Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Rachel Christie

    Excellent

    A really lovely holiday a good balance of cycling and relaxing/socieliting time Can’t wait to choose another

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The freedom of cycling along the coast

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent Alan was friendly open and helpful but still in control

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you do plenty of hills in prep I wasn’t quite fit enough or get an e bike

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really beautiful place
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Christine Clampett

    Girls on Tour

    This trip was a bit too "timed" for me. Whilst really well organised and hosted we seemed to be always on the move with little time for a reasonable lunch or a look around especially the first 2 days. I feel we could have spent more time on the island of HVAR - this is a truly lovely place - and HVAR town especially where we only had an hour. The hotel at Jelsa was in a fantastic location - however, a bit basic and in need of a good upgrade of facilities and a breakfast menu review. Sadly we had a terrible night here with 35 knot winds and shutters rattling. I had to stuff newspaper up the side of the main door to stop the wind blowing in through the large gap. the next day everyone was exhausted from lack of sleep. Korcula was fab - hotel great - and here we had good food and a few days rest electing not to do the trip to Mleet or the ride the following day. My job is a physical one so the lack of sleep had used all my resources up! Last ride to the ferry to Dubrovnik was really beautiful and our stay in Dubrovnik at Hotel Vis was very comfortable. The hotel is right on a beach so we swam and chilled on both days. Best bit here I think was the tour of the City with a super guide and then supper in the old City. The free day is fantastic for a good look around and the cable car ride to view the City and see how it is laid out is well worth the money. Our host Marin was great! Very good at helping when needed and not in any way intrusive. He had great knowledge of the area and kept us on schedule to catch the many ferries needed to get from island to mainland etc.. As a vegetarian I did struggle a bit with the food available. Marin helped immensely as my friend also cannot eat Gluten so we weren't the easiest of guests to feed. The quality of the restaurants booked was really good and everyone was really helpful. The group of people on the trip gelled really well and on the last night on Korcula stayed up into the small hours singing songs from Queen to Ilkley Moor Bar Tat!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The time in Dubrovnik - looking around in the evening.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our host Marin was great! Very good at helping when needed and not in any way intrusive. He had great knowledge of the area and kept us on schedule to catch the many ferries needed to get from island to mainland etc.. He was good company in the evenings and had a great sense of humour especially when reporting on the weather - which was very wet at times!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Always pack a set of waterproofs! We had a couple of days of rain and started the ride to Dubrovnik wearing bin bags as waterproofs!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think you could extend the time on HVAR as it felt really rushed.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Stephanie Haddrell

    Cycling The Dalmation Coast Croatia

    We thoroughly enjoyed our first Exodus tour. The cycling was amazing, very beautiful scenery, and excellent bikes. The tour guide Dino and Driver Tommy were super, very attentive, informative, friendly and efficient. The hotels were generally good. However the first stay in Hvar was basic, the shower was not attached to the wall and the fan was noisy- we were expecting air conditioning, and the site was run down with steps to the beach and appartments being hazardous. The breakfast was fine and the location very good for cycling. The two other hotels were fine. The rating for the tour was 3/10. I was a little confused by this as a first timer. I consider myself to be fairly fit and cycle regularly 20+ miles and expected a level 3 trip to be comfortable for me, yet I found the climbs quite challenging. Perhaps there should be more detail in your explanations of grading.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Every day provided exceptional scenery and beautiful places of interest.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was excellent very professional, informative, considerate and helpful.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would advise travellers to extend their stay to allow time to recover and or prepare for the trip, and to visit the cities of Split and Dubrovnic at their leisure. I would also advise to bring rehydration tablets to add to water and snack bars to get them up the hills! I would also add that August was too hot!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The restaurants we visited were all very good and gave us the opportunity to experience Croatian cuisine. I think for days when we were cycling it would have been preferable to have more frequent shorter stops with snacks provided bananas, nuts and fruit for example, rather than a long lunch break. This would give riders energy for the climbs, reduced cost and allowed a little more time at the end of the day to relax and enjoy the hotel and surrounding areas. The evening meals were all great and the michelen star restaurant in Korkula would be one lunch which I would keep!
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Alia Medniuk

