Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17934 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    wow - what a view

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Going on the cable cars and enjoying the amazing viewsMeeting the other group members

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Tom was an excellent leader, friendly and professional.  He organised everything so we could relax and enjoy our holiday.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Travel light, having to take suitcases on and off the trains on each journey convinced us we had packed too many clothes. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Exodus should include more of this type of holiday in their brochure.  We found that the we enjoyed the short walks and amazing scenery but we also liked to have time to relax.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    How could each day be better than the one before!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    It was an amazing trip and we enjoyed every minute of it.  We were so well looked after every step of the way.The Masai Mara was so prolific with animals, we really didn't have to wait very long to see anything and to stay in the camp so close to the animals was a real pleasure.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Davis and Charles were excellent.  They were articulate, well informed and fun.  Nothing was too much trouble.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    It is a fantastic holiday but quite a lot of travelling if you have young children.  The roads are very bumpy and it is very difficult to read or sleep so the kids tended to plug into their i-pods.  I think it may not be the trip for the under 10's. (based only on the travelling, nothing else).

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    If you have any interest in animals at all this trip is for you.  Chilling out in Zanzibar at the end was very necessary and welcome.The standard of the food throughout the trip was very high.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A relaxing week!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The yoga as the sun rose in the morning was spectacular.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very good

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    none

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was the first yoga holiday Exodus  had run in this location.  The location was perfect, the yoga was great  but for future trips the itinery needs to be less crowded and more time needs to be allocated for the yoga for the full benefits to be maximised!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    A breathtaking trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The scenery is wonderful. Glaciers, blue sky and superb views of the Matterhorn from different altitudes, at different times of the day.  Somehow the very sight of the Matterhorn is inspirational.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.  Good leader. Huge knowledge of trekking and climbing. Easy to get on with.  Felt happy to ask anything.  Good knowledge of the history of the area.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take your own slippers for the mountail huts

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Zermatt is a very pleaant town. Lots to do when not walking. Good range of restaurants and shops. Lots of swiss army knives!  
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    It doesn't get any better than this

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This was a case of the overall experience being greater than the sum of its parts.    We were  taken on routes that were varied, challenging, strenuous and stunningly beautiful. We saw remarkable wildlife close up, fascinating geology and the ways in which humans have adapted the landscape for their own benefits.The pace of the walks was perfect with plenty of stops for catching up and taking food and water. Hazards were carefully explained and we were made to feel safe and secure at all times. We were provided with superb packed lunches: ham, egg, brie, basil, avocado and more all in fresh baguettes. Our base accommodation was perfect: friendly and relaxed hosts, tea and home made cake on our return from a hard day's walking. Outstanding food; Basque, Moroccan, Mediterranean. Hot showers and comfortable beds.A really great group atmosphere added to the overall experience. Brilliant and highly recommended.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    James was an outstanding leader. He got to know the group's capabilities and was able to provide us with suitably challenging routes. He must have gone out of his way to provide us with excellent lunches; I don't ever remember being given a brie and apple baguette before. James' approach was relaxed and friendly but professional and inspired confidence. His local knowledge gave us the opportunity to combine superb mountain scenery with the rewards of overcoming the physical demands involved.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you read and take heed of the trip notes there will be no problems. I used a high factor sun screen and would consider the use of walking poles to help with some of the knee-jarring descents.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Wonderful scenery, so much space

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Learning to canoe on a big river with its currents

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brilliant, calm, patient, very able, great cook and a lovely person. Soon learnt english humor and words.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do expect serious wild camping, some did not

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The local operator should have sent two guides for a party of 11 with 6 canoes.Exodus should not have said there would be washing and laundry facilities, there are none.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Great views but surprisingly hard work

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Reaching the top of Petit Vignemale. Blue sky above; cloud inversion below with high rocky summits visible, near and far.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Richie, the guide, was quite flexible in his approach to the walk. The path is faily well marked and he allowed us to walk on ahead if the route was clear. It was enjoyable to have the option of walking alone or within the group. Dave, the cook, is a national treasure. The best meals I've had on all my Exodus treks.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    There are some long, hard days (some days up to 10 hours). This came as a surprise - I was expecting something easier for a grade 'C'. The first few days to Gavernie are quite tough. I'd grade this walk a C/D. Take walking sticks for the many ascents/descents.The Wild Camp has 'wild', natural residents. Make sure all your valuables are in the inner tent. During our night's stay, a rucksack was chewed and a fleece and shoe were taken from the porch of the tents.There are opportunities to visit thermal baths at Loudonville and Superbagneres. Take your swimming trunks if you want to do this (hiring is possible - at a price).The meals at the mountain hut at Lac d'Ilheou are too light. Take more scoff to cater for the inevitable energy you will require to get you over the next col.Take earplugs. The mountain huts and Gite are busy and noisy. On the rest day at Gavernie. I did a walk by myself to the Cabin d'Alain. Walk takes about 2.5 hours return from campsite. Great views of the cirque and the Breche De Roche (which you can't see from the campsite). I manged to get by with 2.1 litre bottles for water. A couple of days I was thirsty towards the end, so you might be better to take a bit more than this.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I found the last day is a bit of a wasted day in Superbagneres. It'd be better if this day was spent in Gavernie where it could be better spent walking. Exodus probably put it at the end to cater for any delays from Gavernie onwards. If this is the case, then maybe an extra day doing a walk around Grange D'Asteau (next to last day) would be better.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    amazing honeymoon

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole country was magical

    What did you think of your group leader?

    very knowledgeable and even on his ngiht to meet his girlfirend took us out offthe beaten track to a bar! he was fab!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    yes, look what essential clothing and wear is needed, exodus was not specific enough. we were cold and had to buy extra jumpers!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The 4 Cs

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Our children really enjoyed the 4 Cs (climbing, canyoning, caving & canoeing). Canyoning was probably the biggest thrill.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent. Very knowledgeable, both about the area and about the activities offered.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    The Cares Gorge walk is not for the faint hearted – 12.5k in each direction. Take lots of water!!  The minimum suggested age of 5 years is too young unless you want to carry them!!The day at the beach is billed as “for the younger kids” but our children 18,16 and 9 had a great time; the surf at the beach was excellent – take a body board! (The dinosaur museum and the fossil footprints at the beach were worth seeing too.)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel / group leaders kept the itinerary very flexible, changing activities around according to the weather. You need to be adaptable if you are not planning to join in activities every day as the activity of the day may change.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The sea was wonderful - I have had colder baths!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The views were incredible, the local hospitality was warm and welcoming and the pace of life was relaxed.  Heaven on earth!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Maho was obviously a well-known and respected local who had great influence within his community.  His knowledge of both current and historical events ensured there was always a story to listen to - no matter the location.  His matter of fact and flexible approach enabled him to meet the needs of the group - even at short notice.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As a basic courtesy it is polite to learn some words of Turkish.  It is very much appreciated by the locals and I found it useful at the airport when I had a potential excess baggage issue......  :-)

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The balance between organised outings and free time was perfect.  There was no opportunity to be bored as there was so much on offer in Kas.  It was helpful having the evening briefs as it allowed the group to get together and decide on evening activities, such as dinner together if they so wished.  This is useful when people are travelling on their own and may not feel confident about going out to dine alone.