Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

152 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2019
    Andrew Moncrief

    “The best tour so far”

    A really enjoyable trip with a charismatic tour leader, and superb scenery, wildlife and food. The support team were great, always trying their best to look after you, and the driver had nerves of steel negotiating the chaotic traffic. Sri Lanka has emerged from some dark times, and is once again a terrific place to visit, with great variety and vibrancy and a lovely, friendly vibe. Plenty of smiles and high-fives as you ride through the landscape, shouts of “Bye!” Following you down the road.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic, often unexpected, wildlife encounters! Seeing how elated my wife was after becoming Queen of the mountain at Nuwara Eliya ! (Good battery life!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Top man! Suresh was a great guide, knowledgeable and organised to a fault, forever considering the needs and preferences of the individuals in the group. For example, knowing I was keen to get in the waves, he arranged an early morning tuk-tuk so I could fit in a surf prior to a late departure-a real bonus! He has tweaked and finessed the itinerary over the years, and has established a wide network of contacts to create authentic and unique experiences for the clients. No spoilers here, just enjoy the value added!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don’t expect to lose any weight on this trip, despite the activity-the food is amazing! There are LOTS of dogs alongside and on the road, most of whom are docile, but some really don’t like cyclists. We were chased on a few occasions , and I would have felt happier if i’d had a rabies vaccination before the trip.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    E-bikes! Three of our group had these, transforming their experience of cycling and making the trip a holiday! In mixed ability groups, some riders will really benefit from electrical assistance on the hill days, especially with the humidity. Our three were delighted to have ridden the entire trip for the first time, rather than getting well acquainted with the driver on the more challenging hill days! Congratulations to Exodus for making them available, and hopefully this option will extend to other trips- there is a huge potential customer base out there!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Fran Storey

    Sri Lanka cycling

    Excellent holiday in a wonderful country - fun cycling with a lovely group of people, great food, amazing scenery and wildlife, and lots of local life to observe and enjoy.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everyday was full of mini adventures - making it to the top of Sirigiya, elephants on the way to Polunnaruwa, the Spice Gardens massage(!), cycling through the towns, making it up the hill Nuwara, whale watching, tea with the locals, greetings from the local children, cooking demonstrations, monkeys ....to mention a few.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh, Suranga and the crew are excellent. We were all extremely well looked after but in a very relaxed manner.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The cycling is generally along the quiet back roads but their are a few sections which are along busier roads and towns.....keep your wits about you and go for it! Stating the obvious...Sri Lanka is hot and humid! Drink lots of water (followed by Lion beer!). There's opportunities to do laundry etc, so no need to bring lots of cycling kit. Enjoy - Sri Lanka is fab.
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Tom Syme

    Happy memories of Sri Lanka

    This was a wonderful trip with great cycling, eating, sight-seeing and so much more. We got a great insight into the local history, culture and economy. The group got on well and enjoyed the wit and humour of its members, but the tone was set by the leader, Suresh, who informed us and amused us in equal measure.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Completing the hill climb on day 7. Also the whale watching was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader did an excellent job of rolling out the programme each day and delivering it in a confident and relaxed manner. He took time to make sure everyone was happy.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring cycling gloves that you can get on and off easily when your hands are hot and sweaty. Have a good level of fitness so that you can enjoy the cycling

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Be prepared for heavy traffic and fumes in some built up areas. The majority of the route is on quiet backroads
  • Reviewed April 2019
    Jonathan Dusheiko

    Sri Lan-ka!

    Great cycling holiday through a stunning country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Whizzing past white stupas with a backdrop of emerald green hills on day 5. Watching late afternoon cricket at Ella and views of mountains. Elephant up close in Yala National Park.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh organised everything very competently,

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I took a headband, removable UV-protective arm sleeves and sweat-proof sports sun cream. Don’t underestimate the equatorial sun, especially on the day after the big climb when you are also at 1900m! The big climb is not that bad if you have done some training, shortly after we arrived at the top a couple on touring bikes with heavy panniers got there as well to general amazement. Remember binoculars and a reasonable zoom camera for Yala NP. Don’t bother with full cycling gear for late afternoon visit to ruins at Pollonaruwa, more walking than cycling!
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Eddie and Jan Summers

    An amazing experiance

    If you are having any doubt about booking this, think again. This is a trip of a lifetime and a truely amazing experiance. Cycling the backroads of Sri Lanka gives you a wonderful insight into the country.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through small busy towns, seeing local farmers working the land and visiting small farms,

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Surresh made the experiance , and the support from the team was superb

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just book it you will not regret it
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Ravi Suchak

    Cycle back roads of Sri Lanka

    Fantastic trip- beautiful country with lots to see, friendly people and great food

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Meeting the Ayurvedic doctor who had a cure for everything...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh is the best tour leader we have come across so far on our travels

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do NOT take the train from Kandy to Nuwara Eliya- stick to the bicycle/ bus if necessary
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Tony Whelan

    Maximum Everything !!

