Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed September 2019

    Amazing Manali - Leh Cycle, led by Valerie Parkinson!

    I had been wanting to do the Manali - Leh cycl for some time, having done several treks in Ladakh, and it lived up to its reputation as a tough, but spectacular challenge! We were lucky to get the bad weather out of the way at the start, and as we crossed each successive pass, the weather got better and better. We had a really friendly group of 12 cycling, and under Valerie's expert leadership we enjoyed an unforgettable trip. The scenery was spectacular, and made the long climbs, rough stretches of unsurfaced road and river crossings all worthwhile. The team of camp assistants and cooks were brilliant, and always so kind and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing some of the highest road passes in the world with breathtaking views, and arriving in Ladakh entirely leg-powered from Manali!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In a word, brilliant! Valerie's experience is second to none, and she gives confidence to everyone in the groups she leads. Her care of everyone in the group, especially when people are not feeling great, is wonderful, and she enable people to come through and complete treks where they might otherwise not succeed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are really fit and ok climbing for several hours at a time! The rewards make it all worth it!
  • Reviewed September 2019

    Amazing Manali - Leh Cycle, led by Valerie Parkinson!

    I had been wanting to do the Manali - Leh cycl for some time, having done several treks in Ladakh, and it lived up to its reputation as a tough, but spectacular challenge! We were lucky to get the bad weather out of the way at the start, and as we crossed each successive pass, the weather got better and better. We had a really friendly group of 12 cycling, and under Valerie's expert leadership we enjoyed an unforgettable trip. The scenery was spectacular, and made the long climbs, rough stretches of unsurfaced road and river crossings all worthwhile. The team of camp assistants and cooks were brilliant, and always so kind and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Crossing some of the highest road passes in the world with breathtaking views, and arriving in Ladakh entirely leg-powered from Manali!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    In a word, brilliant! Valerie's experience is second to none, and she gives confidence to everyone in the groups she leads. Her care of everyone in the group, especially when people are not feeling great, is wonderful, and she enable people to come through and complete treks where they might otherwise not succeed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are really fit and ok climbing for several hours at a time! The rewards make it all worth it!
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Dea Bicknell

    Breathtaking (Pun intended!)

    This trip cycling on the Manali-Leh highway was the greatest thing I have ever done. The trip had it all: challenging climbs with plenty of hair pin bends, exciting descents with more hair pins and no barriers. Smooth roads, rough roads and sometimes no roads where the glacier water decided to cross. Speaking of crossing your ride may be interrupted by Cows (it is India after all), sheep, yaks and even donkeys, horse and mauls. The road is only open for four months of the year and by the looks of it very few people cycle it, so although the climbs are challenging (eg. long and gradual but not steep!) passers by on Royal Enfields or Mini Buses will offer encouragement and interest in the trip, we even found out how England were doing in the world cup. The best part however is that you will be cycling from point to point and through remote areas where these is no phone signal, wifi or even electricity meaning that there no excuse not to enjoy and experience the amazing and breathtaking scenery that surrounds you. ​

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The night we stayed in Patseo at around 02:00hrs looking up at the stars in the night sky and seeing the whole galaxy, shooting stars and just space in general. The most amazing sight I have even seen. ​

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leaders were great and always on hand to help and answer any questions. I was the only person in our group that wanted to cycle to the top of Khardung La and this was organised for me without any fuss even though it was for just one person. ​

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You will be camping for 8 nights in a row so maybe keep your electronics to a minimum or bring a large capacity power bank. There are also multiple water crossings and on the first two days of our trip it rained non-stop so make sure you have some dry socks! ​

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There will be some discomfort but it is an adventure and that is what life is all about and the memories and experiences will far outweigh them so I would say just go for it ​
  • Reviewed September 2017
    Gabriella Butler

    Manali to Leh July-Aug 2017

    The trip is really an unforgettable one. The cycling itself is difficult but the people on our trip were very supportive of each other; even the locals shouted encouragement to keep us going! The clashes of different cultures, from the chaos in Delhi to the serenity in Leh, show you the vastness of the country and so you are able to experience India more than you would by simply visiting the main tourist attractions. The landscape was very diverse featuring Alpine-like forestry, red rocked valleys, and misty snow-capped mountains.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment was reaching the top of the Khardang-La, the highest motor able road pass in the world, standing at 5603m. The sense of achievement from reaching the top, especially with new friends that have completed it with you, is a euphoric feeling. All the people in our group were different; we had people from Australia, Belgium, Holland, and the UK, but it was very inspiring to push out of our comfort zones throughout the trip, and achieve conquering the final mountain together. The people you meet on this trip, whether from India or elsewhere, will be people you won't ever forget.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our trip leaders, Valerie and Raj, were very knowledgable of the area and so you gain an understanding from the landscape and culture more than you would by simply admiring the beauty of India. They were very encouraging when anyone felt under the weather or was struggling with the cycling and ensured that everybody was enjoying themselves. Both were very inspirational.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just to add, I was the youngest on the trip at 18 years old. This was not a problem at all. The range of ages and abilities across the group were all catered for and, although you need some basic fitness, there is no need to worry. To sum up, the trip was amazing. The camping is basic but perfect and makes you come back feeling very humble for what you have. Also the stars at night make the lack of showers worth it! If you're thinking about going on the trip, go. You will not regret it.
  • Reviewed September 2016
    simon charlesworth

