Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2019
    Linda Foster

    Fabulous holiday, with so many highlights

    Terrific holiday from start to finish. There was so much variety, from wildlife to beautiful scenery, amazing caves, township visit and great walks. The accommodation was lovely too and much better than I expected. And our guide, Justin, was fantastic - nothing was too much trouble - he was knowledgable, funny and very attentive.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the wildlife in their own environment. It was definitely worth paying for the extra game drive at the private reserve as we got much closer to the animals.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic! Justin could not have done more for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Worth going on the extra safari. I found the visit to the township very emotional and thought provoking. Be prepared for this as you may want some time out to collect your thoughts.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This is the best trip I’ve been on with Exodus.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Vicky Jepson

    Amazing trip

    This is a wonderful trip with a lot of variety packed in; wildlife, options to kayak, zip line and walk, amazing food, marine safari, culture and history. There are options to visit a township and Robben Island, plus the cable car up to to top of Table mountain is brilliant. The accommodation is lovely ( best I’ve had on an Exodus tour ) and there are no early starts or long journeys.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    One of my best moments was the optional private game drive. We saw so many animals and it’s great to see them all roaming free. Also the ascent of Table Mountain was a favourite day of mine. Incredible views.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was Justin and he was brilliant. He was always helpful, happy and enthusiastic and was keen to teach us about his country. Very knowledgable too. He did a lot of behind the scenes stuff to keep the trip running smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Although South Africa is big on eating meat there are veggie options for non meat eaters. If you eat meat then definitely try the springbok loin and kudu steak. Make sure you bring mosquito repellant ( or buy some when you get there; the brand “Peaceful sleep” worked really well and is a lot more pleasant than DEET! ). Temperatures can reach 40 degrees C in the summer, especially inland.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book this trip! You won’t be disappointed.
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Penny Slate

    Superb in every way

    This was one of the best holidays we have had in every way. We stayed in some beautiful guest houses, all a bit different with lovely personal and homely touches. The places we visited were quite diverse and made the trip more interesting. The locals were extremely friendly and made us feel welcome. The food was out of this world. I could not fault this holiday and will have fond memories for years to come.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Lions up close & seeing a Hippo open it's jaws was pretty amazing. Hearing how local people in townships are so positive and hard working was very inspiring too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin Barr is a fantastic group leader. He is very knowledgeable about everything from wild life to geographic matters and also he is witty, friendly, reliable and punctual. We loved the way he timed everything so we avoided large coach parties of people wherever we went. Justin is a real asset to the company.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not hesitate to take this trip.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Randy Smith

    Port Elizabeth to Cape Town

    Great tour. Great tour leader. Lots of good food. Great accommodation. Fabulous photo opportunities.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being among about 200 elephants at a wallow in the Addo Elephant Reserve.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was absolutely great. Very knowledgeable about many facets of South Africa. And an ornithologist! Everything was as expected and more. We never stopped for fuel. It just happened. The bus was always clean and tidy. A top notch guy. Superb driver.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it. Get on with it. Time is wasting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    9
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Louise Piercy

    Fantastic Garden Route Tour

    We have arrived back from this trip. From start to finish this was a wonderful tour. We started with wildlife, an exciting and close-up encounter with over 100 elephants at bath time at a water hole, many zebra, giraffe and antelope variations. The icing on the cake was a close encounter with rhino, and dinner time with the lions. That was just day one. Could it be as good for the rest of the trip? Oh yes. We had wonderful scenery, both land and sea side. We were educated on the history, politics and culture of the RSA by the wonderful Justin Barr, guide extraordinaire. His enthusiasm for his country was infectious and his knowledge very detailed. Highlights of the tour included; Hermanus, and the town of Derust, where we stayed at the beautiful House Martin Guest House, owned by Jan and Theresa, who were excellent hosts. The winelands and tasting at Delheims most enjoyable. Finally, to beautiful Cape Town where we travelled up Table Mountain and had the views of the bay despite early cloud. We had an emotional visit to Robben Island, guided by a former political prisoner, and experienced the horror and hope of a Township. Everything was perfect as far as we were concerned. A highly recommended  tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Elephants at bathtime in the Addo Elephant Park. Rhinos and Lions. The visit to Robben Island and the beauty of the country.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was a well organised, genial and very knowledgeable guide. The tour was smooth because of him. His information on culture, history and politics were really helpful in allowing us to understand this country.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Judy Pogson

