Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed May 2018
    Susan Wiser

    Best ever❣️

    So many wonderful moments. First the people of Botswana are the nicest I’ve ever met. And I’ve traveled a lot. The guide, Ngande, was so knowledge about plants, animals, birds, reptiles and his country. He was professional, friendly and handle even breakdowns (there was one) with efficiency. The cook, Mello, ensure 3 delicious meals a day cooked on an open fire. And the assistants put up tents and made sure details were taken care of. Now for the wildlife - lions, leopards, warthogs, hyenas, zebras, elephants, hippos, incredible bird life and so much more. My friend and I agree it was truly the best ever trip and worth our 39 hours of flying❣️❣️❣️

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Not just one moment. We had an amazing group of 12 and we all continually had a fantastic time. From baby hyenas to elephants 20 feet away. Incredible.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ngande was the best. Shared so much, kept us safe and answered a zillion questions. He kept his staff moving and took care of them too. Perfect leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take less then you thought you needed (it gets heavy), winter is chilly, dryer wipes keep the mosquitoes and bugs away, buy a small, powerful camera, Amazon sells a very lightweight sleeping bag, a cotton scarf 🧣 for the dusty car rides, plenty of suntan lotion, and enjoy every moment.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it. So worth it.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Martin & Pippa Hodgkinson

    Camping in the game parks and see a variety of wildlife

    This was an excellent opportunity to see African wildlife and experience camping in the National Parks. We had six nights 'wild' camping in the parks and game drives early morning and evening. The other nights were on camp sites with showers, restaurant and a bar (open to 2am so noisy), and 2 nights at Victoria Falls in a comfortable but basic lodge. The wildlife is varied and plentiful and met most of my expectations.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Travelling in Mokoros in the Delta was magical although the wildlife was sparse. The activities there were nature walks rather than game drives. The evening cruise down the Chobe River gave us our first real encounter with hippos and other game. Seeing the leopard and lions in Chobe/Moremi close up.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kenny was great at spotting and tracking animals and birds. His knowledge of natural history was extensive. He was a safe driver which is essential given the terrain and the state of some of the tarred roads. He sometimes had difficulty in herding 11 of us to what he wanted and I had to buy a map (Shell tourist map of Botswana is excellent) before he described where we were going. Botswanas are friendly people and the crew were keen to please.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long, uncomfortable journeys in an open vehicle not designed for long distance travel. Seating 12 it will not provide good seats for all if there is a full uptake of places. Wild camping is without any permanent facilities and animals close by so head torch (with back-up), wet wipes and insect repellant are essential! Take a South African plug adaptor for the camp sites and Victoria Falls as they cater for SA visitors. Quite a few extras for the 'optional' activities eg anything at Victoria Falls, Chobe River cruise and flights over the game reserves as well as camp site meals and the usual tips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take a good camera and long lens and trust the guide to get you into the best positions.
  • Reviewed April 2018
    Phillip Dixon

    4 of the big 5 in Botswana

    Of all the safaris I've done this is the most wildlife I've seen in a small period! 4 of the big 5 in one day. Then at night enjoy the sounds of the animals beneath more stars than you've ever seen. It is tent based but very comfy, food is amazing - fish & chips + baked fresh bread one night! They even do a bush shower so it isn't roughing it. The guides are excellent, wildlife and scenery even more so - this isn't a holiday it is an adventure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Finding a leopard on the final day in Savuti, perched high above us and so well concealed. Our guide Moses found lots for us to see. Also heading out on the walks and being taught to pole a Mokorro canoe by Hendricks in the Delta - they were great guys and loved showing us their culture and wildlife

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Moses was fantastic, he dealt with problems calmly, adjusted plans to fit in with client requests and found us lots to see. Throughout we were sharing jokes as well as details of each area we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The prices listed in the trip notes for optional activities can be quite far out. The Chobe River cruise is 410 pula for instance. If your main focus is Vic Falls then go in wetter months but other areas may be harder to get to, if you want lots of wildlife the drier months bring them to waterholes and the grass isn't so tall.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be aware wild camps mean exactly that, animals will be close to camp and despite being briefed some people felt they could wander about, then seemed shocked when a guide came running after them to make sure they were ok. Facilities in Nata and Audi camp are much like a holiday camp in the uk, with showers and facilities to use, and good restaurants.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Lois Pope

