Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    John Pickard

    Everest & Gokyo lakes Circuit

    Do not read these trip notes and think, "oh thats a nice trip we have walked that in the lakes" This trip is a test of your physical and mental state. The views are spectacular, but so is the weather, when is snows it snows. sleep can be difficult at altitude, as can eating.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing Everest from Namche, as the day before had been a huge slog, we needed some sunshine and a view

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leader of the group kumar, Harry and Saga were all very good and helpful. There were times that i am sure we pushed their patients

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not rely on cash machines, take new english notes and exchange them. Get fit before you go!
  • Reviewed January 2019

    Spectacular and challenging

    If you're considering going to the Everest region, I strongly recommend this trip. The Gokyo Lakes and Cho La pass were stunning, and an absolute highlight and you'd miss these on a standard EBC trek. The region is absolutely breathtaking and the people welcoming and so friendly. It's certainly not an easy trek though- don't underestimate the effects of altitude, and also the cold. Be sure of your fitness too, the Cho La pass was very physically demanding, with a certain amount of scrambling.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed our visits to monasteries to witness nuns and monks going about their daily prayers- incredibly special.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Sherpa Dorjee, was a complete star and with his colleagues Yuma and Nima, they all kept us safe, cheerful and enlightened about the region and way of life. They knew exactly the right pace to walk at to minimise the effects of altitude, and had an encyclopaedic knowledge of the surrounding peaks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My top tips: Take merino- you're going to stink otherwise. Take plenty of hand sanitiser, you can't have too much. Take toilet paper (unless you want to pay £2 a roll up in the mountains). Steripens worked a treat for water sterilisation, but identify your Nalgene bottle somehow- when they get filled, you want to be able to identify it easily! The ATM's are variable in whether or not they work- I couldn't get one to work in Namche, and had to try about 6 in Kathmandu until one worked. I could however change cash (GBP) in Namche. The estimate of cash needs from Exodus is pretty close, but beware if you have too much left over at the end, changing it back is hard- the hotel couldn't give us GBP and airport gave change in USD. So, don't take too much! Don't forget the porters- they are like secret ninjas collecting your bag and delivering it to your door before you arrive, often dressed in trainers and a thin jacket- try to take some old gear for the porter bank. I bought them biscuits a few times in the morning- they still earn a poor wage, and it's a shame for them if their daily wage is spent on food.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just book this trip!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Fiona Henderson

    Trip of a lifetime, but it's tough

    We started this trip at the end of October. The organisation was superb. Our leader Silas was brilliant and very helpful. He was professional, was in control and incredibly knowledgeable. This is a long trip and it is tough. By choosing this trip over the standard Base Camp trek you are giving yourself three more days trekking at more than 5,000m so don't be under any illusion that this will be any easier / the same as EBC trek. Climbing Gokyo Ri and Chola Pass are very hard. The scenery is absolutely incredible and the sense of achievement is unreal. This really is a trip of a lifetime and a huge tick off the bucket list.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching base camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing! Absolutely faultless.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit and have resilience. This isn't a trip for the faint hearted.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Tory Bygrave

    Gokyo Lakes

    What can I say, it really has been a trip of a life time!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two very different experiences stand out for me; the first being the day we crossed the Cho La Pass. An early start and steep climb led to fantastic views and sense of achievement at the pass. This was followed by a decent over the glacier and stunning walk into the next valley. The second was the opportunity to meet Mr Kanchha Sherpa, the last surviving team member of the 1953 Everest expedition and listen to his memories, arranged by and translated by our guide. Another once in a life time experience provided by this trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our lead guide, Tsering Dorgee Sherpa, met us from the plane and and looked after us until departure. His experience and knowledge ensured the whole group gained as much as possible from the trip and stayed safe. He along with our other guides Uwa and Nima were always professional but still made the trek entertaining and had a great sense of humor. I really felt the group were lucky to have been guided by this team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't under estimate the trek, its tough but worth it. If you are going in the cooler season then prepare for the cold on the earlier starts, it really will make a difference to your trip. The Tea house accommodation was, on the whole, a lot better than expected and the food was always good. I took plenty of snacks, didn't need them all but glad I did. If you do take snacks make sure its food you really enjoy, peanut M&Ms were a great idea for me. If you are undecided between this and the normal EBC trek I would go for this without a doubt. Gokyo is stunning and Cho La pass an adventure.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Sue Jamieson

    Hard but great trip

    This was an amazing adventure. Don't underestimate this, it is tough, but totally worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing over the Chola Pass. I honestly didn't think I would make it! And walking up to Gokyo was just so beautiful. The colour of the water is out of this world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dorjee was amazing. So knowledgeable. He really looked after us all, making sure we weren't suffering the affects of altitude sickness. He was a really nice guy and I have to thank him personally for getting me over the Chola Pass.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is hard so don't underestimate it and you will have a great time

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep breathing!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Sue Jamieson