    An incredible trip

    I have been on a few trips with Exodus but this was by far the best! It had everything packed into it and we saw some beautiful parts of such a diverse country. The trip was amazing from wildlife including elephants and lions in the wild, whale watching, ostrich farms, beautiful and an abundance of birds and oh what stunning scenery. There was a bit of everything and we did all the main attractions in Cape Town and such and interesting and poignant trip to the Township with someone who lived there. There was time to do some fab hikes to see gushing waterfalls and the vineyard was beautiful with some fantastic wines. Every hotel or guest house we stayed in was perfect for the place we were in and food and restaurants we had/went to were chosen carefully by Justin, our amazing Trip leader and his recommendations for food and wine were spot on so we ate like kings! Justin was the perfect Trip leader and made the trip what it was and I thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The game reserve we went to was fantastic and we saw the big 5 which was delightful. Afterwards we enjoyed the camp fire and delicious food. I also loved the whale watching when we were lucky enough to see a whale and her calf...it was right at the end of the season so such a treat. I also loved going to Hermanus but it's difficult to choose my most inspirational moment as there were several.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin Barr is an excellent group leader. Not only is he fun, passionate about his country, as well as being very knowledgeable about most things in S.Africa and I learnt so much, he is also good at speaking as well as articulate but interesting as well. He is very well organised and so everything ran smoothly and nothing is too much trouble for him. He just gets on with everyone and is very approachable and personable and I have to say, the best group leader I've had so far. I'm pretty sure he makes the trip what is it and chose some excellent hotels and guest houses, restaurants and always gave good advice. 5 stars for Justin.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try to do all the extra trips on offer including any hikes you can. Go to the amazing botanical gardens in Cape Town and if possible stay an extra few days to spend more time in Cape Town. Do the hikes and watch out for all the amazing wildlife. Sample as much of the unusual food on offer such as crocodile and ostrich and the delicious wines.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I feel that the trip should be 14 whole days as it really is only 10.5 as it takes 2 whole days to get there and back. I feel we could have spend 2 more days exploring along the route and maybe another for a game drive plus more time in Cape Town.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Andrew McGregor

    Excellent trip

    What a great trip. A good mixture of scenery, animals, the city and history. In most hotels for two or more nights and the drives were never that long. Difficult to fault it really. The accommodation was all good to excellent. Food was great and relatively cheap. A few 'free days' with optional trips as well adding to flexibility. The accomodation in De Rust (Jan and Theresa) was excellent and they were very welcoming and made amazing food (most of us went away with recipes at the end!). Would definitely advise an extra few days in Cape Town at the end - there's so much to do and see there. I had an extra three days but wouldn't have been bored with an extra five.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning about the history. Safari.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin, our guide, was exceptional. Kept everyone happy and was well organised and efficient whilst appearing completely relaxed (no mean feat!). Explained everything well. Very knowledgeable about the whole country from the history and the wildlife. Can't fault him.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Most places accept cards so don't need to use cash machines too much. Book a few extra days at the end. All of the additional trips are excellent - suggest budget to go on them all. (the second game reserve drive is a must) The weather is very changeable so worth having a warm jumper and waterproof (November departure) Accept you will put on a few extra pounds during this trip! Check and double check that you need to pick up bags in Jo'Burg prior to Port Elizabeth transfer
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jenny Trotter

    Brilliant holiday

    Have just returned from a truly memorable trip to South Africa from Port Elizabeth through the Garden route/ winelands into Cape Town. The holiday was absolutely wonderful mainly due I'm sure to our wonderful guide Justin Barr.He showed us the true Africa not the touristy one!. He is so passionate about his country you couldn't be anything but inspired by what you experienced. There was such a variation in the itinerary that you came away at the end of the trip with a true understanding of the country. I was nervous before travelling as I was a single traveller of 75 years,but I needn't have worried as Justin made sure I was ok at all times.The other travellers in the group were all like minded and we all gelled really well. I can't praise Exodus enough for putting together such a wonderful itinerary and providing us with such a caring and knowledgeable guide. I look forward to travelling with them again to another far flung country!!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing so many animals on our 2game drives and zip wiring over 8 gorges at Storms River,!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely great,knowledgable,careing and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are single go for it you'll be fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure all your guides are as good as Justin Barr!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Deborah Marks

    A hugely varied trip.

    Just returned from this amazing trip. There was so much variety, from stunning landscapes to understanding life in the townships. We watched whales at Hermanos and climbed to see wonderful vistas on table mountain and the Cape of good hope. Our guide Justin was superb. He was able to lend real insight into the troubles and history of his beautiful country. He was so well organised and was a lovely person to be around. The day at Robbin Island, followed by a visit to the Townships was a humbling and emotional day with a lot of feelings to process. Our accommodation was all good. I loved staying in the huts at Wilderness, and dinning with the family at the guest house at De Rust was very special. Would highly recommend this tour.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved it all! But if I had to pick one thing, it would be swimming in a large rock pool with the sky and craggy peaks above me. Or seeing a whale alongside the boat. No, I cannot choose!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was probably the best tour leader I have had. Loaded with knowledge. He was able to add perspective to all our visits. He really did bring the trip to life with his enthusiasm and love for his country. Superbly organised.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    My advice would be to just go! Relax, go with the flow and prepare to love every minute.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Susan Bowers

    Cape Town and The Garden Route

    A fantastic trip with a very varied Itinery that gave a great feel for the beauty of South Africa and what it has to offer. The trip leader Justin Barr had a really positive attitude for his country and added to the enjoyment of the tour by being such a nice person and did his best to please everyone. The accommodation is also varied and I loved it. The wildlife and scenery on this tour are fabulous and I would strongly recommend this trip if you are thinking of visiting this lovely country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to pick out one thing but the interaction between the different cultures was very heart warming. Also I felt very safe all the time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin was the best, a lovely person who bent over backwards to make everyones holiday great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't worry you'll be safe and well looked after.
Call us on 056 631 86 64