Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed March 2018
    Joan Desrosiers

    Trekking New Zealand

    This was an excellent trip to genuinely experience a great variety of tracks in NZ. We were able to tick off 4 of 9 of the Great Walks. Two of them, Tongariro Northern Circuit & Abel Tasman, we had a longer closer look at. Those & the Siberia Valley at Mt Aspiring NP will be enduring memories. So many activities everyday with very little down time. A fair amount of time spent in the van getting from place to place but unavoidable. Flights from Wellington to Nelson by a small Cessna, helicopter ride into the Siberia Valley & numerous water taxis helped conserve our time. All in all a great trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many but probably completing tracks when absolutely exhausted or perilously returning down tracks in pelting rain & realizing I could conquer that fear.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We actually had 3 on this trip. All were good & had so very different personalities/styles.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t take a lot of clothes as there are opportunities to wash them a few times along the way. They are dead serious about the weight limit on the flight from Wellington to Nelson. Take a break from the internet because wifi coverage is spotty & poor. The hotel in Queenstown is your best opportunity to download a few pics. Go with an open mind & try to complete the entire itinerary even if the weather is not the best.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Glad that the trip notes are now updated. The ones I worked off were copied just before the trip & were inaccurate. Not so sure that the single supplement is worth the money as there are only 6 nights where you actually have your room ensuite. Didn’t expect it in the huts or camping but was told I was to have it for 15 nights. I see in the the new trip notes that ensuite isn’t likely on nights 2,3,8,10 & 11.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Joan Desrosiers

    Trekking New Zealand

    This was an excellent trip to genuinely experience a great variety of tracks in NZ. We were able to tick off 4 of 9 of the Great Walks. Two of them, Tongariro Northern Circuit & Abel Tasman, we had a longer closer look at. Those & the Siberia Valley at Mt Aspiring NP will be enduring memories. So many activities everyday with very little down time. A fair amount of time spent in the van getting from place to place but unavoidable. Flights from Wellington to Nelson by a small Cessna, helicopter ride into the Siberia Valley & numerous water taxis helped conserve our time. All in all a great trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Many but probably completing tracks when absolutely exhausted or perilously returning down tracks in pelting rain & realizing I could conquer that fear.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We actually had 3 on this trip. All were good & had so very different personalities/styles.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t take a lot of clothes as there are opportunities to wash them a few times along the way. They are dead serious about the weight limit on the flight from Wellington to Nelson. Take a break from the internet because wifi coverage is spotty & poor. The hotel in Queenstown is your best opportunity to download a few pics. Go with an open mind & try to complete the entire itinerary even if the weather is not the best.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Glad that the trip notes are now updated. The ones I worked off were copied just before the trip & were inaccurate. Not so sure that the single supplement is worth the money as there are only 6 nights where you actually have your room ensuite. Didn’t expect it in the huts or camping but was told I was to have it for 15 nights. I see in the the new trip notes that ensuite isn’t likely on nights 2,3,8,10 & 11.
  • Reviewed March 2017
    Sharon Chollet

    Trekking in New Zealand

    A truly brilliant 3 week trip highlighting the best of North and South Island

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Too many to choose one. Highlights for me included the beautiful coast paths and beaches of Abel Tasman, helicopter to Siberia hut. The challenge of hiking to lake Crucible. Fantastic cruise on Milford Sound seeing dolphins swimming around the boat. The amazing Mount Cook National Park and everything in between

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kath on North Island is an experienced, professional guide with an easygoing style. She was ably assisted by Anne who was an intern. Chai on South Island is younger with a very different leadership style. To begin with felt he was at a slight disadvantage as we had all bonded well as a group and he had to get to know us. I definitely warmed to Chai as time went by. He is extremely passionate about New Zealand, its history and flora and fauna. Especially enjoyed his stories and his legendary "Hakka"

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As previously documented this is a full on trip and you have to be organised with packing. Using several sizes of dry bags within your luggage helps. Get yourself fit as possible, preferably with plenty of hill climbing and descending practice. Breaking the outward journey in Dubai and extra night in Auckland helped with jet lag.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A fantastic trip with so much packed into 3 weeks. Go for it, you won't regret it
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Kirit

    Newzealand trekking ( TLZ)

