Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed August 2019
    Sandor Burslem

    A week of incredible contrasts

    A wonderful week encompassing a huge variety of experiences in Jordan, from Bedouin tents to a swimming pool on the edge of the Dead Sea, very well organised and covering a lot of ground.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    A toss up between Petra and the Wadi Rum; seeing the Treasury at Petra first appear between the rocks of the Siq probably takes the prize. Also taking in the Grand Canyon-esque view of the Wadi Mujib, of which I'd never heard before.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was knowledgeable, great fun and very well organised, e.g. changing the day's activities to take advantage of the cooler morning temperatures.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The heat in the South and the Dead Sea was intense in August, I managed about ten minutes on the beach at the Dead Sea resort before having to go inside. The temperatures were more comfortable in Amman and Jerash. The week has some early starts so take an alarm with you, and in the Wadi Rum camp you'll need a torch to find the toilet block after sunset! The days in Petra are more akin to a walking holiday than pure sightseeing so you will need walking shoes (though you inevitably see people climbing to the High Place of Sacrifice dressed for the beach). Most of the sites visited have people selling postcards and handicrafts etc though it's nowhere near as aggressive as in Egypt.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The night at the Holiday Inn resort hotel at the Dead Sea, though very pleasant, did seem a bit off kilter with the rest of the trip and Exodus's ethos of supporting local businesses and communities, although looking at the surrounding area there perhaps isn't any alternative form of accommodation if you want to experience the Dead Sea.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Sarah Parkes

    A jam packed week

    This is a very full trip that means you see the most amount of things in the least amount of time so be aware of this before you book if you’re expecting a leisurely trip! The coach was of an excellent standard, clean spacious and had air con which was essential for some long drives! Plenty of stops too for snacks and to stretch your legs.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra lived up to my hopes and then some. I had my reservations about the night in the desert but it was good fun, especially the camel ride and the food was excellent. The mud on the last day at the Dead Sea was great fun too and nice to end a hectic trip on a relaxed note.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was friendly and funny and got us where we needed to be. He was very knowledgable on the history of the areas and gave us time to ourselves. He sourced the most amazing falafel sandwich for 1 dinar that we raved about the rest of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take Sea shoes for the Red Sea Prepare yourself for a long tiring day on day one after your flight. Petra by night gets a bad rep but we went and enjoyed it, certainly helps to be there early though. If I had my time again I’d have extended the trip by one day to relax and enjoy the Dead Sea A’s by the time we arrived and checked in it was 4pm and the pools etc close at sunset and we had an early flight. It was a lovely hotel and would have been nice to enjoy it more.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was reassuring to be met the other side in the airport by a representative who sorted out our visas. I’d be willing to have paid more for a hotel in the Red Sea with a pool as it’s extremely hot... too hot to go to the sea until the evening so we had a lovely rare free afternoon but with not a lot to do so a pool would have been good. Minor point though.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Colin Billings

    A great week in Jordan

    A very busy week however we saw a lot in the limited time

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The two days in Petra , the treasury then the monastery and the high places ab

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Abdullah was excellent Very knowledgeable, organised and sociable

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Next time i would take my own mask and snorkel for the Red Sea to make sure it fits properly . Take advantage of the donkeys and horses available in Petra , they save a lot of walking
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Joanne White

    Great week packed with fabulous experiences

    All the highlights of Jordan in one week - it is a very busy week with full days and relatively early starts but it is worth the effort. Not a dull moment.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We loved the 2 days hiking in Petra, there is so much to see. However, we felt that Wadi Rum was perhaps more inspirational ....if only the dust clouds had behaved and allowed us to have a sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was excellent. Very friendly and knowledgeable and really understood how to manage a diverse group without being heavy-handed in any way at all. He struck the right balance of being informative without overloading us with facts. He is a real asset to Exodus.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The climb to St Catherine's monastery is pretty daunting at 800 steps in hot weather but don't allow this to put you off the trek on day 2 at Petra, which is easier and spectacular.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There is a lot squeezed into this trip and you feel ready for some R&R at the end of the week. It was quite a long drive to get to Aqaba and felt a lot of effort for just a couple of hours on the beach. I would not have been disappointed if Aqaba was not in the itinerary.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    sarah strachan