    A fantastic introduction to Croatia

    Croatia is beautiful, seriously hot in July when one is out exercising in the midday sun, and the scenery and fabulous coastal roads made for some epic bike rides.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting the whole group to the end of the first day 12 km climb in 39 degrees was no mean feat, but we all did it and enjoyed a couple of well earned ice creams at the end of it. Whizzing down the hair pin roads with incredible coastal views was fantastic fun afterwards!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide, Dino, was spectacular, and couldn’t do enough for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling was just hard enough to be a nice challenge to earn an extra ice cream, but not so arduous it didn’t feel like a holiday. If you’re a proper vegetarian, be warned for some very uninspired eating, and be aware that most of your calories will come from ice cream (not such a bad thing...).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my 8th, or 9th exodus trip (I’ve lost count..) and one of my favourites. A great group as ever makes all the difference. Ours was just that.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Iolanda Jackson-Johns

    Good

    A very comprehensive tour where you get to see many of the best places in Croatia on the coast and Islands. Beautiful scenery with a picture around every corner. Very busy itinerary both the cycling and the travelling with not much free time so make sure sure you are prepared for this one - both physically and mentally. It was very hot when we were there so you have to factor in that you might be cycling big hill climbs in extreme heat and out in the heat all day, every day. There is a support vehicle if you need it but ours did not have too much in the way of aircon.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling the uphill climbs (up to 10km long) in extreme heat without getting in the support vehicle

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good, calm and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit on your bike before you go - not really a tour for those who just cycle to the shops at home

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Proud that I did it and many wonderful memories and friendships - THANK YOU
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Catherine Stewart

    Beautiful country.

    Good routes through some beautiful countryside. Some of the uphills are pretty tough but worth it for the downhills. Excellent choice of restaurants, very well organised and well-briefed. The guide coped fantastically as a one-man team - he really needed support from at lead one other Exodus appointed member to share the thinking and organising. Apart from a 1-hour whistlestop tour of Split for those arriving on the scheduled flight, there was no time for exploring the city and NO TIME for the meal that had been given in the Trip Notes - we had to grab a snack to eat on the ferry. Not entirely satisfactory. Hotels were average.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several: the one day trip to Mjlet was definitely worthwhile, but right to keep it as optional as it costs £50 on top of the holiday costs. Korcula was attractive - would have liked to have more time to explore the town. Good to finish in Dubrovnik though it came as a bit of a shock to be amongst hordes of other tourists after the previous off-piste days! Hotel away from the main drag is a very good idea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was superb! He has a very mature head and a delightful sense of humour. He is extremely well organised and coped with any eventuality in a calm and measured way. We were well-briefed before each day and were given further thorough briefing on each part of the ride. He certainly had the pressure put on him for this trip as he was the only Exodus representative so had to do ALL the thinking and ALL the organising. He seemed to take it all in his stride but it struck me as a huge responsibility. He was constantly having to chase up the driver who was not familiar with the routes and was there to just drive, not support the group leader as would normally be the case. Marin deserves top marks and a bonus for giving us a great holiday and choosing some excellent restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Split, go at least a day before. If you arrive on the scheduled flight, take enough food to see you through the evening as the meal before the ferry doesn't exist. Be prepared for higher prices in Dubrovnik (though the restaurant inside the walled city is definitely worth the extra cost). Prices elsewhere were very reasonable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a huge 'Thank you' to Marin for guiding us through an interesting week and for giving us all great support. The combination of islands that we visited were well planned. It has made me want to see more - maybe another Exodus trip starting in Split and going North?
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Nick Sutton

    Top cycling, scenery and ice cream (in some locations...)

