Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17910 Reviews

  • Reviewed July 2021

    Wonderous Cornwall

    I'd forgotten just how beautiful Cornwall is. Turqouise seas, dramatic cliffs and wonderful beaches. The prefect tonic for a tough year for us all. The usual mix of interesting and friendly fellow walkers. A wonderous week, well orchestrated by two great guides. They even secured a week of sunshine. You couldn't ask for more. Thoroughly recommended to anyone who wants to rediscover the charms and beauty of the Cornish coast in the company of a great bunch of like-minded individuals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking along the coast line on days one and two..

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had 2 and they were both excellent.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Rediscover Cornwall on an Exodus tour as quick as you can !

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the walks worked well from a practical perspective with 2 guides so they could manage the fit fast walkers up front and the slower walkers savouring the views from a little way back..so everybody got out of it what they were looking for. Might have been more diffcult to achieve this with one guide. Heligan is a beautiful place but popular and maybe this part could start earlier in the day and would benefit for most of group if there was a guide to get the most out of the sprawling gardens. Small gripe otherwise four glorious coast walks and some wonderful memories. Made me want to book up the Gower walks next!
  • Reviewed July 2021

    A great week walking in stunning Cornwall

    Based in two centres, starting in Padstow then spending the second half of the week in Charlestown on the South coast. Our tour leader, Will, and his colleague Gaby, were prepared to go to any lengths to make sure we were fully supported. The walking required a decent level of fitness, the rating of 3 (moderate) is an accurate assessment, and my phone recorded 51 miles during the five days of walks (and 137,700 steps!). The hotels were both good, although don't expect a sea view, and Will was always able to find us somewhere to eat despite COVID meaning there were a lot more tourists there than usual, and staffing was challenging for many of the restaurants. The scenery is really lovely, both on the coast and inland, and lots of photos were taken and shared.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The first two days were along the most beautiful coastline with secret beaches and spectacular rock formations. I also loved visiting the Lost Gardens of Heligan, something I've wanted to do for a long time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He worked extremely hard, could take a joke even at the end of a long day, and kept us all informed and safe. Can't fault him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit. If you can't manage 10 miles a day, with at least 25% being uphill, you are on the wrong trip and will always be a long way behind the rest of the group. Come properly equipped with waterproof trousers, well walked in boots/shoes, a good rucksack, etc. Don't expect a sea view from your room. My first room I looked out to an a/c unit, and the second room I was below ground level so could only see the tyres of parked cars.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked an opportunity to take a swim/paddle at the end of one of the walks but it didn't work out that way.
  • Reviewed June 2021

    A spectacularly beautiful part of the country for a short break.

    We had such a good 4 days of walking, lucky enough to be blessed with a friendly, chatty group and perfect walking weather, dry, mostly sunshine but not too hot. The route has a surprising amount of variety, shaded woodland, marshes, glorious golden sandy beaches, cliffs, coves, rocky shores and seaside resorts. The itinerary was relaxed enough to enable several members of the group to have a brief swim each day. The unexpected opportunity to visit Gower Gin, a micro distillery, was thoroughly enjoyed by us all! Be aware that, unlike many Exodus trips, this is not an all-inclusive holiday. This did result in a few problems organising food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Regularly being rewarded with such spectacular views after fairly modest climbs.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Cari was enthusiastic, endlessly cheerful and worked so hard to make sure we all had a good holiday. It was such an advantage to have an experienced (Welsh-speaking) local outdoor activity guide, with all her local knowledge. As this was a new Exodus trip, with all the extra complications that resulted from COVID19 (erratic opening times and added time for service in cafes etc etc), she and the two members of Exodus staff who joined us for a couple of days, Claire and Sarah, did a brilliant job trouble shooting. All three were a delight to holiday with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go! The Gower coast is beautiful and worth discovering. The walking is mostly gentle but with a few steep climbs and descents.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In these troubled times, we felt perfectly confident in the COVID19 precautions. We breakfasted in our rooms, wore masks on the minibus, had to provide evidence of vaccinations or tests and had limited numbers at tables when indoors.
  • Reviewed November 2020

    Last Minute End of Summer Walking Holiday!!!!

    Another great trip organised by Exodus staff. Whilst this was a last minute trip (transferred to this from medieval Spain due to Covid), it didn't disappoint. Great scenery, great companions, great leader. What was supposed to be an end of summer walking holiday, turned out to be a winter walking holiday, due to exceptional early winter conditions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views, the snow glistening, snow-shoeing, the company. A great break in what has been a year I guess everyone would wish to bypass.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alina was great. Her communication skills were exceptional, she was fun to be with, especially when playing Dixit! and she reorganised the walks taking into account the weather conditions in order to ensure we all got the best out of our trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take poles, be prepared for some long steep climbs, enjoy the scenery, the company and the food.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to thank the other members of our group, the hotel staff and Alina for making this a really enjoyable holiday and one I will not forget.
  • Reviewed October 2020

    Space to breath

    A warm welcome in an unspoilt landscape. Great walking through a rugged landscape with the benefit of joyfully expert guiding.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    In a quiet corner of Meteora, far from the madding crowds, absorbing the sheer beauty of a monastery perched halfway up the opposite cliff. And there were many more such moments, including discovering just how good Greek yoghurt with honey can be!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Danae is fantastic. Her enthusiasm for life and the great outdoors, spills out at every opportunity. And she made sure that we got the very best from our trip.
  • Reviewed October 2020