    Lois

    The tour leader Jamie really went out of his way to show us the best of game life. We got really near to the Big Game. He was a very good driver too on difficult terrain. Our cook Mellow produced wonderful food and always greeted us back to camp after a game hike, with a smile and the kettle always boiling! The trip to Salt Pans was a waste of time as there wasn’t much to see and 2 days of long long driving to this area and then all the way up to Victoria Falls. The lodge at VF was a disgrace, showers in appalling state and toilet with no plug to pull only wires sticking up! It wouldn’t stop running. The game life, food and tour leaders direction made this trip worthwhile but all in all, not good value. LP

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Game life, food, tour leaders knowledge.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Nothing to add to above

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Lois for her review, although we are sorry that she was disappointed with aspects of this trip. The salt pan excursion is included in the itinerary as it is on route to Victoria Falls, and feedback in the past has suggested that it is a welcome break from the cross-country drives. Regrettably, late localised rains on this trip made it impossible to fully explore the pans, and it was not possible to make alternative arrangements at such short notice. We regret that Lois found the Victoria Falls accommodation to be disappointing; we would like to genuinely apologise for this and we have discussed the concerns raised with the management team to ensure that improvements are made for the future.

    John Penge - Product Manager for Botswana

  • Reviewed October 2016
    Robert Howson

    Botswana Wildlife and Wilderness

    My partner and I had the most fantastic time on this tour. Of course there were a couple of long drives but then Africa is blinking huge so we expected that. Yes, it was dusty - it was the dry season. The range of environments was great, the pacing excellent and the encounters with nature and people were well managed and yet up close and personal at the same time. So much was done for us that we sometimes felt pampered but it is a tiring tour and we were grateful that the team, led by Sam, did so much for us with such good grace. A great bunch of people.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational? Big ask! Alice our poler in the Delta was brilliant, open and it turned out an amazingly talented singer. The vastly knowledgeable Jeremy who led our bush walks in the Delta and never tired of trying to find out what bug was what and was a talented comic turn and singer to boot. Moses our guide who became my nephew or was it my uncle (don't ask) was a genial, funny, kind, caring guy who never failed to spot a track or a bird or an animal at amazing distances at speed on bumpy 'roads'. Sam our tour leader was just great, there for us all in every way, good natured, quietly authoratative, knowledgeable and caring. He judges your wellbeing by the size and honesty of your smile. Meeting all these people and more besides were among the most inspirational moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As I said but I'll add here, Sam's a man who can cook up a feast with seemingly little effort. He martialled his team quietly and was a calm, fun and efficient leader.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a thin scarf or a Buff for your nose and mouth on the dry and dusty drives. Trust your team - they know why you're there and they'll do a better job if you don't try to advise them about things, like where they should park up to get the best photos.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With 12 of us in the 4 rows of 3 seats there were issues about the daily seating plans! I think that only 9 should be in those vehicles. The front 3 seats have such little leg room and because the sides join the floor at an angle the two outside seats in front don't even have a flat floor to put both your feet down. I'm only 5' 7" and I was uncomfortable quite quickly. We've travelled in similar vehicles that have been configured for 12 but much more comfortably, perhaps they were longer wheel-bases?
  • Reviewed September 2016
    Andrew Oldham

    Best wildlife experience, ever!

