Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17637 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Theresa Ardley

    Walking the Amalfi Coast

    Despite cloudy and wet weather for the whole week bar one day, the free day, I thoroughly enjoyed my Amalfi Experience. Such was the weather that with the enthusiasm of Paul and Louise we were able to ‘admire’ views and laugh our way through wet walks! We were lucky that our guides volunteered on their day off to redo one of the walks so that we could experience the real view rather than one boot in front of the other and use our imaginations! Thanks for a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The enthusiasm of our leaders and the magnificent views on the walks (when the views existed), the lovely gorges, magnificent countryside and lovely Italian towns/villages in the hills and on the coast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. I have already completed one questionnaire and another for the leaders - Paul McDermott and Louise Russell. Especially good, knowledgeable, approachable, friendly, professional in their work. A credit to the company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure there is a note to say that some of the walks require good fitness and can be slippery/more difficult in wet conditions. The two for leisurely as indicated should be ‘three’ as considerable fitness is required for this trip. But easily doable too. Good walking boots required. Good waterproofs required. You did indicate height/ vertigo etc and the thousands of steps! :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Ensure the hotel has heating in the bathrooms to dry out walking gear...three of us did not have this for three days although we told the hotel staff. I gather there was an issue and plumbers were called in and the matter rectified. It was difficult on the first three days though as our gear required drying out.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Elaine Richards

    Breathtaking Adventure

    This trip exceeded our expectations. It was a great mix of cultural visits with active elements. There was tremendous variety packed into an 8 day holiday.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were 2. The moment when you first see the Treasury at the end of the Siq in Petra and climbing up to the high point and seeing the Treasury from above

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammad was a brilliant guide who obviously loved his country and wanted to show it to us in all its glory. He went the extra mile inorder to do this, for example getting us into the roman amphitheatre just as it was closing and more importantly supporting his group in a situation that made it very difficult for himself at great personal risk. The group we were part of was a good one but Mohammad made it into a family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for the desert experience with appropriate clothes, bedding and towel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was am amazing holiday and I would recommend it everyone!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Alice Nimmo

    What a week!

    Highly recommended and couldn't stress how much effort the guides put in on making you feel welcome to this amazing country and how supportive they were in making the trip perfect for each individual. Head guide Elina is a fantastic overall lovely person. The food was to die for (all traditional Finnish), don't be expecting burgers unless it's an Elk one! The drink was expensive, but I had budgeted for this prior to the trip as I knew this would be the case. It's good idea to purchase alcohol at a UK airport or lack some in your case before hand. All of the activities were perfect to gain a taster of each, and once equipped with your gear, you were free to use them as you please in your free time. I took a hike up a local hill on our free day, using the snowshoes provided, Elina showed me a map in which I took with me, and an easy to follow, well marked trail. What a fabulous day to get a view of the Russian border from the top. The owners of the Huskies were so caring and knew a of the dogs inside out, what a lovely life they lead and the dogs really enjoy their work, this is obvious when you meet them, due to the excitement and noise they make when they know they're going on a trip. The reindeer are well looked after, and the herdsmen explained that they are trained to pull the sleighs in the winter when they are brought back to the farm, but released again to roam during the summer months. I can't tell you enough how much I love this country, the lovely people and how close they are to nature. If your after a really laid back holiday and an escaped from the rush of day to day life, this is for you!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The way of life the Finnish lead is to die for, they really are the most lovely people with an amazing connection to nature and their wildlife

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader Elina couldn't have been any better, she couldn't have tried to please everyone anymore if she tried

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't expect restaurant quality food, expect a more rustic and traditional Finnish cuisine such as reindeer, elk and fish

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth every penny
  • Reviewed November 2019
    David Griffiths

    Don't go for the Snow Monkeys!

    There are two reasons to go on this trip: in Spring for the Cherry Blossom, or later in the year to see the Snow Monkeys. We did the latter, and in fact the last departure of the year, the next being in April. We did not see any monkeys, and the people we spoke to, including the staff at the monkey centre, said that it was too early to see them. They come to a hot spring when it's really cold. When we were there, it was not cold (avg 17 deg in the day), and in any case, the hot spring had suffered damage from Typhoon Hagibis and was not filling up. We spent a morning hiking to what was essentially a muddy pool for no reason. This was a real waste of time. Apart from this, the trip was enjoyable, but there are a number of free days which really should be filled up with - for example every person on our trip wanted to see Mount Fuji but we had to do that ourselves on a free day - I feel that this should have been part of the itinerary; the tour finishes in Tokyo with a free day on the Friday, and then another free day on the Saturday before being collected for the airport at 6.30pm. There's lots to do in Tokyo, but we lost our guide before the tour finished. I don't want to be only negative - we really enjoyed the vast majority of this tour, but it could have been so much better.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiroshima - but we didn't have enough time there.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hard working and well organised but didn't go above and beyond. He was great in explaining all the customs and etiquette.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take plenty of cash - UK debit cards don't work in most machines and credit cards are not as widely accepted as in the UK.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Lance Berryman

