Turtle, Ecuador

Review Centre

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

  • Reviewed June 2019
    Catharine and David Finn

    Fantastic walking trip

    Fantastic holiday walking the Great Wall .... great group leader and lovely group of people. We both found The Wall absolutely amazing and China is such an interesting country to visit. Would love to go back to visit another part.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole of the wall was more amazing than we imagined but particularly the 28 Towers walk.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Alan was outstanding.....really knowledgeable, enthusiastic and organised. Nothing ever seemed to be a problem or too much trouble as he just sorted things out.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take toilet roll and hand gel as not always available. Download VPN before you go if you want to access internet as some sites are blocked.
  • Reviewed June 2019
    Peter Kenny

    The Great wall, a great holiday

    An excellent overall experience, really enjoyed the walking, especially the less touristy parts of the wall. The hotel rooms in Beijing and Xi'an were looking a little tired but, they were clean with comfortable beds and good showers. The homesteads were fine with very welcoming hosts. The food overall was very good, although breakfast was a little limited if you like your traditional "English" style to start the day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Standing on a hilltop and seeing the great wall stretching out for miles over mountain peaks that look so steep that you'd think they would be impossible to climb let alone build a wall over.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader in Beijing was Alan, he really was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for him, on numerous occasions he went out of his way to help us, I really can't praise him enough. Our guide in Xi'an was Chris, he was OK, nothing more than that.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Having done a number of treks with Exodus don't underestimate the physical challenge that this trip offers. Don't be fooled by the distances in the trip notes, it is very up and down with hundreds and hundreds of steps. When we were there the weather was very hot and that also played a part.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Really enjoyed walking the Great wall and China is a fascinating country to visit.
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Gina Crowcroft

    Great concept but, on this occasion, poorly delivered

    The basic trip concept is excellent. However, a group of 16 with only 1 main group leader was wholly inadequate - it meant that we had a lot of wasted time hanging around for the slowest person and our itinerary was unilaterally changed by the tour leader to ensure that the needs of the slowest person out of 16 was met. Unfortunately this meant that 15 out of 16 people were left short changed and did not get what they paid for. Additionally, most days we were rushed to ensure that the group lunched at a specific restaurant off the wall. Given that people would have signed up for this trip due to an interest in the Wall it seems strange that we were always being rushed everyday to get off the Wall. This meant that most days we could not linger and savour the amazing views nor take our time to get that non-touristy photo! We also had itinerary changes due to local factors. Whilst it is appreciated that these are unavoidable the revised itineraries, each time, resulted in less trekking time never more trekking time - very frustrating and left a feeling that we did not receive what we paid for.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being on the less touristy parts of the Wall.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry is clearly a lovely guy and a more than adequate tour leader. I think if our group had been more evenly matched re fitness he would have been perfect. However, I believe he was too nice to actually deal with some of the issues on our trek and tried to please everyone but thereby actually not pleasing a significant number of the group. We had our trekking time severely curtailed by a combination of local reasons and a disparity in the speed between the fastest and slowest members of our group but this was not discussed properly with the group and conflicting reasons were given.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do not underestimate the unrelenting steepness of the Wall trekking. Be prepared for a lot of "wasted" time away from the Wall due to where the restaurants are etc. It would be much better if picnic lunches were provided most days so that time on the Wall could be maximised. Be brave enough to question how the group kitty is used! Our bus driver ended up being tipped a huge amount (the balance of the kitty) due to our guide leader asking in front of the bus driver if it was ok to give him the balance of the kitty - strangely none of us felt that we could object! But we were all wondering why the balance of the kitty was not redistributed to us after a sensible tip taken for the bus driver.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The itinerary and execution of this trip could be improved by a few simple changes: 1. Packed lunches so that time on the Wall is not rushed 2. Two guides every day so that all members of the group could take as long as they wished on the Wall whether that being walking slowly or taking time to take photographs. 3. More information given about the Wall on a daily basis rather than just the last day 4. Changes to itinerary should always be fully discussed and explained with the group in advance
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Kerry Clough

