Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

50 Reviews

  • Reviewed March 2020

    Totally fabulous

    We had a full tour with 16 people but our amazing guide Petro Pretorius ensured that everyone had a great experience. I won't repeat everything written in the other reviews - it's all true! You haven't lived till you experience a roadblock of a dazzle of zebra (yes, that's the collective term for them) or meet one of the big five lumbering around a corner in front of your vehicle, eat a 5-star braai meal (bbq but much more) cooked by your hosts in De Rust, gape at the astonishing stalactites in the Kango Caves, gaze from the top of Table Mountain or listen to an ex-prisoner describing life on Robben Island. In a relatively short tour you experience so many different types of scenery, flora and fauna and culture but in manageable chunks. Petro shares her passion for South Africa with you and gives you a full and honest account of the challenges faced by this wonderful but struggling country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Listening to an ex-prisoner on Robben Island. He worked in the kitchens but also studied for a degree while in prison and later became a diplomat. Now retired, he guides trips around the prison. 'This work helps me to heal'. We could ask him any questions we wanted and he answered them all.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petro was truly outstanding. Can't say more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Stay on for a few days afterwards if you can - there is SO much to do and see in Cape Town.
  • Reviewed February 2020

    An outstanding trip

    We were a big group of 15. Everyone got on well. Our leader, Petro Pretorius, was exceptional. Her knowledge was encyclopaedic and she was warm, open & resourceful. At all times we felt safe & confident in her care. She really went the extra mile for us. The food & wine was outstanding and also ridiculously cheap. Our itinerary was well thought out & enjoyable. Accommodation was always clean & well appointed. Accommodation hosts & local people were unfailingly friendly & helpful

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hard to choose between Robben Island, Table Mountain, the wildlife or the township visit. The incredible seafood & wine was up there too

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petro really was a gem. We were so fortunate

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use mosquito spray at night

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An outstanding trip that exceeded our expectations
  • Reviewed February 2020
    Louise Straw

    Garden Route - to Cape Town

    This was my first time as a solo traveler and I had some reservations. I can honestly say that i had a fantastic time. The whole group were so friendly - we had couples and singles - and everyone was incredibly friendly and inclusive. Our guide, Jan, was excellent and went over and above in ensuring the whole group had a wonderful trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is difficult to say what was the most inspirational moment as there were so many different events. The lion looking into my eyes (maybe not quite but it seemed to be), the elephants close by the Land Rover - the fantastic views from Knysna Head - Robben Island - the amazing food - and the friendly people.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I can not praise Jan enough. From first to last he went over and above. What more can i say!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go for it! Enjoy!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was my first time as both a solo traveler and with Exodus however i would recommend this trip and i will certainly be looking to use the company in the future. many members of my group had used the company on a number of occasions - one member was at no 21! The only disappointment was the first accommodation which is in need of an up grade. The itinerary should make more about the culinary experiences along the way - the food was fantastic and i now need to go on a diet! Well done to Exodus and huge thanks to Jan!
  • Reviewed December 2019
    D B

    amazing

    A truly stunning tour of an amazing country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is impossible to select one moment, as the tour is varied from wildlife to scenery. However being so close to lions and elephants , then the dramatic coastline of Titsikamma slightly nudge ahead for me.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petros, simply the best guide ever! Not only is she the guide, she drives the bus as well, her extensive knowledge of her homeland enhanced the trip. She even coped with the unexpected load shedding of power. I felt completely safe in her hands.... mega thanks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just go! Be prepared to put on a few pounds, the food is excellent.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just very pleased that I did this trip. Lovely group of fellow travellers with an experienced guide. Thank you everyone.
  • Reviewed November 2019
    Anita Reddy

    Excellent trip

    Fantastic trip; really well organised and lots to do and see. Sadly poor weather stopped us from getting to Robben Island but other than that trip couldn’t be improved!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    - seeing lions feeding at Schotia - penguins at Boulders beach - climbing to the top of Table Mountain

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jan was fantastic. Very energetic, positive, tried really hard to keep the whole group happy! Not just a leader and driver but also became a friend

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the optional game drive to Schotia - a highlight of the whole trip for me!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I think Schotia should be included in the itinerary as it’s such a key part of the trip. Also, accommodation was mostly excellent but in Cape Town it definitely wasn’t- double check where you’re staying!
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Ian Squire

    Cape Town and Garden Route

    Great time with good company. Our guide Petro was excellent; great knowledge, well organised, safe driver etc. but she became a friend rather than just the guide/trip leader. Great selection of accommodation. Great scenery, wild life and food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing approx 100 elephants in Addo N.P.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take cloths for all weathers. Extend your trip and spend a few more days in Cape town / the Cape Peninsula

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Extending the trip by one more day would give more time to fit in Table mountain and Cape point. We did both on one day (as weather was good for the mountain) which was a bit rushed and did not give us time for the walk down to the new lighthouse and would have liked more time to walk to the beach a Simonstown rather than just the board walk.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Sheila Oliver

    A wonderful trip

    We have just returned from a lovely holiday. There was so much variety - safaris, whale watching, vineyards, penguins, wonderful natural coastal scenery, desert, mountains, history and so much more. The places we stayed were all lovely and different. Our guide, Petro, worked so hard to make sure the whole group enjoyed the holiday. She organised meals for us, told us when we needed to stock up on shopping and gave us good advice on extra excursions and got us up table mountain on the only day we could see it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It is very difficult to pick out one thing - the safari day on the first day was amazing - especially the optional second one which the whole group went on. Perhaps this should be included in the trip as it was so much better in the safari vehicles than the mini bus.The whale watching was excellent too. In a completely different way so was the township tour and showed something of the country which I don’t think we would have seen otherwise. Then there was all the amazing scenery .....