    Wild Namibia

    Dear Exodus: I have had the most wonderful expedition. I’d like to say a few words about the people that made it happen. Firstly I want to thank the support crew. Simson, Umbarra, Fritz, Matthias and Asa. These gentlemen turned camping into an art form. I’ve stayed at the best hotels and resorts around the world; this crew is second to none. Their attention to detail and service oriented guest first attitude is superb. They brought such an infectious positivity to the camp that it was impossible not to enjoy yourself. Did I mention the food? Asa catered to our every want and surpassed expectations every single night. This man is a genius on a camp fire. Absolutely remarkable. Hands down the best crew an expedition could want. I could go on and on about these guys. I don’t know how much you pay them but they are worth their weight in gold. Thank you to the crew, their efforts ensured this trip was a raucous success. Next I’d like to thank Tracks and Trails. I wouldn’t dare go into the wildly remote areas we ventured into without a solid plan B. Tracks and Trails seemed to have not only a plan B but a plan C and D for every possible scenario. The vehicles were the best and when the inevitable setbacks that will happen in this rugged environment occurred, they had our back every time. I was very impressed with how quickly they reacted and problem solved. I felt confident knowing I had a team working in the background that could solve any issue at the snap of a finger regardless of the distance, environment and terrain. I felt like nothing could stop us. Very well done Tracks and Trails. PJ. What can I say? The man is as legendary as Tarzan. His positive attitude combined with his no nonsense polite but stern business approach had all of us paying attention to the details that kept us safe. He was the pack leader. I have a great deal of respect for this man. PJ’s tracking skills were a marvel to behold; When he was tracking the desert lions I felt as if I was in a movie. He found us every animal we dreamed of seeing, then got us a better angle. Pj’s knowledge base is ridiculously extensive, I’d gamble he knows more about Africa than the Encyclopedia Británica; history, botany, geology, astronomy, flora and fauna, tribal ancestry.. the only thing he didn’t talk about was religion and politics. The only question he couldn’t answer was, “PJ, is their anything you don’t know?”. PJ catered to the group and the individual, birds for the birders, terra formations and geological history for the rock hounds, biology for the plant lovers, history for the scholars and everything you could want to know about mammals, reptiles, birds and insects. He even ran around overturning rocks to find us a scorpion when an interest was expressed. PJ is a gem, his leadership and people skills are enviable. When I come back to Africa I will find out what tour he is guiding and do that. I cannot say enough about his skills. Lastly, I’d like to thank Exodus. You’ve done an amazing job of pairing us with the very best local guides, support staff and logistics professionals. I’ve never travelled with Exodus before, I’ll never tour with anyone but Exodus from now on. Very well done. Superb. Thank you once again to everyone involved, I’m looking forward to my next adventure. Sincerely, Lance Berryman.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Black Rhinos.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The best... see my other comments