    fine

    Excellent week. Really well organised interesting sites.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was exceptional as a guide. Really friendly, knowledgeable, professional and friendly. Nothing was too much trouble for him. He worked really hard to make our trip run really smoothly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Ask for Ibrahim as a group leader

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was such a good mix of ages in the group everyone got on really well. Thank you
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Louise Mattison

    A wonder of the world, sun, sea and sand - this trip has it all!

    Having just returned from Jordan and reflecting back on my week away, I feel it has been one of the best trips of my life so far. The tour has been created to have a very varied, yet well balanced itinerary consisting of the capital, Petra - a new wonder of the world, the desert, the Red Sea and the Dead Sea. It cannot be argued that this is a relaxing holiday, there is a lot of travelling and a couple of long bus days (though nothing too overbearing and always well broken up with plenty of stops and sites along the way) and the number of included activities means you will fill like you've seen the whole country in a week! But it's brilliant fun, and the opportunity to see all the main sites and the stunning scenery will mean you'll be happy to rest once you get home! Jordan is a fabulously and I feel underrated country. Despite being situated in an area of the world which has had some problems, Jordan is forunate to be a safe and easy to travel country. As a solo female traveller I didn't have a single moment of my trip where I felt uncomfortable or unsafe. The people were welcoming, the weather was perfect (not too hot but sunny every day) and the sights far surpassed my expectations. If you are considering visiting Jordan, you can't beat this trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Two days to explore and hike Petra. It's such a fantastic and fascinating site, and far, far larger than I expected. I'm glad the itinerary permitted two full days here as one day would have felt rushed.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was a brilliant leader. Clearly very experienced, he was enthusiastic, knowledgable and most importantly looked after us and made us feel very comfortable. I've done many similar group tours over the years, but never with Exodus before, and I think he was one of the best leaders I've had.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a solo female traveller some of my friends and family were surprised when I told them of my decision to visit Jordan. But I couldn't have felt more comfortable. Exodus take care of you right from the moment you step off the plane, and the people I met and travelled with couldn't have been lovelier. I was in a group of 20, a mix of ages, both couples and single travellers and we are got along brilliantly, having group dinners every night and staying in touch post trip. Ibrahim, our leader, was fantastic and took brilliant care of us. I can honestly say I have no issues and the trip couldn't have gone better.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Katherine Lucarotti

    A marvellous trip crammed into a week

    A wonderful trip with a fabulous guide and great travel companions. I wasn't sure about doing a tour as I usually travel independently. This time, I didn't have time to plan logistics, learn Arabic (though most do speak some English), or manage/research all the destinations, and I only had a week of time off, so I decided to try a pre-organised trip with Exodus to a place I've always wanted to visit. So glad I did. I learnt about Roman cities by walking amongst the pillars, I marvelled at mosaics away from the distractions of the 9-5, I climbed up rocky out-crops formed of incredible reds and oranges, I learned about the Nabateans and the Mamlucs and the Bedouin and the history or a tumultous region steeped in history for thousands of years. Not only do you get to explore Petra and Wadi Rum, float in the Dead Sea, snorkel in the Red Sea, admire Jerash and Madaba and Karak Castle and the flowers in the desert (in April) (thanks to our guide for hunting out the end of season black irises), but you get to taste local food (delicious Shawarma and Falafel) sip delicious mint concoctions, and hear about day-to-day life in world full of refugees, intense politics, history and conflict on all sides. Things come to life when you are in the landscape. Thank you.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sitting on a sand dune in the desert of Wadi Rum watching the light change.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fabulous group leader - highly recommend Jihad.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Really look at the weather forecast before you go. It can be cold and wet in Jordan (North and Middle) in Spring, even though it will also be hot in Aqaba, Wadi Rum and the Dead Sea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Recommended for people who want to cover a lot of ground in a short time. It is quite an intense itinerary so not the right trip if you just need to relax or potter about. It's great for people interested in civilisations, nature and the Middle East. Even if you don't know a lot about history, this place brings it to life. It is spectacular.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Andy Sealy

