Request Your Free Brochure For Adventure Inspiration. Order Now

All activities
No results found
Select all activities Culture Cycling Family Mixed-Activity Multi-Country Holidays Polar Walking & Trekking Wildlife Holidays Winter Holidays
All months
February 2024 March 2024 April 2024 May 2024 June 2024 July 2024 August 2024 September 2024 October 2024 November 2024 December 2024 January 2025 February 2025 March 2025 April 2025 May 2025 June 2025 July 2025 August 2025 September 2025 October 2025 November 2025 December 2025
Contact
Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words – We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It’s the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you’re interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven’t posted your review yet? Here’s how to do it…

Once you return from your Exodus adventure holiday, you will be emailed a link to add your review. Any feedback collected is posted onto our website, totally unedited.

Alternatively you can navigate to the relevant trip page and add your review via the Reviews tab.

Reviews

missed connection

just like Emily I too missed my connecting flight at Sao Paulo . this was because there was not enough time to collect my luggage go through customs and passport control etc and then do the whole thing again in reverse . you really need more than just over 2 hours in my opinion .This caused a lot of unnecessary stress and time waiting for the afternoon flight (9hrs ) to join the group. having said that the trip was very good with a lot of wildlife to be seen culminating in the sighting of the elusive jaguar .food was good and price of drinks etc good. the guide Juan was excellent with a very good knowledge,of wildlife and habitat ,but as previously mentioned please be aware you may be in for a long stressful wait at the airport .

Most Inspirational Moment

the amount of wildlife and habitat.

Thoughts on Group Leader

very good.

Advice for Potential Travellers

be prepared for a long wait at sao Paulo airport.

Suggestions

to get your connection you may have to either que jump vigouressley or get the help of latam staff to by pass the que.

Land of the Jaguar Sept 2023

Please note you will be told, by Exodus, that your luggage will be put through at San Paulo and this is absolutely not the case. You will need to recheck your luggage. This caused people to miss their connections/sprint to catch their connection. I asked for a longer connection time and Exodus said no causing unnecessary stress. The tour leader, Tony, was absolutely lush and very knowledgeable and if there was an animal to spot he spotted it. Arasas Lodge is nice, but in reality the itinerary was really lacking here with several hours to kill between activities (10-4pm). It felt like a last minute add on as they couldn’t just make the trip 4 days. I would say the cost of the trip really is not good value for money and sadly I could not recommend this trip though we did see the jaguars.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing the jaguar.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tony was worth his weight in gold!

Advice for Potential Travellers

I would not recommend this trip.

Suggestions

This is the first Exodus where I felt it was jot good value for money or well thought out.

Incredible journey to see jaguars

A wonderful trip to see these elusive jaguars by riverboat. The accommodation was comfortable and allowed a great base for jaguar boat trips or at Araras Eco Lodge a series of nature walks and night safaris in search of birds and ocelots. Juan the guide was excellent throughout, well organised, enthusiastic and with an encyclopedic knowledge of the wildlife on hand.

Most Inspirational Moment

We had several jaguar encounters but the most special was a female jaguar walking along a beach in the last 15 mins of our final boat trip.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Juan was exceptional, he was bubbling with enthusiasm and organised as many nature excursions as time allowed, running multiple nature walks each day as well as night safaris. His knowledge of the wildlife was second to none and he was an integral part of our success rate with both jaguars and other wildlife.

Advice for Potential Travellers

The airport at Sao Paolo can be confusing so ensure you check bags in on the ground floor when booking on for Cuiaba. Not all EU or US adapters fit and so check your adapter has pins like a shaver not a large circle connecting the two pins as some airport sold ones have. You can buy an adapter at the airport in Cuiaba The hotel and both lodges are happy to take Credit Cards for payment and prefer it to cash. Long trousers and long sleeves are a good idea due to horseflies during the day / sandflies or mosquitos at night. The boat rides are often in full sun as using covers restricts viewing. There are no UK style black tea bags so take your own as hot water is provided.

Suggestions

If I could have spent 6-7 days at Baiazinha doing boat trips and 5 nights at Araras Lodge and paid a little more for the longer trip I would have jumped at the chance. An optional extension to Iguazu Falls would be another great option.

Amazing Brazil

Long journey to get to the Pantanal but worth it! Three jaguar sightings on the first trip made everyone very happy for the forthcoming adventure. Hotel Baiazinha is the perfect location for trips into the wetlands. Accommodation and food excellent and staff very friendly. Plus around the hotel so many birds. Seven boat trips was tiring in the heat, thankfully the boat has a cover. Finally saw nine jaguar sightings, some repeats, plus two giant otter encounter…….and so many birds.
Araras Pantanal Eco Lodge is a nice wind down with good accommodation. Trips out to spot wildlife are good but toucans and hyacinth macaws can be spotted in the grounds early morning!

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing my first hyacinth macaws on the drive in to Hotel Baiazinha and then in the afternoon seeing jaguars!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Group leader was knowledgeable on the wildlife and environment but poor on keeping us updated on plans for the trip.

Brilliant

Fantastic trip – brilliant guide – great accommodation – superb wildlife sightings.
Be prepared for very high temperatures but so worth it.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing our first jaguar

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tony Rodriguez was superb. So knowledgeable, professional and a great sense of humour. He was great company and made sure everything ran smoothly.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Be prepared for high temperatures - it's hot out there!

