Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

258 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2019
    Douglas Johnston

    Petra and so much more

    An excellent introduction to a welcoming and fascinating country. There are varied landscapes and fantastic historical sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    So many, Hadrian’s Arch at Jerash, St George’s Church in Madaba (don’t miss the chapel at the rear with the painting of the Madonna and Child with the ‘helping hand’), the Treasury, tombs and Monastery of Petra. I did love Wadi Rum however, it’s a special place.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was Muayad Mesmar. He has great pride in his country and the very few times he didn’t have an answer to our endless questions he quickly found out. He did everything to make our stay enjoyable and ensure that we experienced everyday Jordan as well as the sights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    You’ll need mosquito repellent at Aqaba and the Dead Sea, not too bad elsewhere. We didn’t find the walks at Petra to the Monastery and High Place of sacrifice difficult; but you do need to carry plenty water 1.5 – 2 litres, buy it before you go in.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We felt totally safe the whole time we were in Jordan; and the people are very friendly.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Gillian Hoile

    A week in Jordan

    An excellent itinerary which was varied and interesting. Plenty of history with good hotels and excellent food. The local people were friendly and helpful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Entering Petra with the magnificence of the Treasury. Also the jeep safari in Wadi Rum.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed Aziz had an excellent knowledge of the history of Jordan however he was rather disorganised regarding timings and there were far too many coach stops which were unnecessary and resulted in a delay to significant sights such as The Dead Sea.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    All forms of clothing are allowed in Jordan(shorts are fine). We did not even have to cover our heads when entering religious sights however I would recommend a headscarf for the jeep safari and warm clothes for the overnight stay in the desert.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Please be aware that there are only 2 toilets in the desert for women and these were not cleaned! You need to bring wipes to wash with or a towel for a shower although I would not recommend this as the floors in the toilet block are dusty and dirty. I would suggest that the toilets are cleaned from a hygiene point of view especially as there were around 13 women in our group!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Nadine Born

    Fabulous trip

    This trip was excellent in every way. The itinerary is very well put together so we saw everything we wanted to. Our guide Muayad was wonderful and really looked after us and is very knowledgeable about his country. The coach and driver were also exceptional.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Viewing The Treasury at Petra for the first time. Witnessing sunrise in the desert on a camel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Maria Branton

    A week in Jordan Oct-Nov 2019

    A full week discovering Jordan from Amman City and the ruins of Jerash, 2 days exploring Petra, Wadi Rum, eating and sleeping at a Bedouin camp, watching the sunset and sunrise. Snorkelling in the Red sea, where sadly the coral is now bleached and floating in the Dead Sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved Petra, so much to see there. The climb to the High Sacrifice was a little tough but so worth it for the view. Wadi Rum was wonderful, very peaceful and lying on the sand seeing the starry night sky was fabulous. Our penultimate night group dinner in Aqaba was fabulous and really should be the last night as dinner at the Holiday Inn on the last night was disappointing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed Aziz was incredible. He kept us on track, informed us of our times, places we were visiting and was a fountain of knowledge in all the places we visited. A kind and caring tour leader who made sure we were all happy, fed and watered. I would thoroughly recommend a tour with him as your guide. Our driver was patient and helpful throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive a day early in Amman, as the flight on Royal Jordanian gets in very late. That would give you time to acclimatise and settle in. Don’t expect everything to work like clockwork. The Middle East does not operate that way...but you will achieve everything you have been promised. Just relax and enjoy every moment of this great journey.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Holiday Inn Hotel is fabulous but the dinner atmosphere is awful after all the wonderful evenings we had elsewhere. Exodus could consider making the last group dinner with the tour leader as one of the 2 included meals rather than the canteen like buffet on the last night. That left a bad impression and memory with me. Anticlimactic!!
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Maria Branton

    A week in Jordan Oct-Nov 2019

    A full week discovering Jordan from Amman City and the ruins of Jerash, 2 days exploring Petra, Wadi Rum, eating and sleeping at a Bedouin camp, watching the sunset and sunrise. Snorkelling in the Red sea, where sadly the coral is now bleached and floating in the Dead Sea.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved Petra, so much to see there. The climb to the High Sacrifice was a little tough but so worth it for the view. Wadi Rum was wonderful, very peaceful and lying on the sand seeing the starry night sky was fabulous. Our penultimate night group dinner in Aqaba was fabulous and really should be the last night as dinner at the Holiday Inn on the last night was disappointing

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohammed Aziz was incredible. He kept us on track, informed us of our times, places we were visiting and was a fountain of knowledge in all the places we visited. A kind and caring tour leader who made sure we were all happy, fed and watered. I would thoroughly recommend a tour with him as your guide. Our driver was patient and helpful throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Arrive a day early in Amman, as the flight on Royal Jordanian gets in very late. That would give you time to acclimatise and settle in. Don’t expect everything to work like clockwork. The Middle East does not operate that way...but you will achieve everything you have been promised. Just relax and enjoy every moment of this great journey.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Holiday Inn Hotel is fabulous but the dinner atmosphere is awful after all the wonderful evenings we had elsewhere. Exodus could consider making the last group dinner with the tour leader as one of the 2 included meals rather than the canteen like buffet on the last night. That left a bad impression and memory with me. Anticlimactic!!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Karen Walker

    Great trip, fast paced

    Excellent trip. Very fast paced with long days. You don’t arrive until very late the first night and never really catch up. But you see all the highlights of Jordan. October is a good time to go as it’s cooler but still warm (25 degrees)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra. Walk to the High Place and then around the back of Petra is excellent, and easier than The Monastery walk the day before. Floating in the Dead Sea is fun. Good hotels, but often dry so bring some drinks.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good leader, lots of historical knowledge

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When you go to the desert camp you can only take a small bag. Take a torch. You don’t need too much money, there’s not much to buy. Visit the Cave Bar near the reception in Petra (oldest bar in the world), and go to the rooftop bar in the Hilton in Aquaba for good views.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Good trip with lots of variety
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Lorna Huddart

    A very full week in Jordan!

