Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Bill Petrusiak

    Better than expected

    While the scenery, the riding, the safaris were everything we hoped for, what really made the trip were the guides. Peter with his excellent knowledge, Bradley with his encouragement and concern, Vuyo, with his driving skills and always being there, made the trip so enjoyable. They had great insights, a great sense of humour and their efforts enabled us to do it all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wildlife

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Peter was very knowledgeable and attentive. Even when we thought he was wrong, circumstances proved he was right. For example, getting up at 6 a.m. to see the animals, or getting an early start on a hot day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be ready for some long van transfers. Also, have warm clothes for the high altitudes. Drink lots of water. Use sunscreen.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    South Africa is a beautiful country with lots of potential. Tourism will help it reach that potential.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Denise Hall

    Cycling Drakensberg and Kruger

    This tour is not a race it’s about taking your time and embracing the scenery, culture and everything the trip has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the diversity of the scenery and the wild animals in Kruger.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tallis ably assisted by Vuyo were first rate tending to all our requirements. All the meals prepared by the leaders were excellent considering the facilities available to them, more than enough for everyone and dietary requirements well catered for.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long challenging hill climbs but scenery is worth the effort.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Amanda M

    Diverse trip that exceeded (already high) expectations!

    A wonderful trip full of beautiful varied scenery, challenging cycles, wildlife, and history! While we did spend substantial amounts of time cycling, it also felt like there was a good amount of time for non-cycling activities: visiting several historical / archeological sites of interest, hiking, swimming on multiple days, and enjoying a beer in the evening. The cycle days also weren't rushed, with good breaks for coffee and lunch on most days. Our lead guide, Peter, was fantastic: so experienced in leading cycle trips and a conservationist on top of it, which was particularly insightful for our time in Kruger. The accommodation was all very comfortable and the many meals prepared by the guides were great: including several barbecues and often hot breakfasts or lunches at picnic spots!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling in the Golden Gate Park (day 1 of cycling) with herds of zebra crossing the road in front of us; the peaceful setting of the Sungubala Eco Camp; everything about Kruger Park; setting off just after sunrise for our toughest day of cycling.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Jennifer Steward

    Cycling Drakensberg and Kruger

    This is the trip for you if you're looking for challenging cycling through soaring mountain scenery combined with wildlife spotting in the Kruger National Park. There's also time for relaxing away from a city environment in comfortable accommodation in beautiful natural surroundings. The trip is a good mix of active cycling days on a variety of routes (mostly low traffic) but with hills! The game drives in Kruger give a good break before two quite challenging cycling days toward the end of the tour. All round a great trip for people who enjoy active outdoor holidays.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the challenging rides through the majestic scenery of the Drakensberg Range and, particularly, the ride along the spectacular Blyde Canyon. Spotting wildlife in the Kruger National Park and observing a rare African Wild Dog face off hyenas on a morning game drive was inspirational!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader worked hard to ensure the group was looked after well. He has a good knowledge of local history and was sociable with the group. All the team of guides worked hard, were good-humoured and took care to ensure everyone had a good time, plenty to eat and drink and enjoyed the cycling and other activities.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There is plenty of uphill on many of the routes so a bit of cycle training is advised. However all the routes are do-able and there is a support vehicle following the group at all time. Great for travellers who want social media downtime as WiFi is limited in many places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are some relatively long travel days but the drives are scenic with plenty of stops along the way.
  • Reviewed April 2017
    Ian Cooper

    Ian Cooper. Cycling the Drakensburg Ranges

    Very well run trip with Jean-Paul Gardelli looking after us, Ende driving,fixing bikes and game spotting and Skhumbuzo ably assisting and telling stories. The guys turned out excellent meals every day on the road and kept a steady supply of liquorice allsorts to get us up the hills!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Ende our driver spotting a leopard on a branch driving out of Kruger was brilliant. The scenery is truely spectacular ( just like the ads!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jean-Paul Gardelli was great. Very informative on many subjects thrown at him. Obviously loves his country and got on really well with everyone..Nothing was too much trouble for him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a great trip for the moderately fit. Lots of variety in the scenery and the driving sections are not too long.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lots to see in South Africa so try and incorporate another tour
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Peter Wilkinson

    MZD Cycling the Drakensberg

    This was a first rate trip that made me very positive about South Africa. The whole experience was excellent with first class leadership of the guides that made its two weeks to remember for years to come.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Just viewing the changes in scenery as we cycled and drove along.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jean-Paul was an inspirational leader who clearly loved his country and was able to effectively impart that enthusiasm.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Come prepared to absorb everything the country and people have to offer.
  • Reviewed January 2017
    Jacqueline Wadsworth

    Drakensberg & Kruger

    This trip has all the attributes for an excellent trip. Smashing scenery. Wildlife. Good accommodation. However all the great ingredients can still be baked into a moderate cake.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the pools at Ehlanzeni.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was not a good ambassador for South Africa. He knew little about the areas he was cycling in and he had little recent experience of the route. I don't mean that he got lost, but his expectations of the terrain was inaccurate and he had no knowledge of the sites nearby. He did not give adequate respect to our driver / cook and on a number of occasions took over the duties of his colleague with no adequate reason to do so. That said he was friendly to the guests and tried hard to make everyone feel included and to respond to their requests.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are a lot of long minibus transfers on this tour, and watch out for the actual length of the trip - you might find yourself home 2 days earlier than you expected to be.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would not recommend this trip to other members of my cycling group.
  • Reviewed November 2016
    Diana Clanton

    cycling drakensberg and kruger

    fabulous trip. Guides Tellis, Bevan and Tish were outstanding. Great selection of accomodations. all very unique

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    krueger park and seeing the big 5

    What did you think of your group leader?

    outstanding.........Tellis, Bevan & Tish

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    really be ready for the HILLS.........this trip needs to be rated higher than a 4
  • Reviewed October 2016
    Constant Van Den Berg Van Saparoea

    Drakensberg and Kruger cycling

    Great cycling holiday. Combination of seeing nature, rock formations, animals and birds, with cycling was great.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling along a quiet lane in the hills, with zebra galloping in the fields and crossing the road in front of us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was very helpful with cycling and knowledgeable with respect to the animals and birds.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Because of rather extreme temperatures due to the altitude (2000 m) take clothes suitable for cold as well as hot conditions. For cycling in the sun and heat, it is helpful to take white, or at least light coloured, cycling clothing rather than the often black gear used. it will reflect the heat and is better than using sunscreen.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I used my own pedals (clip-ons) for better pedalling.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Tracey Hudson

    Stunning cycle of the Drakensberg and Kruger

    A fantastic way to see Eastern South Africa. Plenty of steady climbs to test the legs (would recommend spin classes beforehand to strengthen those muscles!) rewarded with some stunning downhill rides (even though downhills make me nervous). Cycling on good roads with some traffic. Amazing opportunities to spot wildlife too! Top trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spending time watching a small group of hyenas (mothers and young ones) on our early morning game drive in Kruger and seeing two elephants probing for water from a dry riverbed with their trunks. Amazing views over Blyde River Canyon as our trip came to an end.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Wynand is 100% energy; fun, efficient and a very decent cook. A very knowledgeable guide with a passion for his country and its history and indeed a cycling nut! His knowledge of wildlife is also second to none!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely pack light fleece-lined layers and comfy gear. Light hat, gloves and socks and a couple of neck scarves, although temperatures in August varied and you get hot pedalling uphill! Take a good camera and binoculars for wildlife spotting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip is a challenge but you're rewarded with some amazing scenery, blue blue skies and some decent grub! Do it!
Call us on 074 340 4587