Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Philip Warner

    Our wonderful journey through Jordan.

    An excellent,well organised cycling tour in a very welcoming and interesting country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To me there were a few inspirational moments on the tour. The mosaics and the whole interior of the “Church of the Map”at Madaba was very inspirational. Again,Petra and camping out in Wadi Rum was quite inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our tour leader Ab (Abdullah ) was excellent. He was always pleasant,had plenty of patience and hard working.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    In winter months you need clothes for all types of weather. When walking to the water at the Dead Sea,I would recommend wearing sandals or some sort of rubber shoes because the layers of salt are quite sharp underfoot.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I thoroughly enjoyed the tour from start to finish. We had an excellent tour leader, bus driver and cycling guides. Whenever we were cycling we had a tourist police escort. The police were also quite friendly. We had more lunches than was advertised in the trip notes. Ab kept on feeding us with snacks. Beside the cycling, the tour was quite varied. There was a lot of walking, some quite strenuous at Petra,whilst it was quite relaxing at Aqaba..
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Anastasia Kondylis

    Jordan Cycle Tour

    The trip was a good way to see a lot in a short amount of time, but rushed. There weren't many moments to stop and take in the scenery or actually fathom where you were and what you were experiencing. The cycling was incredible and the main highlight. We cycled through remote areas and experienced scenes that we would have otherwise not had opportunity to see. The experience in Wadi Rum was somewhat disappointing and lacked the unique cultural experience. The food that you receive in the Middle East caters for all food types and is delicious, but we were not given the opportunity to order our own meals, which caused a few issues if you are constantly eating bread and rice all you want is a bit of vegetables.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling throughout Jordan was incredible. The views were spectacular, the cultural side of being able to see the Jordanians way of life and how they live was great.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader was a real let down and really ruined the trip for many of us. As someone with such an important role on a trip such as this you can really make or break it. He had obviously done this several times and seemed rather disinterested and unexcited, not giving much more than was necessary and didn't go out of his way at all. He rushed when there wasn't need to and took more time when wasn't necessary. We would be all standing waiting to cycle and he was either having a coffee chatting to his friends or having a smoke - a real annoyance. He didn't cater for any dietary requirements and the lunches that we received for shocking in comparison to the amount that we paid for meals.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are wanting to exercise and travel this is a good way to do it, we cycled and walked a lot. You meet extremely interesting people and learn a lot about yourself.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Guy Dixon

    petra and wadi rum by bike

    Petra and Wadi Rum were the highlights, and the basics were covered in terms of being met at the airport etc., but we lost one day due to bad weather and the following day, despite excellent weather. Aqaba is very much a Russian holiday destination these days and we found the coral and snorkeling disappointing and surprisingly expensive. Nevertheless, Petra is impressive, as is the Wadi Rum desert. The hotels were OK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was friendly for much of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Avoid Aqaba if you can.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If it rains, the tour leader should have a plan B. This part of the Red See is definitely not one of the best diving sites in the world.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Mike Henderson

    Wonderful Jordan

    This trip is a wonderful way of seeing most of the important sites in Jordan with a bit of cycling thrown in! Please note it’s not really a cycling holiday as there are quite a few bus transfers, one of which was over 6 hours.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many-floating in the Dead Sea, seeing the Treasury in Petra, snorkelling in the Red Sea, riding a camel in Wadi Rum. Every day had a highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have been on many Exodus trips and all the local group leaders have been excellent but Eddie in Jordan was outstanding! His organisation was faultless and he spent a lot of time informing us about Jordanian history and culture. It was also a pleasure to meet his wife at our farewell dinner. FIras ,who was our cycling leader, was also outstanding . He was very safety conscious, honest about the route ahead and very encouraging to the less able cyclists. We also had a Tourist Policeman with us all week and whenever we were cycling we had a police escort!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just bear in mind that cycling is not a major part of the trip but , if you want to see the best of Jordan, then this is the trip for you. A reasonable degree of fitness is needed for the cycling as there a few challenging hills.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This trip exceeded my expectations and I’m now an expert on Jordanian culture!!
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Evans

    Amazing adventure

    This was a busy , varied and hugely enjoyable trip . Eddie and the team looked after us brilliantly and gave us access to amazing places

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting Mefle the last remaining inhabitant of Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eddie was very knowledgeable and great fun too
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Julie Evans

    Fab trip

    Great trip with informative guide and some wonderful places visited. Special memories.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Petra Treasury for the first time. Floating in the Dead Sea Walking on Mount Nebo

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Very passionate about sharing his love of Jordan.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a mix of clothing layers.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Steve and sue Jones

    Petra, Jerash, Dead Sea, Red Sea, wadi rum camp.