    An amazing week and also a very full week! There were some long days. Our guide Muayad was excellent, very knowledgeable and made things fun (like getting us all to hold hands and close our eyes to walk down the last bit of the Siq in Petra). Saw and learnt a lot, there is far more to Jordan than just Petra. The two days spent in Petra were well worth it. You do travel some long distances so on some days there is quite a lot of time on the coach. Organsiation and hotels mainly worked well. If I had my time over again I would fly out to Amman a day before the trip starts to see more of Amman, and avoid arriving very late and starting very early on the first day. The memories of this holiday will last a long time and we have made new friends.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra, Wadi Rum, the dessert cooked for us in the Palm Court restaurant in Petra.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Muayad was excellent, very knowledgeable, made things fun, especially as it was his first time doing solo guiding for Exodus

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider travelling out to Amman a day early. we arrived at our hotel at abou 1.45am and had to meet our tour guide at 8.00am. We had very limited time in Amman, only saw the Roman citadel and thatre, nothing of the old town. If you have an extra day you can take in the Jordan museum where there is one of the Dead Sea Scrolls. Walking poles would have been useful at Petra - expect to walk a lot there. The walk up to the Monastery is harder than the walk up to the High Place of sacrifice. Good trainers or trekking sandalsare fine for both. Take a torch for the night in the desert. Expect not to have time to change for dinner on at least two nights.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The reason I gave this trip 4 stars not 5 is that we only had a 3 star hotel in Aqaba (and it was a bit grim) not a 4 star as detailed in the trip notes. We also thought the itinerary on the final day was rather poor. We didn't arrive at the Dead Sea hotel until around 3.30pm as we were taken to buy lunch before we got to the hotel and for a shopping experience., The pools and beach shut at sunset (6.00pm) and dinner was booked for 6.45pm. As we had to leave for the flight home at 8.00am the next morning this made the Dead Sea experience rather rushed...it felt a bit like a wasted day. We would have liked to see more of the Dead Sea area, and maybe have gone to Bethany rather than lunch and shopping. However this was still one of the best holidays we have had.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Kate Gale

    A week in Jordan

    Great trip, brilliant tour guide. Would’ve liked the first whole day in Amman and not split between 2 locations. The first few days are very heavy around Christianity (churches etc). Would be nice to see more history of Islam. Had the chance to meet and speak to lots of Jordanian men in the programme - would be nice to have had the chance to speak to some women e.g. at the Bedouin camp

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bedouin camp stay

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic - went out of his way to ensure we had a fantastic trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    As above. Would be good to extend it and include a visit to Israel.
  • Reviewed August 2019
    Sandor Burslem

    A week of incredible contrasts

    A wonderful week encompassing a huge variety of experiences in Jordan, from Bedouin tents to a swimming pool on the edge of the Dead Sea, very well organised and covering a lot of ground.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A toss up between Petra and the Wadi Rum; seeing the Treasury at Petra first appear between the rocks of the Siq probably takes the prize. Also taking in the Grand Canyon-esque view of the Wadi Mujib, of which I'd never heard before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was knowledgeable, great fun and very well organised, e.g. changing the day's activities to take advantage of the cooler morning temperatures.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The heat in the South and the Dead Sea was intense in August, I managed about ten minutes on the beach at the Dead Sea resort before having to go inside. The temperatures were more comfortable in Amman and Jerash. The week has some early starts so take an alarm with you, and in the Wadi Rum camp you'll need a torch to find the toilet block after sunset! The days in Petra are more akin to a walking holiday than pure sightseeing so you will need walking shoes (though you inevitably see people climbing to the High Place of Sacrifice dressed for the beach). Most of the sites visited have people selling postcards and handicrafts etc though it's nowhere near as aggressive as in Egypt.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The night at the Holiday Inn resort hotel at the Dead Sea, though very pleasant, did seem a bit off kilter with the rest of the trip and Exodus's ethos of supporting local businesses and communities, although looking at the surrounding area there perhaps isn't any alternative form of accommodation if you want to experience the Dead Sea.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sarah Parkes

    A jam packed week

    This is a very full trip that means you see the most amount of things in the least amount of time so be aware of this before you book if you’re expecting a leisurely trip! The coach was of an excellent standard, clean spacious and had air con which was essential for some long drives! Plenty of stops too for snacks and to stretch your legs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra lived up to my hopes and then some. I had my reservations about the night in the desert but it was good fun, especially the camel ride and the food was excellent. The mud on the last day at the Dead Sea was great fun too and nice to end a hectic trip on a relaxed note.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was friendly and funny and got us where we needed to be. He was very knowledgable on the history of the areas and gave us time to ourselves. He sourced the most amazing falafel sandwich for 1 dinar that we raved about the rest of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take Sea shoes for the Red Sea Prepare yourself for a long tiring day on day one after your flight. Petra by night gets a bad rep but we went and enjoyed it, certainly helps to be there early though. If I had my time again I’d have extended the trip by one day to relax and enjoy the Dead Sea A’s by the time we arrived and checked in it was 4pm and the pools etc close at sunset and we had an early flight. It was a lovely hotel and would have been nice to enjoy it more.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was reassuring to be met the other side in the airport by a representative who sorted out our visas. I’d be willing to have paid more for a hotel in the Red Sea with a pool as it’s extremely hot... too hot to go to the sea until the evening so we had a lovely rare free afternoon but with not a lot to do so a pool would have been good. Minor point though.