Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed April 2019
    Lisa Burt-frost

    Trip full of wonder

    Premium Nile trip to fulfil a lifetime of wonder

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Honestly all of the sights, a lifetime of reading about these ancient wonders only to find yourself actually there, walking into the Chambers of a Pyramid, through tombs in the valley of the Kings, even Tomb of King Tut and seeing his mummified remains, wondering around various temples including Karnak, Edfu, Hatshepsut's etc, the workers village trip is a must, and the simply breathtaking Abu Simbel.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had Sayed, his knowledge and passion for all things Egyptian is mind blowing, if you want to learn along the way Sayed is your guide. But he also finds a balance between giving you lots of info but free time to explore as well, nothing was too much trouble and we never felt rushed.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Only down side to this tour is Exodus are still supporting a couple of areas less than positive where animal welfare is concerned, when visiting the temple please do not support the horse and carriage rides this is a barbaric practice and sadly avoidable as for every horse and carriage their is a man trying to earn a living with a Tut Tut, speak to your guide and tell him you want a Tut Tut only, the more of us that do this the less horses will suffer in this practice. Also be aware that if doing the Nubian Village tour which I do recommend request that you only visit a house that does not have a caged Croc, we visited Fifi and her family and had a lovely time, a very confident and spirited young lady with a very clean and welcoming home.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have always wanted to immerse yourself in the real ancient side of Egypt then do consider booking this trip, you won't be disappointed
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Andy Longden

    Sensational sightseeing, but the trip should be longer and better structured.

    Egypt is a stand-out destination, but Exodus needs to review how this trip operates. Group flights were at anti social times, losing a full night of the trip and necessitating extremely early starts. If group flights are used and the excursion to Abu Simbel is taken, 4 of the 8 nights are materially disrupted. Four nights are spent in luxury hotels, but there is virtually no time to enjoy the facilities. This trip should be longer, or at the very least Exodus should have options to extend the holiday both at the start and end of the trip.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    For those interested in ancient Egypt, the sightseeing on this trip is sensational throughout, but you need to stay awake to appreciate it!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tifa was charismatic, experienced and very personable, with good English and historical knowledge. He guided well, given the time constraints we invariably faced. Admin was mildly chaotic, especially over collecting money for optional trips, but we forgive him for that!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Exodus didn't make it easy to pay for optional trips, so we'd advise you carry US dollars to avoid having excessive amounts of Egyptian pounds (you should allow up to $250 per person for these options). Souvenir shopping in Egypt is uncomfortable for tourists due to the amount of hassle - this can feel very intimidating, especially to women. On the other hand, we felt safe everywhere we went, and Egyptians are very friendly, although they will require payment for rendering any kind of service, however minor!! The boat trip is enjoyable, with at least some time to relax and unwind. Unlike other Muslim countries, alcohol (particularly beer) is freely available and inexpensive (also on the boat).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    In summary, if you can manage the sleep deprivation, this is a well guided and interesting trip to Luxor and Aswan, but one day (which only started at 11 am because of the overnight group flight) is way too short to even begin exploring the Pyramids and the rest of Cairo. We also thought that there were too many optional excursions - some of these should have been priced into the holiday. With hindsight, we would have booked a comparable but longer trip with another operator, but we did still enjoy many aspects of the trip, and the excellent company of our group.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jonny Hodgetts

    Memorable

    For my chance to see one of the seven wonders, I got a lot more than I bargained for with even more amazing sights

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing Abu Simble

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic and quirky

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure to take sanitizer

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Worth going
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Graham Mosley

    Ex - dooooss! OK Guys!

    A busy and enjoyable week. With so much to see, all in a week, Tito (leader) kept encouraging us in his inimitable way so that we made the most of our time. There was also, however, some relaxing time on the cruise boat to watch it all sliding past. We were a large (20) and varied group which mixed well. Overall, it was a more enjoyable trip than I was expecting. So, if in doubt, - go for it!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sunsets.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tito was excellent; indefatigable. Always smiling and ready to share his bottomless store of knowledge, both ancient and modern, which he imparted in a lively and engaging manner. In particular, he looked after the group completely but always had an eye to the needs of individuals and small groups. He is a great ambassador for Egypt. - and a really nice bloke!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for early starts on some days - e.g. flight from Cairo to Luxor, Abu Simnel option. But they are worth it. Otherwise, just read the notes. I did do a little background reading on Egyptian history, ancient to modern, beforehand. I'm glad I did this because it gave some perspective to what I was seeing. It made more sense.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It seems that most of the Nile cruisers sail on the same days following similar itineraries. And there are a lot of them.This means that occasionally, when a number of boats hits a temple at the same time, it gets very busy. I couldn't understand why the cruisers don't stagger their sailing dates - it would be better for all concerned, including the desperate stallholders who get hit by surges of tourists. At night the boats moor up side by side, so your cabin window looks onto another boat. It was not a big deal, but it would make more sense to me.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Anne Wilson

    Fantastic but tiring!

