Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Patricia Arlt

    MEXICO is great !!!!

    My 3rd trip with Exodus and they just keep om getting better !! The itinerary was really diversified and days were all extremely interesting. May was a great time to travel as we missed the rainy spell. Highly recommended!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Quite a few: Archeological sites, cooking course, BIG TREE visit (extra stop bonus), canyon trip, Concote SWIM in sink hole (another extra stop bonus).

    What did you think of your group leader?

    HIGH PRAISE & THANKS!!! Artero was an absolutely fantastic Tour Leader, passionate about his work and devoted to well being and care of his group. Went the extra mile on more than one occasion. Miguel, the Driver, always kind and cautious!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take 100 dollar US Notes. You get better FX rate at the exchanges

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Saving for the next trip !!
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Dennis Jenkins

    Mexico: Mayans, Aztecs and Conquistadores

    This was a very comprehensive tour from Mexico City to the Yucatan Peninsular visiting many amazing archaeological sites, colonial cities, markets, churches and seeing different local products being made. It also gave us the opportunity to sample a wide range of different Mexican foods including a lesson on how to prepare, cook and present a typical Mexican meal. Also interesting to see the varied wildlife and often stunning scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    As always very difficult to highlight just one inspirational moment in such a varied trip but the optional visit to the Sumidero Canyon which also included a visit to the Mayan community of San Juan Chamula, particularly witnessing some of the pre hispanic ritual in the church.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arturo was excellent in every way. His knowledge of his country, which he obviously loved, was phenomenal and he was always cheerful, enthusiastic and always showed great concern for the welfare of all the group. A first class tour leader!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for long days and some early starts as distances are generally quite large or in the case of some of the mountain roads, quite slow. The trip notes do make this quite clear. I would strongly recommend the optional excursion to the Sumidero Canyon and visit to the local Mayan communities.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Accomodation was generally very good in terms of location and character with some delightful colonial establishments. Although the trip is classified as "Leisurely" and it is entirely optional to climb the pyramids at the pre Hispanic sites, with the early starts, long days and with some of the places visited at medium altitude, I would think the classification should be "Leisurely/Moderate" as the tour is certainly"Full on". Again, this is outlined in the trip notes in which case I would question the "Leisurely" classification. I would also recommend may be extending the trip by staying 2 nights in Campeche rather than just 1 night. Campeche is an interesting city with a calm atmoshere and would give some relaxation after the long drive the day before from Palenque
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Donna Heinle

    Mexico tour

    The title of this tour describes the itinerary. We explored archaeological sites galore, toured historical city centers, visited local artisans, and ate lots of Mexican (and some Mayan) food. The hotels were all comfortable, and the baños mostly had toilet paper and soap. We had opportunities to swim and to visit a cenote.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking into the church at San Juan Chamula with its thousands of candles ablaze.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arturo was our professor, our concierge, our maitre d'hotel, our friend. It was a pleasure to explore Mexico with him as our guide. He's the best.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The first week of the trip is spent in areas at relatively higher altitude, so the weather was cooler than I expected. With the second week, we hit warm weather. I found my walking sticks helpful for climbing the pyramids at the archaeological sites. Comfortable shoes, of course, are also important.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Michele Jones

    Good introduction to Mexico

    Good introduction to Mexico , combining culture, history and scenery.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Mayan sites

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arturo was, quite simply, excellent. He has immense empathy, knowledge, good humour and patience. His command of English, including technical archaeological and geological terms, was outstanding. He also looked after me very, very well when I had a slight altercation with a park bench!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would have liked to have had more opportunities for sampling street food and maybe a free day in Oaxaca.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    kathy tuggey

    Super trip exceeding expectations

    Saw so much of Mexico including Day of the Dead Festival. Lots of fantastic scenery, culture and history not to mention food and art. Be prepared for some long days and windy, mountain roads.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Loved swimming in cenotes which was added to the tour as well as Frida Kahlo house and the Mayan sites.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Arthuro couldn’t do enough for the group and had extensive and humour!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Booked group flight via Washington and on reflection should have booked my own flight either direct or via non US hub. Transfer queues were worse part of holiday!
  • Reviewed April 2018
    R. Perry

    So much to see!

    Our first Exodus trip, and first time in Mexico. Hugely enjoyed the experience, and saw so much more than we could have managed under our own steam. Nice mixture of ancient sites, colonial history and Mexico today.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Turning around at the top of the pyramid in Cholula to see the sun set behind Popacatepetl - magical!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arturo was an excellent, knowledgeable and careful guide, who made the whole trip very special.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Keep a daily diary - you see SO much, it is easy to mix up your memories!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I'm looking forward to my next Exodus trip!
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Prue Losada

    Mexico: Mayas, Aztecs & Conquistadores

    This is an epic journey through Mexico to see the ancient sites and to get a flavour of the country, its beautiful colours, its friendly people and its delicious food. Although we spent a lot of time on the road between locations (and some were very windy through the Sierra Madre mountains) we always made stops along the way to visit places of interest, have lunch and plenty of stops for the banjos!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Frida Kahlo's house was somewhere I had looked forward to visiting, and it didn't disappoint. I also loved all the ancient sites, but Palenque was my favourite, due to its setting. Our cooking class in Oaxaca was excellent, ending in a 6 course lunch of all the food we had chosen and helped to prepare. The optional boat trip in the Sumidero Canyon is a must - we had gone early and that meant we were virtually on our own for the outward journey and for stopping to look at the wildlife. Some of the hotels we stayed in were exceptional but sadly at those for only one night. Likewise the restaurants our guide took us to were excellent. The final treat of my holiday was a swim at the cenote (sink hole) on the last morning. Was extremely refreshing on a very hot day and I would definitely recommend it.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arturo was a fantastic tour guide. Nothing was too much trouble for him, and he looked after us so well and thought of absolutely everything and always had with him anything we might need, from extra water, to suncream, to anti-mosquito repellent to travel sickness pills ahead of what he knew would be a very windy route, for which I was most grateful! He was extremely knowledgeable about the history of everywhere we went; he would always dine with us (apart from a well-deserved couple of nights off) and he was very outgoing and had a great sense of humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just be prepared for long journeys and for it being chilly some mornings in the high locations before the sun comes up. Take most or all of your money in Mexican pesos. I had too many dollars and was having to change them, which was sometimes a very lengthy process. Some of the smarter restaurants/hotels did accept credit cards.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would suggest to Exodus that they extend the trip to either a 2.5 or 3 week holiday so that you could really enjoy the best hotels/locations and make it a more relaxing holiday. Then setting off VERY early in the morning when heading for the next location would be ideal so that you got to the next destination in daylight and before sunset.
  • Reviewed March 2018
    Phyllis Ryan

    Mexico: Myans, Aztecs & Conquistadors

    An excellent experience. We saw so many Mayan sites, and learned a lot about Mexico's history in general.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The experience of seeing some of the ancient sites, even from as far back as 200-500 years BC. I thoroughly enjoyed roaming around, and climbing up these pyramids.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Arturo was a very good leader. He knew so much about his local history, and passed on his knowledge with humour and a great sense of pride.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for mosquitoes. Although it wasn't Malaria season, I still got bitten. Take a good repellent with you.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
Call us on +91 80 4213 6106