Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

103 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Dorothy Walker

    This fantastic adventure will remain with me for the rest of my life!

    I was in a team with 4 others who will be ‘forever friends’ such a short time on the mountain six days up and two down yet we got to know each other so well encouraging each other all the way. An absolute dream team . Thank you Caroline , Hazel, Fay and Andrew . Our head guide Julian (J.T) was superb as were Hance and David. As long as I can remember I have wanted to climb this mountain and at 62 I thought I should give it a go! A month ago today I stood on the roof of Africa. What a day!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was different the rain forest , Shira Plateau, Lava Tower etc. The most fun day was the great Barranco wall which looks steep but completely doable. On summit night I was excited, apprehensive and just wanted to get to the top however I knew it would be a very long day reaching Uhuru Peak .As soon as day break comes you get this burst of extra energy! Reaching Uhuru Peak was just the best moment!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can not praise our guides enough . Head guide - Julian (J.T.) was so professional, so kind and patient setting a sensible pace to allow us to acclimatise. Absolutely first class chap. Assistant guides- David and Hance equally as professional . I felt safe at all times on our journey. They all gave quiet and kind words of encouragement all the way. They never stop smiling and making things seem easy! I shall never forget them . Not forgetting our superb cook Trophin providing the food which would give us the energy we needed each day . Excellent porridge ! The wonderful porters and assistant guides Rikado Trophin and Arnold Thomas. Julius I thank you for also always being there! All the way to the top!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The most important thing is to follow the pace the guides set they are so experienced and everyone will tell you poly poly and that’s exactly what to do to give yourself more of a chance of acclimatising and reaching the summit . Don’t forget your nail brush ! I did ! Keep your head down especially on summit day this was the advice I was given ‘don’t look up’!! Just keep plodding . Have fun , you will love it and carry those memories forever.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thank you Exodus and the African Walking Company
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Hazel Norton

    Kilimanjaro, Lemosho route

    This was my third trip with exodus and it did not disappoint. I had a great time and met some fantastic fellow travellers. The trek was fairly easy walking with a few points that required scrambling over rocks mainly Barranco wall, one of my favourite days on the trek.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the crater rim and seeing the clouds below us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT was a great leader always friendly and approachable, David and Hans the assistant guides were very knowledgeable and all three of them were positive and kept us going up to the top.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to pack as light as you can, and make sure you will be warm enough on summit night, its very cold until the sun comes up!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks again for a fantastic trip, with memories that will last a lifetime.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    caroline lewis

    A trip of a lifetime!

    I had the privilege of trekking up Kilimanjaro (8 day Lemosho route) with the best walking pals and crew in the entire world. I've never walked at altitude before, and I was honestly a little nervous, but I am so glad I booked the trip. The views are incredible, you learn a lot about yourself and above all you are surrounded by the most supporting, caring and knowledgeable leaders and crew who seem to permanently have smiles on their faces - ably led by JT (Justin Thomas). What a wonderful way to spend 8 days, I can't recommend it highly enough.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The most inspirational moment and quite frankly the most surprising was a birthday cake our chef had baked for a member of our team, at 4,600metres! Also a very big shout out to our wonderful team leader, JT - every single day he would pick up rubbish my fellow walkers had carelessly thrown away on the trek, its selfless acts like that that inspire you to do your best and not to let anyone down.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT has a permanent smile on his face. His knowledge and understanding of the mountain is second to none and is an inspirational character. JT, David and Hanse (assistant guides) all became our hero's and we all had a lot of fun during the trip, in particular after we had all scaled the Barranco Wall, what a fabulous afternoon! Its no wonder JT won the Exodus guide of the year in 2016, I have no doubt he will be up in the running for guide of the year again, he absolutely deserves every accolade he gets. I also have to give a special shout-out to our 2 other assistant guides; Hanse and David. Both of whom I have to say were incredible on summit night for so many reasons, and again so incredibly professional, funny - we all felt very safe.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes, get the miles in! Trust me, you don't have to be a marathon runner or a triathlete etc, in order to take part in this epic adventure. If you are sensible and start to add in extra park run's or spin classes every week plus wracking up the walking miles every weekend, you shouldn't have any problems. I would also strongly suggest you read up on all the points of view in regards to taking the anti-altitude tablet, diamox. I took it and it worked, but please note it doesn't work for everyone, so listen to all the advice given, listen to your GP and make an educated decision. Finally......take a hot water bottle, trust me, you'll really appreciate it on the very cold nights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All I would say is do your research, and DO NOT be afraid to step away from the norm. I've never done anything like this before, if you think you can't do it, believe me you absolutely can. I've had the most inspirational time of my life, your confidence rockets and you end up with friends for life and an experience you'll never, ever forget. Our small team of 5 walkers were assisted by JT, David, Hanse and a crew of 27, all of whom we can't thank enough for their sheer hard work, good humour and the constant smiling!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Hansa Jadva-Patel