    Memorable Adventure

    Walking the Great Wall in the less touristy sections (in fact almost no other people at all) together with the Xi'an extension to see the Terracotta Warriors surpassed my expectations. It also opened my eyes to a whole new positive side of China that my preconceived ideas had not imagined. A wide range of walking from the flat in Beijing to the undulating and steep on the Wall, on even paths to shingle and scrambling. Delicious food throughout, far superior and less salty than in the UK and friendly, curious locals. Topped off by an absolutely superb Leader/Guide Jerry, whose infectious enthusiasm, wide knowledge of all things Chinese, sense of humour and ability to tell jokes in English made for a truly memorable experience.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Wall in the quiet sections was spectacular as it weaved its way into the distance over undulating hills with forts on top for as far as you could see. Feeling like we had it all to ourselves most days.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Outstanding. Fluent English, infectious enthusiasm and love of China, friendly approachable personality, ability to assess the trekking ability of all of the tour participants and make adjustments to the walks as appropriate, which in most cases for our group was to seek acceptance from all to walk further than the Tour Notes suggested. He was funny, extremely helpful, organised things to do in the evenings if you wanted to participate like Chinese dumpling making and watching and participating in Chinese paper cutting. He also had a good line in English jokes once he knew the group was open to such banter.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do the Xi'an extension and walk or cycle the full 14km of the city wall. It is in fantastic condition and affords great panoramic views of the old city inside the wall. For me it was just as good to do as seeing the Terracotta warriors, which I suggest you get to by 9am as the hordes descended by 9:30 and made for a more stressful viewing experience!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Don't be put off by the long winded Chinese Visa Application process. if you are open minded your experience on this tour in China will pay you back many fold. Go!
  • Reviewed May 2019
    Jo Harthan

    One of the best trips

    Fabulous trip but, as with all Exodus holidays, the success is dependent on the tour guide. We had Jerry and he was faaaantastic! What a guy! Knowledgeable, committed and with a wonderful sense of humour. Thank you Jerry - you made the trip gloriously memorable.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Walking the Great Wall in the mountains with hardly anyone else in sight. Great opportunity for silent meditation whilst walking.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry was fantastic. Knowledgeable, funny, energetic and an amazing, last-minute organiser despite difficulties caused by a large Beijing conference.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you only consider yourself moderately fit, I would recommend doing a bit of training before the holiday to avoid stiff legs in the morning. Parts of the wall are exceptionally steep, both up and down, and the trip involves walking for 6 consecutive days. And if you go in April, be prepared for all weathers - we had freezing temperatures and sleet one day.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you're hesitating - don't. Just do it. I just wish it had been longer. Also, for those fellow GFs - the food was fabulous and the dishes containing wheat were few. I don't eat Chinese in the UK but the food on this trip was nothing like the UK offerings and was really nice - and lots of it.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Anthony Peake

    Walking The Great Wall

    Most enjoyable trip accompanied by a fun group of fellow walkers and an enthusiastic guide. Would have been 5* BUT a lazy attitude by, i take it, the local tour operator who when given months notice of one of the days hiking having to be altered due to a closed/dangerous section only replaced it with a makeshift day.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the mass of people on Tienanmen Square on a public holiday

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Enthusiastic and Knowledgeable
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Shuling Wu

    Walking and Trekking the Great Wall

    It is a great experience! I am so happy to meet the new friends from UK. And the leader Jerry is very reliable to make sure everybody is safe.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Hiking on the top of the original Wall

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He is responsible and makes everybody is safe and sound. It is appreciated to learn his comment about the popular news but it would be great he can share the information and knowledge about the sight, the history, the location and the hiking plan. Some times the group like the sheep and he is the sheep-dog and we just follow him blindly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    British Chinese, American Chinese and the similar can be the potential travelers.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    Michael Cooper

