Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed November 2018
    Anthony Peake

    Walking The Great Wall

    Most enjoyable trip accompanied by a fun group of fellow walkers and an enthusiastic guide. Would have been 5* BUT a lazy attitude by, i take it, the local tour operator who when given months notice of one of the days hiking having to be altered due to a closed/dangerous section only replaced it with a makeshift day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the mass of people on Tienanmen Square on a public holiday

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enthusiastic and Knowledgeable
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Shuling Wu

    Walking and Trekking the Great Wall

    It is a great experience! I am so happy to meet the new friends from UK. And the leader Jerry is very reliable to make sure everybody is safe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking on the top of the original Wall

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He is responsible and makes everybody is safe and sound. It is appreciated to learn his comment about the popular news but it would be great he can share the information and knowledge about the sight, the history, the location and the hiking plan. Some times the group like the sheep and he is the sheep-dog and we just follow him blindly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    British Chinese, American Chinese and the similar can be the potential travelers.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Michael Cooper

    MEETING THE WALL

    Walking the great Wall of China is invariably on lots of Intrepid travellers wish lists or objectives - simply just do it. You will not regret making the decision. If you have not been to China before it is both an introduction to the country (especially Beijing) and walking one of the most documented locations in the world. The majority of the meals are inclusive but this is a bonus as it includes both restaurants in Beijing and and more authentic Chinese cuisine in the Home stays. I do not think I will not bother with a Chinese restaurant again in the UK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Actually walking on the great wall and and viewing the changing scenery and especially away from the tourists and crowds. Exodus do deliver because for 90% plus of the walk you do not meet/encounter any other walkers. When you do meet the crowds it just brings it home to you how fortunate one has been in being away from the masses.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry was both entertaining, knowledgeable and well organised. His timings were spot on and he could be approached on any issue. A tour leader is best judged on when something goes wrong and he/she has to think on their feet or has to deal with an individuals issue. I saw evidence of Jerry responding to both of these situations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of steps both up and down and have an 'open mind' to the the home stay accommodation as it may not be what you perceive.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Banks

    A fabulous journey

    I thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the trip. The scenery - the wall and the surrounding mountains - was stunning and constantly changing. The weather was perfect with mostly warm sunny days with cool evenings. Everywhere we stayed from good quality hotels to basic rural homestays provided great food and hospitality. Our group leader, Jerry, was excellent and I felt very lucky to be away with such a lovely group of fellow travellers. Finally and perhaps most importantly the Chinese people I met were warm, welcoming, interesting as well as curious about us and almost without exception delightful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer scale and beauty of the Great Wall and the surrounding mountains Tiananmen Square was a particular highlight in Beijing The warmth of the Chinese people everywhere

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Jerry, was excellent in all respects! His caring, thoughtful and hardworking approach was key to the success of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Do this trip and do it in autumn when everywhere is quieter and the weather is pretty much perfect for walking 2. Do the Xi'an/terracotta warriors extension! 3. Supplement the excellent guides with your own guide book 4. A little mandarin (and a big smile) goes a long way! 5. Find at least a little quiet time each day to reflect on your experience and the pleasure and privilege of being in such an amazing place 6. Do try the street food in the wonderful night market in Xi'an!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to all the exodus staff for their positive and professional approach I would happily talk to anyone considering this trip who wants to hear any of the above from someone who has actually done the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    John Pethick

    Let One Hundred Flowers Bloom

    Space, and the (temporary) frontier abound provided that you go boldly, up, more up, and even more up; cast aside fears of teeming hordes, and remember, the people, and the people alone, are the motive force in the making of world history. At times, you become the 'attraction' - videoconferencing a chap's wife on her drive home so she could practice her English (at the top of the Wall, naturally). That was a first. High fiving hundreds of school kids, while teachers convulsed with laughter (on the wall too), in a society where physical contact is not a thing, also a first. Underpinning it all, a long past with, to quote a fellow traveller, "zero history of democracy". And the kittens really do want their fluffy tummies tickled, oh yes they do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Decades of watching China from afar, dissolving whilst sitting on some unused telegraph poles, on a country road, alone at sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pema. Well, it's always handy to have a Tibetan guide, when you bump into some Tibetan monks, looking for a group photograph with some westerners for their Instagram. Or need to explain the fire in your room. Retrieve a confiscated bank card. Discuss the geological formations under the wall and the materials in it. Get you through 'Security' painlessly. And be objective about Tibet's relationship with China.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1) the Dong Fang has a machine which converts cash banknotes (sterling, USD, canadianD, euros, and many more) into yuan, which is very handy indeed. 2) two types of ATM exist, ones that hand out cash and return the card, ones that are for account management only, and hold onto the card. Make sure you are using an international bank, and a real ATM. Worth watching what other people are doing for a few minutes. 3) Euro / US plugs sometimes work in the local sockets, but if you require mains, take a three pin Chinese adapter. Not many amps in the supply, so charging is slow. 4) Do not, repeat do not, leave electric oil radiators switched on in an empty room. And stand by for a few minutes to pull the plug out of the socket after switching on. 5) keep an eye out, and the camera hot, for feral panda spotting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Water for drinking: arrive, fill kettle, allow to boil, open lid to cool down, do something else, pour into 'tough' water bottle / bladder, refill kettle etc. Everywhere has a kettle for that purpose. Have a thermos, with local tea leaves instead / as well. Even petrol stations have hot water boilers. The journey to a plastic free world starts with the first step.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    Stephen Meleady

