal ride to Epidaurus. Although it was hot and much of it uphill, the views were stunning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yiannis did a great job. I thought he achieved a good balance between keeping the group together and letting people go at their own pace.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    May was hot! I would be wary of June as it might be too hot for the cycling to be pleasant.
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Mary Kinoulty

    a Greek cycling adventure

    A fabulous holiday, with beautiful scenery, a lot of hills and excellent guiding from Yannis and Angelos. The trip went without a hitch and it was great to be on the bikes from start to finish.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best moments were cycling with beautiful views of the coast and spring flowers - roses in particular which I has never previously associated with Greece.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yannis was great , well organised, efficient., friendly and passionate about Greece. Angelos his support was also excellent - enthusiastic, encouraging and lunch was always a treat.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are plenty of hills so be sure to do some training before setting out.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A great holiday with lots of ancient sites to visit and time to relax in the sea or pool or to sample the odd cocktail!
  • Reviewed May 2015
    Simon Freeman

    Sun, Sites & Greek salads

    With Yiannis guiding and Angelos supporting the trip was definitely one of my favourites. The cycling was at a steady pace with plenty of breaks and although there were a few hills they were not too extreme. This trip allows you to see many archaeological sites over the week whilst also seeing the stunning Greek scenery. Obviously a week's cycling needs to be rewarded and that is definitely achieved with the great food, drink & company.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling Sunday morning through the streets of Athens so seeing the sights without too many other tourists around. The many kilometres of cycling along the coast looking out to the Aegian sea. The great amphitheatre at Epidaurus.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Yiannis did a great job of keeping the briefings short in the evening but still informative. He was obviously passionate about Greece and wanted to pass that passion on. As someone who knew little about Greek mythology the stories that he and Angelos told have given me an insight. Yiannis & Angelos did a fantastic job of keeping us fed, watered & our bikes in working order.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even in May it is already relatively warm (high 20s) but the regular breaks meant that this was manageable.
Call us on 074 340 4587