    An excellent holiday to a fabulous country, great cycling with a brilliant guide, plus swimming in beautiful locations, stunning scenery and lovely food. Plus, the opportunity to stay in an Eastern block hotel in a great location.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Winning the yellow jersey, though I won't bang on about it...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan Skulic, our guide is a great guide, top man and was superb. He is passionate about his country, cycling and made some great food recommendations in the restaurants, so I ate well (-thanks Alan). He is also not bad at cycling and almost kept up with me!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The optional trip to Mijet is worthwhile, a gentle cycle and swimming in a beautiful location. We went on 8 June and it was in the 30's, which was exceptionally hot (for me), particularly in Dubrovnik. For those who don't cycle much, I think it worth getting some practice in, the first couple of days are challenging. The best ice cream shop is in Dubrovnik, near the Serbian church. Go early to do the wall walk in Dubrovnik.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'd be inclined to book my own flights and come back in the morning, or early afternoon of the last day, rather than a 9pm flight. You can see Dubrovnik adequately in the evening and one full day, it therefore felt like a wasted day, hanging around for a late evening flight. I think the tour could be improved by say an additional day in, or around Split, or an island, rather than the two days in Dubrovnik.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sally Sanders

    Beautiful Croatia!

    We found this trip to be a great way to experience this stunning coastline and enjoy our first visit to Croatia.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of the first day’s 10km climb and enjoying a lovely cold beer. Lunch at the konoba Mate on the island of Korcula was a delicious experience and I don’t think we would ever have found this lovely rural restaurant on our own. Really enjoyed the wild flowers and butterflies. Being a part of and sharing so many great experiences with our group ‘The Bruised Peaches’!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was ace - he looked after and encouraged us, and with his cycling expertise, local knowledge and sense of humour helped to make this trip well organised, interesting and great fun too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Spend some hours in the saddle and do some training before you go - your bottom will thank you! Don’t expect great hotels but we found them to be adequate for this trip as not much time was spent in them.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Will definitely visit Croatia again and will I am sure be booking another cycling trip with Exodos in the future.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Jan Challis

    Beautiful Croatia

    Lovely mixture of cycling; some long hills but beautiful views from the top, fabulous coastal roads through pine trees and little villages. Travelling in June we cycled through wonderful flower meadows with the heady smell of rosemary in the air. Hotels are basic but adequate. Food and drink are about the same as UK prices. Our guide pick some great restaurants.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The optional trip to Mljet - very relaxing and peaceful once you get there (getting on the ferry with the bike is a bit of a mad scramble). The optional dinner in Korcula at the agrotourism was fabulous - amazing setting and great food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was a brilliant tour leader - knowledgeable, safe, friendly and great fun. He made sure everyone was included. Our driver was a nice guy but pretty useless - he did very little apart from drive the minibus so Marin ended up doing everything else. He worked exceptional hard the whole week. Unfortunately one of our group had an accident on day 5 but Marin handled the whole situation extremely well and very professionally.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I wish I'd been able to have a extra day or two to explore Split. We had a 1 hour whistlestop tour and then had to get straight on the ferry. Buy or take food for the ferry as there isn't time to sit and eat a meal in Split.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    With a group of 16 people there should been a second leader, or at the very least a driver who had some knowledge of the trip and provided the leader with competent backup. Our driver had no idea where to go; often we would get the meeting point to find he was parked somewhere entirely different. This really put a lot of unnecessary pressure on our leader and wasted time. The driver wouldn't help rope up the bikes, he had no idea how to detach the trailer and was difficult to contact (his phone was often switched off).
  • Reviewed June 2019

    A must see trip

    I have just returned from the most amazing cycling holiday. This was my first holiday of this kind and was rather nervous being a single traveler! The rest of the group made me so welcome and I instantly felt relaxed and with friends. The first couple of days were rather tough cycling and I did get behind but with Alan's encouragement I caught up and had a giggle with the rest of the group. The countryside is amazing, the food was outstanding, loved it all.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being able to complete the cycling, although slowly at first I did manage to speed up with each day and felt rather fitter by the end of the week.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan Skulic is an amazing guy, he encouraged us all every day and he is so knowledgeable and helpful. Even his jokes were quite funny.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Dont be nervous - perhaps train a little beforehand to get used to the saddle.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotels were not great but they did the job and the breakfast was okay.