    A fantastic way of seeing a brilliant country. You get close to nature and there are plenty of opportunities to take some great photos. Excellent support from the staff.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The last 48 hours of wildlife viewing was the best I have ever experienced. It was almost like a wildlife documentary (sadly David Attenborough was unavailable) as we met a cheetah and her cub at dusk, again in the early morning and then witnessed the cheetah make a kill. Later that afternoon (via wild dogs) we met the cheetah again but tragically there was no sign of the cub. Her calls would make even the strongest man blub, but then 2 lionesses stalked and chased the cheetah and we believe she escaped. Surely that was the big finale to the trip? Errr no.... 2 male lions vs a herd of buffalo the following morning.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was excellent. He knew his country, the wildlife and how to run a brilliant trip allowing the customers to enjoy themselves. He coped with unexpected luggage issues and our constant demand for bigger and better sightings. Vasco the Botswana guide was brilliant getting us closer to the wildlife than we would have hoped for, without worrying the wildlife. He knew where to position the van to get excellent shots. Timon and Dodga (the assistants) were both hard-working, friendly and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As with all Exodus trips study and follow the trip notes carefully. It was cold on some nights (I took a down sleeping bag) and very cold for quite a few hours on the truck, so you do need lots of warm clothing until it heats up. The dinner cruise at Victoria Falls was a highlight for many of us as the service, food, drinks and views were all excellent - a touch of luxury. Take advantage of some of the extra activities. The advice on tipping in the trip notes was contradicted by Sam and this needs clarification, but allow more than is suggested for local staff as well as the crew.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I had remembered that the instant coffee in that part of the world is pretty rubbish and had known that you cant buy gin at Johannesburg airport to take into Botswana, but that's just me. This may help someone though!
  • Reviewed August 2016
    David Jackson

    Wildlife & Wilderness of Botswana (WZT)

    This trip delivered everything it promised,helped by unbroken clear skys. As with all Exodus trips the notes were accurate and should not be left unread, a wildcamping safari is just what it says! So lucky to join a group of mature travelers to whom laughing was second nature, it really does help!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to list, unique animal behavior, glorious bread made fresh in an iron pot over embers, the night sky, the optional activities.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam and Vasco were absolutely on top of their job nothing was too much trouble or left to chance. Vasco's skill produced some outstanding wildlife encounters.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do take note of the trip notes, if it says cool nights thats what it means. A real treasure of a trip if you love African wilderness. Do save some extra cash for the optional extras which were so worth doing.
  • Beautiful Botswana!

    This is an excellent trip that I'd highly recommend. The pristine wilderness of Botswana, the plentiful wildlife and the variety of activities on this trip made it a holiday to remember forever.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Pretty much everything we did was amazing on this trip. We were very lucky to see two male leopards in the Khwai reserve next to Moremi, endangered African wild dogs (one pair with 10 pups and a the next day a group of 5 dogs hunting), male lions (three times in Moremi) and a pride of lions in Savuti including about 6 cubs and 3 lionesses feasting on a wildebeest. Of course, there were many elephants too who will visit your camps in Savuti and Moremi and also zebra, impala, kudo, buffalo, wildebeest and beautiful birdlife too. The Okavango delta is really beautiful and I really enjoyed the Mokoro rides and the game walks. Also, it is really worth doing some of the optional extras at Victoria Falls - I did the white water rafting, 15 minute helicopter flight and the sunset dinner cruise. I would recommend all of these without hesitation.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam was great and very friendly. Kenny was a man on a mission when it came to tracking down the animals and as I mentioned we were lucky to find leopards and wild dogs and this was definitely down to his efforts. The guys who cooked for us at camp were also amazing and I don't know how they consistently served up such great food on the camp fire (including freshly baked bread!).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I went in June which is a really great time to visit. It's their winter but this means it's clear blue sunny skies and about 28 degrees every day which was perfect. The sun goes down at 6pm and then it turns cold which makes it more comfortable for sleeping but ensure you have some warmer clothes for the evenings. For the long drives the truck is open sided so take a lightweight scarf to protect your face from sand and wind and a warm jacket like a fleece and maybe some gloves and warm hat. There are some mosquitoes in Victoria Falls so take a mosi net for your tent as these are not provided. I used Incognito products instead of Deet and got no bites all trip. The optional Chobe sunset cruise is a must and as I said before it's definitely worth paying for the optional activities in Victoria Falls. Be aware that there are 4 staff that you will need to tip at the end rather than the normal one leader you have on most trips so factor this into your budget. The tips came to about $160 in the end although it's up to you what you give. Be aware that if there are more than 8 of you booked on a tour then the vehicle will be cramped. We had 7 which was just right as no one had to sit wedged in a middle seat with a worse view.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've never been on Safari to the more well known destinations such as Tanzania or Kenya but I would definitely recommend Botswana instead particularly as you'll be supporting a country that has banned hunting and is successfully limiting poaching to a minimum. This is a once in a lifetime special trip to a friendly and beautiful country so go now!
  • Reviewed May 2016
    Vanessa Moss