Suggestions

Great trip - wonderful jaguar, giant otters sightings

Land of the Jaguar report

This trip exceeded all my expectations.Seeing a Jaguar in its natural habitat was wonderful. As usual Paul worked hard with the guides to get the results that we all longed for.The accommodation was good, though the food in Porte Joffre could have been much better. I was a little disappointed with the fact that we had to pay for our luggage on the internal flight. This caused some hassle because none of the flight desk attendants spoke English and I do not speak Portuguese. A similar scenario ensued on the return flight.
This was one of the most memorable trips that I have done with Exodus and I look forward to my next one.

Most Inspirational Moment

Seeing my first Jaguar and being able to follow her for some while, whilst not causing her any concern. Seeing the other animals and birds was also wonderful.

Thoughts on Group Leader

I have been on trips with Paul before, so I know what to expect(mostly!). As I have said before,but it is worth repeating, no one works harder , or is more committed to his clients than Paul. An excellent leader.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Make sure that you have checked the medical advice available on line both for vaccinations and prescription drugs. and take the appropriate medicines.On photographic trips be totally prepared to put in hours.

Suggestions

I am very satisfied with Exodus Holidays. They have provide me with some spectacular moments at very reasonable cost. Through them , I have met some lovely people..

The Pantanal deliverd

This trip to the Pantanal ranks amongst the best. Yes, Jaguars are illusive but so are lots of big cats. patience and trust are required. Trust in so much that your guide will do his/her utmost to find you a jaguar. If they are there, they will find them. But while you are waiting, just observe the absolute plethora of wildlife, Birds of all sizes and colours, you might encounter a swimming Tapier or be entertained by a family of river otters. While you are travelling you might see a giant ant eater, dont be surprised to be able to see a Cayman with young on its back, or see an Anaconda curled up sleeping after a meal. There is so much to see. Beautiful Macaws, what colours. Its pure entertainment. I cant wait to return.

Most Inspirational Moment

Where does one start. For me it was all inspirational. Although I have to say, when you first see a Jaguar it a heart stopping moment. The two lodges that you will stay in are very well positioned, you are surrounded by wildlife.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Our group leader was, Tony. Excellent all round. very knowledgeable, for me went the extra mile to find a Jaguar, always prepared to stop when something has been sighted.

Advice for Potential Travellers

I travelled in August. Yes this part of Brazil is in the tropics, but. It can be cold on the wide open rivers. Read the trip notes. When it says take a warm fleece. Take one and add to that a wind "shell" head cover and gloves. Once you have moved on to the next lodge, its all change, its gets very hot. be prepared for both.

Suggestions

Dont be put off, dont wait. book it.

Land of the Jaguar

For those interested in wildlife and the possibility of seeing a Jaguar in the wild, this trip to the Pantanal of Brazil is an affordable winner. Logistics were well coordinated, accommodations were fine though it should be noted the Jaguar House Boat is not luxurious but more than adequate for its remote location on the Paraguay River. The three nights at the very nice Araras EcoLodge were a pleasant bonus. Our guide, Tony, could not have been better. He is experienced, knowledgable and very pleasant. With his skill we had three jaguar sightings during our time on the Paraguay River. Contrary to the Exodus trip description, the majority of the time is spent scouring the river banks of the main river and its narrow channels. It was quite a long distance by small speed boat to the Taima Ecological Reserve and that was reserved only for our last day. According to Tony there are jaguars in the Reserve but they are more difficult to see and eluded us. However, we had excellent caiman, giant river otter and bird sightings. The abundance of birds in the Pantanal was extraordinary and I personally saw over 90 different species. Tony knows them all! So, if you are “into” birds and jaguars, you will be well entertained. The majority of our group of 13 were interested in photography so that was enjoyable. One goes in the dry season to spot jaguars more easily but you will not see the Pantanal flooded as depicted in many photos. One needs to go in a different season for that experience; I am already dreaming of a return trip!

Most Inspirational Moment

Spotting my first jaguar in the wild!

Thoughts on Group Leader

Outstanding. Could not have been finer. Very professional.

Advice for Potential Travellers

Bring a could DSLR camera with 400mm lens if possible. Lots of long shots.

Suggestions

While on the house boat, there is an option to go on a night land safari. Cost was $35 per person paid directly to the boat owner/rancher. Personally I felt it was overpriced for the experience.

Land of the Jaguar

Overall a relatively full on experience with very little ‘down’ time. An amazing abundance of wildlife especially birds. A trip that definitely lived up to expectations.

Most Inspirational Moment

The last day on the Paraguay River when we spotted a Female Jaguar and cub on a rock adjacent to the river on our return journey from the National Park.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tony was an excellent guide with very good knowledge of the birds and mammals and his spotting skills were amazing

Advice for Potential Travellers

As we were travelling in the dry season it did get very hot 40C + and somewhat dusty but worth it in every way.

Suggestions

We left the UK with the hope that we would see the main targets of our visit, Jaguar and River Otter. Not only was our expectation rewarded with one sighting, but 3 groups of Otters, 4 Jaguars and the Hyacinth Macaws as well as numerous other mammals and birds. A truly wonderful experience and the stay on the houseboat was GREAT

Land of the Jaguar - and other wildlife

The trip provided the wildlife viewing we had hoped for – five jaguars, plus giant otters, armadillos, anteater etc etc and a wide variety of bird life.

Most Inspirational Moment

Watching a jaguar cub emerge cautiously from its den before playing with its mother.

Thoughts on Group Leader

Tony was very good at spotting and identifying wildlife, both mammals and birdlife. All the trips and transfers ran smoothly due to his involvement.

Advice for Potential Travellers

On my visit the weather was dry, sunny, and hot, up to 40ºC. It cooled to about 20º around dawn. Go prepared for a range of temperatures - check the Caceres weather forecast. The trip notes do not make it clear that at the lodge activities such as horse-riding and canoeing are part of the programme. You may wish to check that your travel insurance covers these.