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dear Exodus: I have had the most wonderful expedition. I’d like to say a few words about the people that made it happen. Firstly I want to thank the support crew. Simson, Umbarra, Fritz, Matthias and Asa. These gentlemen turned camping into an art form. I’ve stayed at the best hotels and resorts around the world; this crew is second to none. Their attention to detail and service oriented guest first attitude is superb. They brought such an infectious positivity to the camp that it was impossible not to enjoy yourself. Did I mention the food? Asa catered to our every want and surpassed expectations every single night. This man is a genius on a camp fire. Absolutely remarkable. Hands down the best crew an expedition could want. I could go on and on about these guys. I don’t know how much you pay them but they are worth their weight in gold. Thank you to the crew, their efforts ensured this trip was a raucous success. Next I’d like to thank Tracks and Trails. I wouldn’t dare go into the wildly remote areas we ventured into without a solid plan B. Tracks and Trails seemed to have not only a plan B but a plan C and D for every possible scenario. The vehicles were the best and when the inevitable setbacks that will happen in this rugged environment occurred, they had our back every time. I was very impressed with how quickly they reacted and problem solved. I felt confident knowing I had a team working in the background that could solve any issue at the snap of a finger regardless of the distance, environment and terrain. I felt like nothing could stop us. Very well done Tracks and Trails. PJ. What can I say? The man is as legendary as Tarzan. His positive attitude combined with his no nonsense polite but stern business approach had all of us paying attention to the details that kept us safe. He was the pack leader. I have a great deal of respect for this man. PJ’s tracking skills were a marvel to behold; When he was tracking the desert lions I felt as if I was in a movie. He found us every animal we dreamed of seeing, then got us a better angle. Pj’s knowledge base is ridiculously extensive, I’d gamble he knows more about Africa than the Encyclopedia Británica; history, botany, geology, astronomy, flora and fauna, tribal ancestry.. the only thing he didn’t talk about was religion and politics. The only question he couldn’t answer was, “PJ, is their anything you don’t know?”. PJ catered to the group and the individual, birds for the birders, terra formations and geological history for the rock hounds, biology for the plant lovers, history for the scholars and everything you could want to know about mammals, reptiles, birds and insects. He even ran around overturning rocks to find us a scorpion when an interest was expressed. PJ is a gem, his leadership and people skills are enviable. When I come back to Africa I will find out what tour he is guiding and do that. I cannot say enough about his skills. Lastly, I’d like to thank Exodus. You’ve done an amazing job of pairing us with the very best local guides, support staff and logistics professionals. I’ve never travelled with Exodus before, I’ll never tour with anyone but Exodus from now on. Very well done. Superb. Thank you once again to everyone involved, I’m looking forward to my next adventure. Sincerely, Lance Berryman.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Lance Berryman

    Wild Namibia

    Dear Exodus: I have had the most wonderful expedition. I’d like to say a few words about the people that made it happen. Firstly I want to thank the support crew. Simson, Umbarra, Fritz, Matthias and Asa. These gentlemen turned camping into an art form. I’ve stayed at the best hotels and resorts around the world; this crew is second to none. Their attention to detail and service oriented guest first attitude is superb. They brought such an infectious positivity to the camp that it was impossible not to enjoy yourself. Did I mention the food? Asa catered to our every want and surpassed expectations every single night. This man is a genius on a camp fire. Absolutely remarkable. Hands down the best crew an expedition could want. I could go on and on about these guys. I don’t know how much you pay them but they are worth their weight in gold. Thank you to the crew, their efforts ensured this trip was a raucous success. Next I’d like to thank Tracks and Trails. I wouldn’t dare go into the wildly remote areas we ventured into without a solid plan B. Tracks and Trails seemed to have not only a plan B but a plan C and D for every possible scenario. The vehicles were the best and when the inevitable setbacks that will happen in this rugged environment occurred, they had our back every time. I was very impressed with how quickly they reacted and problem solved. I felt confident knowing I had a team working in the background that could solve any issue at the snap of a finger regardless of the distance, environment and terrain. I felt like nothing could stop us. Very well done Tracks and Trails. PJ. What can I say? The man is as legendary as Tarzan. His positive attitude combined with his no nonsense polite but stern business approach had all of us paying attention to the details that kept us safe. He was the pack leader. I have a great deal of respect for this man. PJ’s tracking skills were a marvel to behold; When he was tracking the desert lions I felt as if I was in a movie. He found us every animal we dreamed of seeing, then got us a better angle. Pj’s knowledge base is ridiculously extensive, I’d gamble he knows more about Africa than the Encyclopedia Británica; history, botany, geology, astronomy, flora and fauna, tribal ancestry.. the only thing he didn’t talk about was religion and politics. The only question he couldn’t answer was, “PJ, is their anything you don’t know?”. PJ catered to the group and the individual, birds for the birders, terra formations and geological history for the rock hounds, biology for the plant lovers, history for the scholars and everything you could want to know about mammals, reptiles, birds and insects. He even ran around overturning rocks to find us a scorpion when an interest was expressed. PJ is a gem, his leadership and people skills are enviable. When I come back to Africa I will find out what tour he is guiding and do that. I cannot say enough about his skills. Lastly, I’d like to thank Exodus. You’ve done an amazing job of pairing us with the very best local guides, support staff and logistics professionals. I’ve never travelled with Exodus before, I’ll never tour with anyone but Exodus from now on. Very well done. Superb. Thank you once again to everyone involved, I’m looking forward to my next adventure. Sincerely, Lance Berryman.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The black Rhinos were amazing. I’ve been inspired by these animals as I plan to give back to the organizations that protect them for the rest of my life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Please see my other comments