    Excellent trip with varied iteniary with amazing landscapes

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    lots...trek in Tongariro national park, Milford Sounds, Mt Cook trek, Helicopter and jet boat rides , etc

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both island leaders were good. But Justine in south Island was exceptional . As an Ex Ranger who had also trekked extensively in his young age , he was full of knowledge as well as being very practical.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    JUST DO IT as they say in the advert ! Dont take excess clothes as opportunity to dress smart for evenings is limited since itenary is packed so most of us just wore our clean trekking gear. Also will need larger backpack for the couple of camping days because will need to carry spare clothes,sleeping bag and tent, and some food for cooking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A long way away for us Brits but well worth it.
  • Reviewed December 2015
    Charles Preston

    trekking new zealand

    A very well put-together trip with a variety of really interesting experiences

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing "Mount Doom" appear out of its cloud cap on the Tongariro crossing - on cue, during a snack break - and disappearing again the moment my wife had got her camera ready! Helicopter trip into Siberia valley....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Linda (north island) - lovely Lady - felt very safe in her capable hands Justin (South island) - a tireless bundle of energy, very knowledgeable and a great organiser.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Expect to go up to waist deep on the river crossings after any rain!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thoroughly recommend this holiday,but if we were to travel to NZ again, we would break the journey with an overnight stop (or two) en route -maybe in Dubai.
  • Reviewed February 2014
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN NEW ZEALAND

    A great way to see and do a LOT!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What to choose! Camping on the beach at Abel Tasman was beautiful, big sky, stunning sunset and dawn. The Red quarry on the Tongariro crossing was the most amazing sight, the colours in the rocks unlike anything I've ever seen, then there was Lake Crucible, the refelction of the glacier so clear and sharp. I guess if I had to choose one, the sky dive over Queenstown was the most spectacular experience, we were blessed with a clear, bright day, making the views quite magical.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both guides were brilliant, Graham on North Island and Chris on South. They both delivered beyond the expectations and were extremely knowlegable and passionate about their country. Changing the itinerary at short notice due to adverse weather was much appreciated and made for a very enjoyable final day. Chris's Dad, supplier of delicious birthday cakes, much appreciated too.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a very full on trip, you need to be quite organised packing and unpacking every  night. It is absolutely worth the long flight and a fantasitc way to see a lot of New Zealand and I would do advise doing all the activities and options on offer, it's that kind of place!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hiking New Zealand were fab hosts and could not have done more to ensure the best possible experience.
  • Reviewed January 2014
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN NEW ZEALAND

    A well-organised, varied and very enjoyable trip with great leaders and nice group members which did what it said on the tin.  A good mix of travel and walking and other outdoor activities - a perfect first taste of NZ.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to say - the immediate immersion into the relaxed NZ vibe after the stresses of the UK pre-Christmas rush, the amazing volcanic landscapes round Rotorua, fabulous lake-side accommodation at Lake Taupo, the bizarre lunar landscape on the Tongariro crossing, the remote windswept beaches of the west coast of South Island, the lush greenery and deep inlets of Fjordland, the majesty of (unfortunately mist-shrouded) Mount Cook - the list goes on.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Graham and Chris (respective group leaders for North and South Island parts of the trip) were both very capable and efficient as well as being friendly, impeturbable and very knowledgeable about the flora and fauna and history of NZ.  They worked really hard to ensure we had the best holiday possible and to facilitate group members contributing as well ot the experience. I really don't think they could have done any more than they did and indeed they exceeded our expectations e.g. Chris invited us to his house for a buffet lunch on Christmas Day.  

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to get a general overview of New Zealand in as short a time as realistically possible, with a bit of walking and other outdoor activities throughout, I can highly recommend this trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I understand that Exodus is thinking about changing the local agent, Trek New Zealand.  From my experience Trek New Zealand provide a really excellent service which leads to satisfied clients who will therefore be more inclined to go on other Exodus trips.  So changing the local agent could prove to be a false economy.      
  • Reviewed February 2013
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN NEW ZEALAND

    An absolutely brilliant three weeks in the most wonderful country. Everything as described in the trip notes, and more. 

