Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed January 2019
    Glen B

    Epic

    What a fantastic adventure summiting Africa’s highest peak with the most amazing and supportive group of people, ever!!!! Easily The most difficult thing I have ever done. The trek was a well oiled machine. Porters were amazing. Tents were were dry and set up by the time we entered each camp. The food was fantastic. The toilet was a godsend. The guides were amazing, supportive, present and empathetic. I never would have summited without the excellent pacing and patience of Seraphine. I never would have made it die without the quick thinking, preparedness and assistance of Seraphine, King Janes, Abraham and others. Of our group of 11 trekkers, 10 made it to Gilman’s point, and 8 of made it to Uhuru Peak!!! I highly recommend Exodus and the African Walking Company (AWC)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The comaraderie of the trekkers. We were so supportive and respectful of each other. The best examples of man’s humanity to their fellow man.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham was amazing!!!! I cannot say enough positive things about that guy!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep a positive mental attitude. Bring 5 pairs of pants, sox and tops - dry clothing is the ultimate luxury. Keep them ina plastic bag. Bring and use Diamox. Don’t be a hero, the trek is uncomfortable enough without doing it with a headache. It really works. Wear sunscreen. My face is peeling because I forgot to wear it on the summit run. I’m ten shades darker and my entire face is peeling. Looks like I have a skin disease. Wet wipes. Bring way more than you think you need. Bring candy. Get the warmest sleeping bag you can find!! And mother most important thing to remember: walk slooooooooowly. Speed kills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Tip the porters. They work hard.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Nicola Buchanan

    Amazing!

    What a hard, rewarding experience... although Kili is not the prettiest of mountains it is certainly a mighty challenge... and withholds its beauty till summit day sunrise. The porters enabled summiting to be possible with their tireless support and encouragement.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit after 8 1/2 hrs of climbing...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abraham was brilliant, quite guenounely we could not have done it without the support and care of the porters. I know Abraham has done this many times but he rejoiced in our success.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Respect the impact of altitude and weather... I have done many treks and knew this would be tough. When nothing else was left it was a mental strength that’s got us up.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take hand and feet warmers! Make sure waterproofs are just that or pack a cape!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Vicky Waller

    Kilimanjaro Rongai Route - October 2018

    Exodus Travels were an excellent company to deal with whilst arranging my recent trip to Kilimanjaro. I felt like I had my own personal travel agent to help me every step of the way. They answered every question and query I had knowledgably and efficiently. Everything about the trip ran smoothly and to plan. I would definitely use Exodus again for a future trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The people of Africa were the most inspirational for me on this trip. Everyone was so nice and friendly.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I had 100% faith in the guides we had on the trip. They were knowledgably and made you feel at ease.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would definitely recommend that you extend your trip by 1 day at the beginning of the trip as the flights are long and its a good idea to have a rest day at the hotel the day before you walk.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Lauren McCabe

    Do it, and do it with Exodus!

    Made memories for life on this trip. Summit day was torture but our guides made getting to Gilmans Point (before getting to Uhuru Peak) an incredible moment. The team of guides and porters are exceptional. This is our second trip with Exodus and will use them again for future ones because we trust their ability to take care of us, from booking to the itinerary and guides

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Coming up to the last ten minutes before reaching Gilmans Point, we’d been hiking for seven hours in the cold and dark uphill so we’re exhausted. The sun was rising so we had a spectacular view and out of nowhere the guides all start singing. It made reaching that point honestly one of the best experiences of my life!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Makeke was fantastic, he took such good care of each and every one of us

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect summit day to be tough, be prepared to dig deep to get to the top, it’s worth it! Take ear plugs for sleeping! Be prepared to donate some clothes to the porters at the end of the trek. The clothes they wear are all donated.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Phillip Dixon

    Kilimanjaro Rongai Route 21/09

    Second time of climbing Kilimanjaro and it didn't disappoint. Glorious starscapes at night, changing scenery from jungle to lunar landscapes and then the snow encrusted peak. This is a challenging hike on summit day but within most people's abilities if you are reasonably fit. Due to airline problems my luggage didn't arrive, but luckily I had ultra essentials and warm kit in my daysack. Day before the summit a porter brought my luggage up to the camp so had an incredible surprise. You may think you will lose weight on this trek, but the food is incredible and plentiful - but you will still eat lots of snacks on your trek too. You will use the energy

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Summit day reaching Uhuru Peak and seeing the joy in all the other members of the group. People found a new energy when reaching that small wooden sign