    Kurudi Afrika (Back to Africa)

    I was born in East Africa and having walked through the rift valleys as a child, it was always my desire to climb to the roof of Africa. Although a regular walker myself, the ascent on few occasions became a challenge, especially on the summit night and I would not have succeeded the climb if it wasn’t for the support I was given by John (Tony Seka) and his support team. Their continuous kindness and patience was very much appreciated - and I know that this view is shared by everyone in my group!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Several highlights and to name a few, reaching Stella point, golden sunrise on the summit climb, Mount Meru and its continual presence above the clouds and golden sunset over it, climbing Barranco Wall, night sky with full moon and stars, practicing my Swahili again after several decades etc., enjoying the company of some of the fellow walkers and the support team.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I would not have made it to the top without John’s support and his patience. He was always very professional and totally committed to his job and nothing was too onerous for him. He was a very competent leader, supporting a team of assistant leaders, porters, and chefs who looked after our group of 10 very well. John was undoubtedly my hero!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Climbing Kilimanjaro, regardless of what grade it has been ranked, it should not be underestimated. Despite having undertaken numerous regular training walks building up to the trip, some long distance walks, it was physically challenging, so some physical preparation prior to the climb is essential. There is a structured tipping scheme; guidance is included in the trip notes, so useful to have the funds available.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The trip that I had undertaken was advertised as ‘all female crew’. This was also confirmed by Exodus staff in a telephone conversation who further assured me that it was to promote female employment. Hence this influenced my choice of trip. I was a little dismayed that this wasn’t the case. Having said this, I was not disappointed by the support team we had who were faultless!
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Amanda Crocker

    Lemosho Kilimanjaro

    Very well organised and supervised trip Guides were amazing All staff very helpful Amazing trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting to the top after 8 cold windy dark hours

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take mittens not gloves for summit night as much warmer Hire warm down coat and mittens from the company especially if you feel the cold

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Haven’t camped since I was 13 ( much older now!) and thoroughly enjoyed it , support and service was excellent cannot recommend the trip highly enough .
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Colin Donovan

    Trip of a lifetime.

    All ten of our party summited after a long and sometimes difficult tiring trek. This was down to Johns fantastic leadership skills and constant encouragement and help. He has a first class team of assistant guides and brilliant porters who all had a real positive attitude and couldn’t do more for you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching Uhuru Peak after an 8 hour trek with my fellow walkers and guides. It felt like one big happy and emotional family who had achieved their combined goal together.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    John was inspirational. From collecting us at the airport to dropping us off 9 days later. John knows the mountain like the back of his hand and his knowledge and information he passes on every day is truly superb. I don’t think I would have got to the top without John or his excellent assistant guides.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you train hard. Lots of long walks and try to keep the weight off. Listen to the advice given by the guides always. Walk very slowly, drink lots and lots of water and try to be positive at all times. This is a difficult trek especially on summit night but if you listen to the guides you’ll complete it.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Mark Latham

    On the roof of Africa

    Review of my Exodus trip to Kilimanjaro in The Herald: https://www.heraldscotland.com/life_style/16237809.travel-trek-to-the-summit-of-mount-kilimanjaro/

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    See the above link.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See the above link.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See the above link.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See the above link.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    William Pearce

    Summit fever!wonderful

    Wonderful feeling on reaching the summit after a midnight start !

