Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

17934 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Great scenery - but with 11 thousand metres of ascent and descent in 11 days, make sure your knees a

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The Pyrenees GR10 walk has a lot of tough climbs. But they're well-rewarded by fantastic scenery. Obviously they are accompanied by tough descents but these are usually well rewarded by civilised camp-sites with showers.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Hard to comment on leaders because normally there are two leaders who take it in turns to guide or to drive the luggage. Prior to this trip the main leader was injured, so Exodus shipped in superb cook, great camp-host and fantastic character Dave Cannery. He dealt with the camp logistics while the second leader guided the whole of the walk.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure your knees are in good shape! Think of climbing and descending Snowdon by one of the tougher tracks once or twice per day for a few days on the trot.On the night when you wild camp there are animals about. Keep anything that can be dragged off (including your day pack and boots) inside your tent! (They're not safe under your flysheet). Main bags (eg exodus bags) are probably safe if zipped shut...Take your time and enjoy the scenery!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    My first paraglide!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Fantastic coastline, great scenery, holiday had a terrific variety of activities - walking, sea kayaking (my favourite day), visiting archaeological sites, eating (wonderful food), the Turkish people were so friendly.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you aren't used to walking in the heat, it would be best to do this holiday in the spring time when it would be glorious doing the walks. There wasn't much shade and it's difficult to take enough water for the length of the walk.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    This was one of the best holidays I've been on and I can't wait to go back to Turkey again. I just wish that Exodus offered more trips exploring trips in Turkey - the 14-day one to Cappadocia etc involves some very long bus drives
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Tremendous experience

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The opportunity to meet the local herders during the course of the trek. Found these interactions truly life-altering and was struck by the "culture clash" of 15 western European trekkers crowding into a traditional Mongolian ger. On the one hand found their way of life so different to mine that it was difficult to comprehend what their life is like, but on the other hand, was struck by our common humanity. Certainly couldn't have been more hospitable and it was great to exchange gifts with them. 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely fantastic. Can't imagine a better leader of a trek. He adopted a relaxed yet highly professional approach, I guess because it was clear that each and every part of the trek had been organised. Was impressed by some of the simple touches, like the placement of a washing point mid-way between the toilets (complete with toilet seats!) and the camp that was kept topped up with warm water and supplied with clean towels. Was importantly someone who was easy to get along with and also who was tremendously knowledgeable about Mongolia and the region through which we were trekking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take it easy on the meat when you first arrive. I over indulged over the first couple of days and paid with an upset stomach for the the next few days. Also, when purchasing duty free at Chinggis Khaan Int'l airport, make sure that you get a receipt. We didn't and promptly had it confiscated in South Korea.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    All-in-all my first trek was very memorable and a great success. Has certainly encouraged me to go on similar "adventure holidays" in the future. Like the way in which Exodus in this instance sub-contracted the trek to a local company (Karakorum Expeditions). Then you have the security of booking with an established company as well as the detailed local knowledge of a local company. An ideal combination!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Reaching the top was tough but 100% worth the effort

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    This trip really took us away from everything, making it a wonderful mental break from the stresses of everyday life. Seeing how other people live in such remote locations was amazing. The views in the mountains were unforgettable.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader really was excellent at his job. The knowledge he shared with us about his country and it's history was fascinating.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a four season sleeping bag, even for August travel. The recommended three season bag is not sufficient at the higher camp sites.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I would absolutely recommend this trip.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Everything you could expect from a walking holiday in Tuscany

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it could not find a fault it was exactly as the brochure said and more

    What did you think of your group leader?

    A great guide who got on with everyone was good company and was mindful of everyone s abilities and fitness and went the extra mile.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Just do it

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Mammas cooking and hospitality was second to none
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Snowy peaks and Alpine flowers

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being in the high mountains. Amazing views everyday for 8 days, wonderful flowers and changes in vegetation as you go up and down in altitude. Wonderful views of glaciers, + mountain streams, haymaking, cowbells, Ibex ,eagles and lots more. Stunning scenery and often a very  remote feel. A fantastic trip.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Absolutely exceptional. A wonderful leader in all ways

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I kept my rucksack as light as possible. You need much less than you think. The part of the trip I was uncertain about was having to carry a rucksack, but I didn't notice it. 1 change of clothes, light weight gortex waterproof coat and trousers and no bedtime book - but don't forget the earplugs for dormitory sleeping.  This is a physically demanding trip and it pays off to be fit - I had been going to the gym  for a few months. 

