Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

22 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2020

    2 weeks in the desert and Etosha

    A 2 week tour to a beautiful country. Everywhere we went we saw spectacular scenery, met interesting and friendly people and stayed in lovely lodges. I won't forget the elephants, pronking springbok, dancing ostriches and roaring lion.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The main reason I went to Namibia was to see the Namib desert and the petrified trees in Dead Vlei and it did not disappoint. We had plenty of time to see and experience the desert environment. I did a 2 hour flight over the area we had driven through the previous day and it brought home to me how huge and empty this desert is. Seeing an elephant at the water hole in Etosha is a close second, followed by the roaring lion.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was an excellent group leader. He has a good knowledge of the country, it's natural environment and he animals we saw in Etosha. His communication and organisational skills were very good and he made the whole trip run smoothly. He was also a good driver, making me feel save in the vehicle.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long driving days, but the scenery is beautiful and there are frequent breaks.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would recommend this trip to anyone who is interested in different environments and nature. The game drives in Etosha were very good. We were lucky enough to have good sightings of animals and could spend time observing their behaviour.
  • Reviewed December 2019
    Therese Killen

    Beautiful Namibia

    Just back from a wonderful trip to Namibia. There was 10 people on the group. We travelled on a truck through this amazing country. Our guides Ronnie and Chef Rueben where amazing. They were so professional and efficient,they actually made the holiday. Long drive days but these were made easier by Ronnie the driver's flexibility. Loo stops and photo stops where never a problem. Fantastic hosts and Reuben is an amazing chef. Thank you....i put on 3 3lbs last 2 weeks haha.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Etosha national park was amazing. I didn't expect to see much widllife in etosha NP compared to other African countries but our joyrney from one end of etosha on a 5 hour drive was just incredible. We saw incredible wildlife .

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronnie was amazing. I have already recommended him to some friends. He's friendly, efficient and nothing was too much trouble. There was a lady on our trip with limited mobility and both Ronnie and Reuben went out of their way to make her comfortable throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long drive days and early rises. Dont pack too much like i did. You are literally living out of a suitcase for the whole trip. Less is more...and defintely easier to carry.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The food is incredible. I ate some of the best Oryx and Kadu steak ever !!! Yummy!!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Emma du Haney

    Namibia trip

    Stunning country Trip was very sedentary. More hiking options would have been welcome

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sand dunes and wildlife at the watering holes in Etosha

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Shane was fairly good, but I think Exodus should make more use of local specialists, rather than have the tour leader act as guide the whole time. He needs to give more details to the group about timings, any kit needed for the day, etc

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take audio books for the long bus journeys

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The back up guide who did the cooking was very good. His food was much better than that in some places we stopped at in the day. We were served Oryx as main course 3 nights in a row. Better planning needed with the various lodges
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Michelle Claxton

    So many 'wow' moments

    I returned from this trip having experienced many moments which will last a lifetime, from seeing numerous animals in the wild or at watering holes to seeing the vastness of the Namib desert and the changing colour of the sand dunes. It really is a trip that is a photographers dream as you want to capture each and every moment. We were a group of 12 with ages ranging from early 20s to 70s and we all got on very well. Yes there were lots of long drives but these were broken up well. Accommodation was good and food often excellent. It certainly is a trip of a lifetime.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a large number of elephants at the watering hole at our lodge in Etosha. Having just finished dinner and thinking 'we'll just see if there are any animals at the watering hole' only to find around 25 elephants of various sizes and ages all drinking water alongside some zebra, springbok and oryx was truly magical. Also, seeing a pride of 12 lions on a game drive. Although not too close to our truck, it was still fascinating to watch them interact with each other.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was an absolute superstar! Nothing, literally nothing, was too much trouble. He had a fantastic sense of humour and laugh, and went out of his was to ensure each and every person on the trip enjoyed themselves. I never saw Ronney without anything but a smile on his face; he really is a man who loves his job. With a group of 12 with a range of dietary requirements, Ronney made sure that everyone was catered for and happy. Ruben, his assistant was also fantastic, creating amazing and huge lunch selections at the side of the road or BBQs of an evening. They are a great team and anyone getting the Ronney and Ruben combo on a trip will have struck it lucky!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    During the end of July and beginning of August the evenings and mornings get quite chilly - I underestimated how cold it could get - so bring lots of layers to cope with this. Swimming pools are not heated so unless very brave do not count on swimming. Money- Bring SA Rand as this is pegged 1:1 with Namibian Dollars and is easier to change back to Pounds Sterling if needed. Be aware of the cost of the flight over the dunes - many companies quote for this trip but often they outsource your business to another company and then the price goes up. Ensure you decide on optional excursions early so that you get to go on the ones you want. On this note - the quadbiking was excellent! The drives are long and sometimes on unmade roads. The truck does get very bouncy! Similarly on the game drive in the Waterberg Plateau. Female travellers may wish to pack a sports bra for comfort! It also gets quite dusty - a Buff or similar is useful to help keep the dust out of your lungs. When purchasing things from markets etc, listen to the starting price and then begin your offer very low, they trader will eventually meet you at a price that they judge fair, often 25% or the starting price. Don't be afraid to haggle hard.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    David Preston