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to decide, but some of the highlights were the trip up to Abel Tasman NP, including camping on the beach - watching the sun set across the water, then seeing the southern night sky in all its glory; the helicopter flight in Mt Aspiring NP and the next day a very welcome lift back down the final stretch of river by jet boat, after a 7 hour hike; the stupendous scenery around Mt Cook; and paragliding from 1400m up in Queenstown. And not forgetting rainforests, thermal springs, kiwis, active volcanoes, glaciers and fjords... 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    On North Island leader Kath - what a character! Really knowledgeable and upbeat even in the face of 50mph winds, hail, sleet and snow on the Tongariro crossing.Chris - great guy too. Arranged for the sun to shine the entire two weeks on South Island and even managed to produce home made scones when we arrived! 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    UK citizens need an ESTA visa if transitting via the US (return flight was via Los Angeles) - the Exodus office didn't know this for sure. Anyway it's easy to obtain online - I did it while in NZ.The weather in NZ (see earlier comment above) really can be "all four seasons in a day" - temperatures we encountered varied from freezing to 30 degrees - pack accordingly but try to travel as light as possible as you'll constantly be packing and repacking.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Despite the long walks I don't think I lost weight - the Kiwis like to serve generous portions of food. Great bunch of people in our group - we even won the Mt Cook pub quiz! At the beginning, I did wonder what I'd got myself into when I found out I was sharing with a guy who'd bagged all the Monros in Scotland and been up Everest (hi Pete!) but, as a not particularly fit 54 year old, I had a blast.In conclusion, if you are at all considering this trip, just go for it!
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN NEW ZEALAND

    The trip was an unending variety of activities and experiences; physically tiring but without the stresses sometimes felt in non English speaking countries.  It was a superb trip but 3 weeks is barely enough time and I have returned home with a list of things/places to return and visit again or anew.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I find it difficult to choose a single most inspirational moment of the trip but would include the sceneries around the Tongariro crossing and Mount Cook which were really beautiful and unique.  It was awe inspiring just being there.I also chose to jump out of a plane, skydiving from 12000 feet near Queenstown.  This was our single rest day on the trip, but by this time the adrenaline was flowing.  That was pretty memorable.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had separate group leaders for the North Island (Kath) and South Isalnd (Chris).  Both were from Hiking New Zealand and were excellent.  They both had the same well balanced mixture of Enthusiasm with Energy, Professionalism with Knowledge.  They were always happy to enthuse but remained flexible in order to provide the best for people on the day.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    On arrival in NZ open your minds to a non stop rush of movement and experience.  On return be prepared to feel shattered from the whole trip.  Enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take seriously the signs at Auckland airport arrivals point which warn against taking any foodstuffs into the country.  A single apple can cost you NZ$400 fine. I saw it happen.
  • Reviewed December 2012
    Anonymous

    TREKKING IN NEW ZEALAND

    We packed so much in the three weeks that it was necessary to come back home and sit down with the itinerary. notes etc. to appreciate just how much we had achieved!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Imposible to single out just one highlight for this trip. We were a small group of  only five people, plus a diferent leader for each of the islands . Smaller groups get things done more efficiently, enabling all of us to pack more into an already busy schedule, combined with exellent knowledge by our leaders Kath & Chris, for whom  nothing was too much trouble.  Their help, imformation and passion for their home New Zealand lead us to efficient use of our time, with many extra side trips , viewpoints and short treks added . 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had one for North & one for South Island! Both knew their country like the back of their hand;  Kath lead us North and Chris lead us South. We all developed team spirit, strange when a group of people are thrown together at random.  Our leaders were passionate about their homeland ,keen conservasionists ,so helpful, full of knowledge and enthusiasm.  Quickly they became our friends rather than a leader. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This N.Z. must be the best action packed ,sight seeing ,thrill seeking New Zealand package available ANYWHERE. OK, you could say OH, we will make our own way, do our own arrangements , No Way, time would be wasted sourcing and organising, you would see and do far less. These guides know their stuff, just who to contact etc. while your kayaking/ trekking/whitewater rafting/sight seeing /jet boating or whatever is your passion these guys are booking /organising the next step! 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The walk on the Fox Glacier was probably the only slight disappointment.  It was very busy and you were not given a chance to look around much.
Call us on 056 631 86 64