Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Maureen Spinks

    “When I’m 64 .....”

    What a way to celebrate a birthday! Lunch at Palmwag Lodge then an evening round the campfire and a delicious meal at our remote campsite in the Palmwag Concession. We had looked at this trip in the Exodus brochure for some time and at last got round to booking it - it was brilliant! We have travelled extensively in Africa, but we now feel that we have been thoroughly spoilt by having the opportunity to travel and camp in this remote part of Namibia. Our enthusiastic leader, PJ, and the brilliant camp crew comprising Simson, Fritz and Asser, made this a memorable safari. Namibia, for its combination of desert scenery and wildlife, is unparalleled. It is a barren, beautiful country where, compared with other parts of Africa, wildlife can appear thin on the ground, but PJ, did an excellent job in imparting his knowledge on the flora and geology and increasing our knowledge of what makes this fragile environment so special and what makes it work. This is not a standard “big five” game-watching safari, but if you want a real safari in awesome scenery with quality sightings, this could be the trip for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tracking a desert lion for a couple of hours. A male lion has at last returned to the Hoanib River system. PJ spotted his tracks, but the lion kept disappearing into the scrub, and it was a case of trying to pick up the spoor again. At last we found him and had an excellent view of this majestic creature. A record number of black rhino sightings - the most exciting one being the one we tracked on foot. Lots of desert elephants with their huge feet. You can see large herds of elephants in other parts of Africa, but seeing these magnificent animals in the desert environment is a sight to behold. My husband, who went on an additional early afternoon ride with PJ and a few others, enjoyed a memorable hour or so tracking three giraffe across the plain. Seeing honey badgers in daylight in Etosha. The chance to experience wild camping in the Palmwag Concession - but with little luxuries like a bedside lantern, wash-basin outside the tent, a hot shower - oh, and wine goblets!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    PJ was an excellent leader - his sheer exuberance and delight when he was on the scent of a creature was very infectious. He was keen for us to have the opportunity to track animals on foot. No, I definitely wasn’t going to track a rhino when PJ suggested it, but somehow I found myself joining the eight others in our group to get closer to a black rhino on the crest of the hill. I would have missed out if I hadn’t gone. And, thanks to PJ who helped me on the rougher sections, I was able to make it to the top of the Waterberg Plateau.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A tip whilst on safari - If there are two of you sharing a tent, try not to take too much luggage. If you have booked to go on the Swakopmund extension, this is the format. You will be dropped off at the Hilton Hotel in Windhoek and collected by the Weliwitschia Shuttle, a minibus used by many of the locals, arriving at the guesthouse 6-6.30. The Walvis Bay boat trip, which was originally advertised in the Trip Notes, was replaced a couple of weeks before we left for Namibia by a Living Desert Safari. Whilst it would have been nice to have had more notice of this change, the Living Desert Safari was brilliant, going out into the sand dunes behind Swakopmund and concentrating on “the little five”. We then carried on with a further self-organised trip to Sossusvlei.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book this safari - you won’t be disappointed. If you have the time, we thoroughly recommend adding extra days.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Debbie Moors

