Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Amanda Wilson

    Absolutely Fantastic

    I had high expectations of this trip and it did not disappoint, not one little bit. Cusco is a beautiful city, very relaxed, clean, and welcoming - perfect for acclimatisation before and relaxing after the hike. As for the hike itself it was tough at times but well worth the effort. I am so glad we decided to do the High Inca Trail, giving a few extra days to experience the stunning scenery. We were lucky to have perfect weather, clear blue skies and sunshine during the day, a little rain overnight, but mostly clear skies to admire the stars and milky way. The numerous Inca ruins we passed were mind-boggling - just how did they build these places in such precarious locations?! And Machu Picchu surpassed all expectations - it is truly breathtaking, an absolute must on anyone's bucket list.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The obvious one was seeing Machu Picchu for the first time. After this scaling the highest point, Incachirisca Pass, and surviving Dead Woman's Pass! But by far and away the most inspiration came from the porters, rushing past you on the trail to get to the next camp site before you, having been left behind to dismantle the site you had just left, laden down with kit - put your own puffing and panting with a day pack into perspective!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was brilliant. He set a good pace, made sure we didn't overdo it, and kept a constant check on our wellbeing. He was very knowledgeable, ensured everyone was included, and was unbiased and diplomatic when needed - which is often the case in group travel. Nothing was too much trouble for him, he was always there for us. Assistant leader was also great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It may seem daunting, and it is tough, but it is totally achievable if you are prepared to give it your all. You can expect to feel the effects of altitude, suffer headaches, so be prepared.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Whether travelling as a group within the group, or as an individual, especially on the trail be inclusive of everyone, considerate of everyone, support each other when the going gets tough, celebrate your achievements as one.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Roger Picknett

    Amazing trip !

    Well, what a trip that was ! An amazing experience made all the better by excellent organisation by Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching our goal of Machupicchu was my highlight

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Carlos Enrique, our guide & leader was phenomenal, he was not only very knowledgable about Peru’s history & the Incas but also very passionate about them too which made me even more interested. He is a true credit to the Exodus team.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book & go ! You will not be disappointed
  • Reviewed February 2019

    Breathtaking

    Yes the High Inca Trail is truly breathtaking in more than one way, from the stunning routes, and landscape to the hard climbs and how altitude affects your body. Challenging but very rewarding at the same time, this is the best experience in my life.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were a couple of inspirational moments... Firstly, when what was left of the group finally reached the highest point on the trail after a hard couple of days up the steep climbs. Second, seeing Macchu Picchu in the distance after walking through the Sun gate. It had always been a life long ambition to go see Macchu Picchu and I finally done it. Life changing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tomas was brilliant, knowledgeable, enthusiastic, very friendly and had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Listen to your group leader, don't go rushing off ahead or be a know-it-all, we lost a few group members because of this only a couple of days into the trail. Take some Vicks Vapour rub, helped me at the higher altitudes opening up my airways more. Plenty photos, take all your surroundings in and have a great time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Try some of the local delicacies. Enjoy yourself.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Susan Butler

    Awesome Adventure over the Andes

    My husband and I had a great time on this trip with a great group of people, including Tour guides, and support crew. Despite the high altitude conditions on the first four days everything went smoothly and according to plan. Superb professionallism and organisational skills by our guide Julio and Johnny made the trip achievable for all age groups (30's to early 60's) in the very supportive "family" environment. We would recommend this trip to other adventurous people who want a bit more than the other less physically and mentally challenging Inca trail to Machu Picchu. The food was great and special diets catered. The porters, both horsemen and foot porters were cheerful and friendly despite carrying heavy loads.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Inspiration for me came through stretching my mental and physical abilities to a higher level. Not giving up but be able to accept help when I was feeling unwell.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Julio as a great leader which showed in the cohesiveness and supportive nature of the group. Johnny provided the necessary backup and lead by example.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure your physical training programme is started well in advance (at least 8 weeks) for this trip as it will make it more enjoyable and able to view the stunning scenery and wildlife. Be mentally prepared for a challenging but enjoyable time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Fabulous trip well worth doing it.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Nigel Glenister

