Turtle, Ecuador

Reviews

Your Words - We tell it like it is! Holiday Reviews by previous Exodus travellers  

Here at Exodus we thrive on feedback from our customers. It's the only way we can ensure our trips continue to be the best they can be. So, for the real tales, twists and turns of the trip you're interested in, look no further than the reviews from our previous travellers.

Simply use the selector below to search our trip reviews and start reading real feedback from real Exodus travellers who have ‘been there and done that’!

Lots of our clients also like to post handy tips and advice about their travels. It’s great to know what to expect on an Exodus adventure before you go, so make the most of their experience and you’ll make the most of yours!

Haven't posted your review yet? Here's how to do it...

After you have returned from your Exodus adventure holiday you will be emailed a link to the review page. Any feedback collected is posted straight onto our website - totally unedited.

If you have recently returned from an Exodus adventure and want to help other travellers with your feedback then click here to start the process to post your holiday review.

18266 Reviews

  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    exciting holiday in moving water

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Rafting, paragliding and caving

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Both our group leaders, for whitewater rafting and kayaking, paragliding and canyoning, were reliable and nice. Safety was always top priority.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Whitewater kayaking was for me the most exciting activity, but it is demanding and you need to be really fit. You should not be overweigh for caving, as there are some extremely narrow passages. Hydrospeed is difficult and may even be dangerous if you hit a rock. Have dinner at restaurants nearby hotel Alp that have good food and are cheap.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We had showers the first days, so it was  tough. The holiday became deflinitely better with fine weather.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The Most Amazing Arctic Adventure

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    What can I say about this trip........it took my breath away. The spectacular Glaciers, ice melting sounding like snap crackle and pop, and what about the wildlife. I never dreamt that I would actually see a Polar Bear, but to see over 11 and seeing two swimming was amazing. The other wildlife seen for example Artic Fox, Raindeer, Walrus, seals and numerous types of Whales all added to the adventure, along with the variety of birdlife seen.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The Expedition Guides were amazing and full of knowledge.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Prepare for 24 daylight which can be confusing. Also take plenty of layers as the zodiac trips can get quite cold.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Everyone in their lifetime should go on this trip, the spectacular scenery and wildlife are out of this world. Also with global warming the opportunity will not be around forever to see Spitzbergen as it should be ......an Artic Island.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Late night games of trivial pursuit at the Cortijo Rosario

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The whole trip was inspirational for me because it was the first time I had taken the plunge and gone away on a group holiday by myself. For years I had bemoaned the fact that I didn't travel enough and I just wish I had known how much fun an Exodus holiday could be before the age of 31. I have since been on a second trip and found it equally enjoyable, and would reassure any single people with reservations about travelling alone that you will meet plenty of others in the same situation. One of the benefits of a group holiday is that you have the opportunity to spend time with a diverse range of individuals of all ages and professions who you might not come into contact with in your day to day life.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    I got on tremendously well with my group leader, Sara King, who could not have done more to make our holiday both enjoyable and educational. People like Sara fill me with admiration - she has spent much of her adult life travelling and working across the world when many of us automatically accept our place in the office rat race without having the courage to do something different. She was bubbly and fun to be around but also extremely professional, putting the interests of the group members first at all times.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    If you are a sociable person who enjoys meeting and interacting with new people, then an Exodus holiday is certainly for you. If you prefer your own company and doing your own thing, then I'd argue it probably isn't. Standards of accomodation and logistical organisation were of a high standard at all times, and I felt the itinerary was well-balanced and comprehensive.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    I've been on a cultural holiday and a walking holiday with Exodus (Lakes and Mountains of Slovenia) and thoroughly enjoyed both. However, what would be really good would be more holidays that balance the two (e.g. 3 days walking, 3 days culture) for those travellers who would like a combination of both.
  • Reviewed October 2007

    5G

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    The reason for going on the trip was to go down the Olympic Bobsleigh run in Lillehammer. In the morning of the "big" day, it looked that it was cancelled. Fortunately, a driver was found.We went down the run twice, one practicve run and then the real thing. It was scary!! But it was an experience I would not have missed for the world.As a result of the problems in the morning we had a whole day skiing in Lillehammer the next day as compensation. Great snow, great runs, another fabulous day.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    It was his first trip on his own. lacked leadership.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Go down the bobsleigh run. Become a member of the 5G club!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    The best trek we've done (so far!)

