Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17934 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Water, water everywhere...almost

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The local Berber people.Moroccan cuisine was an unexpected bonus.The ever changing landscape is amazing. Dry volcanc, dry glacial, berber terracing, appearing to deliver water everywhere...

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I have never had a bad group leader with Exodus & same again this time.  Lahcen was exceptional, his walking time "estimates" were uncanny (and he could play the banjo as well)

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    A good head torch.Light boots, not shoes, are fine.Take a couple of jokes for the food tent.Just do it... & keep smiling.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I did feel a an assistant guide may have been an advantage with a big group (to cover the rear). A conga line of 16 can cover a fair distance.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Everything i expected and more

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was made to be a wonderful experience mainly due to the experience of our tour guide Frabrizzo, nothing fazed him, treating everyone on the trip with equal concern & interest. His calmness prompted the feeling of totally ease and confidence in his organisation of the tour.  This was the first time i have ever been away on holiday without family and will have no worries about going away with exodus in the future.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    As mentioned above without Fabrizzo and his knowledge one wonders what the holiday would have like...... Well done Fabrizzo

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just follow the advice given out daily regarding Altitude SicknessAccount for the extra tips i.e. other gu,ides - amazon, on Lake Titicaca, porters & extra guide on trail, coach driver from cusco to puno 
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Watching the sun rise against snow peaked mountains was an unforgettable experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The highlight  was completing the Inca trail and arriving at Machu Picchu after the crowds had gone. There were many other memorable moments - including wonderful condor sightings, the tranquility of the reed islands on Lake Titticaca, colourful processions, views cross the altiplano and magnificent Inca ruins.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was the difference between a great trip and an outstanding one. His quiet passion for his country, its history, its peoples and its environment was conveyed to us effortlessly. He was knowledgeable, considerate, helpful and well organised. On the mercifully few occasions when problems arose, he was able to resolve them with the minimum of fuss.The best trip leader we have ever had and a most engaging companion. We were sorry to bid him farewell. 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't be put off the Inca trail by fears of altitude sickness. We were thoroughly acclimatised by the time we started trekking and we all made it  - the itinerary and length of the trip are real benefits in this respect. In contrast we became aware of some other travellers who had experienced shorther acclimatisation periods and had to turn back.There were some long days in the bus early on in the trip but frequent stops and the scenery made these bearable.The Amazonian rain forest was a disappointment - little wildlife and a lot of logging and burning. If it's only rain forest you are after go somewhere like Costa Rica.   

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The extra cost  for good quality hotels was worth paying and all the accommodation was comfortable. The cook worked wonders on the Inca trail
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Fast & furious

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Night at the village house.  Washing and sleeping arrangements were very basic but worth it for the excellent food.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Can was excellent - but a little too fond of long ascents

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you have your own full suspension bike or a hard tail with very good front forks suspension I recommend you take it.  Some of the trails were very rocky & stony and the descents were fast and steep - making them real bone shakers on the Specialized Hardrock hire bikes. Take a sleeping bag liner for the night in the village house - no sheets are provided.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    There's a lot more uphill in this holiday than you might guess from the brochure description & trip notes.  Its probably true that there's an average 1,000m descent each day (but its made up of 500m ascent and 1,500m descent).  The second day included a 16km 600m ascent at the start.  Howvever I think the routes chosen can alter depending on the group.The descents are quite fast and the track surface is usually loose gravel - so if you are at all nervous or very new to off road then this might not be the trip for you.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Where are the PBs?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

     Calving icebergs - watching the spray then the multitudes of birds eager for the new food which has been stirred up.Sitting for an hour, waiting for a motionless polar bear to raise its head - the cold did not matter.Being part of the walrus' environment.Sunshine at midnight.  Exciting zodiac rides through ice, waves and spray.Elation at simply being there - at the top of the World