    The High Inca Trail - 7 day hike

    Overall the trip was fantastic and surpassed our expectations. During the acclimatization, we explored Cusco and found it a wonderful and vibrant place, full of culture and life. The hike was amazing! Each day presented breathtaking scenery, from glacial mountains and lakes and fertile forest valleys. The food was way above what we expected. As a group we sat down to 3 courses each mealtime. With vegetarian and gluten options being prepared by the chefs at each meal. There was never any complaints about the food. We could not have asked for a better group to travel with, they certainly helped make the trip as good as it was.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There are many highlights for us during the trip. Including; the dominating views of Salcantay. The climb up to and the views from Chiriasqua Pass. Likewise with Dead Women's Pass, the views at the top were breathtaking and worth the effort. After passing over Runcuray Pass the walk through the Cloud Forrest was invigorating and magical, as was the final campsite at Phuyupatamarca. But the most inspiration moment was arriving at the Sun Gate above Machu Picchu. The culmination of completing the hike & the views down onto Machu Picchu was an emotional moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader for the trip was Julio Llancay, who we became more of a friend than a guide during the trip. His knowledge of the Inca history and sites was fantastic. He had an excellent handle of the English language and a great sense of humour. We would rate Julio as the best guide we have had on all our trips. I also have to mention our assistant guide during the walk, Jhonny, who helped make the trip memorable. He has such a lovely demeanour about him, so happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be to ensure that you are prepared. Exodus grades this trip as Challenging, do not take this lightly. Combined with the effects of altitude and rate of ascent over the first couple of days. The trip notes are accurate but should read and considered.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus encourages eco-friendly travel, which was raised by Julio during the trip. This included the reduction of plastics such as straws etc. However, our hotel in Cusco, Kollher, supplied polystyrene cups and plastic spoons for tea and coffee, which did not support Exodus's position.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    Peter Jefferies

    A truly incredible experience!

    This holiday really is a trip of a lifetime! It's the perfect mixture of outdoor adventure and history/culture. The trekking days are not mostly very long but the altitude, extreme weather changes, camping facilities (e.g. one toilet tent to share between the group at camp) and steep ups and downs (especially on steps) makes it quite challenging. The views - especially - on the Inca Trail section are amongst the finest I have ever seen and Machu Picchu is truly breathtaking. I also very much enjoyed exploring the history and culture of Cuzco and the Sacred Valley. Just book it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were so many - it's hard to choose! Obviously seeing Machu Picchu (though it's always packed with tourists), however, I do think the real highlight is the Inca Trail itself. The scenery and terrain is breathtaking! The Salkantay section of our trek was different - but equally amazing - and I loved how we hardly saw any other person for 3-4 days and the sheer wildness of the campsites. I'll never forget seeing the Milky Way and endless amounts of stars on a night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both group leaders - William and Johnny - were highly capable, funny, sociable, supportive and very knowledgeable about Peru and its history and cultures. It was a real pleasure getting to know them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes! Read - and believe - the packing list in the trip notes. As soon as the sun goes down (almost the very instant) it becomes very cold and nights can fall below freezing. So DEFINITELY take thermals and a big down jacket. These are a MUST! Take lots of layers and a good set of hat and gloves which you can then wear after finishing walking and early on a morning (as well as to sleep in if you're like me.) We couldn't believe how cold it became and often I would be sleeping in several layers as well as socks, hat and sleeping bag liner + 4 season sleeping bag + hot water bottle and I was still cold. During the day it quickly heats up in the sun so layers are best as well as a high factor sun cream and DEET spray for all the mosquitos (they're everywhere!) I would advise people to take Diamox (the pill to aid with acclimatisation) as the Salkantay section goes very high (Cuzco itself is very high and most people feel some symptoms on arrival.) I didn't take any Diamox but got very bad AMS on the first two days of the trek (e.g. migraine, nausea, dizziness) and was given some by the group leader. Just get it and take it as soon as you land in Cuzco to aid acclimatisation. Some people didn't get AMS but I wouldn't take the risk. Travel light! There's a 10kg weight limit on the Inca Trail so just take the essentials in the packing list otherwise you'll have to get rid of items on day 4 and send them back with the horsemen (our sent items got lost - even more reason to pack light!) You can wear the same t-shirt/socks etc for several days in a row and as you won't be getting showered anyway, you really, really won't mind. Just don't get rid of any layers - it becomes super, super cold!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is an incredible holiday! Peru is a beautiful country with beautiful people and the richness of the landscapes, history and culture, and the camping experience itself will stay with you forever. The Salkantay section of the trek (first 4 days) adds a completely different dimension and added toughness to the holiday so that by the time you reach Machu Picchu, you really feel as if you've earned it. Get booked up!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Elena Castaner