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Everything about the trip was incredible.Durbar Square, Bodnath Stupa, Bhaktapur - all in Kathmandu, and the 3 day extension in Chitwan are well worth the effort for the beautiful architecture and cultural history, and the flight to Lukla is a big adventure in itself. However the trek to Gokyo takes the big prize for the sights, the views, the monasteries, and last but not least the final early morning climb of Gokyo Ri. The view from the top has to be seen to be believed. The words in the trip notes cannot do justice to the sight of Everest, Nuptse and Lhotse across the glacier. Overall, a brilliant experience, and a 3 week long "WOW" moment of a lifetime. Well done Exodus, - we can't wait to return to Nepal.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Pasang, our leader was excellent, socially skilled, knowledgeable and supportive. He and his team of sirdar, assistant guides and the world famous yak-man made the trip better than expected. Not averse to pulling a few local strings to get us the best deals and service, and pointing us in the right direction for bargains in Kathmandu, this team could not be faulted. All we had to do was get up in the morning and go!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Research suggests that gingko biloba (available as a herbal extract in most health shops) if taken for a month before and during the trek seems to keep altitude sickness at bay. We used it on the Mt. Toubkal, Kili climb and this trip and didn't suffer at all. Take a big empty bag with you to Kathmandu as the walking kit is available at very low prices.  
  • Reviewed October 2007

    A great walking area

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Excellent walking in great environmentEnjoyable companyVery pleasant accommodation (though room and bed were small and cramped) in beautiful settingIt was the sort of break I wanted.  Normally I prefer to travel independently with my wife, but this time she could not make it, so I was on my own yet still felt I was in good company.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Very friendly, gave useful advice, helpful and good knowledge of the area.  Can't ask for much more!

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    A note for Exodus:  I could have done without the caves!   They all look the same and I don't like being herded through them with commentaries about how stalactites, etc were formed and what they look like.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Truely AMAZING!!

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Experiencing the different culture in Nepal - particularly the Buddism and the way that the Sherpa people live. Such humble, wonderful people! And of course seeing Everest from the top of Gokyo Ri!!

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Our group leader was absolutely fanatastic! Pssan was the perfect leader - knowledgable and vey supportive throughout the whole trip. From our arrival in Kathmandu and throughout the whole trek he looked after us over & above whant we expected. He really made our trip!

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Make sure you are prepared for the change in your diet for 3 weeks - this was the most challenging part of the trip for us.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We would just like to thank Exodus for the trip of a life-time! We got engaged on the top of Gokyo Ri - so it really was a life changing trip!
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    All aboard the Andreas

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Arriving by water at unknown destinations each dayBeing anchored off shore and diving with my son into the deep clear warm waters of the Agean My son making friends with some lovely children on board

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Roger was very competent but more focused on adult holiday activities 

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Be aware that the sleeping accommodation is very restricted and potentially a real issue if you are a 'big' person.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Eating arrangements were generally too rigid for me and the restaurant meals too long and drawn out My son wants to go again!
  • Reviewed October 2007

    Why on earth are you going there?

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    Isfahan with its wide river, mighty historic bridges and the beautiful buildings around Maydan Iman, the second largest square in the world, has to be the jewel but the ancient windtowers, towers of silence, the gardens and the people themselves were also magic.   It was not what I had expected.  Their way of life with such strong family groups, the love of eating alfresco and socialising whenever possible had much to admire.

    What did you think of your group leader?

    Excellent.  His English was very good, his sense of humour close to our own and his knowlege of his country, its history, culture and politics very extensive.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    As ever, read up as much as possible before you go and when there have an open mind.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    Make sure you try the nougat and the ice cream.
  • Reviewed October 2007
    Anonymous

    Even after 2 weeks we didn't feel templed out

    What was the most inspirational moment of your trip?

    We thoroughly enjoyed our trip to the elephant conservation centre - topped by seeing a 3 month old baby elephant and buying a painting drawn by an elephant - now framed and up in our house.Hell fire pass - an incredibly informative and moving  experience . A must if visiting this area. Chiang Mai and visit to the doi suthep temple- we loved seeing all the different buddhas and felt that our  guide gave us a real insight into the buddhist traditions associated with various parts of the temple.  

    What did you think of your group leader?

    The group leader ( Mr Bond) was knowledgeable and was happy to give us information on any aspect of thai society. He chose good restaurants for us .  He distanced himself slightly from the group and when we got to Koh Samui felt he could have made more suggestions of things to do rather than waiting for us to ask about specific sights after having looked in guide books.

    Do you have any advice for potential travellers?

    Take driving license if going to Koh Samui so you can rent a car and get around the island- taxis are actually quite pricey there. We hired a car for the day and saw a lot more of the island than others in our group.The hike to the hilltribe village is not too challenging and did not take the four hours we thought - there is also a much shorter route up the path for those that want to meet up at the village school.

    Is there anything else you would like to add?

    We have a fantastic set of photos from the tour that we have shown to all our friends and family. You do get a real flavour of life there whilst staying in comfortable hotels. The Thais were all incredibly polite , helpful and were very proud to show off their country. We met some lovely people just randomly in the streets and they gave us some good tips as to where to go and what to see -this  made the holiday for us.You will not be templed out on this tour as you can visit as many or as few temples as you like. We got really quite into it and even on our last day in Bangkok we visiited another three temples. Some of them you only need to stay 5 minutes at if you want.