Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18279 Reviews

  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Culture Shock, spectacular views and "Spring rolls"

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    1.  Mountain views2.  Watching the mountain farmers at work3.  Canoeing with crocodiles4.  Visiting the medieval city of Baktapur at the end of the holiday

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Kum Jung is a great guy.  He appeared a little shy at first, but as he got into his stride he opened up and his leadership skills blossomed over the course of the 2 weeks. Always anxious to please, and seemed to instinctively make the "right call" over pace and when and where to stop.  Very pleased to have him around.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    1.  Relax!2.  Make sure that you have clothes to suit +30 to -5 deg C.  Sub zero eveings do not seem possible when its 18 deg in the veening in Kathmandu.3.  On the free day at the end of the holiday, take a taxi to Baktapur  -  40 mins by taxi (about £12 return and he'll wait 4 hours for your return trip).  Just like Kathmandu was 40 years ago, without the traffic and pollution.  Magical.4.  Resist all offers of help with your baggage on arrival at Kathmandu. Accept help from one and 5 or 6 will want a tip.  This is not representative of Nepal, but can be a shock when arriving very tired and maybe for the 1st time in a 3rd world country.5.  Buy your duty free in Bahrein on the way home rather than at Kathmandu.  Shops open 24/7 and more choice and better prices.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Sufficient "Bombay Sapphire and tonic" to last the trek works wonders!We were fearful of insect bites in Chitwan.  They really aren't a problem.  We didn't get a single bite on the whole holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    As always on a vigorous holiday, the greater the effort the greater the rewards

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was excellant, everything worked to plan.  Even the wet days were fun as the leaders made huge efforts to find us somewhere satisfying to walk!  This area of Spain is magnificent and views spectacular.  The group we were with were all very fit and had chosen the grade 4 specifically and so were all eager to GO for everything.  We were challenged but had a fabulous time.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Brian Fagg, who runs the hotel is a fantastic host, nothing is too much trouble and he has a wealth of expertise and local knowledge.  The 2 walk leaders were also great.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are prepared for all weathers, just because it says Spain, it still rains sometimes!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The hotel at Quadradonteta is excellant, food good restaurant standards, and they fall over backwards to make sure they accommodate everyones fads and fancies! 
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    My first Exodus holiday!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    First glimpse of the Himalayas at Nargokot!  And then every sunrise when we saw the wonderful mountains. But I also loved Chitawan National Park, especially bathing with the elephants and riding the elephants. The ride in the dug out canoe by moonlight was pretty sensational too!  I did the Everest flight as an extra and that was unmissable!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader Presant was great! Nothing was too much trouble and he looked after us beautifully.  Half our party were late arriving in Katmandu as we were denied our flight from Bahrain to Kathmandu and had to spend a night at Heathrow. However Presant rearranged things so that we only missed a days' sightseeing in Kathmandu which we were able to do on the way back.  I cannot speak too highly of him. He was always professional and the arrangements worked very well.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    This is a brilliant introduction to Nepal because it is so varied. If you go in October the weather is warm - take tee shirts, thin trousers or shorts and sun cream.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I don't know what can be done about the overbooking on Gulf Air.  I arrived in plenty of tiime for my flight (three and a half hours early ) and had been booked on the flight for about six months. As it happened it certainly did not spoil the holiday but it was upsetting for a while when we were stuck in Heathrow! 
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Great trip!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Seeing the mountains early in the morning from Ghandrung with the sun just touching the peaks - magical.  Also 'washing' the elephant was great fun, I just hope the elephant enjoyed it too.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Really good - he made the trip.  He was friendly and efficient, he looked after us very well, and had a great sense of fun too.  He made simple things like choosing breakfast the night before a real hoot!  Oh and he was good at Pass the Pig too!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Don't take too much gear, the trekking is A/B and is only part of this trip so give preference to the TNP Trip Notes rather than the Walking and Trekking General Information Sheet .  Make sure you have 3 bags.  One to leave in Kathmandu with any clothes, gear etc not needed on the trek or in Chitwan, one to leave in Pokhara with your Chitwan gear, and your Exodus kit bag for the trek.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    The Trip Notes could be improved.  More information about the whats on the menu at the Tea Houses beyond 'beer, Coca Cola, and chocalate' would be helpful.  Also the easy availablity of good bottled water wasn't made clear and just about everybody brought along iodine tablets which weren't used.  In Chitwan all food was included but the trip notes said only breakfasts.  But these are only minor points, over all the information provided was good, particularly on the ground.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Relaxation in Andalucia