    Wildlife and Wilderness of Botswana

    Day 1 Landed at one of the smallest airports I have ever seen in Maun on a a two propped plane. Temperature 31 degrees, holiday has begun. I meet the group there are 5 of us. Our guide Sam (Samason Chihohwa) explains we need to change 100 dollars to local currency for tips and meals this side of the border. So with 4 different currencies in my wallet...... To Audi camp via the Choppie Store to purchase water and snacks. Warm showers great us and the first sight of our tented homes. Day 2 - Okavango Delta Today we headed into the delta as we drove we saw zebra, an elephant and even a giraffe. What a start to the day. At the poling station we were met by 5 members of a local tribe who took us by canoe to set up camp in the wilderness. Toilet built and camp shower all set up in minutes. We had a rest whilst the hottest part of the day passed. Baboons in the tree tops. At 4.30pm we took our first walking safari, very strange experience no safety of a jeep and no rifles to be seen. Just us, our guides and their experience. Concerned that the safety briefing (orientation) may be remembered wrongly. Run from a buffalo not a lion. Yep that's right. We were met by a loan Impala, a wart hog family and hippos, what a noise they make letting us know we were in their space. They blow water from their snouts so far it's like a fountain. Baboons again greeted us as we arrived back at our camp just before dark. Camp fire dinner of rice and spiced stew. The stars are amazing and the forest noises sometimes worrying. Tomorrow we get up at 6am and walk again I wonder what we will see. Day 3 Coffee and rusks at 6am and off for our second walking safari. Today the first thing moving other than the various birds flying was birds of a very different kind ostriches running away from us. There were 5 in all the female is a slightly different colour to aid incubation apparently. The male is black as takes his turn on the nest at night and the female lighter brown. Lots of animal prints. Ostrich, aardvark, elephant, hippo. Interestingly hippo and rhino prints are similar except that hippo has 4 toes and rhino effectively the middle two are joined making one larger pad. As we walked we saw buffalo and used a termite mound to approach closer without disturbing them. Yes because it's run from a buffalo. Impala were seen near a water hole, we sat a while watching them before zebra joined us to. Before walking back towards camp. On route and as if to add icing to the cake a loan elephant walked past. I wonder if that elephant thinks we are the mad ones walking in the sun. In the heat of the day brunch and bush shower before our canoe cruise at 5pm. Just before our sunset canoe ride sitting in the shade I hear an excuse me from one of the tribe. Elephant he says. Not just one several make the crossing right in front of our camp. Biggest leading, smallest at the rear. Then minutes later another herd. 5pm sunset ride a giraffe is spotted in the distance we quickly reverse and land the canoe. We are facing the sun so we try to creep around on land to get the sun behind us. Back in the canoe we continue to a spot to watch the sunset. Whilst waiting the hippos grunt and let us know they are there, there is also a fish eagle in the distance perched on a tree. Tonight's dinner chicken stew with mashed potatoes. Tomorrow we leave this part of the delta. Day 4 This morning our last game walk. We came across house sparrow weaver birds protecting their nests from a little owl of all things in broad daylight. The owl attacked at least one nest while we were there and looked like it would be hanging around a while yet. We stopped at the hippo pool they were shier today. A bird was having its own safari on the back of one, the hippo didn't manage to dislodge it even though he went under water. On the way back we saw the giraffe we had seen against the sun the night before a large male. Before we reloaded the canoes and headed back towards Maun for supplies and a shower before our afternoon flight. 4pm Delta flight (Optional) You get some kind of scale from above. The delta is a huge area. Lots of elephant herds below and hippos from above look even more comical. We had we are told a rare sighting of 5 rhinos. Not something the pilots see every day. Ours was keen to make sure he looked out for them on his next fight. Our main guide Sam explains that some areas that are badly poached for rhino are sending rhinos to Botswana for their protection as poaching is not a problem here. For the 2 million population of the whole country there is plenty of work. Day 5 - Makgadikgadi Long drive to the salt pan. All our shoes have to be brought out at the veterinary station to treat to prevent foot and mouth. We stop for a picnic on route and to purchase firewood for cooking tonight. A walk on the pan before watching sunset by the fire. We are told it will be cold tonight and in the morning may be 5 or 7 degrees so got the coat out handy. We saw 2 southern ground hornbills, some zebra and a stein bok on route. Day 6 5.30am wake up to be packed and driving by 7.30am. Very cold, but the quietest night we have had no wild noises out here. The drive is long passing through national reserves. Elephant, giraffe and other smaller animals occasionally line the route. Border controls and visa obtained and onwards to Victoria Falls. Tonight's dinner at a traditional African restaurant. Chicken Piri Piri I had with popcorn and small peanuts as a snack with drinks. Very nice. Day 7 - Zimbabwe Victoria Falls National Park. Prepared to get wet with camera in a dry bag we headed into the park. 16 view points the first 3 not too wet however we were then in for a soaking. Lots of rainbows absolutely drenched and dressed as if walking in the Cotswolds. Actually it's quite nice being wet in the heat of the day. Having dried off a little we headed to The Victoria Falls hotel as recommended by a family member before travelling. However the path we had taken earlier now has 5 elephants on it having a late breakfast so we thought better of it and took the road. At the hotel we headed straight out onto the veranda and ordered coffee and cheese cake. The nicest cheese cake I have had for sometime. There were wart hogs patrolling the immaculate lawns. It's a great view. One of the guards asked if we had been bungee jumping. I think I'll pass. Dinner Cruise tonight (Optional) On the dinner cruise we saw more hippos these ones were in much deeper water than we had seen before. We