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I worried about the "daring river crossings" - but there aren't any. Also the fixed ladders - which aren't difficult. We didn't need crampons or ice axes. Better to hire them if needed as some people had bought them specially and didn't need them.Tthe accomodation is sometimes dormitory/mixed sleeping with mattresses very close together. Some people found this the hardest aspect. Personally I quite liked it and had expected more basic remote climbers huts than we actually had. the mattresses were comfortable and there were always hot showers, lots of good food and a friendly  atmosphere. 
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Picturesque white knuckle ride

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the moutains and hillsides that we would be travelling into. The Julian Alps are a magnificent site! Also the Boka Waterfall and the 44 foot waterfall that we could have abseiled - frightning but unfortunately the water current was too strong.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    We had a hotel owner who organises the activity week with two guides. It was very basic introductions and we hardly saw her after that. The guides were great though. Unfortunatley Peter was ill most of the week so couldn't do the activities with us. Urban was extremely saftey concious and made you feel beyond safe despite the experience that is canyoning!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Use your day off to walk around the local area - theres enough sites and walks to keep you throughally entertained. We went during Bovec day which was a nice local event that brought out very nice market stalls.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Its a shame it did not have a guide that stayed and ate with you all week (like the Lycian activity week) as that really seems to bond the group together. As all meals were paid for in hotel, made people releuctant to eat together and the group only stayed together for each activity.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Sleeping under the stars

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Being away from all the hustle and bustle of cities and tourist resorts. It was fantastic to be able to moor up for the evening, take one final swim before having pre-dinner beers with the rest of the group. Then settling down to an evening of home-cooked food and good conversation. It's almost of holiday of back to basics - whilst on the boat, there really is no point dressing up or wearing make-up and the simple pleasures are the best - cold water and the sound of water lapping against the boat (although we also liked the crocodile canoe!!)

    What did you think of your group leader?

    To be perfectly honest he was a little immature - he didn't seem to adapt to the varying tastes of the group who generally seemed to want to chill out whereas he wanted to party!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    We didn't sleep in the tents at all during the trip as it would have been far too hot. Instead, we either slept on deck or in the (slightly claustrophoic) cabins. Sleeping on deck is great but I would suggest taking earplugs (to reduce the disturbances of fellow passengers) and a sheet rather than sleeping bag.Best way to wake up - a morning swim before breakfast.Take the opportunity to visit the Turkish baths - the massage was excellent and thorough if a tiny bit painful and great value overall.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    In the first 10 minutes of our first game drive we came across not one, but two cheetahs lying in th

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The closeness of the animals and the privilege of being part of their world - to camp in the middle of the Masai Mara with all this just outside your tent was the most amazing experience.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    One word - excellent in every respect !!!!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Do it - you would not regret a single moment.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Bears, beer and buddies

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Sea kayaking off Vanouver Island and spending the night on the uninhabited Vargas Island was unforgettable. We were there on American Independence Day and as our tour guide was from Texas we celebrated in style with Champagne and Mars Bars! When sitting round the campfire toasting marshmallows with the sea lapping the shore, the sun setting and the bald eagles swooping down , I looked round at the new friends I had made and thought 'It doesn't get much better than this!' 

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader, Carson, was awesome. He was a great cook, great company and really helped everyone feel part of a team. He was incredibly organised but also flexible so we didn't feel that we were just being told what to do and when to do it.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are going on a camping trip, take a kit bag rather than a rucksack as you can never find anything in a rucksack, especially by torchlight in a small tent. It gets very irritating after a few days!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I loved every moment of my trip (except, perhaps, putting up our tent in a torrential downpour on the first night) and can't wait to do another Exodus holiday. I made some really good friends and re-acquainted myself with the joys of camping and adventure after years of beach holidays.