    China Calling 🇨🇳

    What a great trip ! 6 hiking days and 2 days seeing the sights in Beijing with Pemma our Tibetan guide and our mixed bunch of 16, comprised of couples and solos making for a great trip to China. ( I didn’t book the Xian extension ) the hikes are tough as they are up and down the many ridges that the wall sought to protect and most are on the “Wild Wall” where we had the fantastic views all to ourselves, so expect some tender knees and sore calves as the days progress. Accommodation in the country is in friendly and comfortable homestays and Don Fang in Beijing is about 30 minutes walk to the Forbidden City and Tianenmen square etc. China is a real mix of old and new and the vibrant colours are a treat for the eyes. Ticking the Great Wall box with this Exodus trip was memorable and as is the case on many a trip there were only minor things that could be improved but take it from me, if you’re thinking of booking then take the leap, you’ll love it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Stairs to the Sky near Jiankou are scary, picturesque and a challenge to mind and body, but what a thrill !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pemna is a super guide, ever smiling, friendly but most importantly is putting you as his primary goal.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t underestimate it’s a tough enough hiking trip with more downhill setions than most

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It’s a great trip 😃 so go for it !
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Michael Cooney

    Disappointing

    Having travelled with Exodus before, I was looking forward to this trip. However, although the scenery was spectacular and the hiking was enjoyable, Exodus was disappointing and if I went again I would do the trip with someone else. Some of the accommodation was very poor, being smelly and dirty. The leader's time management and communication was also poor, with some days having a very long period between breakfast (7am) and lunch (3pm) with no advance warning, no snacks provided and limited water provided.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the wall when we were out in the wilderness.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Definitely not the best tour leader I have had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't do this trip with Exodus.
  • Reviewed September 2018

    walking the great wall of china and xian extension

    spent 6 days walking the great wall of china and then a walking tour of beijing. we then went on a sleeper train to xian where we saw the terra cotta army

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walking on the unrestored parts of the great wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jack was great and spent a lot of time explaining the history and he was a great ambassador for his country

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We took metal water flasks with us but were given small plastic bottles of water every day so we didnt need the flasks. In september the weather was great and i took warmer clothing both for the day and night which i didnt need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    i was very disappointed in missing the walk in olympic city as we just drove passed it. Also I didnt like the skytel hotel in xian as it was soulless. No real communal area and no outside space/garden. The room was fine. Not to keen on the breakfast.
  • Reviewed September 2018

    walking the great wall of china and xian extension

    spent 6 days walking the great wall of china and then a walking tour of beijing. we then went on a sleeper train to xian where we saw the terra cotta army

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    walking on the unrestored parts of the great wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jack was great and spent a lot of time explaining the history and he was a great ambassador for his country

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We took metal water flasks with us but were given small plastic bottles of water every day so we didnt need the flasks. In september the weather was great and i took warmer clothing both for the day and night which i didnt need.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    i was very disappointed in missing the walk in olympic city as we just drove passed it. Also I didnt like the skytel hotel in xian as it was soulless. No real communal area and no outside space/garden. The room was fine. Not to keen on the breakfast.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Daniel Springett

    Great Wall of China

    First time I have done something like this before but it has been one of the best trips I have done. Wish I could of been out there longer

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Descending the heavenly stairway, listening to stairway to heaven on the way down

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry was very knowledgeable, funny, fair and a great person in general

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's hotter than you think, make sure you have a semi decent level of fitness (hill walking especially), bring insect repellent and about £200 should cover spending (possibly a bit less).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Consider doing the add on, I wish I had done it but it will give me an excuse to go back
Call us on 056 631 86 64