also witnessed the engagement of a German Couple. Most people were dressed for dinner and then there was our table. The safari campers. We watched sunset before dinner of butternut squash soup, bream and more cheese cake I can definitely recommend this cruise. Choice of food and drink. Day 8 - Chobe We leave Victoria Falls and head to Thebe River Camp. This afternoon we take a cruise on the Chobe. This was a fantastic trip and if you are a photographer keen amateur or otherwise you may use a whole card just on this, you get very close to a nest colony of bee eaters. We were very lucky and saw a pride of lions hunting a water buffalo although the buffalo was giving as good as it got. Bee Eaters were brilliantly colourful and elephants in the water. It was a brilliant cruise lots of photos taken to remember it by. Day 9 - Savuti Early start getting up at 5.30am before packing up camp and taking a morning game drive along by the river we cruised in last night. Lots of buffalo and giraffe. The beautifully coloured lilac breasted rollers and lots of hornbills and fish eagles line the route. On leaving the park we hit the main road momentarily before back on the massaging sandy and bumpy surface on the way to the marsh where there are lots of elephants. A lot of them are missing parts of their tails because in this part of Botswana the lions have learnt to hunt elephants. In the middle of nowhere is our camp site and you won't believe what we have for dinner. Fish and chips, honestly who'd have thought that possible! It was really nice. We are really wild camping. I am desperately hoping I don't have to get up in the night. Day 10 6am our breakfast is coffee and rusks so we can head out straight away for our first game drive of the day. We are looking for lions and we are not disappointed our wildlife guide (Kenny) tells us to get out video ready because we are going to see some loving. A large male and a female lie in the grass and we now realise Kenny isn't joking. Twice we see the male mount the female and strut his stuff. Kenny explains this goes on all day for a week and neither eat anything in that time 'whatever happened to wine and dine'. We had an incredible view, but all decided a female lions life isn't one we fancy. In 3 months she should have some cubs. There is a lot of wildlife out this morning and the tinniest elephant crosses our path before another trumpets at us. Brunch and a bush shower meet us when we return to camp. 4.30pm afternoon game drive to the water holes to see the elephant herds come together for bath time at sunset. Day 11 - Moremi We get up early to break camp and head out of this reserve onto the next and last wild camping experience of this trip. Although we were told by having bush showers yesterday we would wash away our luck. Within 5 minutes of driving we have 5 wild dogs running in front of us. This is a special and rare sighting and we are told to take as many pictures as possible. Leaning out of the vehicle and on a bumpy road not quite as easy as it sounds. The lions are still within 100 metres of where we saw them yesterday and yes they are still mating! A black backed jackal and bat eared foxes are also about today. Giraffe seem to be everywhere they have no where to hide. Arrived at our second wild camp site. This one initially felt less in the wilderness than the first it was nearer the park gate. However I was wrong..... Lions had walked past us very close by when we set up camp. The paw prints in the sand gave them away. Kenny follows them on our afternoon game drive and we came across two females and a male. The females were looking to hunt as the light faded. The male it seems again had other things on its mind. What is it with these lions! We watched them setting up for a hunt until the light began to go and we headed back to camp. T Bone steak for dinner. Day 12 Our last full day of game drives and wild camping before returning to Maun tomorrow. We have been lucky with what we have seen so far. Again 6am wake up and Coffee and rusks before we first headed in search of a leopard. Our guides had heard one in the night. We headed past the hippos the river appearing to steam in the cold of the morning. Most were already under water keeping warm. Our guides were convinced we were on the trail of a leopard and after some severe off road driving we spotted it tiny and camouflaged in the grass. She was hunting. We followed her for a while before leaving her in peace to look for lunch. So of the big 5 we have all of them under our belts and wild dogs as a bonus. If the holiday finished now it wouldn't be disappointing. As we have been very lucky and it was a fantastic morning. One last bush shower this afternoon and an evening game drive before our last night in the wild. On our afternoon game drive we watch the hippos at sunset and on the way back to camp I spotted a short eared eagle owl. Day 13 One last 5.30am start we pack up camp and head for one last game drive. Everything is quiet a hippo moving slowly to bathe for the day. Then we hit the bumpy road over 100km, our last Botswana massage on route to Maun for our last night here.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All the wildlife and the fact that this is one of the friendliest countries I have ever visited, the guides the locals, even all the other tourists it must be the atmosphere. Being in the wild compared to being permanently on front of technology is clearly good for the sole.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sam is really good as a leader pretty laid back, clearly enjoys life and nothing was too much. All of the staff be it the camp assistant and chef were amazing and the food they came up with on an open fire was incredible fresh bread, fish and chips etc.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's colder than you might think so take lots of warmer clothes for the evenings but especially the mornings, the vehicle used is open sided and you don't want to miss the wildlife by having the canvas flaps down. They are early starts, but remember most evenings its bedtime at 9pm.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    You can't guarantee the wildlife on these trips, but it is a great place to travel, a few bumpy long rides on and off road, but well worth it. If you are going in our spring / summer remember its Autumn / Winter there and you will definitely need a dry bag at Victoria Falls you and your camera will get wet.
  • Reviewed November 2015
    Stephen Cowling

