Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

An incredible, stunning, strange and wonderful experience

The organisation and support from the entirely local team running the trip was absolutely exceptional. NK, the group leader, was faultless – calm, fun, supportive, organised, knowledgeable, entertaining. He led an exceptional team of drivers, cooks, mountain bikers/mechanics/guides, who all made the trip utterly fantastic. Breathtaking scenery, well maintained bikes, a good variety of routes – grassy Steppes, mountains, lakes and rivers. Gorgeous camp locations. Fascinating visits to a nomadic family, the capital and the ancient capital. It was a wonderful trip.

Most Inspirational Moment

It is really difficult to choose one - the most inspirational moment was often every single morning, setting off after a hearty breakfast to (usually!) crisp blue skies, early morning sun, herds of animals across the Steppes, distant ger tents. Just magical. Staying up late one night to see the stars on a very clear night was very special. The lamb roasted in the traditional way with hot stones from a fire one evening was very special too.

Thoughts on Group Leader

NK was himself an inspiration. He truly was mindblowing - great fun, extremely knowledgeable. methodical, efficient, well organised. I was in awe of him! Can’t thank him enough for making the trip so amazing.

Advice for Potential Travellers

It got very cold at night on this last tour of the season... down to -5 on occasions. But still up to 20 degrees sometimes in the day. So being equipped for the temperature change and range is critical for your enjoyment of the trip - I was pretty cold at night, and setting off in the morning I was dressed up like for skiing, and then rapidly had to strip off layers as the temperature shoots up in the mornings.

The land that time forgot

This was simply a magnificent holiday in a wonderful country. Cycling eleven days in a row is a bit tough and the terrain can be challenging, but it is worth the effort. The landscape is vast and photographs cannot do it justice. I never tired of seeing herds of horses, running free in this never ending scenery.
On the practical side, the tents were of top quality, the bikes were of equally good quality, the crew of 8 were brilliant and the group of cyclists were great company. The meals were well balanced and a credit to our cook. NK our leader was probably the best group leader I have experienced in my many Exodus adventures. We even had a shower tent with warm water when possible.
September brought us varied weather conditions, with cold mornings, some rain, snow on the mountains, hail, high winds and plenty of sunshine.
I would recommend this holiday especially if you want to get away from busy cities and experience real peace and quiet.

Most Inspirational Moment

I never tired of the horses running alongside us. The herds of yaks and cows and enormous flocks of sheep and goats are equally impressive. Large birds of prey can be seen regularly. The night skies are incredible.

Thoughts on Group Leader

NK was magnificent. His organisational skills, his pleasant manner and his love of Mongolia is inspirational. My luggage failed to arrive when we landed at Ulaan Baataar, but NK assured me that the luggage would arrive before we boarded the overnight train. He arranged this and my luggage arrived. The excellent Gala Dinner on our last night was a very pleasant surprise. Our team consisted of NK, two other cyclist guides, three drivers, a cook and cook's assistant.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Take a good quality sleeping bag. The camping is very good and nothing to fear. We all became very slick at erecting our tents and taking them down.

Suggestions

When wild camping, toilets can be a bit of a worry. In Mongolia we had a western style toilet in a tent.

Big skies and teeming herds

A great trip in stunning landscape. A good mix of easy riding with time to enjoy the views and more challenging ups and downs. It is quite something to see herds of horses running beside you while you ride, to watch eagles soaring above you as you camp by a pristine stream. If you are happy on a bike and in a tent I can think of no better way to see Mongolia than this.

Most Inspirational Moment

Hard to pick just one, but all these are great memories: watching the sunset over lake from our camp site, running herds, herdsmen on horseback, the "performance of contortion by springy girls" in Ulan Baatar.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our trip leader was young but very good, with excellent communication skills, thoughtful and engaging. This was his first trip as leader, though he had assisted on many more. The rest of the support team were clearly experienced and very good at keeping the trip on track, both on the road and at the overnight stops.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Compared with our only previous Exodus cycling trip (Myanmar in 2014, level 3) this trip had much more cycling and less sightseeing. When we booked it was level 3 but has since been re-graded from level 3 to 4. We found the trip notes were pretty accurate, but beware the short days - less distance but plenty of height gain. The trails were generally pretty good, but variable surface conditions (slippery mud, sand, rocky descents) added an extra element of challenge in places, and a strong headwind made for slow progress at times. Expect wet feet - there are lots of river crossings. The general description of "undulating with a few short steep climbs" is fair, but before the short steep climbs there is often a long not-so-gentle climb. The tents and bikes were very good, both in terms of specification and condition. We were happy to see that, having read about issues with bikes and tents in a review of an earlier trip. The support team checked all our group's bikes over regularly, most if not every evening. The sleeping mats provided were OK but not fantastic. If you have a good one that you trust, then bring it.

Suggestions

Bugs were not a major problem in the evenings but bug spray is essential, and we found a solar charger handy for keeping our cameras, etc. in service.