Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2018
    Carolyn Muench

    Great trip!

    Very good in spite of unseasonable weather for September. High winds cancelled ferries for several days. As a consequence we stayed only one night on Paros and missed Santorini entirely. But we got to know Naxos very well, and it is an island with plenty to do. it might have been frustrating, but leader Cecile Deltreil made superhuman efforts to keep us well occupied. Although we saw her frequently glued to her cell phone, she never seemed stressed out and explained changing arrangements in a way that kept us calm and happy. She was also an excellent guide on walks and in the towns we visited. If Cecile is typical of Exodus quality of service, it is an excellent company. In general accommodation was good and food excellent. Cecile has friendly relations with lots of good restaurants. I would certainly recommend this trip, and will be investigating other Exodus trips in future.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was all good. I especially enjoyed exploring the small viliages, and the museum in Naxos was a surprise - really good.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I praise Cecile Deltreil to the skies. She deserves a bonus for this trip and a raise!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A word of caution about "leisurely," a word subject to interpretation. The walks were not long, and there were stops for points of interest. But Greek islands are up and down, and in some cases footing was rocky. So the walking was easy for hikers of any level, but more challenging if you have any walking difficulties. ( I had broken my leg 4 months prior, and found the walks a bit hard. Again leader Cecile was wonderful in figuring alternative activities for me as needed.)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Did I mention how wonderful Cecile was?
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Carol Cummins

    Hampered by weather

    We had a great group of mixed ages, abilities and nationalities. We had exceptionally bad storm weather meaning most of the itinerary didn’t happen but Cecile our guide did everything she could to work with the weather. Many of the walks didn’t happen although one of the substitute walks turned out to be the best of the trip. Great guide, great group, hampered by the weather.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Route 4 rom Halki - an unexpected 7k walk on our extended. Stay on Naxus. Good pace and distance whilst still leisurely. One to add to the main itinerary.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cecile was great and more than performed given the circumstances. Very knowledgeable and patient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is ranked as leisurely and it is. Do not expect it to be anything more. Be prepared for itinerary changes as the ferries are suspended whenever there is poor weather. We had an unlucky week with exceptional weather fir the area and time of year.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel in Naxus and our host Michael were exceptional. Very glad we were stranded there and not elsewhere Have graded as s 3. Suspect it would have been higher if the weather not intervened. We added a couple of days at Nea Makri at the start and 5 says in Athens at the end which is working out well and allowed for flight to/from our local airport. Pack light - you don’t need loads and small bags are much easier on the ferries
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Vivienne Hitchin

    Greek Islands Unplugged

    A chance to see the parts of Naxos, Santorini and Paros that maybe most don't see. The trip ran smoothly, expertly organised by Cecile, and the weather was beautiful, late 20's. I travelled on my own and joined a lovely and friendly group of 15 (3 couples, and the rest of us single, aged between 40 and 70). We chose to have most meals together. All hotels had a swimming pool, all 3 star and air conditioned. My favourite hotel was on Naxos and it definitely had the best breakfast. A lovely traditional island with lots going on, a good beach, excellent restaurants and beautiful countryside. I would definitely go back to Naxos. Santorini was beautiful with fantastic views, but very steep, noisy, expensive and busy, especially when a cruise ship arrived! My knees struggled a bit on the uphill parts of this, the longest, walk. I cheated and left early for a bus back to the hotel. Definitely glad I went by cable car both ways to the boat trip too! Most walked down and got the cable car back up, which wasn't scary by the way, and avoided using the few little donkeys still having to walk up and down the hundreds of steps. Paros was delightful and relaxing, a sleepy traditional island with beautiful beaches and countryside, lovely shops and restaurants. If you want to shop wait until you get to Paros, especially for clothes, in the lovely and cool sheltered streets. I arrived home from this holiday pleasantly tired and very happy, definitely one of my favourite trips.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking through the countryside in Naxos and Paros.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cecile was lovely, friendly and attentive, she listened to what everyone wanted and fitted in with us and what we wanted, always available and giving advice when needed. Her knowledge and love of the Greek Islands and the Greek people clearly showed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a small, light and comfortable rucksack, good walking boots/shoes and stick/s as you will need them, some of the hills are steep and can be slippy. Get out walking before you go as slightly harder than I had expected of a Level 1 Leasurely, although, to be fair, I have never been on a walking holiday before (hats off to anyone going on a Level 10!).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Travel between the islands and mainland was by ferry. A time to relax, maybe sleep, or chat. Your suitcase is stored down below. Don't forget to take something warm upstairs to wear as the air conditioning can be extremely cold!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Alan Thomson

    Walking on the Greek Islands

    Three beautiful islands Naxos Santorini and Paros to visit a grade 1 but not so much walking and a lot of ferry time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The actual walks and visiting very small villages particularly the lunch stop in Naxos

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cecilia was lovely and informative

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We had only 3 walks across the 7 days so please be prepared for the traveling

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A nice introduction to the Greek islands. Basic accommodation which could be noisy/Santorini and sometimes limited hot water.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Michael Townsley

    Waliking on the Greek Islands

    Excellent Guide, Scenery and organisation. Some of hotels were not of a reasonable standard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walk along the Caldera, Santorini.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent knowledge, very well organised and good personality.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the heat when you are walking at this time of year. Keep luggage to a minimum as there are trips between the islands where you have to manage your own luggage.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Some unplanned events occurred which the guide had to deal with and she resolved the situations very professionally.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Jerry Gambs

    Vigorous.