    Escape From 2020

    An amazing trip and break in a truly stunning and lesser known part of the world (that only adds to the charm). The number of highlights are numerous. The ever impressive view points of Vikos Gorge (they get better and better), the charming villages and friendly welcoming locals, to the gravity defining monasteries. Topped off by the walk to, and the nap in the sun by the dragon lake surrounded by the Pindus mountains. Not forgetting the food :) An all round excellent trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As mentioned above there are many. The different view points of the gorge, the monasteries perched on the cliff tops to the dragon lake and the mountain hut. Not forgetting traditional Greek dancing in the mountain hut with a number of different nationalities!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Changed a couple of days walking around due to weather conditions with the minimum of fuss and ensured everything ran smoothly, including all things Covid related. Danae's enthusiasm for Greece and the Zagori region shone through and she was good fun and company to be around, as also mentioned by Keisuke below.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are contemplating this trip and thinking its not well known, it cant be that good think again. It a real Greek treasure, hidden in plain sight! (Possibly to ensure the landscape is not spoilt, and to ensure the villages keep their amazing charm.) Absolutely do it - you will not be disappointed!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The half day in Thessaloniki was a nice way to ease into the holiday, a pleasant very youthful laid back City.
  • Reviewed October 2020

    Fabulous trip

    Amazing holiday. Great cycling, cuisine, culture and company. Emanuele and Christina were great guides - nothing was too much trouble. Would strongly recommend this holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it! Great combination of cycling with sufficient down time to enjoy the culture, cuisine and geology.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Emanuele and Christina were great leaders. Very unassuming, and very skilled at keeping a mixed ability group together...

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Book up! It is a great holiday, with a very good itinerary, and a very sensible pace, visiting some very attractive towns and villages.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed October 2020

    Walking the Amalfi Coast in the days of Covid

    This Exodus holiday is one of the most popular and I have wanted to "do it" for years. It combines guided walking, swimming in the sea and pool, a week's stay in a small and friendly hotel Due Torri above Amalfi, history and sightseeing, and great hospitality, food and wine. This September 2020, we seized the moment ("CARPE DIEM") and my husband, his brother, and I booked the September 5 week. We realised we were taking a risk, but now we are so relieved we did, as it prepared us to cope with the uncertainties of living with Covid this UK winter. A perfect sunny week without crowds, a wonderful guide (Severio) and such a great, sociable group of 12. We were welcomed at the hotel and in the town of Bomerano - this was the first time they had all opened since March and our guide had been working at the Hotel. As soon as UK relaxes its quarantine rules, be sure to take this trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me, the warmth and hospitality of the Italians. And definitely Cocktail Hour at the Hotel Due Torri Bar - in particular those gins and tonics before dinner. For my husband completing the Path of the Gods. He is not the walker he used to be before an accident 40+ years ago, but he is proud he made it. And we are grateful to Severio and the group for tolerating his lack of speed! I should mention that this walk was definitely less exposed than Trip Notes had led some of the ladies in our group to expect.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was just great with excellent organisational skills. He was sociable, knowledgable and forebearing with all the group. And best he was Italian with a good understanding of English. We were very lucky. And he even helped me to buy at the local supermarket a kilo of Parmigiano and a pot of Sicilian olives to take back to UK.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The walks involve a lot (thousands) of stone and concrete steps - both up and downhill. So bear that in mind if your knees are bad. Bomerano, where the hotel is, is 650 metres above sea level. However there is always the opportunity to complete the walks by public transport and meet up at the bottom. Trip Notes do prepare you, so read them. I regretted missing a guided visit to Herculaneum on our free day, and chose Capri instead, enjoying a dish of spaghetti Vongole at an excellent restaurant recommended by our guide. Next time. We had great guides for Pompeii and Versuvius, part of the holiday.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of my favourite Exodus holidays and I was not disappointed.
  • Reviewed October 2020

    Truly enjoyable

    It was one of the best hikes I have ever had in my entire life. I did not know that such wonderful mountains with dynamic views existed in Greece. VIllages in Zagori with stone houses, unchanged for centuries, are truly beautiful. All hotels we stayed, except for one night at a mountain refuge, were family owned. They are converted traditional stone houses and wonderful. Local Greek food were delicious.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Natural landscapes. Astonishing views of mountains and gorges. Hikes were varied from one day to another, from relatively easy hikes to little bit challenging one to get to the mountain refuge. Aperitifs after a walk at stone-house hotels and cafes at a village plaza were wonderful.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic. She, young,dynamic and charming, was the best group leader of Exodus hikes so far as far as I am concerned. Despite difficult conditions with COVID, she managed to make our trip truly enjoyable. With uncertain weather conditions, she flexibly adjusted schedule and itineraries so that we could enjoy every day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This hike in unknown parts of Greece should not be missed. I went there in September. I will come again in spring time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hikes in Meteora with visits to monasteries were also very interesting. Thessaloniki, the second largest city in Greece, is a very lively town.
  • Reviewed October 2020

    Fabulous trip

    Just returned from this trip. While destinations are limited at this time, this is no second-rate option. The family-run hotel is lovely with plentiful food and good rooms. The mountains are spectacular and the walks varied in nature.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me there isn't a single answer to this. We had 2 days walking on snow, other days with clear blue skies and pristine meadows, harder days and easier days. The stars of the show are the mountains, and our walks gave us a variety of spectacular views of them and from them.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alina is lovely. Although relatively new to the region she has clearly worked hard to familiarise herself with the walks and the surroundings. She was fun to be with as well as someone who inspired confidence.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Other people have written similar, but I would stress that if you are not normally a pole-user (as I am not) borrow some anyway. In the snow they were invaluable. It's probably fair to grade this as a Moderate, although the snow made it trickier in places and thus a little harder.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our was a social group of mixed ages. Several people had booked this holiday as their other trips were cancelled, but I don't think anyone felt disappointed in any way. Highly recommended!