    An incredible fortnight

    Quite simply this wasn’t just the best safari I have been on, it was the best holiday I have ever had - I just wish I had done it sooner! I knew Namibia was special when I realised that even on the long drives I was just gazing out the window enjoying the incredible scenery which is unlike anything else I have experienced during my travels in Africa. The wild camping in the Palmwag Concession and Haonib River Systems was fantastic with us barely seeing another vehicle during the whole time. In Palmwag we were fortunate enough to see numerous black rhino one of which we were able to approach on foot under the careful supervision of our guide, PJ. In Haonib we spent time with the desert elephants and again made an approach on foot. The highlight though was our guides skill and determination in tracking a desert lion for two hours which paid off with a memorable sighting. Etosha was fabulous with plenty of wildlife ranging from the big (elephants and rhino) to the small (honey badgers and a leopard tortoise). Every day we were expertly looked after back at camp by Simpson, Fritz and Asser and kept well fed with fabulous meals. Whether you’re thinking of doing your first safari or are an old hand, I cannot recommend this trip enough. I’m already planning a return visit to this spectacular country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were two special moments. The first was the rhino approach on foot in Palmwag. Initially we simply got out of the vehicle and watched the rhino from a distance. PJ then assessed the situation and took us on foot to a closer vantage point. It was fantastic to watch such a majestic creature without disturbing it. The second was tracking the desert lion in Haonib. For the best part of two hours PJ followed the lions tracks before eventually we found the young male. Watching him walk along the river system was a sight to behold.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    PJ was the best group leader I have had to date. His enthusiasm and passion for Namibia and his job were evident from day one. His knowledge spanned not just the animals and birds of the area but also the geology and history. On those days where we had downtime in the afternoon between lunch and the scheduled afternoon game drive he would go the extra mile and take out members of the group who wanted to go on an additional drive. For the photographers in the group PJ did all he could to make sure the vehicle was positioned so that everyone got the best shot possible. He was also able to read where the animals were moving to so that we could be in the right place at the right time. In the evenings PJ was on hand to make sure we were all having a good time and made sure we knew the plans for the following day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t let the camping put you off. This is a full service trip so everything is done for you. The tents are comfortable (beds, duvet, pillows, blankets, lamp all provided) and the camp assistants are amazing making sure everything is ready when you get back from the game drives. Some of the drives between camps are long (and bumpy) but the views make up for it. Coffee lovers - pack a thermos mug with you for the morning game drives as it will keep you going on those early mornings. Ladies - pack a sports bra or two for the bumpy roads! If you do the Swakopmund extension (which is worth it) be prepared for a long drive from Windhoek (about 5 hours). I would also suggest adding on an extra night to give you more time to explore.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just go ahead and book!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Anthony Wells

    Namibia 4WD Desert Safari

    We have travelled from Mongolia to Patagonia, seen Bukhara, the Taj Mahal, Tigers in India and The Andes but this was by far our most exciting trip. Wild Camping in the Palmwag Concession, away from virtually all other tourists, was a real adventure. To see five of the six Desert Lions in this area was beyond our highest expectations. These in addition to seeing five different Rhinos and a two month old Elephant. The "Icing on the Cake" when we arrived in Etosha was to witness a Cheetah hunt and kill by three Cheetahs, a mother and two almost full grown young. Our Guide, who had 25 years experience, had only seen one other in all that time.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Cheetah hunt

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans Leichi our Guide and John his able assistant were exceptional. Their spotting abilities were second to none and having seen the Cheetahs at a great distance Hans was able to anticipate exactly where we should drive to in order to see the hunt. He was also a great cook so we ate very well the whole trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book your place NOW!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Why do you have to use B.A.? They are a cheap-skate unit!!!
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Bill Cuthbert

    If you want wild .....