    Wildlife and Wilderness of Botswana

    A wonderful journey through Botswana and a chance to experience a safari in an area where tourism is much less developed than in many parts of Africa.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many: Mokoro rides and wild camping in the Okavango Delta; the awesome Victoria Falls; seeing a herd of well over 100 elephants wandering across the plain; at least 12 lions at close quarters sheltering under a tree; numerous other wildlife encounters; the eerie silence and remoteness of the Makgadikgadi Salt Pans.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Sam, the driver and wildlife expert Kenny and assistant Johnny were all exceptional and could not do enough for us. The same is true of the "polers" in the Okavango Delta. The overall organisation, the camping and catering were superb. We found the vehicle comfortable and adequately spacious.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long drives on bumpy roads. The wild camping means that wildlife can wander through the camp at any time, especially at night. We had a close encounter with an elephant one night, which some of the party found unnerving, but in fact it left us alone. At the Victoria Falls, unless you are planning activities such as white water rafting, we recommend visiting the falls on the free day rather than waiting until the final morning as the itinerary suggests, to allow time to do it justice. We particularly recommend the Sunset Cruise and Chobe River Cruise.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There were so many positives I am reluctant to mention any disappointments, but I will do so anyway to give a complete picture. The areas we were travelling through are generally quite flat, which meant that the breathtaking scenery to be had in other areas was lacking (except for the Victoria Falls). Also, the population outside the main towns is quite sparse, and the towns themselves relatively Westernised, so there were limited opportunities to experience local African culture. Overall this was a wonderful, varied and well organised trip, with some truly magical moments.
Call us on 074 340 4587