    Namibia without camping

    Brilliant scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting a bit too close to an elephant !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both the leader and his assistant were very good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Pack in anticipation of your luggage being delayed. Ours was. 2. If it is delayed, retrieve the delivery note. 3. Read The Sheltering Desert by Henno Martin.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Claire Wallace

    Magical Memories from Namibia.

    This holiday was a great adventure in a magnificent country that I fell in love with. We went during Namibia's Winter and as a result there was an abundance of wild animals throughout our trip. Lodges were more than adequate, WIFI was more widely available than I had predicted ( only needed to send gloating photos back home!), Most major places such as supermarkets, lodges and activities took either cash or credit/debit card and food although very meat centric was still complemented by lots of vegetables so didn’t come back too much heavier than we went!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On our free day in Swakopmund some of us decided to do the Dolphin Cruise with Ocean Cruises. We were picked up and dropped back at the hotel. We had a small group of about 16 on our boat, Ocean Lady, skippered by a very knowledgeable, funny guy who shared a lot of information about the animals we saw en route. Dolphins, Cape Fur seals, Pelicans, the latter two joining us on board! Before we returned to shore we had some snacks including oysters washed down with some fizz. Can’t say I was a convert to future Oyster eating but others in the group certainly were. Etosha National Park was magical. We were extremely lucky to see the variety and amount of animals we did. It is fascinating watching giraffe at a watering hole, followed by 14 Eland and a vulture landing in the back ground. Suddenly out the corner of our eyes 20 Elephants come in from the left to drink, including very young ones. On another occasion on our way back to the lodge we come across a family of Lions, about 11, all playing in the fading sun. The younger ones play fighting with each other and Mum looking on. These memories will stay with us forever, the photos just reminding us of the amazing time we had on this holiday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arriving in Windhoek 19 hours after leaving London Heathrow on the group flight with Qatar Airways, we were tired but quietly excited about the adventure we had install over the subsequent 2 weeks. Shane our tour leader welcomed us all and introduced us to Jonas who was to be the cook for our trip. They were a great team, making sure we all had a great holiday. Jonas’s cooking was of a high standard especially the butternut squash soup! Shane had the most contagious laugh and showed us round their beautiful country over 2 weeks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We took South African Rand in both cash and on a Post Office Travel Money card. The Travel Money Card worked everywhere we needed it to, Supermarket, lodges, cash points without any issues. If you go during their Winter, make sure you take jumpers as the early mornings can be very cold. We used the blankets some nights as it really was cold. During the day however it is extremely hot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All the lodges we stayed in were clean, had comfy beds, hot water and most had amazing views. Towels, soap, toiletries were provided. Weltevrede Guest Farm is a little part of paradise. With an honesty bar, lovely food, WIFI in case you want to send gloating photos back home! And clear skies for amazing star gazing, it was a lovely place to stay. Other lodges worth a mention from our trip are Ugab Terrace lodge with breath taking views, friendly staff, swimming pool and bar. All rooms had views of either the sun rise or sun set depending on which side of the hill you are on plus the rooms are larger than most we had during our trip. Due to its location there is no WIFI at this lodge which would not normally be a problem but with it being the weekend of sport back home Shane kindly used his phone to share the Wimbledon Men’s final, Cricket world cup final and Formula One results over dinner. Both lodges within Etosha we stayed in were great although for different reasons. The watering hole at Okaukuejo is the highlight of the stay there. We saw an abundance of animals with the view changing all the time. The only downside to Okaukuejo was the buffet on the first night. Over priced for the standard of food but as guests are captive audiences we had no choice. Jonas’s meal on the second night far exceeded the night before. We suggested he gave the chefs some advice! Our third night in Etosha was at Namutoni which, while the watering hole was not a patch on Okaukuejo the food and rooms were a much better standard. WIFI in both lodges within Etosha require you to buy vouchers for access which we didn’t do. The 4 walks we did on this holiday were not strenuous. The sand dune took 25 minutes to walk up. Walking on sand isn’t easy but the way down was great fun and the views from the top made it worthwhile. The group decided to catch the optional extra transfer to Deadvlei. Again you walk over sand and it is hot but we completed the walk before the sun was at its hottest. The walk to the White lady paintings is only 5km (2.5km each way) and it is predominantly flat. We did it early in the morning so it was cool enough. We were advised to take at least 1 litre of water each with us. On the return from the paintings we saw a whole troop of Baboons. Not sure they liked us but it was great to see them interact with each other. Our local guide on this walk also tried to find us a Black Spitting Cobra; we said he didn’t have to try too hard! The Waterberg Plateau walk was done after arrival late afternoon as the side of the plateau we were due to walk up was in shade. While it is steep and over rocks you get a great view of the Kalahari from the top. I was more worried about the descent but we managed it without any injuries.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    barry tylee

