Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Sally Sokoloff

    A Great Trip

    All the positives about this mix of walking and touring in beautiful South India that others cite are true. It's a feast for the eye and the mind. To add that the group, the guides, and Exodus responded really well when I had the misfortune to fracture my wrist on day 2. Practical help was at hand and I was able to complete the tour apart from two nights of camping and the tougher walks. Week two - seeing Madurai and the Periyar forest - was fascinating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    No one moment, but the daily experience of travel across a fascinating region, while practicalities were sorted for us, was very good. Just looking takes you a long way in India. The choice of little places such as museums, cattle market, and eco spice woodland, even ordinary tea shops, was good, and there was never pressure to buy, except - inevitably - in a carpet shop in Madurai.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santush Kumar is a great leader and a born fixer, concerned that we should know Kerala and have fun. Choice of restaurants was good too. Santo James was also a good communicator and his personal account of the Keralan floods in 2018 was remarkable. Other local guides were OK too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have a torch or headlight to use in towns at night and not just when you are camping. Take Exodus' advice about getting fit before the trip. A flask of whiskey is good to have when camping for those out-of-energy moments. Be prepared for a lot of early starts: the daily pace is quite intense when you're touring, however, slow drives in the coach are relaxing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to all at Exodus. My holiday would have been ruined without the support of an experienced team.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Margaret Meyers

    Spice Trails of Kerala

    Loved the trip with the mixture of walking and sightseeing. Would highly recommend.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking through the hills around Munnar

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks are a little bit harder than you think they are going to be.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip, would highly recommend.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Beth Lord

    Experience the sights, sounds, and tastes of South India

    This is a fantastic trip with a lot of variety. From trekking in the mountains to relaxing on a houseboat; from bird- and animal-spotting to touring a magnificent Hindu temple; from seeing tea and spices growing to tasting the most wonderful Keralan cooking; and generally seeing, hearing, and learning about the rich variety of South Indian life and culture. This was my first trip to India but it certainly won't be my last.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There is no one moment that stands out for me. The day-to-day interaction with south Indian culture - whether through food, commerce, walking in the heavily congested cities, stopping at village tea-houses, meeting people and guides, spotting wildlife, and just looking through the bus windows at people working and living were all inspirational. All life is here! I have to say that I didn't really enjoy the camping. I am not a "camping" person and for me it was to be tolerated rather than enjoyed. However, it didn't detract from my enjoyment of the trip overall. And it is true that the food on trek is wonderful (including a cooked lunch for 12 that the guide carries up the mountain!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santhosh is the best tour leader I have met on any organized tour. This kind of trip involves a huge amount of logistics and management - in India things do not always run to plan and the tour leader has to have a very high level of local knowledge and a plan B (and plan C) up his/her sleeve. Santhosh was just oustanding: hugely informative, generous, and good-humoured, so much so that you don't realize just how much work he is doing behind the scenes to make sure the trip runs smoothly. We all felt very well taken care of on this trip, thanks to him and all the local guides and camping/cooking crew that we met.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take everything that is recommended in the trip notes. Also take tissues, wet wipes, and the recommended dog-poo bags (you'll need them). The weather is cool for a surprising amount of this trip, and can be cold on trek, so bring several pairs of long trousers and warm layers. Flip-flops are useful for bathrooms, which are often wet. A deck of cards or a board game would be a good idea; there is not much to do in the evenings after dinner. Mostly, bring your curiosity and you will not be disappointed.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Paul Arnold

    An excellent two weeks

    A good mix of hiking in the Western Ghat mountains was followed by visits to interesting historical sites, a trip on a houseboat and a swim in the Indian Ocean. The trip had a change of itinerary from the original planned version due to damage from the earlier monsoon. However, Sam, our leader took us along some different trails, which with the special interaction needed with the local people probably made the holiday even better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When we were asking about a suitable place in the shade for lunch, we were promptly invited into a local's house (a complete stranger), to eat there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good indeed. He did particularly well in sorting out our bus, which had broken down late at night in the middle of nowhere.....