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petro was excellent. She was responsible for everything for 14 of us - driving the bus, explaining everything, making sure we got where we needed to be, making sure we had somewhere to eat in some really lovely and interesting places. She was very cheerful and always helpful and never complained.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to be flexible. There is such variety that plans may have to change. Temperatures are also very varied - more jumpers, long sleeved tops and a cosy jacket would have been useful. Although they are optional some of the best experiences were the optional excursions- the extra safari, whale watching, Robben Island, Table mountain, would have all been a shame to miss. Some extra time in Cape Town after the tour was very worthwhile as there is so much to see there.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just thank you for organising such a good trip.
  • Reviewed October 2019
    Joyce Tinsley

    Garden Route tour

    The usual well-planned and well-organised Exodus trip. A varied and interesting tour in a beautiful country with amazing flora, fauna and spectacular scenery. The only disappointment for me was that in the trip notes, it stated it would be possible to visit a township on the morning before returning to the UK. The trip leader insisted this was not possible. The visit was arranged on the previous afternoon but by then I had already planned to do something else. This was a minor hiccup as I know from my many previous Exodus trips that a degree of flexibility is to be expected.Perhaps this needs amending in the notes to avoid misunderstandings.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Gosh - too many to be able to choose just one but I suppose I did feel there seemed to be a genuine desire from both black and white individuals to make their system work.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Petro our group leader was amazing. Hard working, competent and knowledgeable about her wonderful country. Unfailingly cheerful and nothing too much trouble. Just a point, but I think her South African travel agency could have a hands free PA system in the vehicle. Quite alarming to see Petro trying to manoeuvre the minibus around hair-raising bends and mountain roads with one hand while trying to give us as much information as possible.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go with an open mind and enjoy this wonderful trip.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Joyce for her review and are very pleased to read she had such an enjoyable time in South Africa, with so many inspirational moments. We were concerned to read that she felt the tour leader should have been using a hands-free microphone at times; our local manager has now provided the tour leader with one of these.  John Penge – Product Manager

  • Reviewed September 2019
    Julie Wood

    Garden Route

    I would wholeheartedly echo what Bev Scammel says so eloquently below. This was a fantastic trip with great guides, wonderful scenery, wildlife and we travelled with a lovely group of people. This was our first Exodus trip and I am certain it won't be our last.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a Right whale breaching 22 times during our sunrise whale watching trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Justin and Jan were great, so knowledgable and enthusiastic about their country. Justin looked after us so well, ensuring that we had the best wildlife experiences and amazing food. We really appreciated him sharing the political, economic and social aspects of living in SA today. It was the icing on the cake.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Cards are accepted everywhere but consider taking some cash to cover tipping and some trips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Trip was wonderful, fell in love with Africa and can't wait to visit again.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Bev Scammell

    A truly amazing trip with an outstanding guide

    We choose this trip due to the variety of activities and differing locations and we were not disappointed. Safaris, wild and rugged coast lines, desert, mountains, varied flora and fauna plus an amazing city to finish with. It has something for everyone. It was a well paced trip which packed in a lot without exhausting yourself. Addo elephant park was brilliant and the additional safari to Schotia was a fantastic extra, well worth taking up. We had a bit of a wild, wet, windy time at Tsitsikamma but this did not detract from its immense beauty nor stop us from taking up the opportunity to walk through the forest and spot baboons. Cango caves, ostriches, Mosel bay, wine tasting and De Rust were delightful and Hermanus was certainly a highlight with breaching whales at sunrise. As for Cape Town....quite outstanding and we can’t believe how much we managed to see in a mere couple of days; Signal Hill, Table Mountain, Kirstenbosch gardens, Cape of Good Hope, penguins colony, SimonsTown, Robben island and a township tour plus the waterfront. Totally amazing.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We found the whole trip quite inspirational and have fallen in love with South Africa; its people, culture, plants and animals. If we are only allowed one inspirational moment then seeing whales at sunrise is probably it. However, watching a grumpy buffalo eyeball a young elephant, walking through a forest and coming face to face with a group of noisy male baboons, enjoying the tremendous views whilst walking along the Cape of Good Hope, visiting out first ever warm caves whilst listening to the South African national anthem being sung in the most enchanting manner....etc etc etc! There were a wealth of inspirational moments.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was truly amazing. So much so, that we have just submitted an entry for the 2019 Guide of the Year for him. Justin was exceptional; he has a vast knowledge of his country, its politics, history and culture plus the flora and fauna and is a superb ambassador for South Africa. He was incredibly organised, knew everyone (which meant we as a group were well looked after) was amusing, friendly and very considerate of the needs of everyone. We felt extremely safe in his care and trusted his judgement and advice implicitly, whether it was where to go or what to eat and drink. We also loved his phrases......’cool beans’ ‘Woolworths is just fancy pants Marks and Spencers!’ and some of these will find their way back to England.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take loads of photos to remind you of everything you have done, take binoculars to see views and creatures in more detail, take advantage of all of the trips and opportunities available to you. Layer your clothing.....we went in September and experienced rain, wind and sun and blazing heat all in the same morning. There is an opportunity to have your clothes laundered mid way through the journey so you don’t need to take your entire wardrobe.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We were part of a varied group; ages ranging from 18 to 70 made up of families, couples and singles.......and we had a fabulous time. Sincere thanks to you all plus Justin, Jan the trainee and all the other people we met along the route for making the holiday a truly remarkable experience. If you are thinking of going, just do it!