Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Tracey Gwinnell

    Wonderful Amalfi Coast

    A thoroughly enjoyable trip spent visiting the spectacular Amalfi Coast. We stayed in a lovely family run hotel where the staff were great and really helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the amazing Path of the God's was the highlight of the trip, spectacular scenery and a fantastic barbecue lunch.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Eduardo was extremely knowledgeable and good fun. He was always in good humour and very passionate about his homeland.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try a Limoncello Spritzer.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    Teresa Markle

    Amazing Amalfi

    There is a reason while Amalfi is one of the best selling tours offered by Exodus Tours. It is a gorgeous place to visit (even in January when it is freezing cold!) I love the variety of expeditions. My favorites were hiking 3,000 steps down to Amalfi, walking the Path of the Gods and celebrating January 1 on the Circuito Tre Calli. I also enjoyed the private tours of Pompei and Herculaneum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was around 9 in the morning and the sky was turning pale pink and lavender and yellow. We stopped to take photos of the scene below on the Path of the Gods—mountains, sea and rugged cliffs. I was awestruck by the poetry of the moment. I blogged about it—https://femalesolotrek.com/2019/01/02/path-of-the-gods/

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio manages to juggle everything--site closings, road closings, snow and more—with calm. He made our group feel so welcome. I also want to thank the Italian family who runs the hotel where we stayed. They are fantastic. Their hospitality made us feel like family.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Late December/early January is a tricky time for this tour. We were lucky with regard to the weather although it did snow at the end. It was really cold hiking because if the strong winds. You need to dress warmly. Bring snow boots!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Book the Amalfi tour. There is a reason why all the famous 19th & 20th century writers came to Ravello and the Amalfi Coast. It is strikingly beautiful.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Jo Shorrocks

    Difficult to be positive

    We had exceptionally bad weather so it is quite difficult to be too positive. The hotel may be lovely in the middle of summer but not for a wet week in October. I realise Exodus have no control over the weather but the location, half way up a mountain, is not good in the Autumn fogs. The day we were supposed to do the Walk of the Gods (the best day of the week and perfect for walking) our guide decided that 1 or 2 of our party weren't up to it, so we all had to do a different shorter walk; quite annoying as a lot of the rest of the itinerary was cancelled/curtailed due to the weather. We couldn't go to Capri as the ferries weren't sailing but our guide organised an excellent trip to Paestum.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When the clouds cleared and we saw the views around Bomerano . Mostly we saw it in the rain and fog!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bomerano is a 40 minute windy road away from Amalfi, the journey you have to make most days before setting off for anywhere else.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel is very pleasant, staff friendly and helpful and the food is good.
  • Reviewed September 2018
    Natalie Schneider

    Wonderful trip

    Had a wonderful time on this trip. We were 18 people in our group which is a perfect size something I love about Exodus tours. There was enough guidance from the tour leader and enough free time to do what you wanted. Loved staying in the village of Bomerano rather than down on the Amalfi Coast because it was less crowded and more of an authentic experience. The hotel Due Torri Is lovely and the staff is wonderful. The food was fantastic. My only complaint are the beds. The mattresses are so hard there's no cushioning. It's as if the springs are right below you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    hiking the Walk of the Gods and seeing thr incredible views down to the Amalfi Coast.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo is wonderful, he's funny and he made us all laugh. He knew everything about where we were going and everyone there.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    go on this trip! bring hiking shoes or boots if you want to do the walks and hikes which I highly recommend
  • Reviewed July 2018
    Steve Underwood