    ….then this is the trip for you. Our second trip to Namibia (previously "Discover Namibia" in 2008) this one has the emphasis on wild. Etosha, Okakuejo, Namutoni, some of the best-known destinations are all visited, whilst the jewel in the crown must be the Palmwag Concession: a huge area where, apart from the occasional wildlife ranger, we didn't see another person for two days. We saw no less than six rhino, including one of the dominant males - managing to get (safely) within 100 yds. As well as rhinos, we had a leopard up a tree, which we watched for 1.5 hours before she finally came down to walk past the truck! Giraffes "necking" - in a violent exchange, before trotting off together, several sightings of lions - including a magnificent male in his prime, herds of elephant, and the wealth of wildlife that makes Namibia such a special destination. First class guide in Hans, and an exceptional support crew in driver Simpson, Fritz, and the culinary expertise of Tyrone that never disappointed. (And not to mention a first-class Toyota Land-Cruiser - panoramic windows with no obstructing pillars.)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    After spotting the leopard relaxing up the tree mid-morning, returning later that afternoon and waiting patiently for her to come down and slowly walk past the truck... all with the sun in the right place to give that special photo opportunity.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans delivered everything and more: Primarily, his skills in finding the rhinos' tracks, anticipating its movements, consideration for the wind direction etc. and getting us into the right position. Also, a broad range of knowledge covering not only the animals and birds, but the plant-life, the trees, the landscape and the history of the country. Additionally, he always went the extra mile for the photographers in making sure that the sun was behind us wherever possible, and advising on tips to get that extra-special shot. Long days driving in difficult conditions, then back to help the support crew in delivering the evening meal. And every morning - meticulously cleaning and polishing the viewing windows. Quite simply, a first class guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Palmwag is very rough going in places. Its terrain will rattle and shake every bone in your body - be prepared! The Land Cruiser will take you into (and out) of some of seemingly impossible locations.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The one thing that marred this trip? The unbelievable chaos of Windhoek Airport. A 1.5 hour queue into immigration, and virtually the same on departure. It's an airport that has expanded hugely over the years in terms of passenger traffic, but is hopelessly under-resourced. Our departure flight to Johannesburg was delayed to the extent that our Heathrow flight was already boarding as we arrived.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    David Woodhams

    The wildlife of Namibia, amazing!

    This trip with 'full service' camping was amazing. Comfortable tent with camp bed, mattress, duvet even a bedside table and lamp, luxury, coupled with the amazing places that we camped and the wonderful encounters with the incredible wildlife was superb. The food prepared and cooked by our chef Tyrone was imaginative and varied and plenty of it. The other members of the crew Simpson, truck driver and general hand, together with Fritz, also general hand worked tirelessly to provide us with a superb service erecting and taking our tents down whenever we needed to move. When wild camping in the Hoanib River area even provided hot water for the camp showers which were great after a days game viewing. There are some long journeys and days on this trip but the rewards are worth it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Spotting two Black Rhinos about 1 kilometre away, then walking downwind of them with our guide to get closer in order to get some good photographs and ending up about 70 metres away, fantastic. The best part was the fact that the Rhinos were never aware of our presence. We came, we saw and we left - great!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hans Liechti was a superb guide and group leader with excellent organisational skills and very intimate knowledge of many of the animals that we saw throughout this trip. He knew where we were most likely to find what ever we were looking for and would persist until we found. The Black Rhinos were somewhat elusive but we did find them, some of which are even named. He knew the numbers of elephants in particular groups in the Hoanib River as well as the Lions.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are unsure whether camping trips are for you then this trip being 'full service' camping would be a good way to try it out. Do not expect wall to wall animals on this trip as the habitat is nothing like Kenya, Tanzania or South Africa. Having said that, what encounters you do have will be very memorable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip turned out to be as described in the trip notes and lived up to and on some days even exceeded our expectations with some very memorable animal sightings, made even better by the expert knowledge of our guide, Hans If you are thinking about taking this trip do not hesitate for too long or you will miss out as places are very limited.
  • Reviewed August 2018
    David Willatts

    A magical combination of landscapes and wildlife

    Thinking that a camping safari in the desert is not for you? Think again! This holiday combines stunning landscapes and encounters with a huge variety of wildlife, from elephants, black rhino. big cats, zebra, giraffes to an amazing number of bird species. All these can be seen from the comfort of your safari vehicle, with all members of the group in their own window seat. Your guide, who has an an encyclopaedic knowledge of the wildlife, also knows where to have the best chance of seeing the more elusive animals. In many areas, you will not see another safari vehicle all day! As for the camping, what could be more luxurious than arriving at the campsite to find your tent already erected (complete with comfortable camp bed and warm duvet), dining table in place, complete with table cloth and candles, a cup of tea and a hot shower awaiting you and a delicious dinner being cooked on an open fire? Bliss!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a mother and calf black rhino followed soon after by the sight of a heavily pregnant female. Watch a female cheetah and her two cubs playing in a tree.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader, Hans, could not have been better. His knowledge of the wildlife, his navigational skills in the more featureless areas, together with his faultless driving, sometimes for long distances, to say nothing of his cooking abilities, made him the ideal guide!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take warm clothing for the evenings and a good camera to bring back memories of what will be an unforgettable holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate, just go for it!
  • Reviewed November 2017

    Knockout trip!

