Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Helaine Selin

    Interesting

    I was happy to go to a place that is pretty much free of tourists, certainly in February. The hotel was lovely, the food was good and the walks were scenic if not too varied. At least one was really a bit more than moderate. The guide, Gizer, was fantastic, filling us with more than enough information about everything. North Cyprus has an interesting and pretty sad history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I think I liked Salamis, on our day off!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was knowledgeable and careful with all of us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would say it's not leisurely but quite moderate as a rating. Nothing difficult though.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth a visit. Also, in February, it's the start of Spring, and we saw tons of beautiful flowers.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Mark Sargeant

    Super week's walking in North Cyprus

    An excellent week's walking in North Cyprus with a great group and a superb guide. The guide's commentary on the history of the sights we saw including the ancient castles, churches, mosques, monastries really added to the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views of the island from the ancient castles, gorgeous scenes of the coast and island environment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer was a superb guide and represents the very best of Exodus guides. He managed the pace of the walks superbly (no mean feat given that there were 16 in the group), gave very insightful commentary on the sights we saw including history, fauna and flora and was an extremely engaging and helpful chap - his recommendations for dinner in town were very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! This is an excellent walking trip and the addition of the guide's commentary on the sights we saw really was a bonus. Christmas is good time to walk given that it is warmer in Cyprus than almost any other part of Europe. Consider staying on for a few extra days in the South of the island to get a full flavour of the country. The optional trips to Famagusta and Salamis were very good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you want an excellent and slightly different Exodus walking trip then I would highly recommend!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Mark Sargeant

    Excellent walking in North Cyprus

    An excellent week walking exploring North Cyprus at Christmas with a very pleasant and friendly group. This is not just a walking trip for you get an excellent overview of the history of the ancient castles, monastries etc that you see that really adds to the quality of the holiday. A very good variety of walks across different landscapes but mostly having views of the sea - expertly led by a superb guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Any view of the isalnd (north and south) from the three ancient castles we walked to.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer was a superb guide and represents the best kind of leader Exodus regularly has on its books. He expertly led the pace of the walks (no mean feat with 16 in the group), provided very interesting commentary on the history of the places we were walking, the fauna and flora, and gave some fine recommendations for dinner. Top class.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go on the optional Salamis & Famagusta tour, very good. Christmas is a great time of year to go with the sun shining (most of the time!) and temperatures much better than home and pretty much anywhere else in Europe. Consider spending a few extra days in the South to enjoy all of the island.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Another great holiday and a touch different to other Exodus walking trips for wholly positive reasons.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Mavis WIlliams

    Fantastic walks, amazing scenery, great food and a fantastic guide

    Walking in North Cyprus was a lovely surprise. The trip was very well organised by Exodus and we had a fantastic guide called Gizer who was very knowledgeable, kind and professional. The trip was a hotel based walking trip at Christmas time. The weather on the whole was perfect for walking and showing off the amazing scenery. (just one afternoon of rain) The walks were varied, quite tough at times but very rewarding. We mostly visited castles and monasteries during the walks. The hotel was a good standard with nice big rooms and very friendly staff. The group were amazing and inspirational. The Guide was fantastic and organised great restaurants with really good food at very reasonable prices for us all. He was the perfect host to show off this beautiful part of the world and he ensured all of us enjoyed our holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks and amazing scenery. The Manastir abbey was one of my favourite places so pretty and peaceful. The lunch spot on the walk on day 5 was amazing and will live long in the memory. Oh yes and the christmas eve dinner - lots of dancing yay

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was excellent, going out of his way to make sure everyone was happy and enjoyed themselves. He was extremely knowledgeable about the history and area and had a calm easy manner which made the trip so enjoyable. I would describe him as the perfect exodus guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure good walking boots as terrain can be a bit tricky. Layers are needed in the winter particularly in December when it can be all sunny, warm, cold or some rain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip was very enjoyable. The whole experience was amazing.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Bob Selby

    TEU - Walking in North Cyprus

    Another great holiday organised by Exodus. The beautiful countryside of North Cyprus was well highlighted by this tour. Our guide was extremely knowledgeable and kept the group together well. The weather was a bit hotter than I expected (the eastern Mediterranean was suffering from a hot summer and the temperatures were in the mid-80s whereas I was expecting a few degrees cooler. However, by keeping well hydrated the walks did not provide me with any problems.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The final walk through the pine forest and down to Sourp Magyar was exhilarating and the view at our final location of Kyrenia Rock was amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Geetha was excellent - knowledgeable, approachable, and passionate about his area. He always spent time getting to know his guests and knew who to trust to lead the way while assisting the members of our group who may have been struggling. Gave us a good advice on the creatures of the area and was not phased when we ran into a couple of snakes! He provided us with some great recommendations to eat in the evenings and where to go on our downtime.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The arrival and meet at Larnaca Airport seemed a bit chaotic but once Geeta became involved things calmed down and we arrived at our hotel in Kyrenia through the border controls in Nicosia without problem. Make sure you bring water bottles with you and good stout walking boots as there is quite a bit of walking on scree and boulders.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have already booked my next Exodus holiday!
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Wendy Powell

