Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Mary McGrath

    Loved every minute....

    The Azores is a must see destination - beautiful islands and close encounters with marine mammals .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sperm whale and dolphin encounters and flying fish !

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nuno was the best tour guide I have ever had the pleasure of meeting. Clear information and guidance , an expert in his Azorean roots and environment but most of all the most kindest and thoughtful individual. Full of fun but extremely professional. Thank you Nuno!👏🙏

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Action packed trip up and out every day - the ocean trips are up to Mother Nature to deliver but when she does - wow! The sea can be a bit bumpy for some of the boat trips but always safety first so be prepared for long trips about 90 mins out to sea before you see any activity- when you do it’s so worth it!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Great trip with a great guide - well done exodus and Nuno !
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Elizabeth Parker

    Excellent way to visit Croatia

    The previous reviews say it all, a great way to experience Croatia. I had already visited Dubrovnik and Split so for me the mountain hikes were what I enjoyed most especially those in the Paklenica National Park. On the Thursday hike we stopped at a mountain hut for delicious bean soup. Vegetarian choices in restaurants were available and the home cooking at the restaurant on the second evening in Bol was delicious!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views from the mountain tops and the abundance of wild flowers. The waterfalls in Krka National Park were amazing and certainly worth visiting, although very busy with tourists.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our guide Ivan Rakonic was excellent. Very knowledgeable about the geography and history of the country, very friendly, great mountain guide and the bonus of a good sense of humour! He looked after the group very well and made sure everyone was enjoying themselves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Good hiking boots and walking poles to help on the rocky terrain, especially for downhill in the Paklenica National Park.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It would be good to include packed lunches prepared by the hotels which is what I've experienced in past Exodus trips. A great trip, highly recommended!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Heather Franks

    Brilliant week

    We had a really brilliant week - Sara our guide was the best ever and went out of her way to make sure everyone enjoyed themselves and accommodated those who couldn't quite manage to do every walk all the way. She also managed to organise fantastic weather - not wet and not too hot and a great group! The accommodation was in a fantastic location with a lovely outdoor pool. The family were friendly and produced scrumptious home cooked food from local produce.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Watching a golden eagle majestically glide through the air - below us! I decided to simply watch rather than fumble for my camera to get what could have been a fantastic picture but miss the spectacle.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have been on 20-30 group trips with Exodus and other companies over the past 11 years and Sara was one of, if not the, best group leaders I have had. She was always professional and approachable and did whatever she could to ensure our enjoyment.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I was a bit hesitant about booking this trip (activity level 3) as I am "getting on" and having to reduce the activity levels I do. However the walks were easier than I anticipated because of the amount of shaded woods we walked through and a lot of the gradients were more gradual than I expected. We didn't have to do a couple of the tougher end bits to the summit. Both times I (and others) opted out of the summit the group was retracing it's steps and we were able to sit and wait with beautiful views - no hardship!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Lovely get away from it all week!
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Leslie Polidoro

    Love Sri Lanka!

    Hotels, meals all very good. You can tell the country is still developing their tourism business, but they are doing a great job. Unfortunately the bombings will have put a stop on travel there, however I have fallen in love with this country and will be quick to recommend it. Excursions and tours were excellent, I felt like I had a good overall visit to Sri Lanka, yet not enough so I am keen to return.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lion Rock Fortress

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was very knowledgeable, however I found that he tended to poke "fun" at certain people a little more than was necessary. I felt a bit more history and explanations of sites could have been provided "on-site". Most tours were a bit rushed, fine for those in excellent physical condition, difficult for those who were not. I would have rather it was a bit more leisurely when out on site.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a battery pack/charger -- you will want to take alot of pictures and sometimes your camera/phone will not make it through the day. Tip well to all those that help with your journey.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Christopher Lee

    Kilimanjaro Lemosho Route

    The experience fo climbing Kilmanjaro is not to be missed. The walk to basecamp provides ample opportunity for the body to acclimatise to the altitude. The guides are excellent and you walk 'pole, pole' which means slowly and this is the key to success. I cannot fault the support, encouragement and dedication of the guides in ensuring we were successful. The trip passes through so many landscapes, starting in rain forest and seeing monkeys and eventually moving through shrub to a desert landscape. The final ascent is certainly a challenge with the midnight start and the long uphill to the crater rim saps the energy. However, reaching Uhuru peak makes it all worthwhile to be standing on the highest point in Africa.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on the roof of Africa is an achievement for anyone who makes it. Walking at nearly 6000 metres is a challenge but worthwhile.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The support from the guides and our leader JT (Justin Thomas) was outstanding in encouraging and motivating the group to success. In addition James the chef was brilliant in providing a wide variety of meals that helped to sustain our energy throughout the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you intend to do this trip then it is advisable to get plenty of training in, especially in walking up and downhill. Be prepared to 'rough it' when camping in the tents and being a little smelly by the end of the trip.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Catherine Stewart

    Beautiful country.

