Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed February 2019
    Chris Burden

    Highlands of Sri Lanka

    Sri Lanka is a very beatiful island with loads of natural and cultural highlights, The tour is descrfibed as walking and treking. If you read the detailed notes it's fair to say that, yes there are walks, but nothing that I would describe as treking. The walks are comparatively gentle; the jungle walks a bit like Lakeland walks underfoot - but in forest. The climb up Adam's Peak certainly got the heart pumping, although with the crowds of pilgrims all around there were plkenty of enforced spots where you rested. There was a lot of travel time in vehicles. All as described in the trip details -

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sigiriya was magnificent, beautiful, and unique in my experience. Well worth the well-protected stairs up the rock face to the top. The Adam's Peak pilgrimage to see the Buddha's footprint and sunrise from the summit was a great experience, being a fierce stairway climb shared with grannies who could scarcely move from one step to another, and younger aduklts carrying their babes in arms. Not your usual climb to a summit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Neelaka, our group leader was excellent, as were his team. Neelaka had a great knowledge, particularly re wildlife. H ekpetr us well informed always with great charm and humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Look carefully at the details. But I'm glad we didn't. Coach tours are not usually our thing - but this one was excellent.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Margaret Curran

    Varied and interesting trip

    Well organised tour and great tour leader and with plenty of activities and reasonable accommodation. Offers lovely scenery and some challenging hikes, recommended!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hike up Adam's Peak

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you're fit!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The train journey would be better and more enjoyable with a seat!
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Felicity Brown

    Truly an incredible country

    The trip was extremely well organised! The day walks were challenging but beautiful and climbing Adams Peak is a must! Our leader Ruwan was exceptional. He really helped us connect with the locals and showed us the culture of Sri Lankan villages. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone who is curious to see what Sri Lanka has to offer.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To see how people can live a life so happily with so little. Sri Lanka peoplewere incredibly kind and generous to us throughout and really made you feel safe and welcomed into their home.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely faultless. Ruwan went above and beyond for all of us and gave our group such a unique look into Sri Lanka. Outstanding! He is a true asset to your company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for leeches in the knuckles mountain range. Although there isn’t much to fear. Try to be as open minded as possible! Try everything! Probably not a good country to choose if you don’t like a bit of spice in your food!
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Graham Ritchie

    Great trip!

    A thoroughly enjoyable and well planned trip. Our guide Sujan was great. Hotels of good standard. Good bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the devotion of old people climbing Adam's Peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent, very amusing.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Wear socks on temple visits to avoid burnt feet. Leeches are a problem, wear leech socks (£20) or poly bags inside your boots (free).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Camping was disappointing (and I do a lot of camping). I would have liked to have included Anuradhapura and Polonnawura and instead miss out on the day spent hanging around a (wet) tea planter's bungalow after the Adams Peak climb. We were in Galle during the Buddhist New Year and museums/churches were closed.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Nicolo Tassoni

    Highlands of Sri Lanka walking tour

    Two weeks walking tour in Sri Lank. through cultural hotspots, mountain ranges, tea plantations, national parks. An excellent programme for a first discovery of the Country, its traditions, its people and its wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I particularly enjoyed the trekkings in the Knuckles Ranges, but found extremely interessing as well the atmosphere of the Temple of the Tooth in Candy and the train journey from Ella to Badulla. Most pleasant place to stroll and relax definitely Galle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujeewa, our team leader has been truly excellent: very knowledgeable on subjects as different as Wildlife, history, traditional handicrafting. He has also been extremely nice to all of us, attentionate and helpful as well as an excellent organiser.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a very good tour for thos who want to discover a wide range of aspects of Sri Lanka. Walking is an integral part of the trip but not overwelming on other activities such as cultural visits etc.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Andrew and Anne Bowden

