Turtle, Ecuador

Your words, not ours

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2016
    Julie Furze

    An experience that will never be forgotten

    A most wonderful holiday in all aspects. The wildlife was exceptional, with each encounter whether it was a pride of lions or a group of puku we were able to spend time watching their behaviour without being disturbed by other trucks. It was as if it was our own private park! The walking safaris were really exciting and we learn't many things about the wildlife from many signs. For anyone who is familiar with safaris in Kenya and Tanzania this trip offers a much more intimate experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many really but seeing the Wild dogs stood out for me as I have been to many parts of Africa and failed to see them. Another great moments was having sundowners amidst hundreds of Carmine bee eaters who performed beautifully for us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stephen our group leader was outstanding in every way. His knowledge of his country and wildlife was second to none. He never failed to find us something inspirational to see. It was great to have him dine with us and share his knowledge about the days viewing. I must say that all the staff we encountered from the Bushcamp company were exceptional and showed us great hospitality and kindness.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stock up on sleep before you go if you can as there is so much to see and hear both during the game drives and in the camp at night. Sleep for me was limited as I found every minute exciting. You will need few clothes as the camps offer a free laundry service. Take lots of memory for you camera and binoculars are a must, because you will find yourself trying to spot something before the guides do!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you love safaris then this trip is a must. I would love to return after the rains to see a whole different South Luangwa
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Anonymous

    South Luangwa Walking Safari

    Wonderful in all aspects - accommodation, food,the people who looked after us and above all the plentiful wildlife.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sighting a leopard nearly every day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Steve, our guide, was excellent, so knowledgeable, friendly and capable, just great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You don't need many clothes as there is an excellent free laundry service.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would highly recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2014
    Janice Duncan

    South Luangwa Walking Safari.

    This is one of the best safari holidays I have done. The excitement of seeing animals on foot surpasses any experience in a vehicle. The accommodation was fabulous and contributed to the whole interaction with the wildlife. The camps were well organised; the food was fab and the staff were all very helpful. It was a joy from start to finish.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One afternoon as I was chilling out on my verandah and a group of elephants arrived in my garden to feed on the monkey bread pods. For about 30 minutes I stood on my bed peeking out at them feeding. They were less than ten metres away. I loved the proximity of it. I could not have moved anyway as they were right on my exit. I also laughed at the moment on my date of departure when the man who arrived for my wake up call told me "not to leave my lodge as there were 2 lion cubs on my doorstep!"

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Steve was very knowledgable on all aspects of wildlife. He was well organised, courteous and responsive to our wishes. He gave us plenty time to take photographs and tried to get good positions for us to view the animals often by anticipating where the animals would move to. It is worth noting the vehicles have built in beanbags to rest your camera on so no need for tripods. Our "spotters" and the Park Guard on the walk were also excellent. They found leopard in a tree, porcupine and great views of lions. They also mixed a mean gin and tonic at sundowners!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lightly. The laundry service is free. Make sure you wear the right muted colours on the walks. Take dollars as this is the most useful currency for taxes and tips. Yellow Fever Certificates were asked for although we were low risk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For a mixture of adventure and luxury this was a top trip. I arrived very tired after a heavy spell of work. The outside world melts away here. Lying in a plunge pool watching wildlife whilst listening to the soundtrack of "Out of Africa" (what else!) was heaven. It is not a cheap trip but it is a quality one
  • Reviewed July 2013
    Anonymous

    SOUTH LUANGWA WALKING SAFARI

    This was without a doubt THE most amazing holiday I was ever on!And I have been on quite a few.I have always maintained that the world is too big , that are too many places to see, to ever go back to the same place twice, but........ I will definitely go back here.. What an experience.From the standard of the accommodation( which is absolutely fantastic), to the quality of the food, the wildlife,it was just surreal, so good.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day was filled with yet another 'most' inspirational moment. **Seeing a pack of wild dogs near Bilimungwe camp**An entire herd of elephants drinking at the waterhole right  beneath my balcony on Zungulila Camp**Sundowners complete with white tablecloth, glasses and freshly made popcorn in the middle of the Kapamba River** Being so close to a lion kill that we could hear  the crunching of the bones and heard the lions breathing...** Seeing a leopard kill high up in a tree** Eating out in the middle of the bush with perfect white tablecloths, glasses and gourmet food Where do I start and where do I stop?! One moment was more amazing than the other.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Stephen or Lee Stephen was absolutely the very best guide that I have encountered in my travels. He was like a walking encyclopaedia of Zambia. Whether is was about birds, animal tracking, plant life, astronomy ,climates. Stephen was nothing short of a genius! If there ever was a 'best guide in the world' competition, he would have my vote! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! This trip will change your life.By walking you are 'on the ground' and feel much more one with nature.The combination of the walks and the drives was just perfect.I cannot wait to go back.Do not take too many clothes. The laundry service is excellent, and there is no need to dress for dinner.As there is no electricity in the bush camps, no need to bring hairdryers etc.There are solar panels, so there is always hot water and lights, but no  plugs.Batteries etc will be charged by the management of the camps in their offices. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would personally rate this trip as ' leisurely'Do not be put off by the term 'walking safari'. The walking is so gentle and so slow( there is so much to see) that it is no effort at all.The combination of the walks and the drives is just perfect.It may seem obvious, but keep in mind that this holiday is all about being one with nature.Teenagers will have no nightlife, no place to go etc. But if you are a nature, wildlife lover, and if you love good food, you will feel that you have gone straight to heaven!
  • Reviewed June 2013
    Anonymous