    Good routes through some beautiful countryside. Some of the uphills are pretty tough but worth it for the downhills. Excellent choice of restaurants, very well organised and well-briefed. The guide coped fantastically as a one-man team - he really needed support from at lead one other Exodus appointed member to share the thinking and organising. Apart from a 1-hour whistlestop tour of Split for those arriving on the scheduled flight, there was no time for exploring the city and NO TIME for the meal that had been given in the Trip Notes - we had to grab a snack to eat on the ferry. Not entirely satisfactory. Hotels were average.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    There were several: the one day trip to Mjlet was definitely worthwhile, but right to keep it as optional as it costs £50 on top of the holiday costs. Korcula was attractive - would have liked to have more time to explore the town. Good to finish in Dubrovnik though it came as a bit of a shock to be amongst hordes of other tourists after the previous off-piste days! Hotel away from the main drag is a very good idea.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Marin was superb! He has a very mature head and a delightful sense of humour. He is extremely well organised and coped with any eventuality in a calm and measured way. We were well-briefed before each day and were given further thorough briefing on each part of the ride. He certainly had the pressure put on him for this trip as he was the only Exodus representative so had to do ALL the thinking and ALL the organising. He seemed to take it all in his stride but it struck me as a huge responsibility. He was constantly having to chase up the driver who was not familiar with the routes and was there to just drive, not support the group leader as would normally be the case. Marin deserves top marks and a bonus for giving us a great holiday and choosing some excellent restaurants.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you want to see Split, go at least a day before. If you arrive on the scheduled flight, take enough food to see you through the evening as the meal before the ferry doesn't exist. Be prepared for higher prices in Dubrovnik (though the restaurant inside the walled city is definitely worth the extra cost). Prices elsewhere were very reasonable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Just a huge 'Thank you' to Marin for guiding us through an interesting week and for giving us all great support. The combination of islands that we visited were well planned. It has made me want to see more - maybe another Exodus trip starting in Split and going North?
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Angela Smith

    Excellent holiday

    It was an excellent holiday. The leader had local knowledge and involved everyone. The hostesses were excellent and prepared some lovely meals.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Exceklent

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ensure you get as much hill walking done before the hokiday

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    No
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Marcia Nash

    Inca Warriors

    Fabulous trip; very well organised and executed by Exodus.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    View of Machu Picchu from Sun Gate

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Awesome. Mike is best tour guide ever. Well organised, efficient, calm in the face of problems, good humoured at all times, great company, knowledgable and informative.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Better exchange rate in Peru than in UK and several bureaux d'echange in Cusco accept sterling, which would save losing twice on exchange rate, so wait until arrival to buy currency if you will have time before setting off on trek. Try to obtain several single sols as most public toilets cost one sol. If you take photos of people they will expect a sol. Don't underestimate amount of tipping: we each tipped support staff (porters and chefs) around 250 sols between them and the assistant guide around 80 sols for the 4 day trek. We each tipped the main guide about 150 sols, which was recommended by Trip Adviser and on the assumption that he got paid more by Exodus but, with hindsight, perhaps we should have given him more given how hard he worked and how much value he added to the whole trip. A lightweight lamp for your tent would be useful as there isn't much daylight left when you arrive at camp and you get up in the dark. A headtorch is essential and either a spare or spare batteries. I think more people who didn't take Diamox felt unwell than who did so, on balance, I would say take it. I wouldn't recommend coca leaves, though, as I suspect they gave me a headache (and they taste disgusting). We had the opportunity to leave stuff at the hotel in Ollantaytambo whilst on trek and pick it up after the trek before going onto Aguas Callientes, where we spent 2 nights instead of 1 because of a rail strike, so it is probably worth leaving a set of clean clothes there. Eating out is very good value. Meals at non-touristy restaurants cost under 50 sols including a drink. Touristy restaurants c 70-80 sols, including a drink. A local beer costs 6-8 s, a glass of wine or pisco sour 15-20 s. If you want to try guinea pig, do so at the restaurant recommended by the tour guide. Alpaca is good at most restaurants. Souvenirs at markets are good value. I think I spent 1300 sols in total, including 5 hats and a scarf, meals and tips.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would highly recommend doing this trip with Exodus
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sandeep Dhoot

    Wonderful Experience

    Highly recommend this trip, not only for the varied walks and wonderful views but for the brilliant chalet hosts and group leader. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Chalet Chocolat. Thanks to Zoe and Ben for looking after us really well with faultless home-cooked food and for cultivating a comfortable atmosphere at the chalet. They were also a great source of knowledge about the local area of Chamonix in terms of food recommendations and things to do on our 'free day'. Our group leader Shaun handled our group of people with varied abilities very well, provided local knowledge and pointed out different peaks and points of interest as we encountered them on our hikes. Shaun's experience came in very handy when certain planned routes needed to be adjusted to account for sudden changes in weather conditions during our walks.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The amazing views and varied paths on the hiking routes
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Katherine Morgan

    A great trip full of variety.

    A very busy trip with so much to see, it was my first time in Russia and this trip is an excellent introduction into its history.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I enjoyed Suzdal and Vladimir, a pleasant change from the big cities, a great opportunity to see some of the old Russia. The churches were all amazing.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Artem was excellent, very well organised, thorough and extremely patient ensuring all our needs were met. Local guides were also good.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light! The hotels never offer assistance with bags etc. Would also suggest an extra day in Moscow which we did, the group day was a bit rushed as there was so much to see.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you do the St Petersburg extension, which I highly recommend, make sure you take a direct flight there. We didn't and our luggage didn't come with us so we spent the first three days in our travel clothes.
Call us on +356 21423994