Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed July 2018
    Patrick Thompson

    Awesome Trip

    I thoroughly enjoyed my second hiking trip with Exodus. The guides (Bob and Paul) were superb. They went out of their way to make us all feel comfortable with what the hikes would be like and what our options were each day. The scenery was amazing, we lucked out with good weather until the last day which was raining. I can't say enough about how well the trip was organized and well thought out. Hats off to Exodus and especially Bob and Paul.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery at the summit of the mountains. It was awesome.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob and Paul were both excellent leaders. Really great guys and they went out of their way to take care of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip it was excellent.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Olga Alliloueva

    Hiking in Austrian North Tirol

    It’s been a wonderful experience, rather challenging on some walks, but worthwhile the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The best moments are related to being surrounded by lavish alpine meadows, with a multitude of flowers. It was fun putting a name to a flower.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have taken both level 3 and level 5 walks. Both leaders were professional guides and knowledgeable in the local matters.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack a sufficient quantity of band-aids, mole skin plasters, etc.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I was impressed by the in Fischerwirt inn. The inn offers abundant breakfasts and restaurant-like diners, with multiple options to choose from. I don’t think the dishes were ever repeated! A great choice of beers as well. I opted for a single accommodation. The room was quite spacious and nicely furnished, with lots of drawers and hangers. A very comfortable bed and a warm duvet. The hotel was full, but very quiet at that.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Paul Richardson

    Great week in the Tyrol

    Authentic Tyrolean hotel, in a picturesque location served as an ideal base for series of well guided walks showcasing the surrounding mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Swimming in the lake during heavy rain and a thunderstorm.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob Mason and Paul McDermott were both excellent hosts, guides and organisers. I should add that i have been on about 8 Exodus holidays and can state these two gents were up there with the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You've read it before, but its true, even in July, waterproofs and gloves are needed. And this is from the guy who swims in the lake, so I'm not adverse to the cold!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Read the trip notes, make sure you know what you are letting yourself in for. The walks are graded accurately, but can still take some people by surprised if they have not done their homework. My flights outbound and home bound turned to a complete shambles thanks to KLM, not I add Exodus's fault in any way. However Exodus' teams in the resort and the UK swung to my rescue on both occasions and rebooked flights as required to get me to my destinations. The level of expertise and speed applied to resolving these problems was outstanding. I do not think I have received such good customer service in the realm of solving a problem at any other time in my life. Use this company with complete confidence.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Richard Ireland

    A Enjoyable Week in Achenkirk

    Very good overall. Competent, well qualified guides and diverse, friendly fellow walkers. Large, comfortable hotel with a good self service breakfast menu and reasonable range of dinner options. Added attraction of an impressive sauna suite, which helped recovery after our more taxing, and mostly damp walks. The area is very attractive, with a good choice of walks and a variety of efficient and novel transport modes. A couple of small issues relating to my bathroom, which were dealt with as soon as practicable by reception.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed the challenge of getting to the summit of Hochiss and, perhaps more crucially, descending without mishap, with the encouragement of our guide (Paul), despite quite wet and tricky conditions, and one walking boot that had seen better days!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leaders (Bob and Paul), quite different in nature, but both very effective, competent in what they did, and good companions for the group.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    For some, the level 3 walks, might be a little easy when compared with, say, those in the Picos itinerary. However, it does give more time to look at the alpine plants and enjoy the mountain hostelries!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was good to have free access to the various modes of transport, including the free day. If so inclined, one could spend the whole of the free day ferrying up and down the lake, interspersed with cable car trips and the odd steam train ride!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Janet Tinney

    The Heidi type mountains I always wanted

    My intention for taking this trip was that I wanted to have some pleasant walks in the mountains that did not require great technical difficulty like ropes or high altitude gear. I wanted to see beautiful mountain views, and mostly, alpine flowers. This trip did not disappoint me. I chose the easier of the two itineraries. The level 3 was a very comfortable but full day for me. Every day was a different experience, sometimes a ridge panorama or a descent to a lake, but always a beautiful and varied landscape. I thought utilising local transport was a brilliant way to travel greater distances and thus increasing the variety of terrain explored. A steam train, a ferry, a bus, all a lot of fun. And do enjoy the farmhouse coffee and cakes! I sure did.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our last day we took a bus to Steinberg then walked back to our hotel in Achenkirch over the mountain pass at Köglich. We had a view below of a dense flower carpeted meadow leading down to an Alm, with a view of Achensee, our home for the past week. The whole view was terraced: flowers, farmhouse, lake so that one view encompassed so many outstanding features. Maybe Bob can help you find Black Vanilla Orchids, or Alpine Rose. I had no idea of the variety or complexity of these flowers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob was very accommodating to individual needs. He kept an eye on those at the back of the group. He made sure each member was safe, and engaged each member of the group in conversation. He is very knowledgeable in trails and geography of the vicinity, as wall as other hiking trails in other countries. He provided us with accurate weather forecasts for the day so we knew we were wise to pack waterproofs or extra water.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is a very affordable way to see a beautiful part of the world without spending months in the planning. Very worry free: just be well packed and show up. I loved the alpine mountains, lakes and flowers. Although I was travelling as a single, other couples enjoyed that they could have the evenings together but select different itineraries in the day according to individual preference. The level 5 is certainly challenging.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Rick J