    SOUTH LUANGWA WALKING SAFARI

    This was my first trip to Southern Africa and it was AMAZING!The animals and accomodation  exceeded expectations, the camp staff  were lovely and we had a great Guide and group too.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The group tracking lion on foot with the Guide, spotter and armed Scout. It is incredible to learn how to read the landscape by looking at tracks in sand and listeing to the alarm call of mammals and birds. It's also fascinating what can be learnt from animal dung!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We didn't have one but our local Guide,Steve, was fabulous - he had encyclopaedic knowledge of animals and birds!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you have the right coloured clothing (see trip notes). It's really important when tracking on foot. Smart gear not needed. Laundry service excellent so you can take less.It's wise to padlock luggage. Beware atm machines at Mfuwe airport! Check the accuracy of the trip notes for details regarding departure taxes and take plenty of dollars to change into local currency in case of unexpected taxes or requirements for payment in a specific currency. Check arrangements regarding group leader and specifics regarding air routes.Tribal Textiles is well  worth a visit . Mfuwe will arrange transport. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fabulous trip!
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    SOUTH LUANGWA WALKING SAFARI

    An experience never to be forgotten.   Remote bushcamps, one with nature, so much game, including leopard and porcupine and birds too numerous.   Flocks of Carmine Bee Eaters and many Raptors.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Daylight sighting of the rare Pel's Fishing Owl, looking like Garfield the catDaylight sighting of a pack of seven wolf like wild dogs on the river sandbanks near Bilimungwe Bush Camp A mid-day parade of elephants passing by as I sat in my plunge pool at Zungulila BushcampSundowners complete with a white table cloth and real glasses in the middle of the Kampamba River, cooling toes and watching a red Luangwa sunset dipping behind charcoal tree outlines  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mechek was simply the best.   We were a keen set of bird watchers and he knew everything.  He kept us on our toes and stretched us all the time.   He was always enthusiastic and fresh, he didn't seem weary of his job in any way.  His English was subtle and well nigh perfect and he had a delightfully low key sense of humour.  We even had a light hearted quiz to test what we remembered of his ever interesting talk.   The walking safaris were particularly rich and informative, for birds and flora and fauna.   

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take this trip, it will change your life.   You will marvel and be humbled by the infinite variety of nature and the majesty of the African bush.  Not to mention the luxury of the camps, the delicious meals and the impeccable and friendly service.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Have you seen a cross section of the sausage tree fruit?  The Guide will show you.Did you know that crocodile poo looks like pure white chalk.  It's because they eat the bones et al!A herd of zebra is called a dazzle.Thousands of Carmine Bee-Eaters live in holes in the sandbanks for the River Luanagwa and Kampamba,   Darting, fluttering bunches of bright pinkish red feathers  A lazy female leopard stretches out and rolls over in the headlights of the night safari jeep
  • Reviewed October 2012
    Anonymous

    SOUTH LUANGWA WALKING SAFARI

    It was an amazing trip which gave a totally different feel to the safari experience as we were able to enjoy the smaller species as well as tracks and signs. Of course we also got to enjoy the stars of the safari such as lions and leopard.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was fascinating. Every day brought new sights and sounds to enjoy. We saw and experienced so much that it is hard to name one moment. We really enjoyed being shown how to read the footprints by our guide when we were walking. We also had some fabulous game drives where we were able to appreciate the density of the wildlife in South Luangwa. Listening to a male lion make his way towards camp between 2 and 5 am was pretty special - it sounded like he was right outside our tent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fanuelle was brilliant. He was extremely knowledgable and vey caring. He showed a high level of respect towards the wildlife.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No need to pack lots of clothes as the laundry service in Lodges and camps is superb.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip supassed our expectations. We saw all that we wanted to and more.
  • Reviewed January 2012
    Anonymous

    SOUTH LUANGWA WALKING SAFARI

    We had the most fantastic time imaginable. And 4 months later I can honestly say that there is not a day that has passed when we dont look back with fond memories. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every sunset, every sunrise. And knowing that around every corner might be a lion, leopard elephant or giraffe.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    James was a charming knowledgeable host perfectly able to make us all feel pampered whilst always being aware that we were in Africa, and priviledged to be there. Peter was a guide with an obvious passion for his vocation and his country. His ability to make every day a fresh and exciting adventure and to always find us something new was extraordinary.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont take too much with you. Bush Camp offer an excellent free laundry service and there is little need to dress for dinner as open air eating though always very enjoyable was often very dark.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Superb throughout and everyone we speak to is extremely jealous. Photos are great too!