Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Eve Murdock

    Another great trip with Exodus

    This trip exceeded my expectations in terms of the standard of walks, places we visited and fabulous companions.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved all the walking but the most inspirational was the trip to Treviso. The city was very clean fascinating and interesting. I loved the walled centre and the great guide who showed us around with lots of enthusiasm. In addition, the food stop near the fish market provided delicious lunch and tiramisu.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    What can I say about Vania that hasn’t already been said! I chose this trip because I wanted to travel with Vania again having previously walked the Amalfi coast with a group led by her in March 2018. She is a delightful, professional, friendly and calm person with a great sense of humour, and I joked with her that she was our Mummy and we were her chicks following closely behind. Nothing seemed to phase her and she always had a smile for everyone. She is a credit to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Definitely take insect repellent, even in October, as the little blighters can inflict nasty bites.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Shân Spencer

    Excellent holiday

    We had a very enjoyable holiday walking in the Prosecco hills with Vania who was an excellent guide

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Difficult to choose one moment - we enjoyed the whole trip . There was a varied itinerary with spectacular scenery

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania de Proli was excellent . She had very good local knowledge , was very well organised and looked after the group in a very thoughtful manner throughout the week making sure everyone was comfortable with the walks

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Nothing further . I would thoroughly recommend the holiday
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Rachel Garnett

    Prosecco Hills

    This was our second Exodus walking holiday, having walked in the Amalfi last year. We had a fabulous week exploring an area completely new to us. The Prosecco Hills are truly beautiful - rolling hills backed by the Pre Alps and the Dolomites - stunning! Our group was made up of a great bunch of people who were a lot of fun to spend the week with. A highlight was finding out that Vania was going to be our leader for the week, having first met her in the Amalfi when she was training there. Vania is a lovely leader - thoughtful, fun and was aware of everyone's needs at all times - during the walks, in the restaurants when ordering food etc. Naturally, prosecco featured strongly during the week and we almost felt like experts by the end of the week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were many inspirational moments during our trip - the walk on the last day to Mt Cesen was stunning, as was the beautiful restaurant on the final night. The walk through the vineyards on a very hot day and then finding a prosecco vending machine at our lovely lunch stop was both fun and welcome! Tasting tiramisu in Treviso was a treat. Visiting the family vineyard was great and informative and having the opportunity to revisit Venice on our free day was fantastic.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Vania was an excellent group leader. She was knowledgeable, easy going, caring, smiling and patient - lovely to be around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take layers - although for 6 out of the 7 days we had lovely, warm weather, one day we had rain and thunder so options clothes-wise are essential. In our opinion, this level of walking is not hard-core. There are some strenuous parts, so you can feel challenged at times, but there are also plenty of breaks, so as long as you are reasonably fit you should be absolutely fine.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't hesitate to book! If you love the beautiful outdoors and enjoy other people's company, you are bound to have a great time with other like-minded people.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sarah Davey

    Prosecco Hills

    Vania was the most amazing guide by providing us with the most amazing walks, tailored to everyone's needs. She went above and beyond what was expected of her even on her day and week off afterwards. The only reason I didn't give excellent was because the hotel let you down. With it closing for refurbishment, a lot of facilities were not available like the restaurant and the rooms were shabby and some items were not working. IE. The safe and shower in my room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She is the best. Warm, kind, thoughtful, very social, accommodating, and goes beyond the call if duty. I went specifically on this trip, that week to walk again with Vania. I walked with her in Amalfi last year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose a trip with Vania.
  • Reviewed September 2019
    Sarah Davey

    Prosecco Hills

    Vania was the most amazing guide by providing us with the most amazing walks, tailored to everyone's needs. She went above and beyond what was expected of her even on her day and week off afterwards. The only reason I didn't give excellent was because the hotel let you down. With it closing for refurbishment, a lot of facilities were not available like the restaurant and the rooms were shabby and some items were not working. IE. The safe and shower in my room.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The walks on Monday, Wednesday and Friday.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She is the best. Warm, kind, thoughtful, very social, accommodating, and goes beyond the call if duty. I went specifically on this trip, that week to walk again with Vania. I walked with her in Amalfi last year.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Choose a trip with Vania.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Julia Burchell

    Prosecco Hills

    My first Exodus trip and I wasn’t disappointed. Very well organised with excellent variety each day. Beautiful walks in an amazing landscape. I wanted to know more about Prosecco and on this tour you will do just that with tasting opportunities. Both wine tasting events were a joy with excellent food.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Having walked for couple of hours in an undulating landscape and reaching our lunch stop we sat eating our simple packed lunch looking down on endless vineyards basking in the heat of the day. Perfect...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    She was pleasant, leading the walks with patience and she had good knowledge of the area. She was sometimes uncommunicative and didn’t want to engage in conversation but upon reflection this may have been self preservation in that with one tour after another she had to pace herself.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take insect repellent! The hotel does not have a restaurant.
  • Reviewed July 2019
    Peter O’Gorman