    This holiday was wonderful though the first two days were excessively tiring and I'm quite an energetic person! This was because the flight timing plus security clearance plus travel time to our first hotel (incl loss of two hrs)meant we didn't get to our beds until midnight and immediately shifted to very early starts to avoid heat and crowds on day one and to catch a 6am flight on day 2. After that the holiday was just right. It was still busy but calmer and the end of the holiday and cruise gave recovery time. I would suggest ending day 1 after the museum visit..ie .cut out mosque and souk in Cairo. ( Instead go to mosque in Asswan if intro to Islam is wanted and visit the lovely souk there as it was infinitely better...not being so entirely touristy). Alternatively fit Cairo in on the return...as we all changed flights there on our way home...but that might add a day to the holiday which may not suit some.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Cairo museum and the optional trip to Abu Simbel

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tito was excellent. He was very personable and he kept a very mixed group going well on an extremely full trip. He would adapt details to suit peoples needs whilst still looking after the whole party and made sure we saw all the key parts of every site we visited. His knowledge was impeccable. He told us what we needed to know but, when questioned, he demonstrated he knew even more just for the asking. He had to work really hard day after day with a group of 20 to lead through some extremely crowded areas and with lots of optional trips to lead as well but he did it indefatiguably and with unfailing good humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go well rested in the knowledge you will have time to catch up on sleep after day 2!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Lewis Owens

    Bucket list ticked

    This trip covered everything anyone with an interest in Egyptology would want to see. Would highly recommend if you want a comprehensive trip covering all the main ancient sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Karnak Temple and King Tut's tomb.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent and very knowledgeable. Very personable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take small notes, 5, 10, 20's. You will need 5's for public bathrooms and smaller notes for tips. US dollars and Euros are also used widely but ensure they are fresh and non damaged notes.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Andrew Mason

    Nile Cruise 2019

    A whistlestop tour of the main sites in Egypt

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sites like Karnak, Philae, the pyramids at Giza and the Valley of the Kings lived up to all expectations. I also loved cruising down the Nile and watching the world go by - this was my first river cruise and I would do more now.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Teefa was excellent - like having a friend guide you round the sights.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It's not a leisurely trip - there are a number of very early starts and you cover a lot of sites in a week. February is a perfect time to go - it's a very pleasant mid 20s during the day, and cool in the evenings.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I really enjoyed the visit to the Al Azhar mosque in Cairo, a fascinating experience at sunset.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    James Smith

    Nile Cruise - Premium

    Very culturally inspiring trip, with a considerable variety of points of interest. My grandson, Will, said it all: "It was awesome; more than I expected". Our tour guide really had his act together, and kept a close watch on each and every tour member, yet giving them freedom to do their own extra things (like collecting soil samples and geocaching). One big thing I did learn about the aristocracy of the distant past. The top 1% of societies wanted to leave their mark for not only those who followed, but they also made a way that they could attain another life into the future (from their perspective). From what my grandson and I saw and experienced, we now better know that primitive societies were really quite advanced to be able to cut, transport, and assemble what resources were available - stone. Very inspirational trip!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    When we entered Karnak Temple. It took Will's breath away. So massive and well preserved. I believe that was the first temple we visited, and as such, even left a bigger impressions on us.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Achman was very well organized and obviously educated in ancient Egyptian history. He did an excellent job at explaining details, at the same time giving the group an overall impression of the historical, cultural, and religious themes. He also was attentive to special needs of individuals in the group. I have nothing negative to say our tour guide.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    When haggling, start real low. My grandson did and met with success on numerous occasions. Don't worry about vendors getting mad. That's to be expected and part of the game. When passing through a market area on your way to see a famous temple, tomb, of pyramid, keep your head up, eyes on a straight course, and of course hide your wallet. Never let them know you even have a purse or wallet. And the smaller the camera you carry, the less the vendors will bother you. I had a big camera. Mistake. They measure you by what you are carrying and will set prides accordingly. Expect big crowds of tourists, and go with the flow...and don't worry if you have to pay a little to use the John. It's their culture and we are the guests.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Take this trip, by all means, and pay for the additional tours. Abu Simbel was one of the greatest temples we visited. In my case, I paid the extra so I could take photographs. To me, they are personal; Postcards, although likely cheaper, will not give you the memory of what your own photo would.
  • Reviewed January 2019
    John Duffield

    An amazing trip and a fantastic value!

    Loved it.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going up the shaft in the #2 Pyramid. Wasn't expecting what an adventure that would be.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Amazing. Was a step ahead throughout.
  • Reviewed December 2018
    Andrew Walsh

    Absolutely awe inspiring.

    Seeing and standing next to the real thing is unsurpassed by any screen be it 3D or otherwise. Good pace if booking the extra excursion/visits, almost all of which were worth the effort. The cruise part was very relaxing and a welcome break from the grey cold wet xmas hustle.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The monuments were fabulous... 4 thousand years old... still coloured, still there !!! Physically and mentally impressive.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader Sayed was fantastic - enthusiastic, knowledgeable, friendly. He was even prepared to take a few of us out for extra walks in the evening and for meals in restaurants. He really did care. Great bloke.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    DO NOT DO the light show at Phalae - its just rotten. This has not been updated since the day they put it in. Dialogue like some 50's Hollywood black and white film and just playing with the dimmer switch does not constitute a show.! Make sure you have plenty of small change for tips. Be prepared for constant hustling by people trying to sell you souvenirs almost everywhere. You do need to have Egyptian money as some places wont accept anything else but lots of places accept cards and other currency . You can change money on the boat, in hotels.
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106