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leaders were without exception excellent.  Nothing was ever too much trouble for them and even the most simple questions were answered with gravity and sensitivity.  They were also great fun.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take care on the tundra - it can at times give way and leave you feeling rather wet and cold!Layers of thin clothing will make dressing for the cold easier than thick, heavy sweaters.There were loads of wellies on the boat, so save yourself the bother and weight of taking any with you.Don't expect gourmet catering - the food on board was adequate, but somewhat unmemorable.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A wonderful experience - a pity the polar bears were so 'shy' and unwilling to show their faces to us as often as we had hoped.Magnificent skies - even amateur photographers can create breathtaking images.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Had a good time - despite the weather!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    I wasn't expecting it to be an inspirational holiday - compared with other trips I've done. It was what I wanted though - a gentle week's walking with good company and a fairly relaxing time.The staff at the Conrtijo Rosario were great - and the food was fantastic

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good. Nice relaxed attitude and she got on well with all the clients.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't necessarily expect it to be warm! The Cortijo is quite high up so cooler that at the coast.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Would recommend the trip to anyone wanting a nice relaxing week with gentle walking
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    My first holiday with Exodus

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    That we got to visit places that I could never got to on my own - and I never felt 'alone' just because I had booked on my own.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    excellent local knowledge and motivated; approachable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    don't hesitate booking a holiday by yourself - i was made to feel so welcome.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Could not stop raving about what a fantastic time i had on my return; and the things that remain are:- where can i go next with Exodus?! (am still trying to prioritise where to go next)- it is the only holiday where i put on weight despite walking each day - because the food was superb- have bought recipe book from the place and still cook dishes- am pleased that the company gives some regard to environmental matters - please continue to build on this - as sustainable travel is no longer a 'nice to do' but essential, as well as a competitive business issue. Can Exodus provide a mechanism whereby customers can offset their flights as part of the holiday cost? i.e. easy to do on your website or indeed include in the holiday cost as a matter of course (for those who are flying with Exodus completely) with an option to opt out  - and invest that in projects overseas to e.g. install solar lighting in developing countries, - if Exodus does not indeed do so already.  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Boar, Bear and Boots!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic food, stunning scenery, great walks - this had it all. Felt a great sense of achievement walking the flank of Sveti Ilyah as I hate scree and was rather high up. Also making it up the steps out of the Devils Throat! Fantastic to see wildlife especially birdsof prey in their natural environment. Local people are incredibly friendly - impressive as my Bulgarian and probably their English is zero.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Great leader, really knows the area, very approachable and full of interesting stories and anecdotes. Gives useful information about the day's walk with spot on timings. Allowed us all to walk at our own pace and included lots of stops to regroup, with no pressure to set off before everyone was ready. Clearly has a good relationship with the locals in Yagodina.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Bring a plug!!! If you like the look of this trip, go for it, it's well worth it. Don't worry too much about the walks the pace is steady and relaxed. Take time to absorb the view, and enjoy the first cold beer after the walk. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Unfortunately we didn't manage to see any wild boar or bears, but we did see plenty of boots!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The magnificent big empty country

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This vastness of the country combined with the serenity.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Good. It was the first time he'd led the group and did well. He would have struggled if it wasn't for the main driver, though

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you drink lots of water. To get the most out of your trip - muck in with the setting up of camp etc.  

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The cycling was more challenging than described in the trip notes (which was good!). A couple did struggle. I think it should be upgraded.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Good experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Lake Titicaca.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Nice bloke, knowledgable, friendly

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack lighter than you'd expect to, eg I took 4 pairs of trousers, wore one most of the time with another to change into so only really needed to take 2 pairs - sounds a bit scruffy for 3 weeks but so was everyone else! Think hard about everything you take - eg took binoculars .. never used them.If doing the trail - take into account some of the stuff you need for the trail you wont need for the rest of the hols ... eg sleeping mat/bag ... might be better to get cheap mat out there and hire bag ... You'll probably spend more than the guide recommends you take ... we tended to eat at the better restaurants ...       

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Good holiday, possibly a week too long tho - third week was a bit sparse - eg take a day to drive to location, next day spend a few hours getting to see something, then afternoon to get back ... next day drive on again - eg colca canyon/nasca ... could be skipped without missing too much.