    Walking up to the castle and down again

    You actually have to be quite fit for this holiday. There is a fair amount of walking, especially up to the many castles. In the heat it can be tough especially on the higher climbs. Also some of the terrain can be compared to walking in a dry river bed with a lot of boulders and stones. You will be visiting a fair amount of castles and the odd monastery. You can also see the ghost city of Famagusta. The weather was fabulous, and the group were great fun. Our group leader Gizer was amazing; he was courteous,punctual, and very caring. He was also extremely knowledgable about the various flora and fauna. It was a joy to walk with him. If you stay at the Pia Bella hotel, hopefully you will enjoy it as much as I did. The rooms are spacious and modern with a fantastic bathroom. Also the breakfasts were truly delightful with an incredible choice. Yon can sit outside and enjoy the kittens frolicking in the gardens, or inside the large restaurant area. There are two pools, one quite a bit larger where the sun stays all day long. Enjoy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Nicosia; the green line and the very pretty old town.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Gizer was fabulous in every way, I couldn't fault him. Punctual, thoughtful, funny and caring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to walk up 680 steps to one castle, possibly in the heat, and then continual walking for the next couple of hours. Wear strong walking shoes or boots, definitely take walking sticks.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Henry Marriott

    May walking

    Arrangements were efficient, the hotel was lovely, the reception and meal on arrival was most welcoming. Walking was as brochure said and the town/suburbs was abundant with flowering plants. Evening meals easily available at very reasonable prices. The guide was full of interesting information about the historical context of the island. As ever the greatest fun was meeting the excellent other holiday makers! The hotel were very attentive to providing me with "gluten free" meals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The visit to the roman remains at Salamis

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed April 2018
    SID HILLS

    walking northern cyprus april 18

    A very enjoyable week,good mixed group ,interesting walks and perfect<for walking> weather. The hotel was of a good standard and the staff very helpful,also only a 15minute walk to the harbour and castle

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    thursdays walk starting with 600 steps up to a castle. getting up there

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very well organised although used turkish time when telling us how long we had to go on walks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Any later than april would be very HOT.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The difficlty rating was optimistic 2, we did a 3 in cappadocia last year this was at least on a par with that
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Deborah Dawson

    A memorable experience

    This was a very enjoyable week of walking and sightseeing. The walks are in stunning locations and, in April, there are wild flowers and butterflies everywhere. The walks are not too demanding but be careful as many tracks are rocky and could cause you to stumble if you are not careful. The weather was perfect at this time of year but I think that any later and it would have been too hot. Excellent hotel. Delicious food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lunch at the top of a mountain, listening to the birdsong and watching the butterflies.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Giza was a very knowledgeable leader and organised all the activities well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It would be very hot doing these walks after April. Also, you need to be physically fit as some terrain is quite rocky.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was a very different holiday and not touristy at all which helped to make it so enjoyable. If you are interested in history and love walking in beautiful places you will not be disappointed!
  • Reviewed January 2018
    Judy pogson

    Hiking Northern Cyprus

    I really enjoyed this trip and the group were fun and our leader was helpful. I would have preferred more challenging hikes as the abilities were quite different. I would also have preferred to be able to choose our own restaurants rather than being taken to one of the Leaders choice which wasn't always good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Really enjoyed seeing the Monasteries, as well as the Ghost Town. The Christmas eve dinner the hotel put on and the party were both great fun.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was nice but not sure he always managed the very different hiking abilities in the group. There were several really fast ones and some very slow and the ones ahead were constantly were having to wait for the slower one and he often went ahead with the faster ones.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The food is very heavy and the lunches were boring (always the same white bread rolls and cheese). So much meat the vegetarian options not always good.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did not like the fact that our leader would take us to restaurants of his choice (where he knew the owners well and maybe got a good tip for taking us all there) and 2 or 3 of them weren't good at all and there was a set menu and price and it was not good value. When we had a free eve we would go to a restaurant of our choice which we always found excellent and good value. I went from Gatwick airport which was far more convenient for me but most of the group thought they had to go from Heathrow on BA which wasn't convenient for some. The reason I was able to fly from Gatwick is because I asked if it was possible but others in the group were not given an option. Thi I s was not the trip of my choice as I had provisionally booked for Andalucia but then called to pay the deposiy and my place had been sold to someone else without even a phone call to ask me if I was still going. I was not happy about this and feel that the customer service of Exodus has changed over the past year or so as used to be a lot better.
Call us on 074 340 4587