    Achensee Wonderland

    This is my second trip with Exodus Travel. This trip met my exceptations and more. I participated in 4 of the 5 Level 5 walks. The treks were challenging but fair. I especially enjoyed the company of my fellow travellers and listening to their experiences from past walking holidays. The hotel was quaint and the cuisine was dreamy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Constantly being in awe of the views in the Austrian Tyrol.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Paul did a great job of being a calming influence on the Level 5 walks. His positive demeanour and sense of humour were constantly on display through out the treks. Big shout out to Paul for making this adventure a memorable experience.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Due to the inclement weather, suggest bringing an assortment of warm clothing and rain gear. Preferably quick dry apparel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Kudos to Exodus Travels for including the Austrian Tyrol as part of their walking holiday tours. I thoroughly enjoyed the trip and would highly recommend to anyone to include it on their bucket list.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Ffion Verburg

    Austria

    My first hiking holiday on my own...would reccommend. Well.organised and good fun. Walked the grade 5 all week even in.poor weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very good and easy to get on with...and made it fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Weather is very changeable..take lots of clothes.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Philip Morley

    Walking the Austrian Tyrol

    I completed the L5 walks and they were tough. Be prepared for extreme height gain over a relatively short distance. There is some scrambling involved and walking narrow paths, not for those nervous about heights. This is an uncandid summary, and for me, all in all, an excellent week. The rest day is needed where there is plenty to do in the local area, even if just a level walk along the lake to recondition the leg muscles.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The daily challenge rewarded with some magnicant scenery and views from the summits. The picturesque location and the connected means of transport; bus, steam train and ferry. All easily used with the supplied transport card.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader (Paul), pulled no punches. He judged each walk to be “well within our capability”. Mm, he pushed us and we rose to the challenge; no complaints. His summary of the natural alpine floribundas and wildli was an interesting and worthwhile adjunct to the hiking. Maybe, the group would benefitted from a little more detail the night before the walk, just to make it clear on the expected difficulty. There were no defaulters each day, but word amongst the ranks agreed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    L5 walkers be prepared, as to date this was probably one the most challenging Exodus walking trips I’ve completed. Albeit I didn’t do a L3 walk, evening chatter suggested they were quite a bit easier. A great scheme though to have two levels, as this allows partners with differing abilities to undertake a daily walk in their own comfort zone; there were a number of such couples on this trip. As always, be prepared for all weather eventualities

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes. The hotel was plagued with flies and there didn’t seem to be any effort to control this, even in the eating area. Almost to a person people on this trip made the same comment. Would really suggest Exodus strongly make this point to the hotel managers.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Nick B-B

    Walking in the Austrian Tyrol

    One of my best Exodus trips. A really lovely walking area, with such a variety of superb walks. Amazing flowers. Great leader (Bob for Level 3). Trips on chair lifts, steam trains and the very smart lake ferry. The hotel overlooks a large lake. My room had a lovely view of the mountains. Good food. A very friendly group of walkers. And coffee and apple strudel on the walks! What more could you want?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the Rofanspitze (2,259mtrs) and having lunch there, in the sunshine, overlooking the amazing scenery.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Bob on Level 3 (there were 2 levels of walks) was superb:- knowledgeable about the area, the flowers, the culture, the wildlife etc., very organised, kind, and made sure we missed any rain!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it! You will enjoy it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There are two levels of walks with two leaders so you can choose what to do on the day. Two levels means that there are potentially more people in the combined groups (we had 20 attendees) but we tended to split 10 on level 3 and 10 on Level 5 each day. It meant that in the evening there were more people to talk to, which I liked. Also, I think that the transfer time from Munich to Achensee is about 2 hours.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Ron Powell

    Enjoyable walks among beautiful scenery

    Added to an excellent week of walking in beautiful scenery and lovely weather, all the transport arrangements were seamless, the hotel's location and our room were excellent and the food throughout was good and wholesome.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several, including the Rofanspitze and Kogljoch Pass walks, but most of the lunch spots were pretty spectacular, as were the flower meadows.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The level 3 leader, Bob, was an excellent guide and companion throughout the week.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    From our experience of other trips, a couple of the level 3 walks are at the lower end of that ability range, while the rest are very much as you would expect. None were harder than we expected.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The ability to build your own packed lunch from the breakfast bar was a bonus - and exceptionally good value.
Call us on 074 340 4587