    Absolutely loved this trip and would definitely recommend it to anyone who doesn't mind a little bit of graft for a whole lot of fun!! First of all, we had a cracking bunch of lads looking after us and they played a major part in creating a very enjoyable experience. Suresh was our main man and he was faultless in coordinating everyone to be where we needed to be, when we needed to be there. So many times above and beyond his call of duty throughout the trip to ensure extra activities were expertly organised and helping several of us who stayed on after the trip with travel arrangements etc. Sri Lanka proved to be far more than I expected; - the culture, lush verdant landscapes, golden beaches, bird, reptile and animal life and of course the people. Suresh's huge enthusiasm for his homeland was evident in all aspects and he obviously made sure we were treated like royalty wherever we went. The cycling was tough, even 'brutal' in the heat and humidity but descents through beautiful valleys and riding the backroads through villages, fields and forests was a real pleasure, our team made sure we had plenty of fruit, snacks and drinks to keep us going. A major plus on this trip for me was the minimal bus transfers and cycling hotel to hotel

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The wildlife which cropped up at almost every turn.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh was brilliant 10/10 thank you for sharing your country with us, laughs, banter and great memories all the way.... "maximum damage, probably"

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Sunscreen and sleeves, the sun is very strong, factor 50 didn't stop sunburn. Keep a small bag for easy access on the bus with a towel, shorts and T shirt in case of a heavy shower.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Standard of food was generally very good but too many hotel buffets for me, always the option of going your own way but the emphasis seemed to be on using hotel restaurants as a 'group'. I revisited the South Coast area with my wife after the Exodus trip finished and we found some lovely Roti shops and beach restaurants serving (very reasonably priced) fantastic seafood.
  • Reviewed March 2019
    Chriscy Peacock

    Best cuided cycle trip so far

    There are two exceptional things about this trip, Sri Lanka and our guide Suresh. Sri Lanka is full of interest, landscape, culture, food and wildlife. So cycling through the mainly quiet roads of this beautiful and engaging country was always going to be good. The amazing level of enthusiasm, competence and good humour shown by Suresh and the rest of the team made for a truly exceptional holiday

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Cycling through the varied interesting countryside and seeing the wildlife at close quarters.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A lot has been written about Suresh in other reviews, so all I can do is confirm that his unbounded commitment to his guests and his country is exceptional. He managed with to get us up and out on schedule, point out all the wildlife and features we passed, and keep us fed and watered with great expertise and humour.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The trip is graded moderate challenging and some days are, particularly the 7800ft of total ascent to get to Nuwara Eliya, but other days were fairly hard as well so do some training, but all achievable by a recreational ageing cyclist and there is always the insurance policy of the bus! We liked the food, it helps if you like curry and vegetarian food which always seemed to in clean well run places, doubtless due to the careful research of Suresh. Some roads do get busy but the traffic was not too chaotic or dangerous.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Do go for a really good holiday
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Samantha Simister

    Our Sri Lankan Adventure

    A wonderful way to see Sri Lanka. The route captured everything from wildlife to culture to coast. Our Guide and Team were all exceptional, we couldn't fault them. A fabulous experience coupled with the opportunity to meet a super group of people. A good blend of moderate and challenging . A little less traffic, fumes and "excitement" on one or two of the roads we could have done without...

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The 1500m climb to Nuwar Eliya Cycling alongside elephants and monkeys

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Loved him. Exodus is lucky to have Neelaka . I have filled out a separate review for Neelaka.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit and do the climb. Much better than taking the train......

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If there is any chance that the route can be changed to include one or two more back roads as opposed to the main trunk roads, that would be amazing. Try to avoid this trip taking place during Independence Day. We climbed to Nuwar that weekend and the traffic was terrible. Too many fumes. It would have been so much nicer without the amount of traffic...
  • Reviewed February 2019
    Lesley Attwood

    The best ever !

    This was simply the best cycle trip so far . Sri Lanka is as vibrant and colourful as I had hoped, and the cycling was amazing , but it is hilly so be prepared for some serious inclines in the saddle. It's not all back roads as per the title, but I felt safe throughout and it was great to see the hustle and bustle as well as the tranquility. The food was a journey in itself , and the standard of accommodation was far better than expected. One place is slightly ' below standard' , but the entertainment that night of our fantastic guide Suresh giving us a cookery demonstration more than made up for it. The trip is full on and busy but you will be entertained from the 6am wake up calls starts until you have your first well earned Lion beer every evening. Great company in my fellow cyclists, great support and the best ever guide in Suresh to make sure we made ' maximum damage' to cycling Sri Lanka 🇱🇰 .

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Getting up the steepest longest hill ever, seeing the elephants , whale watching - so many , too many to list.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Suresh went beyond and above to make sure we had everything and more. He was extremely knowledgeable and interesting, plus had a good sense of humour. Everyone needs a Suresh !!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Get fit - it's a hilly place. And make sure you get your elephant tshirts in Kandi !