    The High Inca Trail

    A trip of a lifetime, the goal is Machu Picchu but soon you realise the trip itself, the journey that gets you there and everything you experience with it is what matters. Being able to get to know a part of this beautiful country, its history, the places, the food, the mountains, the people… it was a dream come true.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Contemplate the sun set on the last day of camping, realising you are arriving to Machu Picchu (and back to civilisation) the following day and that the trip itself is coming to an end. It has a mixture of sadness and excitement difficult to explain.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Holger (leader) and Johnny (assistant) were the perfect team with Holger on the paternal side and Johnny on the cheerful side. They both made sure we were drinking enough water, putting sun protection/mosquito repellent and coordinating the different hiking speeds of the group. Holger provided every evening a short briefing on what to expect the following day (i.e. terrain, hours hiking, conditions…) which was very helpful. They even taught the group how to play a cards game which was THE entertainment of every evening while on trek. Holger’s knowledge of the Inca culture and its history was just outstanding, also delivering tips on flora and fauna as we hiked along, a real treat for birdwatchers! Personally, getting to know both of them was a treat and was sad to say goodbye to both of them.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1) Expect the unexpected. The trip started with a few bumps for us (flight cancelled from Heathrow arriving one day after to Cusco, the Salkantay being closed for snow and hiking on a extremely muddy path under the rain on the first day of the hike despite being the dry season) but it ended up being so magnificent (and sunny!) afterwards that I barely recall those bad moments :) If for whatever reason the Salkantay trek is closed due to snow (which is what happened to us) don’t despair, the alternative route provided up to camp #3 is beautiful and totally isolated (we were the only people on the mountains until we reached the start of the Inca Trail. The days might be shorter hiking-wise but you get the chance to explore the mountains around if you want once you arrive to camp and we even got as high as 4,600m with some snowy paths on our way to camp #3. 2) FOOD. This was without a doubt one of my top highlights of the trip. While on trek, Rolando (chef) and Alejo (assistant) delivered outstanding meals which were not only delicious and nutritious but beautifully presented. You get cooked meals at breakfast, lunch and dinner, which are prepared in a portable kitchen in the middle of nowhere, appreciate what’s being presented to you, don't be fussy and enjoy! Snacks are offered in the morning to take with you (fresh fruit or cereal/chocolate bars) which in my opinion are sufficient for the whole day but you might want to consider bringing some extra snacks if you like to munch regularly or prefer your usual snacks. Boiled water to refill your bottles is provided in the morning before setting off and at lunch break (also in the evenings if you need) so you should be fine with a couple of 1lt bottles in your daypack. While in Cusco, there are good restaurants not far from the hotel - try the local food, you won’t be disappointed (we tried the alpaca, the aji de gallina, lomo saltado… everything delicious!). A little advice also while on trek, be considerate with your fellow hikers and if you are planning to have a few cups of tea/coffee/hot chocolate at every sitting you might want to consider bringing your own. Supplies are limited while on the trek and these are only replenished once when the porters join us on the Inca Trail so once they are gone, that’s it, no more. 3) HIGH ALTITUDE. This is a tricky one as each person is different so follow the advice given upon arriving to Cusco and drink lots of water. In my case, since it was my first time at high altitude (over 3,000m) I decided to take Diamox and I was perfectly fine for the two weeks of the trip (the only side effect I had was the slight tingling in my fingers/toes but to be honest I barely noticed). As far as I’m aware none of my fellow hikers took medication and just a couple suffered a very mild degree of AMS once we got over 4,000m with just another case where the person was feeling quite unwell. 4) CLOTHING. Layer up! Thermals and a warm beanie (while on the mountains) and t-shirts (while on the trail) + fleeces/softshell jacket and down jacket (mainly for the evenings). I did the trip in June, which is apparently the coldest month, and the first three nights of camping were pretty cold but nothing that you cannot cope if you are a regular hiker. Just layer up and you should be fine. When it comes to how many set of clothes you should take with you, I found that a change of trousers/mid-layers every three days is OK, however I did change thermals/t-shirt every day but being technical ones these tend to weight nothing plus you can send stuff back to Cusco when the horseman leave (after camp #3) so I managed to (just) keep the weight of the duffle bag on the 10kg mark. Also, I would recommend to have a clean set of clothes for when you reach Machu Picchu as you will want to put on clean clothes once you have a shower after 6 days of camping! :) 5) HYGIENE. Wet wipes! Baby wipes, toilet wipes, antibacterial wipes... You have the chance to take a shower on camp #4 once you reach the Inca Trail as there are communal showers nearby but bear on mind it’s cold water. I managed to wash my hair there using the bowl of warm water given to wash with after the hike for the final rinse and it was perfect. 6) OTHER. Take either a solar charger or a power bank that can last several charges with you to charge your mobile/camera as you don’t get electricity until you reach Machu Picchu (7 days later). Also there is no network signal while on trek right until camp #6 (the camp before arriving to Machu Picchu) so if you have family/friends that tend to worry if they don’t hear from you regularly tell them not to expect your call until you reach Machu Picchu or else they will worry sick (like mine did lol). The guides have a satellite phone in case of emergency so if anything happens they will be contacted.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Well, if after this long review you are still reading, here is my last advice: If going to Machu Picchu is in your “bucket list” and you are a keen hiker, then this is the best way to do it - the three days in the Peruvian Andes prior to joining the Inca Trail and the trail itself are the perfect way to experience this so don’t hesitate and book it!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Helen Hamilton