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The mixture of relaxation, sight seeing and Maria's cooking.The highlight of the trip was the mosque in Cordoba. I could have spent the whole day there to try and figure out what is going on in that building.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very organised and very relaxed.Very knowledgable.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you need to have some time to relax and get away from it all, book on this holiday.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Toughest yet!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The awesome scenary and how it changed as we travelled thro' the Himalayas. The Nepalese, their constant smiling faces, their courteous manner, the children who loved having their photo's taken. The mountains, the wildlife, the rivers.It's just a wonderful place to visit and be part of!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The perfect ambassador for both his country and his employer. Extremely knowledgeable in all aspects of leadership in this very tough trek.Always there and accomodating, the kind of person you would love to employ.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    I would suggest that they speak to someone who has been on this trek prior to signing up, although the trip notes are quite factual I believe that they should discuss all aspects of what lies ahead. This should cover personal equipment and previous experience in both summer and winter walking / climbing.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Prior to going on this trip I spoke to an Exodus representative re suitability of my climbing boots, he advised that my Scarpa Manta boots were adequate. I found out later that they were not suitable for the Mera ascent, due to the fact that they were not double skinned and I could be susceptible to Frostbite (due to lack of oxygen effecting blood circulation). This information was mooted intially by our leader and also a leader of another group. Fortunately I didn't sustain Frostbite but I have certainly nipped 4 of my toes on my right foot..Again that's why I believe that prior to individuals signing up for this tremendous trip they should be interviewed by someone with the relevant experience, to discuss the trek in more detail.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Shows Nepal's real colours - Awesome!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Looking across vast valleys to the gigantic mountains in the mist and early morning light and realising some very poor people are, in one way, a lot richer than anyone on this planet.Oh, and washing the elephants too!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent!Good understanding of what people wanted from their holiday, very friedly with a great smile! A really nice guy.Had a good blend of knowledge and humour which relaxed everyone into enjoying themselves.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Even if it's cloudy and you can't see the big views of the mountains in the distance, open your eyes to the fantastic scenery and culture that unfolds by the bucketload under your very nose.Learn a little of the local language, if nothing else it will make both you and the locals smile!!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Suva din! (have a nice day!)
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Thought provoking village.

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Probably the descent to and staying in the remote village of Bara Bhangal. After a steep and very dusty descent reaching the river and being able to have a good wash was much appreciated. The following day we visited the local school much to the delight of both the local children, in their uniforms, who enthusiastically posed for pictures  and ourselves. This village is cut off for 6 months of the year by snow and most of the inhabitants come in over the Thamser pass in the spring to spend a summer of hard work on the terraced fields that covered all the nearby hills rising very steeply from the river, yet there is now hydroelectric power in the village and a satellite phone. This did lead me to think how long this way of life would continue and how many of the young school children would wnt continue with this way of life.The most thought provoking part of the trip was the comments from the tour leader about how much the glaciers had shrunk in the past few years and how little snow cover there was.   

    What did you think of your group leader?

    "Dibs" was very proficient and friendly, making us all feel at home very quickly. He worked well with the porters and local guides to ensure that the all trip ran smoothly and we all arrived safely at each days campsite pretty much together. I enjoyed his company and chatting to him whilst walking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are fit before you go or you will not enjoy the experience and Indian driving and roads are somewhat unsettling , so if you are  a nervous passenger bewarned.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    My first trip to India and I am looking forward to going back again for more walking in the same area in the next few years when I can afford it.
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Desert Storm

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The sheer emptiness of the landscape and the colours and the silence and the sky becoming mad with stars at night.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Mohamed was very friendly, but some of the group occasionally found his pace a little merciless, and there was a lack of breaktime treats - just a few sweets, or sweeteners of some kind, would have meant a lot in the middle of a scorching route-march, or, indeed, at the end of a long day's trekking.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take a plentiful supply of sugary chews or tracker bars for those blood sugar-plunging moments. And a comfortable pair of walking sandals would probably serve you better in the desert than a pair of clunky walking boots.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    It was probably a little tougher walking than I expected - for sheer heat & duration rather than particularly challenging terrain. But running up and down the dunes was great fun, and it was, overall, a truly elemental experience. 
  • Reviewed November 2007
    Anonymous

    Penguin's and Parties!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    All of it!!!! Seeing in the New Year on the deck of the ship in full daylight!  Being the first group to try the new sport of 'Speed Camping' on the ice - speed camping because we had to evacuate after 20 mins due to high winds!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Woody was fantastic ... would go on a trip with him as a leader anytime!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Pack your essential cold weather clothes across more than one bag ... as several cases go missing on nearly every flight to Ushuaia.  Wear your coat and boots on the flight to be on the safe side!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    An amazing experience on the white continent ... every day we saw new sights and had new experiences which we'll never forget.  The crew and leaders were knowledgable and fun to spend time with.  There were just the right number of people on the boat and we never had to wait to get off the ship for excursions.