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Dear Exodus: I have had the most wonderful expedition. I’d like to say a few words about the people that made it happen. Firstly I want to thank the support crew. Simson, Umbarra, Fritz, Matthias and Asa. These gentlemen turned camping into an art form. I’ve stayed at the best hotels and resorts around the world; this crew is second to none. Their attention to detail and service oriented guest first attitude is superb. They brought such an infectious positivity to the camp that it was impossible not to enjoy yourself. Did I mention the food? Asa catered to our every want and surpassed expectations every single night. This man is a genius on a camp fire. Absolutely remarkable. Hands down the best crew an expedition could want. I could go on and on about these guys. I don’t know how much you pay them but they are worth their weight in gold. Thank you to the crew, their efforts ensured this trip was a raucous success. Next I’d like to thank Tracks and Trails. I wouldn’t dare go into the wildly remote areas we ventured into without a solid plan B. Tracks and Trails seemed to have not only a plan B but a plan C and D for every possible scenario. The vehicles were the best and when the inevitable setbacks that will happen in this rugged environment occurred, they had our back every time. I was very impressed with how quickly they reacted and problem solved. I felt confident knowing I had a team working in the background that could solve any issue at the snap of a finger regardless of the distance, environment and terrain. I felt like nothing could stop us. Very well done Tracks and Trails. PJ. What can I say? The man is as legendary as Tarzan. His positive attitude combined with his no nonsense polite but stern business approach had all of us paying attention to the details that kept us safe. He was the pack leader. I have a great deal of respect for this man. PJ’s tracking skills were a marvel to behold; When he was tracking the desert lions I felt as if I was in a movie. He found us every animal we dreamed of seeing, then got us a better angle. Pj’s knowledge base is ridiculously extensive, I’d gamble he knows more about Africa than the Encyclopedia Británica; history, botany, geology, astronomy, flora and fauna, tribal ancestry.. the only thing he didn’t talk about was religion and politics. The only question he couldn’t answer was, “PJ, is their anything you don’t know?”. PJ catered to the group and the individual, birds for the birders, terra formations and geological history for the rock hounds, biology for the plant lovers, history for the scholars and everything you could want to know about mammals, reptiles, birds and insects. He even ran around overturning rocks to find us a scorpion when an interest was expressed. PJ is a gem, his leadership and people skills are enviable. When I come back to Africa I will find out what tour he is guiding and do that. I cannot say enough about his skills. Lastly, I’d like to thank Exodus. You’ve done an amazing job of pairing us with the very best local guides, support staff and logistics professionals. I’ve never travelled with Exodus before, I’ll never tour with anyone but Exodus from now on. Very well done. Superb. Thank you once again to everyone involved, I’m looking forward to my next adventure. Sincerely, Lance Berryman.
  • Reviewed November 2019

    EBC is a sensational but tough trek

    In common with other reviewers' comments, it should be noted that the landscape between Lukla and Dingboche is like an alpine paradise, unexpectedly beautiful valleys and rivers, criss-crossed with suspension bridges and dotted with Buddha stupas. While mostly undulating, the trail is especially difficult on days where the ascent can be two hours straight up. But the leaders are cogniscent of this and allow many water stops in between scheduled breaks. Our leader, Bikash Tamang (TNT191102), was an especially experienced and supportive leader and provided confidence to those who needed it as well as providing cultural and geographical narrative from start to finish. The only reason I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 is because of the sanitary condition of many of the lodges high up in the Khumbu region and the abysmally cold bedrooms which are not insulated or well built. Do not underestimate how cold it gets at night.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A visit to a hospital in Phakding

    What did you think of your group leader?

    See comments above; Bikash Tamang (TNT191102), was an especially experienced and supportive leader and provided confidence to those who needed it as well as providing cultural and geographical narrative from start to finish.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider grouping together and buying a helicopter flight from Ramechaap to Kathmandu on the return leg, to avoid a 6 hour horror bus journey and instead enjoy an incredible 25 minute flight over the hilltops. Amazing. Do not pay more than USD 1600 (5 people)
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Phill English

    Excellent

    A great trip with amazing landscapes and a great guide.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tsitsikama national park and

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was brilliant
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Irene Neilson