    Highlands of Sri Lanka

    Good walking and sight seeing and experience of Sri Lanka. Adequate/good hotels.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the leopard in Yala national park. Staying in tea plantation bungalow. Walk to Ella Rock and Little Adams Peak.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujan- very knowledgeable, friendly, calm and experienced. Could pronounce place names slower please and clearer and talk about only one day at a time to avoid confusion.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take socks for hot temple courtyards, ear plugs for occasional noisy air conditioning. Beware of hot spicy food, including salad and soup, test everything before you eat. But the curried meat is often mild, the heat is in the sauce.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Adams Peak was so crowded as to be dangerous. The top half was inaccessible owing to numbers of people. NKAR should have known this. A big disappointment. 2.5 hours in jeep on Knuckles with sideways seats and no seat belts, being thrown about on a road that was barely servicable was not a good experience. Why change hotels in Kandy - unnecessary. Why go to a hotel in Colombo when we did not see the town? Stay near airport? Walking round Kandy lake horrid and polluted when beside road. Only temple side of lake is enjoyable. Horton Plains disappointing-crowded with noisy people and so no wildlife. Rethink!
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Janet Lillicrap

    Highlands of Sri Lanka

    A wonderful experience in a beautiful country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The welcoming smiles of the Sri Lankan people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujee was excellent - caring, helpful and knowledgeable with a passion for his country. Nothing was too much trouble for him or his team and they were a team who worked really well together.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take an umbrella as well as a sunhat!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Rebecca Horsley

    Highlands of sri lanka

    A totally encompassing experience. Sujee the guide shared many different aspects of such a wonderful country. Not always easy =as in walking in the rain with leeches(leech socks were invaluable!). We saw many beautiful and diverse places, animals and met very friendly and hospitable people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was great to see the wildlife in their natural habitat. Elephants and blue whales to monkeys and colourful birds. The people were so kind. Landscape/scenery varied and beautiful throughout.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Kind. Knowledgeable. Sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take leech socks, deet, waterproofs, umbrella.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food was excellent. One problem with jewellery that I bought at the gem factory which is hopefully being resolved.
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Michael Kingsbury

    Excellent

    This was one of the best trips I have ever done. The country was beautiful and very varied with excellent walking. The superb local and historical knowledge of our extremely friendly and able guide Ruwan made the trip come alive and he introduced us to many local people all of whom were incredibly friendly and warm. The local food was delicious and the locations well chosen

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The friendliness of the tea plantation workers who are among the poorest in Sri Lanka, and an elephant blocking the road on one of our trips

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Couldn't have been better. A really lovely intelligent and capable man

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! Take mosquito repellant

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    the repellant on your boots makes leech socks unnecessary. nobody used them
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Anne Marie Cavana

    Discovery Sri Lanka 25/02/2017

    Were can I begin as this was the most amazing holiday I have ever had . From the beginning to the end there was so many great things I did, everyday was so different filled with so many great experiences. The people are so friendly,with breathtaking views,to the white sandy beaches,even to the hustle and bustle of the city I would highly recommend this wonderful part of the world as there is something for everyone to enjoy

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Adams peak was what I wanted to achieve on this holiday, as I knew it would be one of the most beautiful places to see. To reach the top of the mountain and wanting to see what the temple was like when I got there. Eventually three of us made it to the temple at the top,It felt like you could touch heaven as the clouds were just beneath you. Breathe taking views It was the most challenging of all the walks we did but I felt so humble to get to see and be part of the pilgrim The Sri Lankan people with there children,carrying their babies, old and frail achieving to reach the very top to worship, people stopping off along the side of the trail to rest and have tea . Such a honor to be there and get to the top

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sujeewa Rathnayaka was a fabulous guide, full of local knowledge going above and beyond his job. He arranged lots if different experiences for us to be part of , giving individuals there dreams come true. When we arrived from the train in Ella, we were greeted by the other members of Sujeewa team with bunches of flowers, that was such a lovely touch. His team of drivers and assistant were more than excellent so friendly they couldn't do enough for us all

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would highly recommend this holiday, as it was one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. With happy and friendly people along the trip, they were delighted for us to see and be part of the country

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus have planned this holiday with great detailed experiences for everyone to see and enjoy I can't wait to see we're I can go next xxxx
Call us on 074 340 4587