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be too concerned if the plan has to change.....it will most likely lead to even better alternatives!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were also fortunate in being part of a very relaxed and laid back group of people!
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Karen McIlravie

    Colourful India

    A truly comphrehensive tour of Kerala with just the right amount of contrast throughout the 2 weeks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to mention but amongst them has to be seeing elephants in the wild up close and personal, the magical temple in Madurai at sunset, the relaxing houseboat in Allepey, watching fruitbats flying overhead in their hundreds, pulling up a fishing net in Cochin...Oh, I could go on and on..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was amazing and went above and beyond the call of duty. He even went out and bought one of our group a cake when it was her birthday. He was a mine of information and always wore a smile no matter what was thrown at him. Our coach broke down one night in the back of beyond and Sam handled the whole situation very swiftly and with great professionalism. He is a charming man and a credit to your company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trekking is quite hard in places so make sure you are fit enough. Take extra sd cards because there is a photograph around every corner!! Just go...and enjoy the beauty of southern India and all of her wonders.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Helen Torode

    Fantastic trip

    First trip to India, and would travel there again. And recommend to others Excellent mix of sightseeing, culture, trekking and wildlife. A sensory overload of sight, sound and aroma. Hadn't anticipated the distances to travel between destinations

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The trekking, some harder than anticipated, particularly in the heat and the altitude, so feel a sense of achievement. Happy faces. Humbled by the stay at the school, and seeing what the pupils have compared to pupils in schools here. Hindu temples Colour Wildlife at first hand

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent tour leader, certainly did a tremendous job, when the coach broke down between Munnar and Mundhan, finding alternative dining, and another coach/minibus to continue our journey. Came away with much more insight into Indian/Keralan life, ways, etc Supportive when we struggled with some of the trekking, and had a humorous side. Went out of his way to source a birthday cake for one of our travelling companions, and fireworks for us to celebrate Diwahli.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Leech socks, may not look good, but a necessity. A number of our group were affected by leeches, including myself. They're smaller than I expected. However it wasn't a painful experience, just expect some bleeding. Be prepared for early starts, particularly if you want to get the most out of this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful experience, with a group of strangers at the start of the trip, and who become friends within a matter of days. I went with no expectations and have come back wishing to go again.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Robert Tuddenham

    An wonderful trip!

    This was a superb and varied trip with so many experiences and all in two weeks! A lovely group and with an excellent leader.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many it's difficult to be specific - all the walks, Madurai temple, Periyar Reserve, the Houseboat... ............. The top two are getting to the top of Meesapulimalai and the many interesting and informative stops on our coach journeys.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam Benjamin was brilliant -a great guy always prepared to go the extra mile. He got on well with all the group and with a lovely sense of humour. He is very well informed and his talks on the bus journeys and the interesting stops were highlights for me.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's a great introduction to Southern India. - recommend with no reservations at all. The walks in the Western Ghats are quite demanding so you need to be reasonably fit and up to walking on rough and steep terrain.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A truly memorable trip!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Lisa Brollo

    Extraordinary Holiday

    I had the most amazing and extraordinary holiday and most of that was down to the lovely people in the group and our wonderful guide Sam Benjamin. From start to finish it was out of this world. The holiday proper started at our hotel in Cochin and ended there two weeks later when I actually felt very emotional - it was all over! The trek and camping were just incredible- our cook should be on Masterchef. Food was out of this world.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When I had to use the hole to do my toilet in! 😂😂😂

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam Benjamin was the most inspiring and thoughtful and decent young man ever, he made the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep your expectations low! 😂😂😂😂

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you never visit India then you have never lived!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Chris Parker

    Great experience

    Our trip was the first visit I'd made to India and so having a guided tour was brilliant. Our tour leader was really good at his job and in addition was willing & able to discuss India and Indian life & society. This made our experience so much more than just a series of visits to tourist spots. I felt that the very best part of the trip was the trekking in the hills, which was hard work but well within my capability. We did experience unusual weather during this, with rain when it was totally unexpected. This meant a change to our schedule as one camp site became inaccessible. Our tour leader had this under control very quickly, and we had a night in a local hotel and a revised trek next day. This got us back on track by the end of that day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the achievement of reaching the summit of Meesapulimala, though seeing Indian Gaur and elephants in Periyar Park was very impressive too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sanhtosh was great, managing things brilliantly and telling us an amazing amount about India, it's people and society. I can't praise him highly enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Read the trip notes and other instructional material and follow the advice. We nearly missed our connecting flight in Mumbai due to the slow process for e-visas at immigration there. If travelling on an e-visa, get the immigration form at Heathrow or on the flight & complete it before arrival in Mumbai. Go straight to the e-visa queue and be prepared for delays.
  • Reviewed December 2017
    Mike & Helen Hudson

    Great southern India Experience

    A great all round trip with lots of variety.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Trekking to the peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Santosh was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly. Lots of small interesting stops and diversions along the way.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    At our time of year you really needed at least two pairs of long trousers (leech area trekking and temple visit). The reason the trip notes mention thin socks is that you will likely be wearing the free issue leech socks on top. You will likely get a beer or two every day (if you need one) but a plastic bottle or two of duty free sprirts is not a bad idea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is a great way to see two scenic states in Southern India where much is changing as their economies grow. The walking is not hard but you do get into the wild, as well as seeing local country life close up.
Call us on 074 340 4587