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the summit! Watching and joining in with the African team final celebrations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT(Justin) was great.more cheer leader than group leader. An inspirational guy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Better to hire a jacket , sleeping bag and ground sheet.our trip was very dry and dusty and gaiters were very useful.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Tanzanians have a structured tipping scheme! So if you are going to contribute make sure you have the funds available
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Mohan Paul

    Awesome...!

    Absolutely loved every moment of the trip

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was getting to the top of clouds... it was breath taking, and I just never got tired of the views. Waking up and seeing some of the most beautiful sunrises and sunsets, was so worth it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT was probably one of the nicest, most humble people I’ve ever met. He has an amazing talent to be able to encourage, and inspire people when they feel like giving up. He has a great sense of humour and clearly loves interacting with people - both the travellers and also the porters and support staff. He is well respected from what I saw and I can see why.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take diamox with you. Altitude sickness really does make a fair few people suffer... I had some of the worst headaches/migraines I’ve ever had in my life during the trip. The medication was a blessing... and take plenty of paracetamol too.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    When can I go again? 😄
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Valerie Boissel

    To the unsung sheroes and heroes of Kilimanjaro

    I will echo previous reviews which have noted how fantastic this trip is - to me, time spent on Kilimanjaro was just magical... The mountain was as majestic as I expected it to be; the Lemosho route providing a great opportunity to discover the various landscapes it holds at different altitudes. Reaching Uhuru after days living above the clouds was the culmination of a special journey which would not have been possible without the incredible support, kindness, professionalism and all around awesomeness (TO THE MAX! ;)) provided by our dream team, aka JT and his crew - a total of 63 badass Tanzanian men and women, the real heroes and sheroes of this adventure! Their smiles and songs literally propelled me to the top of Kilimanjaro!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To name a few besides reaching the summit: watching the full moon overlooking the mountain turned pink-ish by the sun setting; watching Mount Meru 'float' among clouds from Cathedral Point Shira Peak; having a blast climbing Barranco Wall; being the witness and recipient of kindness and solidarity; dancing and singing with my crew in Swahili; being inspired by women and men porters alike for their strength and spirit; enjoying the journey and being present to the moment.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    JT is not only an outstanding group leader but simply said a pretty awesome human being who surrounds himself with an amazing crew from African Walking Company - I knew from the get go that I was in very safe hands and that I 'only had to' enjoy the ride, which I did, TO THE MAX! :) Special thanks and praise also go to our assistant guides Simon, Angela, Lucia, Happiness, Saïdi, Yohanna, Ionas, and Abdul, who were a joy to walk by and share jokes, stories and songs with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Regardless of its height, Kilimanjaro, as any other mountain, should not be underestimated - It is important to prepare physically for the challenge, ie build enough endurance to sustain a week of walking (up to 8h or longer for summit day) at high altitude (with a bagpack!), which will in turn help you enjoy the ride and adopt the Tanzanian attitude - one step at a time, hakuna matata! I personally had no issue to report with altitude during the whole trip except around 5400-5500 m when I believe I suffered a mild hypothermia I could not shake (which built up over 7h of climbing in snowy conditions despite wearing 6 top layers and 3 bottom ones) - thanks to JT's quick thinking and my fellow hikers' kindness (big up to Matt and Kieron!!), I was lended 2 additional top layers (hello Michelin woman!) which meant my body was finally able to warm up ( I tend to have high metabolism and I am naturally thin so I am not too surprised this happened) and I could complete the climb to 5895 m. All this to say, think carefully about your layering, your packing, ... and how your own body may specifically react :) (ie do not just take into account general reviews about what to pack for Kilimanjaro.)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Two weeks on, and my heart and brain are still on that mountain... Where do I sign up again? :)