    Ultimate Bike Trip

    It really is like no other place you will cycle. Each day takes that bit longer as you marvel at the scenery.You worry that you will not be able to remember the unique landscapes. Everything as usual is slick and well planned. BUT, the altitude can catch you out, listen to the guides, with the emphasis on take it easy, dont push too hard!! Did we listen? No!. We road too hard and felt the effects. But some TLC from the guide and we were back to form next day!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cresting the Baralaccha Pass and seeing the blue skies and amazing high altitude ranges stretching beyond. Descending the TanglangLa, and the remoteness of the trip, far away from civilisation. Check the photos!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had two great guides Valerie,sweeping from behind and 'Riczun' leading up front. Both amazingly knowledgeable and supremely competent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You need to love cycling, be very fit to enjoy the trip, and do as you are told-don't race up the mountains, it is not the Uk or even the Alps!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Having cycled with Exodus in Vietnam and Morocco this feels like the natural next step. As you can see from the previous reviews everyone is unanimous in their thrill of completing the trip.
  • Reviewed August 2016
    Christopher Ross

    Manali to Lei, July 8-24, 2016

    This was a fantastic trip - so glad I signed up! Logistics were great. Food was excellent, and the camping was lots of fun. We had a great group that got along so well. Very motivated to do another Exodus trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing the Karakorum ridge from the top of the Khardung La, including K2 and Gasherbrum I - unforgettable!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jangbu Sherpa was an excellent leader. He briefed us thoroughly on each day's journey, and introduced us to the culture and food. I especially enjoyed our visits to the monasteries.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The sun is strong at altitude, so for those sensitive to burns, light layers for the arms can help.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd suggest adding lights to the equipment list. On occasion, in our case on the Rhotang La, it can be foggy and misty. A blinking rear light would be good for added safety!
  • Reviewed August 2016
    John Heathcote

    MIH August 2016

    An amazing trip, but not for the faint-hearted! I have experience of climbing 3000 m/day in Europe, but the effect of high altitude is not to be under-estimated. The trip is hard! The mountains are big, some of the valleys very deep, and there's the transition from the cedar forests of Manali to the desert of Ladakh. There's some velvet black-top and some truly appalling roads under construction - no engineered surface at all. Even a few streams to ford.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of the Khardung La. Even though it's not actually as high as claimed (my GPS reckoned 5385 m), it's still a very long climb from Leh at 3500 m. The descent goes on for ever. The descent down the valley/gorge from the Baralacha La is pretty mind-blowing too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie had a very good knowledge of the region and was also well able to manage the various ills that beset the group during the trip. Ringzin was good at keeping a pace that could be sustained all day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't get forests unless it rains! We had some seriously wet weather for the first few days of the trip and were starting to despair of ever getting dry. Don't rely on washing and drying your kit every day.
  • Reviewed July 2016
    Samantha Innes

    Unbelievable

    This trip is not for the faint-hearted! You will be both physically and mentally challenged, in the best way possible. Do not underestimate how fit you have to be, not necessarily cycle fit but general aerobic fitness should be high. It is a trip of a lifetime and one you wont forget in hurry - it's one of the best trips I've ever done.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top of Khardung La. I highly recommend you do this (it's optional), even if you get to Leh and can't bear the thought of sitting on a bike again. You're only there once and you will regret not doing it. You can see K2 from the top on a clear day, it's by far the hardest but most rewarding things I've ever done.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jangbu Sherpa was an exceptional leader. I don't think he was out of breath for the whole trip! ALways smiling and very encouraging.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit. Have a comfy roll mat and a warm sleeping bag. Take clothes/suncream for all weather conditions. A camelbak is vital. Immodium. You don't need to pack a huge number of cycle tops (only 2 or 3) as you can wash them on the way/wear them dirty! Loose trousers are useful for women for visiting monasteries/in Delhi. A book as we often got to the campsite early and could relax. The air is not crisp and clean...the road is busy and therefore lots of fumes and dust. It's important you don't get the idea you will be cycling in quiet, clean mountain air!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do this trip!
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Yvonne Peters

    Manali- Leh

    A fantastic bike trip with absolutely unique scenery. All weather conditions were part of our trip: wind, sun, rain, hot and cold temperatures. The trip is well balanced to prepare you for the high altitudes.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To get to the top of the Taglang pass was the highlight, we had a kind of mistral wind facing us to get to the top, and part from the last part it was all off road biking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Regzin and Jangbu were excellent, friendly, interested, responsible and experienced

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    bring enough warm and wind proof clothes, have a good/warm sleeping bag, and make sure you have a matrass that isolates well. ( I brought a warm water bottle, it was very helpful) bring enough snacks. a good pair of glasses can be helpful. a head light is perfect to bring.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    drink during the bike trip lot's of water, even at night! the trip is unforgettable!
  • Reviewed August 2015
    Iain Hyslop

    Manali to Leh

    A great adventure it was hard in many ways but well worth the effort

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenary and environment were the stars all the way through

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The leaders were very good a pair of professional mountain men

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you think your fit get fitter

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My only criticism is that the party was not adequately equipped for some of the river crossings A rope and gear to provide a hand rail should be part of the standard equipment