Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17934 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007

    It was All you could expect

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The very detailed knowledge of the leader and his organisational skills. He made it. The sense of achievement on reaching O Ceibeiro (1,300m) and the hearty Galacian meal which started with Caldo Gallego soup. The meals were terrific.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    He was a treasure

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Laundry facilities are not availableBring your own outlet plug for washbasins and baths - previous travellers seem to have borrowed them in many places.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I wish I could do it again
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    To see Machu Picchu for myself was a spectacular experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    To actually make it to the top of Dead Woman's Pass, where the scenery was fantastic, and still be able to breath!Lake Titicaca was serene, yet vast, surrounded by beautiful landscape.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Bolivian group leader, Wendy,  was personable, extremely knowledgable & fun to be with.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The altitude can bring on early menstration. & physical fitness is a must.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Every day something completely new!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Bryce Canyon was absolutely superb.  The views around every corner are magnificent.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Sean helped us whenever we needed it, he was very enthusiastic about the area, joined in with group activities and had a good knowledge of  the history of every area we visited.  I couldn't have asked for any more.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Try booking at least an extra day to visit both San Francisco and Las Vegas.  The itinerary doesn't allow for much time to visit these cities properly.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This holiday gives you city life in San Francisco and Las Vegas, the wildlife, forests and mountains of Yosemite.  The colour of Bryce and Zion Canyons and the vastness of Grand Canyon with much in between, enabling you to experience a whole range of different geology, cultures and panaramas.   
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Unforgettable

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I travelled as part of a group of ten friends to Kilimanjaro this year and it was amazing for every one of us.  The fact that we all left the mountain friends is testament to the amount of support we got from the local operator, Exodus uses.  It was amazing that we all made it to Kibo Huts and all started the final climb.  Unfortunately, AMS got the better of some of us, but most made it to Gilmans point and further to Uhuru Peak.  We certainly owed our success to the motivation and care our guides and their team, provided.  Tanzania is a beautiful country and I would definitely go back to visit.  The Chaggar and Masai people are most welcoming and have a great sense of humour.  We continue to miss our guides, who became friends.  Though we are sure they are busy safely escorting other parties up and down the great Kilimanjaro.  The hotels we used were all safe and clean, perfect for one nights rest before and after the mountain.  The fact that they managed to launder all our mountain stained clothes in less than 4 hours ready for our 6am departure was a real bonus!  Enduring memories include the clear views of the starlit heavens, amazing!  Sun rise above the clouds.  The guides and porters, and knowing that given all the conditions you got as far as you could go.  The rush of oxygen as you descend the slopes gives you an elated feeling that you carry with you for weeks to come.  Unforgettable!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    An amazingly strong person, both physically and emotionally.  Humbling. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be prepared to get very very dusty.  Also, AMS really does randomly effect people.  Though if you have a prediposed disposition, expect it to flare up as you will be at high altitude and will be expending a lot of energy.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Thanks to Exodus for taking the time to choose a well regarded local operator.  All out team appreciated the hard work the guides and porters put in.  More work can still be done for better equipment for the porters as there is still heavy reliance on donations, which are not of uniform quality.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Garlic soup and rain but still good fun!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I loved Krakow and like to go backThe mountain huts in Slovakia were brill serving big bowls of lentil or garlic soupNice coffee and choclate cakes throughout!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our leader was a czech girl called Martina who was very good and we also had a local guide in the mountains (can't rember her name).  I can't rate Martina highly enough lovely personality, very on the ball in booking restaurants in Prague and Krakow as well as encoraging the slower walkers.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We went in September and were unlucky as for our three days in the mountains it rained heavily so pack a good waterproof!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel we stayed at in Slovakia was a throw back to communist days.  We had to order food for the evening meal 36 hours in adavance (and then wasn't very good) and the bar closed at 10 each night (probable blessing in disguise).  However this was part of the charm and we felt that we were seeing a real part of Slovakia as opposed to some stereotyped hotel.  The packed lunches they supplied were pretty awful and ended up eating in mountain huts.In hidsight wished i spent an extra day in both Prague and especially Krakow and encourage anyone too seriously consider it as a day in each not really long enough!!  
  • Reviewed October 2007

    the best of everything.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    seeing the gorrilas. game drive in the masi mara, fun at Jinja

    What did you think of your group leader?

    cool, knowledgable, a good laugh.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    pack light, take a good camera

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    would have been nicer to ? extend the trip to allow a couple more days in Rwanda- beautiful place
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    1

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Don't understand the question

    What did you think of your group leader?

    there wasn't one

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    No

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    no
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Such a beautiful country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The beautiful views and countryside we saw while in Slovenia.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Fantastic, both the leaders, Clemen and Mustka were great. They looked after us brilliantly and were very friendly and they really made it a great trip.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was my frist experience of  Exodus and I found it a very proffessional organisation. The guides were great and the accomodation was good. The holiday was everything I expected and more. Thank you.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The final peak was a classic..........................!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Has to be the final day - long walk in through stunning scenery, final climb up a scree slope to the summit of Carlit, then the long walk back to the bus.................fantastic day!!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great chap, well informed, kept us going with good tempo and spirit.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Pyrenees are big days, make sure you are prepared for long climbing and some hairy scrambling!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Overall experience was excellent, good weather, good people, good leader, good walking, good food and drink!!!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Wonderful scenery, fantastic food and one of the best Exodus selected hotels we've stayed in!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Excellent walks with the knowledge of a good hotel to return to each day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A good leader  - knowledgeable and efficient.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Consider travelling independently and add on extra days to take in Verona and Venice.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Minibus used on this Villabassa based walking holiday in the Dolomites was totally unsuitable! It was very cramped for 16 occupants with uncomfortable narrow seats and restricted views from the windows. A very uncomfortable 3 hour journey late at night between airport and hotel as well. The vehicle was also underpowered for the steep mountain roads. For the third successive Exodus holiday we have taken there were numerous alterations to flight times and departure / arrival airports. This causes problems when booking pre / post flight hotel accommodation and car parking.