    Amalfi Highlights

    A well-planned and comprehensive exploration of the beautiful Amalfi coast, with many diverse experiences packed into a full-on week. A mix of bustling coastal towns with wonderful sea views, Capri, the city of Naples, walking the Vesuvius crater rim, hiking the spectacular Path of the Gods, the ancient ruins of Herculaneum and (as an option on our 'free day') Pompei. The boat rides gave a alternative perspective of the coastal scenery. The Hotel Due Torri was a wonderful, family-run hotel with fantastic dinners, set in a good location away from the coastal crowds. Its elevation also avoided some of the coastal heat. Did I mention the dinners ? The Path of the Gods was an enjoyable walk taken at a leisurely pace. The spectacular route followed hills and cliffs, and provided beautiful views from high above the coastal towns and bays filled with expensive boats. There are a few steep, but short, ups and downs on rocky terrain. We walked slowly, and I did not find it particularly difficult or strenuous, although anyone with dodgy knees or legs should be careful on some short parts. I did use a walking pole - highly recommended.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Path of the Gods. The walk offered beautiful high viewpoints from above the blue sea and coastal towns. I did not find the Path particularly difficult at our slow pace. However, with hindsight I would have avoided the 1500 steps down to Positano which come after the Path, and instead taken the local bus that avoids the steps and which was available as an option on our trip. After the spectacular high views from the Path, the downhill steps were a slog that took a toll on my calves ! Other highlights included the Herculaneum ruins that offered a fascinating history lesson (the town was destroyed by the Vesuvius eruption that also took out Pompei). The local guide here was excellent. Herculaneum is smaller but less-visited than Pompei. Also, the many beautiful, coastal viewpoints, for example from Villa Cimbrone in Ravello, and the top of the chair-lift on Capri. And another mention for the dinners at the Hotel Due Torri !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo, who was born in the area, was a knowledgeable, friendly and helpful guide for whom nothing was too much trouble. Plenty of inside knowledge of places to visit, and eat lunch. He even arranged local transport and an itinerary for our Capri visit, which was listed as self-guided in the trip notes.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The coastal towns and Capri can get hot and crowded in summer. Pompei (an option for the 'free-day') can be crowded with cruise ship tourists. The Herculaneum ruins are quieter. Use walking poles on the Path of the Gods. Expect to eat too much. Try the local wines and beers. It is a busy trip, but that is a good thing !
  • Reviewed June 2018
    mick fincham

    Up and down

    A full week of trips and endlessly up and down the narrow switchback roads down to the coast. Herculaneum was a highlight as was the back streets of Naples in the pouring rain! Much too hot for the ascent of Pompeii. The Path of the Gods was awe inspiring though not the easy walk it was described as ...…...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were spectacular !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo is very knowledgeable and is passionate about his country. The group was a little too big for him especially on the Path of the gods.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Look out for the price of pizzas in Naples! The price on the menu is not what the cost will be...…….

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think the Path of the Gods walk was a bit too hard for a trip rated as leisurely.
  • Reviewed June 2018
    Paula Guyver

    Wonderful archaeological sites

    Herculaneum and Pompeii were outstandingly good, seeing the artefacts in the Museum at Naples helped put the earlier visits into context. Walking to the top of Vesuvius was fantastic and seeing Capri was wonderful. Amalfi and Ravello were also very enjoyable and deserved four stars. I felt the Path of the Gods walk had no place on this trip (perhaps only as an option for those who wanted to do it?). I did not the think the strenuous nature of the walk was adequately explained and an overall rating of 'leisurely' for this holiday certainly does not apply to the Path of the Gods. Several of our group would not have done the walk if they had known what it would entail. Positano was lost on me because by the time I had completed the walk I was hot, tired and dusty and not in the mood for sightseeing or shopping. I felt the rest of our day in Naples could have been better spent elsewhere.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Herculaneum and Pompeii - they were the reasons I booked the trip and they more than exceeded my expectations.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo's passion and love for his country is obvious and his energy and enthusiasm were impressive. We were a difficult group for him - a large group with two fallers on the Path of the Gods both of whom needed medical attention and stitches. I think he struggled to look after us all on that day - possibly the group was just too large for one person to manage? Although I think he did his best in difficult circumstances.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The pace of this holiday is marked as 'Leisurely'. The Path of the Gods is not leisurely and after our trip, that happened to coincide with the visit of two of the directors of Exodus, they will hopefully consider reassessing and reclassifying the description of the day spent on the Path of the Gods. There is a lot of walking on this trip and very little down time.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Paula for her feedback. We are, however, sorry to learn of her concerns about the activity level of this tour. We have been running this itinerary for over 5 years with the same programme, which includes the Walk of the Gods as well as a short walk up to Mt Vesuvius, and the feedback we receive is normally very good. Following Paula’s group’s experience, however, we have updated the way our trip notes describe the overall trip difficulty, the terrain and the level of fitness required, to make sure our clients are prepared and aware of what to expect; and leaders will keep groups together during the most difficult section of the paths.  Marta Marinelli – Product Manager for Italy