    High Inca

    Really enjoyed the trip. I just found it hard to cope with the extreme cold. The views made up for that but it would definitely put me off going again.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Sun gate was awesome. The high passes were stunning and it was very spiritual performing our wee ritual to mother earth. I was so cold on the High Inca that it was hard to camp again for the Rainbow mountains and I did hope that I wasn't disappointed. Bobby and I loved them and it was up there with the Sun gate.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Rolando was excellent. I would highly recommend him to anyone. Willie the cook was the best I've ever had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Lots of layers and a zinc bottle for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think that the guides or the emergency horse should have carried some snacks as it was a long day having had breakfast at 6. We then sometimes didn't get lunch until 1.30/2pm. Also it would have been good to get them to carry some water for refills. 2 litres it a lot of weight to carry.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    John Arkle

    The High Inca Trail

    Excess snow made the Chiriasqa pass hazardous on the Higher Inca Trail and indeed an avalanche took out two mules at the base of Salcantay during the time we walked an alternative route. Only the muleteers could guide eleven of us us over Yomacalla and Collpa which was tricky but beautiful and chilly at night. Our guides were good fun - Johnny always smiled- Holger(Ollie) had authority and much knowledge of history and natural life generally. The food was simply amazing, tasty, varied and magically appeared in difficult cold venues. Luckily the group was cohesive supportive and gutsy under duress. Following a horrible first day ascent up a steep muddy path the views were stunning and the trail exhilarating. I enjoyed the birding and had great views of Condors close up.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving at the top of 'Dead Womans Pass', then seeing Machu Pichu at the Sungate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    'Ollie' was ever helpful and a great birder

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a warm sleeping bag and puffa jacket for the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The overall experience was wonderful
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Shahina Ahmed

    Top of the world.

    This trek was a difficult one because of the high climbs in metres. Dealing with high altitude was to take it slow and easy. I was very satisfied when completed and the views were amazing. It was not a well trodden path so it felt like we were the only people around. The guide was very knowledgeable and entertaining. Even though it was my first time camping the food was really good and freshly prepared. Seeing Michu Pichu was the icing on the cake.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the Inca architecture and thinking how it was all achieved. See Machu Pichu was a dream come true. Meeting the lovely people in the group and our group dynamics that developed made the difficult situations so much easier.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgeable and no job was to big or small for him. He was a caring individual and a great motivator when the mood was low. Looked after us all very well. Thank you Thomas.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a high altitude trek and not easy with the large height gains. No matter how fit you are it is best to take it easy and slowly. No rushing as the altitude can kick you in the teeth when you think you are ok. Stick with the group and do t go rushing off even though you are fast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have.a great time. I know I did.
Call us on 074 340 4587