    Fantastic week with 16 others in a group where we all got on really well. Petra Jerash and wadi rum were outstanding and due mainly to our guide zehar. We had an onboard policeman with us at all times and when cycling, police escorts which helped to ensure our safety. At no point did we feel unsafe however. We felt priveledged to see Petra, float on the Dead Sea, swim in the Red Sea and sleep under the stars in the desert.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    2 days exploring Petra and a night in wadi rum. We cannot separate the 2 into a single moment. Floating in the Dead Sea and swimming in the Red Sea. Sleeping in the Red desert. !!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He quite simply, made the trip due to his knowledge of the locations, his historical knowhow and enthusiasm in providing it, to engage our interest. He is a real asset to exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t be put off by concerns about Jordan as we felt safe under the guidance of our leader and the onboard tourist policeman. Weather can be a problem as there were unusual rain falls while we were there but that is not usual. Hotels were a little less quality than we expected (having experienced 4 or 5 star hotels when we did Vietnam trip with Exodus) but comfortable. But that is a personal opinion and others were happy enough. Overall, don’t be put off. This is a special trip due to the locations visited and cycling is a great way to combine them with adventure and hiking around Petra.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just do it as Nike might say. You will not be disappointed.
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Jean Neary

    An enjoyable adventure

    I really enjoyed this trip. It packed a lot into the 7 day period (ex travelling days). Petra was everything I had expected it to be. The cycling days were relatively short but being a novice to cycling holidays and being June and hot, they were sufficient. I thought the cycling guide and support team were excellent with great equipment, support and encouragement.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking Petra.... it was everything I expected and more. We walked from our hotel to the monastery and the viewing point behind it. It's a long walk but definitely worth it. I think the monastery was my favourite as the treasury building can be very busy with people, camels, donkeys and someone trying to sell you something or other !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide was Sami. His mum was ill and I'm sure he was distracted by this. He didn't engage with us and I felt we were working to his time schedule. His food choices were expensive relative to the A la carte options in the same restaurants. There were some minor clashes with the group too. Overall he was satisfactory as we completed our trip successfully.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I found it very hot in June ... so bring an umbrella, it creates great shade when you are walking a site like Petra. Cycling sleeves are great for protection from the sun when cycling. Jordan is expensive - it's European prices .... so be prepared to pay 7-8€ for a beer. Our bank cards didn't work in all cash machines, so pre order currency at home before you arrive.
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Nigel Goddard

    Petra & Wadi Rum by Bike

    A well organised trip with lots of activities packed in. Inside a week our guide ensured we experienced/saw all the highlights of Jordan. However the organisation was such that I never felt rushed or under pressure. The cycling was very easy. We were transported to the nicest areas to cycle, avoiding the big hills and busy roads. The bikes were brand new and mine was perfectly adjusted. The cycle team were very friendly and competent mechanics. Nothing was too much trouble for them. I'd say this trip is great for leisure cyclists. Anyone looking for a tough physical challenge would not find this tough enough. The accommodation was great. Clean hotels all en suite. Good food. All in all a great experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Tough to pick one out. Walking down a Roman High street, floating in the Dead Sea, snorkelling in the Red Sea, the religious sites, Petra, staying in the desert, camel rides, they are all great!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Had everything sorted. Great attention to detail to ensure that all our needs and wishes were met. Put in a great deal of effort to arrange the activites for us.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I didn't need my bicycle repair kit at all as, had my bike broken, the team have everything sorted. The bikes were flat bar Trek bikes, tyres must have been about 35mm wide, brand new. I've got lots of bikes of my own and I am glad I didn't take one as the ones provided were perfectly adequate to the job in hand. Same for pedals/saddle. Ensure you take a decent sun hat, sun screen and good shoes. To get the most from the Petra days there is lots of walking and you will spend a long time outside with the sun bouncing off the rocks! There was a lot of food and snacks! I found there to be absolutely no need for energy gels etc during the cycling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Yes. Do it!
  • Reviewed May 2018
    Peter Wallis

    Fellow travellers make all the difference

    First time, out of 6 Exodus trips, I was on my own but once again the like minded group were great. We had great fun while taking in the history and scenery that Jordan has to offer. The guide "Sammy" was exceptional in his knowledge of Jordan which made the history more engaging when sighting. Hotels used had good rooms with comfortable beds, however, breakfast was very limited in selection in most of them. Food in general was not brilliant, with rice, chicken and goat as staple diet. Snacks during cycling brilliant. Bikes were very good and you always had the support vehicle if problems. Overall, you need to see Jordan by any means.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Jerash was stunning. Dead Sea was great fun. Petra. The scenery. Cycling down hills through small villages. Can't pick one moment

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sammy was so knowageable about history of Jordan and passionate to inform others. Organisational skills very good. choise of restaurants ok. Very able to control difficult situation. Like a stick of rock he is Jordan through and through.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Itinerary stated boat trip in the Red Sea with snorkelling. In fact Exodus cancelled these trips 2 years ago. Very disappointed with administration not updating trip notes.
Call us on 056 631 86 64