    A really wonderful trip, I could not find fault with it, even if I wanted to. Namibia is a fascinating place to visit, the scenery, wildlife and people make it a delightful destination. The itinerary is good and the trip is the right length.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting eating 'al fresco' in the evening (after a day tracking a rhino and watching a breeding herd of elephants) when we spotted a lioness and her cub passing by about 40-50 metres away! Surprised even our experienced + seasoned guides. Brilliant. The next day our guides (and us) tracked and found them again. Also the visit to a Namibian primary school was unmissable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two guides (Koos + Mathias) and they were absolutely first class. They were friendly, helpful, knowledgeable and good fun. I cannot recommend them enough.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the trip involves a lot of driving on Namibian gravel roads + off-road tracks, and can be a bit rough and tiring. However, if you want to go to some of the less visited spots and see wildlife that is still genuinely running wild, then for me, it is well worth it. Also it is hot in Namibia in November, typically into the mid to low 30's during the day on our trip. On the plus side the nights were cool and made sleeping comfortable. For the primary school visit you can take exercise books, pens etc to donate. but our guides also gave us an opportunity to buy some before visiting (very useful as books/paper can be heavy).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The support team (Magnes + Simson) were also first class, they were so efficient, every day we would return to camp and they would have everything set up. They made the camping a very enjoyable experience.
  • Reviewed November 2017
    Nick Ward

    Beyond the usual

    The first thing you need to know about this trip is that you will be spending a long time in the back of a Land Cruiser getting an 'African Massage'. So what do you get in return? First, some wonderful, mind boggling and ever changing scenery. And second, the opportunity to see some of Africa's most iconic (and rarest ) animals in their isolated and extreme home. On our trip these included Desert Elephants, Rhino, and Desert Lions (walking past our camp and interrupting dinner, would you believe). Even if we hadn't seen these rarities there would still have been more than enough to make for an excellent trip - the best of half a dozen or so we've made to southern Africa. Fancy going beyond the usual? Then give it a go! Excellent.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Desert Elephant!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Chris - one of the best

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Absorb every moment - it'll stay with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't go if you're just interested in seeing Africa's over-hyped 'big five'. This trip takes you much deeper than that. If you just want to go and see what's out there', then this is for you.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Penny Linemann

    Namibia 4WD and Desert Safari

    This was one of the best Exodus trips I have been on and this was largely due to the great organisational ability of Koos and his team of Andreas, Magnus and Simpson. These guys were so helpful and good natured and dealt with every situation that arose in a truly professional way. We saw the most incredible scenery, and the camping experience was amazing. It really was glamping compared to some of the trips I have been on, and our tents were up, beds made, and everything ready for us every night when we arrived back from safari. The food was fantastic and the camping areas were great, especially when we were wild camping. All the food was inclusive, even when we ate in cafes and small restaurants and there was no restriction on what we could order. All we had to pay for throughout the trip was drinks and souvenirs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We were lucky enough to see a pair of rhinos in the Palmwag Concession and could creep up to within about 50 feet of them because we were downwind. They had no idea that we were there. We also saw large groups of desert elephants in the river bed in the Concession and were able to get up very close to them without disturbing them. The waterhole at Etosha was fascinating but a little bit spoiled by people talking on their mobile phones loudly when other people were trying to concentrate on watching the elephants and rhinos which came to drink. Still a great thing to see though. I have never seen as many giraffes in such large family groups as we did in Etosha, and the amount of wildlife we saw there was wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Koos Hartslief was a terrific leader and apart from having a great sense of humour and an inexhaustible supply of jokes, was unflappable in unexpected situations such as when the vehicle broke down - he was able to arrange replacement 4WDs at short notice and this was in fact a blessing as the substitute vehicles were far more roomy and comfortable than the original. He knew all the best places to camp, and he and his team provided us with such an incredible experience through their knowledge, professionalism and attention to detail. The food was varied and delicious, and even the packed lunches were great. I couldn't fault any of the team and they certainly provided one of the best camping and safari experiences I have had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just relax and enjoy it, you will be in very good hands.
  • Reviewed September 2017
    J Wilkinson