    Tailormade a week in Jordan

    A week in Jordan fly into Amman and transferred to a hotel for the night then travel along the kings highway towards Petra via Mt Nebo , Madaba and Kerak. Two full days to explore the sights of Petra visit little Petra quick visit to Aquaba (for supplies ) Wadi Rum desert, four wheel drive and two nights in Bedouin camp along with one day hiking through the desert. visit and swim in the dead sea staying at a 4 star (5 star I think ) hotel

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I cant single one inspirational moment as they all were but if I really had to then it would be the sunset in the desert Wadi Rum

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Ibrahim was fantastic from the moment he picked us up at the airport till the moment he dropped us off there he looked after us really well. Anything we wanted he was there for us. he gave us all the information and more that we needed to complete our trip. He made sure every guide we had was the best and helped us understand the countries customs and language. I would absolutely recommend him to any of my friends that are planning to visit Jordan

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Yes please do not think of Jordan as a country in the middle east or in an area of trouble as it is so much more than that. It has a very western European outlook and the people are so friendly and they actually believe they are half English and have Jordanian. Our trip has open all of our eyes to a completely different view of the middle east. go and see for yourselves I promise you , you will be blown away with how friendly and open this country really is.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would like to take this opportunity to thank your team for a brilliantly organised trip in Jordan, it was everything we expected and more. From the plane flight , transportation , hotel accommodation , dessert camp , guides all facilities it was the best organised trip we had been involved with. Our Guide Ibrahim delivered us the perfect package even showing us more than was planned on the ternary without effecting timings. He sorted us out with the best guides in Petra , Dessert, and all through out our trip. We would thoroughly recommend Exodus Travels for Jordan trips and as we have also been on a trip before climbing Mt Toubkal 2018 would recommend this as well. We will be looking to book another challenging trip soon on the back of these two excellently organised ones. Again thank you for a great trip please pass this on to all involved.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Christine Ralph

    AXW 130419

    An excellent trip. Well organised and operated.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking down on Petra and realising the extent of the site and the awesome achievements of the inhabitants over the ages.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jihad Abu-Zahra was amazing - knowledgeable, entertaining, helpful, patient - everything you would want in a guide. In addition he helped me when I had a medical problem - sorting out medical help, to which he accompanied me, translating and explaining as necessary - a real support. Nothing was too much trouble for him - he is to be highly commended. Thank you Jihad for a wonderful trip.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Andrew Stoter

    Excellent view of a fascinating country

    Great overview of a fascinating country. While physically not demanding there is a lot to squeeze in so expect a lot of travel and early starts. Petra is one of the few places that lives up to expectations and the desert camp was excellent, even the last two days, which have a slower pace and allow you to set your own pace were a pleasant surprise (especially the quality of the last hotel).

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Petra and the hike to the 'high place of sacrifice'. Well worth the effort, even on a windy day. Although surprise of seeing the stars in the desert came a close second.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Guides knowledge and reading of the weather helped ensure we got the best of Petra despite a storm and hail on day two. Friendly and used local knowledge and experience of the tour to keep as well fed on a budget.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Have layers available, days can be sunny, but in March we had some cold windy days and even hail (plus night in the desert can be chilly). Not everyone had enough long sleeved clothing. Its a Muslim country, so don't expect to be able to buy alcohol with most meals and if you find a bar it's often London prices or higher.
Call us on +356 21423994