    I rarely give ten out of ten, but this came close. The sun shone every day, I slepped well and didn't put on weight. The walks were just right, leisurely as it said, I didn't want a route march, I do enough of that. The group was assorted, what more can I say ! J

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Thanos eating my chips !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was a true professional with extensive knowledge of his job. Well educated, kind,fit, just a great guy. For me he made the holiday, such a pleasure when some one knows his job. I must thank Thanos for a happy Greek Islands Trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack half what you think you need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The breakfasts could be a little more substantial.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    James (Jim) Clarke

    Greek Island Wanderer

    A well balanced trip that gives a taste of 3 contrasting islands. Travelling in April proved to be an ideal opportunity to see a different side to Greece - quieter, greener and a comfortable temperature for walking.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks in Naxos and Paros were excellent, offering the opportunity to not only experience the pace of genuine Island life but also to enjoy the many varieties of herbs and flowers that abound at this time of year. Santorini was an impressive spectacle which even the general busyness of the town could not detract from.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have experienced many group leaders and would rate Thanos as being amongst the best of them; he anticipated the needs of individuals in the group and ensured everyone was included. It was a joy to listen to his obvious passion for all things Greek and his wish to share them, his breadth of general knowledge ensured he answered all questions and could participate in any discussions. A friendly, efficient leader who is a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light using layers rather than bulky clothing in April and prepare for mosquitoes in Paros, even in April. When on Santorini do make the effort to visit both the ancient buried site of Akrotiri (easily done by public bus which leaves from close to the hotel) and the New Prehistoric Museum (also close to the hotel) to help make sense of the Bronze Age settlement of Santorini which can easily be done in a morning and offers the bonus of seeing more of the Island.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Jennifer Chalmers

    Walking in the Greek Islands

    This was a trip that stimulated all the senses, from the wonderful colours of the wildflowers on the walks and the blues and whites of the pristine villages we passed through, to the tastes and smells of freshly cooked seafood at harbour restaurants. Apart from all the experiences described in the trip notes we were lucky enough to have some added bonuses. These included a fantastic bazouki recital and Greek dancing in the old town hall at Naxos which included unlimited drinks, a trip to the astonishing excavations at Akritiri on Santorini and, as the ferry arrived early at Piraeus on the last day, a visit to the Acropolis in Athens. Our last night's meal turned into a celebration when we were surrounded by a wedding party! This was definitely a good time of the year to do this trip, a pleasant walking temperature of 19 to 25 degrees Celsius, everything looking fresh and generally not to busy (except for the main town in Santorini when the cruise ships were in). A wonderful Spring break with great company!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The dramatic caldera walk on Santorini has to be a highlight. As you passed by the whitewashed houses and looked down the steep slopes to the bay below you could only try and imagine the huge volcanic explosion that created the current landscape and the fate of the people that lived there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos our group leader couldn't do enough to make our holiday enjoyable. It was so relaxing just to leave all the arrangements in his very capable hands. He was so knowledgeable about everything we encountered including the plants, history, archaeology and geology of the islands. He chose some lovely restaurants to eat in the evening and worked out everyone's individual bill! We had the added bonus of his wife and young son along who were very interesting to talk to.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Relax and enjoy! We went for a quick swim in the sea in Paros which was very invigorating at this time of the year but did need water shoes to get passed the first strip of pebbles. I only needed my walking poles once for part of the descent in Santorini, otherwise fairly easy walking. Do try the freshly caught cuttlefish!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Along with the Amalfi Coast walking holiday, this has to be one of my favourite Exodus trips in Europe.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Kath Tordoff

    Great mix of walking, sightseeing & relaxing!

    I've been on several Exodus trips and this was definitely up there as one of my favourites. All three islands were beautiful and very different from each other, the walks were really enjoyable and there was just the right amount of free time to enjoy some sightseeing, shopping or even relax on the beach! I was concerned that the number of ferry transfers would eat into our holiday time but we spent most of those journeys out on deck in the sunshine and it all added to the experience. I'd recommend this trip to anyone.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the whole trip but an added bonus was an unexpected stop off at the Acropolis on our way back to Athens airport! My friend and I had been regretting not flying out a day or two earlier to explore Athens so this just made our week. Other highlights included a bouzouki concert in Naxos and gatecrashing a Greek wedding on our last night!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thanos was a real character, had loads of knowledge about the islands to share with us, and made our trip run very smoothly. His help in navigating the ferry journeys was invaluable! He chose some great, inexpensive restaurants and tavernas for our evening meals and made sure there were no arguments over the bill!
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Vittoria Doyle

    Wonderful easy walking trip in beautiful surroundings!!

    Walking was lovely and easy with enough challenges to enjoy. Group was nice. Food was amazing. Thano our leader was brilliant. So knowledgeable and helpful. He knew his history, culture, flora, fauna and all the people we met around and about!! He cared for the environment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on to the caldera in Santorini. As a geography student of old, i found the landscape and history fascinating.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Thano was amazing. So knowledgeable and helpful. Kept us trying his foods. We learnt so much history through him. He answered all questions. Really good leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you enjoy walking, its a beautiful place to do it. Take walking poles!!
Call us on 074 340 4587