    Walking the Prosecco Hills

    The group of 15 people were good as we all got on well with one another. The Hotel Villa Soligo at Via Marconi Soligo, from the outside it looked impressive & from the entrance & reception also. It had 4 floors & my room 302, as well as others was on the top floor. However I paid a supplement of £190 not to share & have own room & expected a larger room than size actually given 3m x 4m with bathroom attached that had brown old fashioned wall tiles. My toilet seat & rim came off on the first night as the fittings were loose. Toilet stayed like that all week despite daily bed & bathroom maid attendants. There were no tea - coffee facilities in the room for late night refreshment. Instead you had to go down to reception & pay Euros 3:5 for tea plus drinks at other cost should you need them. My air conditioner was faulty & reported twice with receptionist, they visited the room & tried it however it ran for 2-3mins & stopped each time. Breakfast selection was limited cold meat, cheese, yogurts in pots, bread, croissants & strange very thin bacon slices & egg. There tea bags were compared to uk tea very week, I used 3 per cup & milk was not fresh milk & small selection of fruit in a bowl. It lacked a larger choice for daily walkers who needing to have a substitute start to the day. Also no restaurant in the hotel, at breakfast or other times sitting outside you were lucky if you didn’t get pigeon droppings on you as these were many on the room window ledges above where the seating area was situated. Swimming pool maintenance was poor as many insects were floating on the surface, also found scorpion in the water, plus water level on my last 3days was low. Meaning you could stand in the deep end & water was only waist high !! Limited number of restaurants 2, within walking distance of hotel & no shops other than pharmacy across the road & further on ice cream & cake shop.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The winery visit called San Gregorio. The owner has 5 daughters & the oldest girl, was so pleasant & welcoming in her presentation. Always with a smile giving full information on the vines & production process. To tasting the selection of Prosecco from basic to the superior DOCG Brut & table laid out with plenty of food between tastings.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Group leader : name Serena She was uninspiring & seemed distant most of the time & never fully engaging with the group or telling us when on the coach as it past through villages or small towns any of there names. On the coach she very rarely spoke about the scenery or towns & seemed to be always on her mobile phone as she sat on the coach front next to the driver both talking to one another in Italian. Also on the walks there was little conversation between her & the group as she rarely volunteered information about the walk or scenery we were passing through, we had to ask her questions & I felt most of the group didn’t bother as she was distant & lacked engagement.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Each group to try & see if they can get better team leader & improvement from Hotel There is only 1-2, restaurants within walking distance of hotel No actual tourist shops close by Has pharmacy across the road from hotel Taxi service from hotel is limited & expensive as I found out having to return to airport to collect my lost luggage .. BA & baggage in Venice airport despite many phone calls, never answer then ... hence taxi back to airport euros 150 rtn.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Hotel to have restaurant Rooms to have tea & coffee with milk Breakfasts to show larger selection Interior of hotel including my room maybe others too, were out dated & needs updating Team leader to be friendly & engaging Swimming pool needs regular cleaning Apart from those niggles the walking was good.

    Reply from Exodus

    Reply from Exodus

    We would like to thank Peter for his review, although we are very sorry that he was disappointed with the hotel, and the tour leader’s performance on this departure. We have used the Hotel Villa Soligo for the past three years and, whilst it generally receives positive feedback from our clients, we constantly review the suitability of our accommodation. In fact, from 2020 due to renovation works taking place at the villa, we will be using an alternative 4-star hotel which we are confident will deliver great service and standards. We regret that Peter was disappointed with the leadership on this tour. Serena is a very experienced and knowledgeable tour leader, who has led for Exodus for three years, during which time she has excelled in the role and always received excellent feedback above our global average. However, we will continue to closely monitor the feedback we receive from clients who join her trips to ensure that she is meeting our expectations on every departure she leads. Marta Marinelli - Product Manager

  • Reviewed June 2019
    John Savage

    Prosecco & walking

    A really fabulous week, great mix of really enjoyable walks, good food, great company, and of course, lots of Prosecco!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I really enjoyed the high level walk in the pre-Alps with great views of the Dolomites, the fine sunny weather, the great Italian food and also learning all about Prosecco.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena was a really great leader and host, looking after the group with great thought and care. Really liked all the little touches - she even selected the music playlist on the bus to suit the day / occasion!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Late June it was really hot on some of the walks, so be prepared for that if travelling at that time of year! Most places were away from the main tourist areas of Italy so very pleasant and uncrowded. Day trip to Conegliano on the free day made a great alternative to visiting Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    One of our very best Exodus walking holidays!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Karen Todd

    Don’t understand this question ?

    Really good trip, great walking, pretty scenery and a good balance of things to do eg. The Prosecco tasting and meals out were a nice balance to just walking. The villa was a little dated but the outdoor area was superb with a beautiful pool. Vania the trip leader was amazing. Her English is faultless, she couldn’t have been more helpful and gave lots of information. She was such a lovely person too and very diplomatic in trying to deal with any concerns. She was a lot of fun and loved by all. she’s a real credit to Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    On the last day we walked through beautiful woods to a high beauty spot where there was amazing views. Vania had carried up 2 bottles of Prosecco so we could have a drink at the beauty spot. That must have beer really heavy in that heat! That was very thoughtful and we all appreciated it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant. (As above).

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you have space in your luggage for the a Prosecco you are likely to buy. If you fancy a more gentle day, the short walk along the river to Pieve di Soligo is very pretty and easy.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Mary Charalambos

    Brilliant, brilliant, brilliant!!!

    From start to finish I could not fault Nordic walking the Prosecco hills of Italy with Exodus. My first Exodus holiday. Our walk leader Serena Cassol was amazing. Her calm approach to the structure of our day was clear and informative. Everything ran smoothly as the day progressed and each day was a new mini adventure with Serena. The Hotel Soligo was spotlessly clean with helpful staff. The private minibus a welcome treat. I felt utterly spoilt. I can’t wait to travel with Exodus again. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing Prosecco vineyards. A delight to experience such beauty across the rolling hills. Visiting Venice on our day off from walking. Soligo is so close to Venice, just 50 mins by train, you would be foolish not to visit.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Serena Cassol was amazingly personable. A calm, organised, knowledgeable leader. We could not have wished for a nicer group leader. Serena structured our day in such a way that each step was an adventure.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Prosecco hills are a delight to walk during the month of May. The weather, however, can be unpredictable so make sure you are prepared for the odd shower!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful holiday which I would love to repeat. Thank you Exodus and the Nordic Walking UK Group.