  • Reviewed September 2017
    Jim Clarke

    Amalfi Experience

    A super trip to experience many different features of the Amalfi coast ranging from its mountain villages and history down to its fashionable resorts - a real contrast.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 'Walk of the Gods' gave a real taste of rural life in remote communities coupled with absolutely stunning views of the coast from on high making the clash with the hustle and tourist Mecca of Positano all the greater. The scheduled visit to Herculaneum and Vesuvius made the trip to Pompeii on the free day all the more relevant and well worth doing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was charm itself, helpful and concerned for all, he took real care of the group and was an excellent guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that in August whilst Italy can be very hot, with sensible precautions it is perfectly manageable. The village of Bomerano has basic shopping facilities along with some nice restaurants and cafes in the square but allow for the fact that the afternoon siesta is rigorously adhered to as far as the shops are concerned. On the day of departure you will not leave until 4.00pm so plan to do something with the time available; a leisurely coffee/lunch is well and good but allow time to walk up to the forest viewing platform overlooking the coast, it is signposted from the main car park in the village and involves a 1 km walk but absolutely worth it and a circular walk on minor roads will bring you back into the village by the hotel.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Enjoy!
  • Reviewed July 2017
    Katie Shilton

    Amazing Amalfi Coast

    An absolutely delightful trip with lots of stunning scenery, great days out, wonderful company and lovely food. The Amalfi Coast is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been - and I have been to a lot of them. There are no long drives on this trip at all which is great but even when you are on the bus the views are so spectacular the journey just flies by. The Hotel Due Torri is a lovely family run hotel with fabulous meals. I particularly enjoyed the optional evening in which we did a bbq as the seafood was divine. They also have a great cocktail menu which most of us took advantage of.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved the Path of the Gods walk as it is just stunning and wasn't as hard as I expected. I enjoyed it so much I would be tempted to go back and do the walking tour as it is a very nice area for walking. On the free day we did walk down to Priaino and Marina Dei Praia which was great as well. Capri is just stunning and I would also recommend going to Villa Cimbrone in Ravello as many of us felt this was a definite highlight.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Severio was a good tour leader. He was a really nice guy and everything ran really smoothly. The only thing I would say is that I would have liked a little more information on some of the places we visited.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go!
  • Reviewed June 2017
    Frances Mee

    Highlights of the Amalfi Coast

    This was an excellent trip in a very beautiful part of Italy. We visited many fascinating places and stayed in a lovely hotel with friendly staff and great food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the Walk of the Gods which was challenging but worth it for the amazing views, the wonderful lunch half-way through and the sense of satisfaction at having made it to the end. Herculaneum was also fascinating to visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Eduardo was a wonderful guide. Nothing was ever too much trouble for him and he made sure that everyone was happy and all their needs met. He had a great knowledge of the local area and imparted it with humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Eating out is quite expensive in Italy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Our return flight was cancelled by British Airways due to an IT crash. We feared we would be left stranded at Naples Airport but our guide arranged for us to return to Bomerano and ensured that the entire group had food and accommodation for as long as necessary. Exodus was wonderful in finding us all alternative flights home. The support we received from Eduardo, Valentina, the hotel staff and Exodus head office was exemplary and helped us cope with a very stressful situation.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106