    Wonderful blend of culture and trekking

    A very enjoyable trip with stunning mountain scenery on both the warm-up trek to Surya Top/Uchlaru Top and the main trek to Tapovan/Meru Base Camp. This wonderful scenery was nicely complemented by interesting cultural experiences at Rishikesh (The Evening Aarti), Gangotri (seat of the goddess Ganga), Gomukh (pout of the Ganges), Uttarkashi (Kashi Vishwanath Temple dedicated to Shiva) and Mussorie (walk to the ruin of George Everest's house). These cultural experiences were enhanced by the fact we were travelling during Diwali and the moving of the Goddess Ganga from Gangatri to Mukhba village, near Harsil. Harsil itself was fascinating for its traditional Garhwali wooden houses and the Bhotia people who were originally from Tibet. The trip involves long drives on slow vertiginous roads but the drivers were generally good, the buses comfortable and the views en route spectacular. Breaks were nicely timed at local dhabas - great fresh food and masala tea! The weather was kind to us with beautiful warm sunny days with clear blue skies though the nights were perishingly cold!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The spectacular mountain scenery at Tapovan - it is one of the most beautiful campsites as you have Shivling peak rising on one side of the meadow flanked by Meru and Kedardome and the peaks of Bhagirathi are on the other side. The latter are reflected in the small stream as the sun goes down. The autumnal colours of the trees in the valley as you walk up to/down from Tapovan. These were truly stunning, cast against a vivid blue sky.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Valerie was excellent : good company, knowledgeable and unflappable. All the staff on the trip were helpful. Jigmet in particular was very personable, engaging and interesting with very good English.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It was desperately cold in the evenings on the trek and very warm during the day. Our tent formed ice on the inside due to condensation from our breath at night. You need good insulation under your sleeping bag so a thick, well insulated four season sleeping mat is a must. Mine was too thin (r3). Others who had thicker mats -in particular those with the Exped Down 9 (r8) sleeping mats - were fine. Mat to sit on at breaks as the ground was often wet. Beatles Ashram at Rishikesh is fun to visit. Some people listened to audio books on the long road journeys. There is no wifi till you are in Mussoorie. There is a weak phone signal in Gangotri.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth Reading: The Raja of Harsil: The Legend of Frederick 'Pahari' Wilson by Robert Hutchison. Frederick Wilson settled in the Harsil area and became very rich through timber operations on the local deodar forests. He minted his own currency. This fictional account of his life, based on extensive research by Hutchison, is interesting for the light it shines on the area in the mid 19th century. Worth visiting: The Tapovanam Hiranyagarbh Art Gallery in Gangotri built by Swami Sundaranand and displaying his photographs of the culture and traditions of Gangotri, Upla Taknaur and the Himalayas since 1948. He was one of the first students of the Nehru Mountaineering Institute in Uttarkash, also visited on this trip. The Uphar Cafe on the mall in Mussoorie was really good if you like spicy Indian food and don't mind a busy bustling cafe. Not suitable to go as a group though.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    William Denning

    Wadi Rum & Petra

    Booked this trek at the last minute and was not disappointed, the time of the year meant that the weather was ideal and made the days trekking that much more enjoyable. The first day was the minibus drive from Amman down into he Wadi Rum area which ended with a short trek to the night camp in the Bedouin village tents. The evening meal was a traditionally cooked meal that that had been covered and buried in the hot sand on top of hot charcoal. a good nights sleep ensure we were ready for a good full day trek on the next day. The remaining days covered a lot of ground and sand and the group was a good mixture of different nationalities (2 Irish, 3 Scottish, 2 Netherlanders, 1 French, 5 English ) we all soon gelled soon enjoyed each others company this made good getting the background about what and where we had been and done. Whilst the trekking was not overly difficult, a fair level of fitness is required not only for the distance to be covered, but to take into account the hot weather and the trekking up to 8 hours on the longest day mainly over sand.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Each day brought something special and inspirational from the trek across the desert and traverse of Sig el Barrah canyon, climbing up to the Burdah Arch which is quite spectacular but does require a head for heights. Ascending up some of the great red sand dunes for which Wadi Rum is quite famous for. The day spent seeing the amazing area and buildings of Petra and Little Petra. Being able to sleep under the open sky and to see the night sky as it should be seen and not spoiled by the the light pollution we suffer from in the built up areas of the UK

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Abdullah (wanted to be known as Ab) was truly amazing and so knowledgeable certainly made the trekking a true history lesson. His passion, history and his manner in which he put it across ensured he had all of our attention when he spoke. He has a great sense of humour which was greatly appreciated by all and brought many a laugh. He had a great re- pore with everyone in the group and he ensured all understood what the days trek included and assisted those to achieve the most of the days events. The rest of the local team obviously also enjoyed working with Ab the camping and meals where always a pleasure

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although not the hottest time of the year in Jordan the importance of keeping hydrated cannot be understated and a minimum 2 water bottles should be carried there is always ample opportunity to topping up your bottles with clean drinkable water. A day sack is all you will be required to carry each day for what you choose to carry. You will meet up with you main baggage at the end of each day. Also a good 4 season sleeping bag as it does get cold!! in the desert in the evening/night

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found it a great trek and enjoyed each day, my only regret was not to extend the trip by a couple of days to be able to take in a trip to the 'Dead Sea' which a few of our group had planned.