    Enjoy ALL the animals!

    Had dreamed of going on safari for many years so made the most of this opportunity by choosing camping and 4WD so I could get as close to nature as possible. The animals arrived immediately - not many countries you encounter warthogs, baboons and rock monitor lizards transferring from airport to the only hotel on the tour! Loved being close to animals in their natural habitat with a guide who knew his stuff. Elephants, lions, cheetahs, gnus, giraffes, a variety of antelopes, 2 different types of zebras, black rhinos - yes, but our guide spotted the small stuff: over 120 different bird species; a skink; beetles; desert rat; ground squirrels; scorpions - fascinating creatures. Tents are comfy enough; the bush showers n toilets work well enough; good bush cooking. Was sad to return from the semi-desert to the game reserve campsites in Etosha. In the bush we viewed the Perseid meteor shower in the blackest sky, millions of stars I'd never seen before, the Milky Way with a bunch of jackals cackling round the hills!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were 2: 1) tracking for black rhino we spotted 2 not far from the track (in Palmwag Concession). We kept downwind and followed them on foot to get closer. In a few minutes we were standing on rocks observing these rhinos eating breakfast just 25 feet from us. 2) following a young male elephant in the dry river bed at Hoanib, the bushes stirred and more appeared. In a few minutes we were completely surrounded by 16 elephants with 2 calves and 2 juveniles. We stayed calm, quiet and the herd stayed calm with us - I blubbed! :)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our original guide was a good cook n storyteller. Due to a vehicle fault that developed on Day 1, our guide got it sorted swiftly and 2 4x4 replacements appeared, along with a 2nd guide to drive our group of 3. A bird expert and from the local tribe (Damara), his knowledge of the flora and fauna added to our enjoyment of the safari.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Water is highly precious in Namibia. Shower with less; expect cold water in the mornings; don't expect 2 showers per day so pack wet wipes for early morning starts. You're provided with juice/instant coffee/usual tea at breakfast/lunch or late afternoon. If you want different teas, juices or alcohol, the guides tell you where there are shopping opportunities, so make a list. We also bought extra fruit and dried fruit/nuts - everyone enjoyed healthy snacks on the road. Take a good camera for safaris - I did my research before going. Chose a bridge camera with max zoom so no trouble changing lenses in a very dusty environment (60x zoom). Delighted with the results - great memories. Buy 2/3 memory cards, not just 1 mahoosive memory card (if lost/stolen/damaged, you lose all pics). Take a powerbank to recharge camera/phone - recharged via USB in the 4WD. Enjoy each day for what it brings - if you wish it away hunting only to snap a leopard, then you miss all the other nature. Breathtaking landscapes too. For this trip you don't need walking boots - trainers or trekking sandals are fine for walking/ light scrambling over rocks at Twylfontein and Waterberg Plateau.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The only event that marred the trip for me was the arranged visit to a school. Badly hosted, I felt uncomfortable for the children being brought out to see us, the School Principal had no idea who we were, why we were visiting, and the chap leading the visit harped on about needing funds. I felt I was being tapped for donations to a church-run school and seen as a 'benefactor'. It was not about 'meeting the locals'. Recommend Exodus vets these visits better.