    namibia lodge safari

    this was about my 10th. adventure holiday with Exodus and just as rewarding as the past ones. You will cover a lot of miles, travelling on most of the time bumpy un-maid up and dusty roads. During that time you will see and visit many interesting things. Varying terrain, cultures and a wide variety of the countries wild life. You will hear about the history of the country, from its early inhabitants through its colonial period to its more modern period when independence was granted from South Africa. You will travel aboard a custom vehicle for 16 people and get to know you fellow travellers/adventures. Enjoy some fantastic road side meals. Every day brings something different.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For me as a keen wildlife photographer was the 2 nights spent at Okaukuejo. There is an illuminated water hole very close to the edge of the camp. Of course there is a lot of luck involved with roaming wildlife, but it attracts wildlife from miles around who come to there to take a drink. On the first night a herd of 16 elephants descended, 5 Black Rhino, 2 mothers with calves, of which one was suckling in front of us. In addition was the various "stand offs" between animals juggling for a position. I have to say that for me witnessing this was nothing short of marvellous. You will leave Okaukuejo (Namibia) with memories which will last a life time and never fade.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was, Shane. Shane had an infectious laugh, he was a good leader/driver. Well in control. Information was good. Questions answered and explanations given. Shane was supported by Jonas who prepared and cooked the roadside meals (Lunches). On occasions Jonas prepared meals in the evenings.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for some long bumpy drives. It can be dusty (July). Namibia is a dry country with little rain so things get dry and dusty. Do read and take note of the advice (Trip notes) on keeping warm. Yes, in July (winter time in Namibia) early mornings and early evening it gets cold. I am glad that I took both a fleece and jacket, no to mention a Beanie.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    For those of you who feel inclined to support the schools for children in Africa, you do not need to buy the bits and pieces and hump them with you to Namibia. There are well stocked supermarkets on route where if you wish to you can purchase all that you might need to donate.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Peter Nelson

    Great trip, poor company service

    The trip itself was excellent. Run by a local company (Malabiu) the guide (Shaun) worked extremely hard and his side kick cook (Jona) were both very profesional and knowledgeable. Geology information was a bit sparse, but customs and culture info was very good. The small group gelled together well. Be warned they is a lot of travelling with many miles on Namibia style roads - basically very dusty and stoney dirt tracks. Food and drink is cheap in Namibia and the lodges are comfortable if basic. The main down side was the company (Exodus) which did not respond effectively to queries asked. Also did not pass on important information to the group guide which meant that arrangement were compromised. For 10 of us in the party there were five different group flights - not their finest hour. Overall, I would certainly recommend this trip to others.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing lots of different animals in their natural environment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent knowledge and very professional

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    See above summary

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    See above summary
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Geoff Culver

    A big and beautiful country with lots of wildlife and few people

    Some wonderful but stark scenery and plenty of wildlife. Expect some long drives on bumpy roads though.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Climbing up the sand dune and a busy water hole

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Superb. Very knowledgeable and trip ran like clockwork.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prices for options and tips in the trip notes are out of date, so allow a bit more cash. Pretty much all the restaurants and shops take cards. Note that some EU passport holders will need a visa.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Sheila Morrison

    WONDERFUL NAMIBIA

    What a fantastic trip. Our wonderful guide Ronney and his assistant Jonas who both knew all the best spots to spot wildlife (leopard inside a roadside sign) (Pride of 10 lions at a kill) but could also produce 5 star lunches at the roadside under the shade of a tree, effortlessly change rooms to suit my disabled husband, drive with the utmost skill on bumpy roads and have none of us complain and generally do their job at 110% Highly recommend a trip to this most interesting country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing a pride of 10 lions feeding on a kill (including 2 cubs) who then pottered slowly back to the shade of a tree right in front of our van. Amazing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ronney was just FANTASTIC. Great at wild life spotting, orgainizing, lunches, bird identification, friendly, always around to assist if needed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is hot in February. Internet weather said 28-30c and 14 days of rain expected. One 10 minute shower and temps in mid 30's all the time.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Go and visit this wonderful country for yourself. it is cheap to eat and drigk when you are there. Quality of lodges js fantastic with fridges, air con, pools etc.