    MEETING THE WALL

    Walking the great Wall of China is invariably on lots of Intrepid travellers wish lists or objectives - simply just do it. You will not regret making the decision. If you have not been to China before it is both an introduction to the country (especially Beijing) and walking one of the most documented locations in the world. The majority of the meals are inclusive but this is a bonus as it includes both restaurants in Beijing and and more authentic Chinese cuisine in the Home stays. I do not think I will not bother with a Chinese restaurant again in the UK.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Actually walking on the great wall and and viewing the changing scenery and especially away from the tourists and crowds. Exodus do deliver because for 90% plus of the walk you do not meet/encounter any other walkers. When you do meet the crowds it just brings it home to you how fortunate one has been in being away from the masses.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Jerry was both entertaining, knowledgeable and well organised. His timings were spot on and he could be approached on any issue. A tour leader is best judged on when something goes wrong and he/she has to think on their feet or has to deal with an individuals issue. I saw evidence of Jerry responding to both of these situations.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared for a lot of steps both up and down and have an 'open mind' to the the home stay accommodation as it may not be what you perceive.
  • Reviewed November 2018
    David Banks

    A fabulous journey

    I thoroughly enjoyed all aspects of the trip. The scenery - the wall and the surrounding mountains - was stunning and constantly changing. The weather was perfect with mostly warm sunny days with cool evenings. Everywhere we stayed from good quality hotels to basic rural homestays provided great food and hospitality. Our group leader, Jerry, was excellent and I felt very lucky to be away with such a lovely group of fellow travellers. Finally and perhaps most importantly the Chinese people I met were warm, welcoming, interesting as well as curious about us and almost without exception delightful.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer scale and beauty of the Great Wall and the surrounding mountains Tiananmen Square was a particular highlight in Beijing The warmth of the Chinese people everywhere

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Jerry, was excellent in all respects! His caring, thoughtful and hardworking approach was key to the success of the trip.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1. Do this trip and do it in autumn when everywhere is quieter and the weather is pretty much perfect for walking 2. Do the Xi'an/terracotta warriors extension! 3. Supplement the excellent guides with your own guide book 4. A little mandarin (and a big smile) goes a long way! 5. Find at least a little quiet time each day to reflect on your experience and the pleasure and privilege of being in such an amazing place 6. Do try the street food in the wonderful night market in Xi'an!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to all the exodus staff for their positive and professional approach I would happily talk to anyone considering this trip who wants to hear any of the above from someone who has actually done the trip.
  • Reviewed October 2018
    John Pethick

    Let One Hundred Flowers Bloom

    Space, and the (temporary) frontier abound provided that you go boldly, up, more up, and even more up; cast aside fears of teeming hordes, and remember, the people, and the people alone, are the motive force in the making of world history. At times, you become the 'attraction' - videoconferencing a chap's wife on her drive home so she could practice her English (at the top of the Wall, naturally). That was a first. High fiving hundreds of school kids, while teachers convulsed with laughter (on the wall too), in a society where physical contact is not a thing, also a first. Underpinning it all, a long past with, to quote a fellow traveller, "zero history of democracy". And the kittens really do want their fluffy tummies tickled, oh yes they do.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Decades of watching China from afar, dissolving whilst sitting on some unused telegraph poles, on a country road, alone at sunset.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pema. Well, it's always handy to have a Tibetan guide, when you bump into some Tibetan monks, looking for a group photograph with some westerners for their Instagram. Or need to explain the fire in your room. Retrieve a confiscated bank card. Discuss the geological formations under the wall and the materials in it. Get you through 'Security' painlessly. And be objective about Tibet's relationship with China.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1) the Dong Fang has a machine which converts cash banknotes (sterling, USD, canadianD, euros, and many more) into yuan, which is very handy indeed. 2) two types of ATM exist, ones that hand out cash and return the card, ones that are for account management only, and hold onto the card. Make sure you are using an international bank, and a real ATM. Worth watching what other people are doing for a few minutes. 3) Euro / US plugs sometimes work in the local sockets, but if you require mains, take a three pin Chinese adapter. Not many amps in the supply, so charging is slow. 4) Do not, repeat do not, leave electric oil radiators switched on in an empty room. And stand by for a few minutes to pull the plug out of the socket after switching on. 5) keep an eye out, and the camera hot, for feral panda spotting.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Water for drinking: arrive, fill kettle, allow to boil, open lid to cool down, do something else, pour into 'tough' water bottle / bladder, refill kettle etc. Everywhere has a kettle for that purpose. Have a thermos, with local tea leaves instead / as well. Even petrol stations have hot water boilers. The journey to a plastic free world starts with the first step.
Call us on +356 21423994