    Hard but great trip

    This was an amazing adventure. Don't underestimate this, it is tough, but totally worth the effort.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing over the Chola Pass. I honestly didn't think I would make it! And walking up to Gokyo was just so beautiful. The colour of the water is out of this world.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Dorjee was amazing. So knowledgeable. He really looked after us all, making sure we weren't suffering the affects of altitude sickness. He was a really nice guy and I have to thank him personally for getting me over the Chola Pass.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This trip is hard so don't underestimate it and you will have a great time

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Keep breathing!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Martin Patterson

    Gokyo lakes and Everest base camp

    Having arrived in Katmandu via Delhi we were met by our tour guide Shailesh Tamang who for the next 19 days would be our go to advisor for all things Nepalese. The first night was spent in a Katmandu restaurant getting to know the rest of our group as well as sampling some of the local food. The next morning saw us all gathered for a pre dawn return to the airport in preparation for the flight to the mountain airstrip at Lukla in a small 16 seat aircraft. The views of the mountains and valleys during the flight gave us a sample of the sights we would experience during our trek. On arrival at Lukla and our baggage given over to the porters, who with seemingly superhuman strength carried 2 or 3 bags each, and we were off on our first day of trekking in Nepal. The first day of trekking was fairly short to ease us into what would progressively become tougher days of knee jolting foot pounding trekking. Our days took on a familiar routine of 7am breakfast, trek for a couple of hours then stop for refreshments at a teahouse then move on until lunch was taken at another teahouse and then onwards again until mid afternoon to our accomodation for the night. The teahouses are clean and very basic but do provide everything needed for this type of trip. Throughout the days of trekking there are a constant stream of porters, mules and yaks moving up and down the trail with supplies which adds to the whole experience of trekking in this mountain wilderness. The scenery is constantly changing as new valleys and mountains come into view at every turn of the trail, remember to look behind you as this view is as stunning as what lies ahead. During our trek we experienced weather that allowed walking in shirt sleeves as well as hand numbing bitter cold, so a good set of warm clothing is essential. There were a couple of extra early starts to climb Gokyo Ri and Kala Pattar to view sunrise over Everest which was well worth the extra effort. Our trek up and over Cho la pass was particularly tough as we had to walk through snow and when we started our descent more snow fell upon us, which for me just added to the whole experience. All in all this trip has left us with some amazing memories and a yearning to return one day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many moments during this trip that will leave a lasting memory. Ascending Gokyo Ri and Kala Pattar pre dawn for views of Everest, making it up and over Cho la pass despite the adverse weather conditions and reaching Everest base camp.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Shailesh Tamang was always available to answer any questions and give help where necessary. His years of experience of leading in the mountains was quite evident as he successfully got 12 trekkers of varying experience safely from start to finish achieving all the goals set out in the itinery.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to the advice of your tour leader and guides, this is their back yard after all. Don't underestinate the effects of AMS or how cold it can feel at night. Make sure you prepare yourself physically for the rigours of this trip to ensure maximum enjoyment.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Tracey Patterson

    Everest & Gokyo Lakes Circuit

    Had a great time. Was very hard trekking but the sense of achievement is worth it. Saw lots of fantastic scenery and experienced lots of weather conditions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Making it to Everest Base Camp and the top of Kala Patthar.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shailesh Tamang was a good leader and looked after all members of the group. He knows his country and imparts his knowledge well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit enough for this trip. Make sure you have micro-spikes or equivalent and know how to use them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I believe the rating on this trip needs to be increased as some parts of the trek are hard work.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Jodie Boldy

    Amazing adventure

    A great trip to take you on a journey through the Himalayas seeing some breath taking sights.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two highlights for me were summiting Gokyo Ri and crossing the cho la pass. Also I got engaged on an acclimatisation walk over looking macherno peak which was very beautiful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was brilliant could not have asked for better. He is very approachable and knowledgeable. He took great care of the group and his advise was priceless, he was very encouraging on the tough days and always had a smile on his face.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advise to take Diamox for altitude and also ciprofloxacin in case of stomach upset, better to have it and not need it. I took a small hot water bottle for the night time which was brilliant and the water is still nice and warm to wash your face with the following morning. Snacks are a good idea, you can buy them in the tea houses but they are expensive the further up you go. We had a solar charge which folds up when not us use has about 3 panels on it this was really good you can just attach it to your day pack through the day. Steri pen for the water as it gets to cost a lot if you buy mineral.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip seemed a good all round trip. If anyone is thinking of doing a trip I would defiantly advise this one. The classic base camp trek is fairly busy, so this was a nice alternative and you still do base camp. Base camp seems to be the thing to do however I must say I found Gokyo much more stunning and the views from the top of Gokyo RI breath taking.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Gillian McFall

    Everest and Gokyo Lakes

    A fantastic first experience of Nepal ... and hopefully not my last

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The emotions that came out at Base Camp showed how much the trek meant to some people and I'm happy to have shared that experience with them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shailesh was very informative about what each day would involve ensuring that we were well prepared. He looked after the group well and was careful to check for any health/altitude issues which was reassuring.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Eat plenty apple pie!! :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Getting off the main Everest Trail for a few days was lovely, much quieter and a welcome escape into the beautiful goyko area. I would recommend this route.
Call us on 074 340 4587