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Makeke was great, naturally funny, always there with a joke or inspirational word when people were flagging and able to sort problems while reassuring everyone. He dealt with my missing luggage taking all the pressure off and also arranging extra waterbottles for some group members who only had camelbaks which might freeze.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack enough kit for summit day and extras in your daysack in case of airline problems and wear your boots to the airport. Take lots of snacks like cereal bars to eat on the trek, sharing a snack with your trekmates is a mainstay of the trip and handing one to someone looking tired can give them a boost. Wear layers over one or two bulky items, you can always remove a layer or add one. Most importantly put in a few mountain hikes before you go as you will enjoy it more with legs that aren't aching and shortness of breath. It is really about going slow and sustained pace.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our guides and team were incredible, they made us feel safe, encouraged us on and everything we achieved they were a big part of. Of my two trips up Kilimanjaro this was by far the best organised and most professional
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Morag Smith

    Fantastic trip

    If you have ever harboured thoughts of climbing Kilimanjaro, go for it!This is a brilliant trip with excellent friendly and knowledgeable guides. There is so much more to this trip than simply reaching Uhuru point or not. We saw baboons and blue monkeys, beautiful landscapes and met many amazing people.. Do not underestimate the physical and mental impact of summit day though. This involves a trek to Kibo camp, followed by some rest, then around 11 hours or so of solid walking to the summit and returning to Kibo camp, a short rest.and then a further 3-4 hours walking before reaching Horombo camp and falling completely exhausted into your sleeping bag. None of our group were elite athletes but we all exercised regularly. We ranged in age from 21 to 66 years and both the youngest and the oldest achieved the summit. Not to be missed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Funnily enough, on our way to the airport we saw Kilimanjaro rising high above the clouds like Jacks beanstalk in the fairy tale and there was a sense of wonder that we could and indeed had reached its summit. I will carry that memory with me forever as it was only then that the scale of our achieve,net really hit hom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Make ke is funny, slight lions winded but warm, friendly helpful and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should take some plastic bags for keeping your litter in and also for taking any used toilet paper away. Kili is a special place and we must ensure we leave it as we find it. Unfortunately, not everyone does this and there is a lot of litter. Tour companies must push this more. Re trip notes, I don't think summit day notes are wholly accurate. It's a lot more than 6 Kim walking that day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Morag Smith

    Fantastic trip

    If you have ever harboured thoughts of climbing Kilimanjaro, go for it!This is a brilliant trip with excellent friendly and knowledgeable guides. There is so much more to this trip than simply reaching Uhuru point or not. We saw baboons and blue monkeys, beautiful landscapes and met many amazing people.. Do not underestimate the physical and mental impact of summit day though. This involves a trek to Kibo camp, followed by some rest, then around 11 hours or so of solid walking to the summit and returning to Kibo camp, a short rest.and then a further 3-4 hours walking before reaching Horombo camp and falling completely exhausted into your sleeping bag. None of our group were elite athletes but we all exercised regularly. We ranged in age from 21 to 66 years and both the youngest and the oldest achieved the summit. Not to be missed!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Funnily enough, on our way to the airport we saw Kilimanjaro rising high above the clouds like Jacks beanstalk in the fairy tale and there was a sense of wonder that we could and indeed had reached its summit. I will carry that memory with me forever as it was only then that the scale of our achieve,net really hit hom.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. Make ke is funny, slight lions winded but warm, friendly helpful and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You should take some plastic bags for keeping your litter in and also for taking any used toilet paper away. Kili is a special place and we must ensure we leave it as we find it. Unfortunately, not everyone does this and there is a lot of litter. Tour companies must push this more. Re trip notes, I don't think summit day notes are wholly accurate. It's a lot more than 6 Kim walking that day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed February 2018
    Brian Page

    Brian Page

    Unfortunately for the first time ever I suffered from altitude sickness with reduced my stamina and caused loss of balance and coordination. However, thanks to the professionalism, experience and support of the Exodus staff I was able to reach the summit. I have no hesitation in recommending Exodus for an event of this nature.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit plateau despite my difficulties

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent leader

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No I was very pleased with all the arrangements made for the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2017

    Well-supported hike

    The guide-to-guest ratio was excellent and we were well-fed and taken care of. Others in the group had altitude sickness symptoms and the staff were great at recognizing and managing these situations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    My burst of energy near the top that had me free-climbing to the finish just before sunrise (I had lost the trail because I went around someone who was sick...).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very capable and knowledgeable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A great route that has less people on it.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Stuart Royce

    All worth the hard work.

    A father and daughter adventure of a life time. Never to be forgotten.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment/ moments, was from the guides encouragement throughout the climb and making you feel that you could accomplish anything.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mussa was excellent in every way, from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not under estimate this climb. Be well prepared for a challenging week of hiking. A couple of weeks walking is not enough training even if you are a seasoned hiker. Give yourself at least 6-12months of training.You must be prepared to listen to the advice of your guides and don't think you know better. These are the guys who get you through it.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As I have said, the guides,porters and cook are invaluable people on your trip. They know these climbs like the back of their hands. They know the conditions that may arise at any time. They are constantly assessing your condition throughout the trip without you realising it. If they feel you are having problems then they will deal with it in highly trained and professional manner. Big respect to these guys.